Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: jfetner3

Location USA, Gender Male, Age 32

  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Dragon King Hostel, Beijing, China
8.9
22nd Jul 2013

careful of the taxi drivers if you take the airport express. taxi ride to hostel was only 13 rmb at night. helpful staff. restaurant too expensive, eat outside. common area was the overpriced bar, so lacked atmosphere. cool alleyway location. 100 meters to metro station and 7-11. would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Yangshuo 11 Hostel, Yangshuo, China
10.0
12th Jul 2013

great little hostel. amazing view. super helpful staff. cant think of anything that i disliked. walk around the corner for monkey janes happy hour.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
9.4
11th Jul 2013

second time staying here. right by the metro station. lots of shops and restaurants around. i really like how secure the hostel is. some of the best security ive seen in a hostel. should expand the common room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
10.0
7th Jul 2013

second time here and its like the hostel read my comments from the first review. still one of the best hostels i have stayed in. they are always cleaning it. great location. its about the same price as lesser hostels. i like when beds in dorms have outlets, curtains, and lights. will stay here again if im in hong kong.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
9.4
4th Jul 2013

liked the multiple common rooms. staff was overworked and wasnt as helpful, but they were by no means bad. wished they had a cheap/free map. lots of bathrooms. would definitely stay here again. great location. 2 blocks from the metro. lots of stuff to do in walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Leo Hostel, Beijing, China
8.9
28th Jun 2013

great location. super cheap bar. this is a party hostel, make sure that your room is in the back of the hostel if you go to sleep early. my 3 biggest complaints would be the wifi strength was weak and not available thru out the whole place, the 6 bed dorms only have 4 lockers (more available in the front), and there was only one power outlet per room. beijing has a lot of hostels, i stayed in a different one the next time i was there. its not bad, but there are just little annoyances.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
7.4
25th Jun 2013

warning, this hostel doesnt have mixed dorms as advertised. also, they need to turn their cooler on, but the shops outside sell cold beer and water. lockers were pretty weak. ac and heaters arent free. also, no directions to their hostel,had trouble finding it, their phone was out of service. good coffee. staff at front desk were very helpful. ok hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
FengHuang Old Town International Youth Hostel, Fenghuang-Phoenix County, China
9.1
22nd Jun 2013

call them when you arrive and they can get you past the expensive ticket office. we had a really nice room. they need to make their directions more clear. staff was super helpful and got us discounts on some other places in hunnan that we were going to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Wada Hostel in Guilin, Guilin, China
8.3
15th Jun 2013

clean and cheap. a good stop over place. pretty good location. i made a mistake when booking and the hostel quickly fixed it for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Jiuzhaigou Ziyou Hostel, Jiuzhaigou, China
6.6
13th Jun 2013

only one staff member speaks english, so if you dont speak chinese you might have problems. staff could be more helpful at suggesting other things to do around the city. can walk to jiuzhaigou. the "common room" is a shed in the middle of the alleyway. i like hanging out with other travelers at night, so i dont like hostels that dont have a real common area, i ended up staying in my room. still, a cheap bed close enough to the park, thats what you really want, but could be more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Emma's Guesthouse, Songpan, China
7.4
9th Jun 2013

there isnt a common room, it is a restaurant. when you walk in, they immediately hand you a menu. doesnt have the hostel feel to it. also the restaurant is 100 meters away from the hostel. the dorm room that i stayed in was tiny, the bunk beds are 2 feet apart. close to the bus station and the north gate. they do give lots of good information. there are lots of places to stay in songpan, i probably would stay somewhere else if i came back. its not bad, but there is better options.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Han Tang Inn Hostel, Xi'an, China
10.0
30th May 2013

very helpful staff, good location. i like when hostels put information about attractions and other relevant info up on the walls or in a book. only dislike would be that beer is too expensive 15 rmb for a beer that costs 3 rmb outside is a bit steep. more people would buy from the hostel if the prices were lower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
6.6
21st Feb 2013

very cold, but we did come to shangri la in the winter time. the front desk was very helpful. the ensuite rooms are so much nicer. cant comment too much, it was the off season when we came. dont come here or to shangri la in the winter time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse, Lijiang, China
7.4
17th Feb 2013

mama naxi is great (the real person). if you cough she makes you tea. the old building is cool. family dinner is excellent. i liked the hostel but the security could be improved. there are no lockers in the dorms. they have them out in the hallway, but its not the same. also, the room locks with a padlock from the outside and a sliding bar of wood from the inside. so you cant lock the door unless everyone is in or out. just needs those two things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
The Beetles, Dali, China
8.9
13th Feb 2013

very clean hostel and in a good location. the rooms are small, but have a lamp, electric kettle, mugs, etc. the courtyard and common room is really nice. the owner arranged some day trips for us at better rates. would stay there again if im in dali.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
The Hump Hostel, Kunming, China
8.9
7th Feb 2013

good location, most of the buses that you will want to take are in front of the hostel. the wall of info is great. it is a little noisy at night, but its not bad. i wish that they would assign beds, your locker can be on the other side of the room under someone else and that can be awkward when they are sleeping. outside decks are great. spacious, clean, and safe. will come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
3.7
5th Feb 2013

a lot of problems with this hostel. first, they didnt have the type room that we reserved, no problem though. they gave us a different room and it smelled awful, there was wet carpet and mildew and too cover the smell someone had used lots of chemicals. we asked if they could clean the room and the girl said that we should leave the hostel, rather than cleaning a room that was terrible. we stayed in a hotel nearby, much nicer and a lot cheaper. stay away.

View Property Reply

Sorry for your bad experience. Here is an explanation from the staff. You arrived late, without contacting us, at an extremely busy time of year. We did our best to fit you in the last room we had left, however it was not satisfactory for you. Cleaner had already gone home because it was late. Therefore we found you alternative accommodation nearby. We have spoken to the cleaner to ensure she pays extra attention to the bathroom door rugs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Captain's House, Sanya, China
6.0
29th Jan 2013

this hostel is very laid back. i liked their movie room and outdoor patio. they need a bathroom in a common area and more showers, people shower a lot at the beach. the hostel could have been cleaner. the door to the room i was in was always kept open for some reason. the owners are very nice and helpful, but i would probably not stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA,
  • Novice Nomad
8.9
27th Jan 2013

very convenient location if you are just passing thru the city. close to the train and bus stations and a 2 minute walk from the subway. lots of markets around the hostel. i only stayed one night on my way to sanya, but i would stay there again. i really like the security system, very safe. the hostel is down a alley, the directions should mention that, might be hard to find in the dark, but there is a sign.

View Property Reply

Thanks for your great suggestions, looking forward to see you next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jfetner3
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
10.0
22nd Jan 2013

good location, right next to the tram and subway. staff helps you to get anywhere that you want to go. they have free water, coffee, tea. very clean, one of the cleanest ive stayed in. the staff even changed money for me at a better rate than the banks. the common room is a little small and people do camp out there on their laptops (not the hostels fault), but they do have a roof top. highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.