Reviews: Anonymous

Central Backpackers Hostel

Luang Prabang, Laos
77%

Good place. 10 minutes walk (4 blocks) to night market + tourist area. Not far, but the walk got annoying after a few days. Had Standard Double room. Clean, comfortable beds, good AC. Constant mosquitoes coming in from vent to outside + bathroom ceiling (bring a net!), bathroom drain clogged, lightbulbs burned out. Staff were helpful and friendly, only one spoke English however. Would recommend emailing to confirm booking. Weak wifi in rooms, router needed to be reset often. Good free breakfast!

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Angkor Wonder Hostel

Siem Reap, Cambodia
77%

About 5-10 mins from Pub Street, quiet area. Staff was helpful and friendly, Check-in was very slow, sometimes no staff around. Rooms were small with tiny bathrooms. Some room issues: lights broken, AC remote broken, AC kept icing up, wifi signal weak in some rooms, hot water heater shorted out. Some rooms noisy (1 rm above reception; 1 rm had staircase right outside window). Trips to temples for $15-$17, driver was very nice and attentive. Good paid breakfast. Good stay, except for room issues.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Velkommen Guesthouse

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
91%

Recommended. We rented the Standard 4 Bed Private Ensuite and it was very comfortable. Big clean room with two double beds and a huge bathroom with hot water. Wifi was pretty poor in the room: only intermittently worked near the door (transmitter too far away). Room was quiet. Good location: restaurants, tourist attractions, local markets nearby. Probably could have gotten cheaper room elsewhere. Confusion over deposit at check-out, worked out. Organized tickets to Siem Reap, all good.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Hotel Nguyet Van

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
71%

Recommended, with reservations. Long walk to reach the tourist areas: it's maybe 15 minutes to walk there. Taxis are very cheap and metered, so it's easy to get around that way. Lots of stairs. In a little side-alley, so not much traffic noise. Our room was comfortable with good AC. Some small things showed lack of care: lots of lightbulbs burned out. Wifi was ok. It was fine for a budget hotel and we ended up staying several days: it just lacked hospitality and warmth.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Truong Giang Hotel Nha Trang

Nha Trang, Vietnam
94%

Good, though short, stay. Hotel is locked up at night with security man. Luggage left with reception is chained up. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby, and hotel is in a side alley so it`s quiet. About ten minutes from the beach on foot. Staff was friendly and helpful. Informative hand-outs provided at check-in, free bananas in room. Wifi works well. Rooms were good, comfortable. No restaurant. Organized dropoff to airport for 240,000. Reception closes at 9:30pm, but security can check you in.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Phong Nha Hotel

Hue, Vietnam
94%

Recommended. I don't really remember anything specifically notable about this place, nor do I have any complaints about my stay here. Everything was in order, the staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and nicely appointed. I would stay here again.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Canh Dieu Hotel

Ninh Binh, Vietnam
94%

Recommended. Buses to Hanoi and south stop directly in front of the hotel. Staff were friendly, helpful, and prices were all clearly listed. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and our room had a heater (which was great, since it was drizzly and cool when we were there). Not much going on around the hotel, but there are some little pho places around the corner. They organize cars and motorbikes for sightseeing. Noise from passing trains might disturb some guests. Food was good and inexpensive.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Stars Hotel

Hanoi, Vietnam
80%

Recommended, though not a good place to meet people or party. Quiet hotel. Staff friendly, helpful, reception speaks English. Rooms spacious + well furnished. Dusty spots in room. Balcony door insecure. Bathroom door got stuck often. Room damp; heater would be nice (had AC). Wifi slow. Good location in Old Quarter. Brkfst included: egg + bread + tea. Good price for airport transfer. Did 1nt Halong Bay trip, all good. Lots of stairs. Would stay again. Room fixes (doors) would increase score. :)

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


91%

Recommended. Located right near Shin-Imamiya station, so it's easy to get to the airport or to downtown Osaka. Staff at reception were friendly, helpful, and spoke English. Stayed in a private double room on the first floor. Rooms are small, basic, with "mat on floor" style bedding. Blankets were warm. Rooms are chilly in winter, but our room had a good heater. Fridge and TV in room. 1st floor bathroom+showers good. Wifi good. Washer/dryer on site. Cozy common room, tourist info at front desk.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Mazz Homestay

Negombo, Sri Lanka
71%

Ok for 1 night if you want to be close to airport: good for flight arriving late or early flight out (bus station nearby with buses to airport). Actual area wouldn't be good for a longer stay (noisy, etc). 1 shared bathroom/shower (hot water), so sometimes long waits. Rooms are basic. Wifi ok. Part of common area is curtained-off staff bedroom, bit weird. Place seems disorganized. Staff was friendly but very awkward, check-in took a long time. No receipts. Wanted extra money as deposit for key.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for the comment and we have taken more serious in your comments too. Our new located building is less noisy at all. You can refer the Google maps and now we are in better location and we are guarantee 100% for every gusset's for a very good sleep. Our new address as follows: 197/46, Padare Pio Mawatha, Thaladuwa, Negombo. Also that we have improved our staff members with new outlook for global tourists. Thank you. MAZZ HOMESTAY TEAM

