Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Hotel Maroel, Cartagena, Colombia
7.1
12th Aug 2014

Upstairs rooms very hot, get at least a fan. Standard double bed was more like a single and rooms were tiny. Bathroom had no door. However it was the cheapest private option and does the job for a one night stop over. The staff were so helpful, let us leave our bags to go to playa blanca and shower when we got back. They also then helped us sort our bus to Santa Marta

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Loki del Mar, Mancora, Peru
8.6
5th Aug 2014

There were three shots on our bill that we hadn't had. The reception staff were rude and treated us as if we were lying, and we were told we had to wait to speak to the manager. The reception staff were rude and grumpy throughout. Otherwise such a good hostel, great pool and bar, cheap food and right on the beach. Could be more flexible on changing food order (eg extra of chips, bacon instead of cheese

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Rio Maravilha Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
8.3
16th Jul 2014

Had missed our booking because of World Cup busy period (for a private double room) but have us a free night in a mixed dorm to ourselves which was good. The room was basic and old but clean and comfortable. The view was good and overall atmosphere was really good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Santa Semente, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2.9
9th Jul 2014

No hot showers. Weren't allowed to bring in own drinks (even different to those sold at extortionate prices). The staff were rude and unfriendly- one day we came down at 9.50 for breakfast (meant to be 8-10) and were told we had missed it. Instead of arguing, even though we had got up especially, we asked if we could just have a splash of milk if we made our own coffee. We were rudely told no. Rooms were dirty and stank of damp. Far from bus, shop, everywhere

View Property Reply

I'm sorry that our hostel was a bad match for you. On the other hand, your extremely bad behavior forced us to ask you to leave. This comment's extremely malicious tone is based on this. The truth is these guests were extremely drunk and problematic until we had to ask them to leave. Fortunately these guests were the only two we have EVER had to ask to leave. Everyone else here had a good time. Everything here is a lie, except for the broken hot water, which we fixed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Che Lagarto Suites Ilha Grande, Ilha Grande, Brazil
10.0
6th Jul 2014

We were upgraded from a double shared bathroom to a double ensuite room. The rooms were like hotel rooms- really nice bedding, towels, shampoo and conditioner. The hostel was so nice, breakfast was great and all laid out- nice fruot, cake, toasties. About 40metres from the beach. Staff were really friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Best hostel we have stayed in yet

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
Ecotrip Hostel Ubatuba, Ubatuba, Brazil
9.4
5th Jul 2014

Really near both bus stations to Rio and SP, and the local one for buses to the beaches (also very near the coast). Staff were great, we got a lift to one of the further away beaches one day. Kitchen was basic but fine, eating area nice, room was good but shower was luke warm and bathroom got wet and gross easily.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.