Reviews: jfetner3

Location: USA, Gender: Male, Age: 30

Dragon King Hostel

Beijing, China
89%

careful of the taxi drivers if you take the airport express. taxi ride to hostel was only 13 rmb at night. helpful staff. restaurant too expensive, eat outside. common area was the overpriced bar, so lacked atmosphere. cool alleyway location. 100 meters to metro station and 7-11. would stay there again.


Yangshuo 11 Hostel

Yangshuo, China
100%

great little hostel. amazing view. super helpful staff. cant think of anything that i disliked. walk around the corner for monkey janes happy hour.


94%

second time staying here. right by the metro station. lots of shops and restaurants around. i really like how secure the hostel is. some of the best security ive seen in a hostel. should expand the common room.


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
100%

second time here and its like the hostel read my comments from the first review. still one of the best hostels i have stayed in. they are always cleaning it. great location. its about the same price as lesser hostels. i like when beds in dorms have outlets, curtains, and lights. will stay here again if im in hong kong.


94%

liked the multiple common rooms. staff was overworked and wasnt as helpful, but they were by no means bad. wished they had a cheap/free map. lots of bathrooms. would definitely stay here again. great location. 2 blocks from the metro. lots of stuff to do in walking distance.


Beijing Leo Hostel

Beijing, China
89%

great location. super cheap bar. this is a party hostel, make sure that your room is in the back of the hostel if you go to sleep early. my 3 biggest complaints would be the wifi strength was weak and not available thru out the whole place, the 6 bed dorms only have 4 lockers (more available in the front), and there was only one power outlet per room. beijing has a lot of hostels, i stayed in a different one the next time i was there. its not bad, but there are just little annoyances.


74%

warning, this hostel doesnt have mixed dorms as advertised. also, they need to turn their cooler on, but the shops outside sell cold beer and water. lockers were pretty weak. ac and heaters arent free. also, no directions to their hostel,had trouble finding it, their phone was out of service. good coffee. staff at front desk were very helpful. ok hostel.


FengHuang Old Town International Youth Hostel

Fenghuang-Phoenix County, China
91%

call them when you arrive and they can get you past the expensive ticket office. we had a really nice room. they need to make their directions more clear. staff was super helpful and got us discounts on some other places in hunnan that we were going to.


Wada Hostel in Guilin

Guilin, China
83%

clean and cheap. a good stop over place. pretty good location. i made a mistake when booking and the hostel quickly fixed it for me.


Jiuzhaigou Ziyou Hostel

Jiuzhaigou, China
66%

only one staff member speaks english, so if you dont speak chinese you might have problems. staff could be more helpful at suggesting other things to do around the city. can walk to jiuzhaigou. the "common room" is a shed in the middle of the alleyway. i like hanging out with other travelers at night, so i dont like hostels that dont have a real common area, i ended up staying in my room. still, a cheap bed close enough to the park, thats what you really want, but could be more.

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (9 reviews)


Emma's Guesthouse

Songpan, China
74%

there isnt a common room, it is a restaurant. when you walk in, they immediately hand you a menu. doesnt have the hostel feel to it. also the restaurant is 100 meters away from the hostel. the dorm room that i stayed in was tiny, the bunk beds are 2 feet apart. close to the bus station and the north gate. they do give lots of good information. there are lots of places to stay in songpan, i probably would stay somewhere else if i came back. its not bad, but there is better options.

  • 9th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (9 reviews)


Han Tang Inn Hostel

Xi'an, China
100%

very helpful staff, good location. i like when hostels put information about attractions and other relevant info up on the walls or in a book. only dislike would be that beer is too expensive 15 rmb for a beer that costs 3 rmb outside is a bit steep. more people would buy from the hostel if the prices were lower.

  • 30th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (9 reviews)


66%

very cold, but we did come to shangri la in the winter time. the front desk was very helpful. the ensuite rooms are so much nicer. cant comment too much, it was the off season when we came. dont come here or to shangri la in the winter time.


Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse

Lijiang, China
74%

mama naxi is great (the real person). if you cough she makes you tea. the old building is cool. family dinner is excellent. i liked the hostel but the security could be improved. there are no lockers in the dorms. they have them out in the hallway, but its not the same. also, the room locks with a padlock from the outside and a sliding bar of wood from the inside. so you cant lock the door unless everyone is in or out. just needs those two things.


The Beetles

Dali, China
89%

very clean hostel and in a good location. the rooms are small, but have a lamp, electric kettle, mugs, etc. the courtyard and common room is really nice. the owner arranged some day trips for us at better rates. would stay there again if im in dali.


The Hump Hostel

Kunming, China
89%

good location, most of the buses that you will want to take are in front of the hostel. the wall of info is great. it is a little noisy at night, but its not bad. i wish that they would assign beds, your locker can be on the other side of the room under someone else and that can be awkward when they are sleeping. outside decks are great. spacious, clean, and safe. will come back.


37%

a lot of problems with this hostel. first, they didnt have the type room that we reserved, no problem though. they gave us a different room and it smelled awful, there was wet carpet and mildew and too cover the smell someone had used lots of chemicals. we asked if they could clean the room and the girl said that we should leave the hostel, rather than cleaning a room that was terrible. we stayed in a hotel nearby, much nicer and a lot cheaper. stay away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for your bad experience. Here is an explanation from the staff. You arrived late, without contacting us, at an extremely busy time of year. We did our best to fit you in the last room we had left, however it was not satisfactory for you. Cleaner had already gone home because it was late. Therefore we found you alternative accommodation nearby. We have spoken to the cleaner to ensure she pays extra attention to the bathroom door rugs.

Captain's House

Sanya, China
60%

this hostel is very laid back. i liked their movie room and outdoor patio. they need a bathroom in a common area and more showers, people shower a lot at the beach. the hostel could have been cleaner. the door to the room i was in was always kept open for some reason. the owners are very nice and helpful, but i would probably not stay there again.


89%

very convenient location if you are just passing thru the city. close to the train and bus stations and a 2 minute walk from the subway. lots of markets around the hostel. i only stayed one night on my way to sanya, but i would stay there again. i really like the security system, very safe. the hostel is down a alley, the directions should mention that, might be hard to find in the dark, but there is a sign.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great suggestions, looking forward to see you next time!

Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
100%

good location, right next to the tram and subway. staff helps you to get anywhere that you want to go. they have free water, coffee, tea. very clean, one of the cleanest ive stayed in. the staff even changed money for me at a better rate than the banks. the common room is a little small and people do camp out there on their laptops (not the hostels fault), but they do have a roof top. highly recommended.