Clock Inn Colombo

Colombo, Sri Lanka
74%

Had bad experience. Asked if breakfast was included and was told it is. When we ate, price not mentioned, didn't see it anywhere. Informed at check-out that it's $5 each: extremely expensive for what we got. Dorm room prices were already high, getting gouged for another $10 was disappointing. Good security: Key cards to access floors and building. Clean, comfortable beds. Co-ed bathrooms were fine. Building is modern and attractive. AC + wifi are good. Staff friendly, but cost us $10. Too bad.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I sincerely apologize for the bad experience that you had at our hostel regarding breakfast. This is a careless error from our team and this has been addressed. The rates now on hostel world are inclusive of breakfast and I assure you that this will not happen again to you or any of our future guests. Once again, I apologize for the misinformation and if there is anyway for us to issue a refund for the breakfast, please email us. Apart from this mishap, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Brisbane Lodge

Cochin, India
71%

Had a good stay. Great location: right in the middle of the fort (far from train/bus station though!). No common area: just four rooms above a travel agency. Smaller rear rooms can be uncomfortably warm, even with the fan. The larger balcony rooms are much more comfortable with high ceilings and balconies overlooking the street (note that it's easy to access the balconies from nearby buildings...). Wifi works in balcony rooms + travel agency. Staff friendly + helpful, but not always around.

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Paradise Inn

Goa, India
74%

Recommended, if price is lower. Basic hotel with clean, comfortable rooms with working AC. Beds were good. Rooms were expensive for India (about $25/night) and you could almost certainly find similar quality for less. Staff weren't very welcoming and seemed a bit brusque, but they were efficient and helpful. No common area as far as I could see. Internet available via ethernet cord (hotel provided one). Outside of building looks rundown, but inside was good. Well-located, taxi stand nearby.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


The Surya Paying Guest House

Jaisalmer, India
86%

Good stay. Very small place: 4 rooms! Rooms simple and colourfully painted with antique doors (one room has amazing view). 1 shared bathroom (western toilet, hot bucket shower). Restaurant food good, lounge relaxing. Wifi good. Staff very friendly: sometimes hard to relax with them around. Repeatedly asked us about camel safari. 1-night guesthouse safari was good: slept on dunes, no other ppl around, tasty food provided, returned to city around noon. Paid 1800/person. Cold at night in desert!

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


71%

Recommended, mostly. Rooms are clean and simple. The rooms vary a lot in size. Rooms on one side of the building face out (looking over the alleys in front) with balconies, rooms on the other side have no windows (and are quieter). Bad wifi signal in some rooms. Staff friendly, but seemed really disorganized: didn't know about our reservation, unsure if we had paid, etc. Restaurant ok, but very slow. Minutes away from clocktower on foot. Alleys nearby can be quite dark at night. Area felt safe.

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Mewargarh Palace

Udaipur, India
97%

Highly recommended. This might be the nicest guesthouse I've stayed at. The rooms we had (2nd floor) were spotless, new, and well-decorated. Hot showers, great wifi. Restaurant good for relaxing + meeting people. The staff were friendly, professional, and funny. They were present without being obtrusive. The price was great. They even provide a little toiletry package at check-in AND they take credit cards. Fantastic! One issue: restaurant food was so-so (watery porridge, squishy spaghetti).

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Keshav Palace

Pushkar, India
86%

Booked 1 night, stayed for 4. Great location: 5-10 mins from the lake, quiet. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Wireless internet was fast in our rooms, occasional power cuts. 1st floor rooms face into courtyard, noisy from other guests. Showers were hot. Restaurant food was good, informal setting. We stayed during the festival and the rooms were VERY expensive. Staff was very friendly + attentive, but they will check up on you constantly (confirming when you're leaving, asking what's new, etc).

  • 10th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Shiva Guest House Varanasi

Varanasi, India
89%

Recommended. Staff were very friendly, went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay. Organized boat rides and airport transfers. Great buffet + fireworks show for Diwali. Our room was cramped and basic (stndrd dbl ensuite), other rooms bigger. Clean. Outside noise from alleys and nearby buildings. Wifi very weak higher up in building. Roof-restaurant: Tasty food, nice views, good service, watch out for monkies! 30 seconds from Munshi ghat. Hard to find, but locals can direct you.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


74%

Enjoyed our stay here: ended up extending, before moving to a new place. Guesthouse is located on a quiet alley, near central Leh, easy to walk everywhere. Staff were all friendly and helpful, even got free upgrade! Bed was comfortable, water was hot. Call to prayer was extremely loud in our room (#305). Often had trouble finding a staff member. Carpet didn't feel clean, clumps of hair in bathroom. We paid 600 rupees/n: there were cheaper equivalent places. Lots of other guesthouses in Leh.

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Hotel Ugur

Sanliurfa, Turkey
86%

Enjoyed our stay here, would recommend. Mustafa is very helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. The hotel is across from the city hall in the center of town. The rooms are basic: the carpet in our room seemed dirty and there was a smelly river of sludge outside our window in a canal below. Thankfully, AC in room was great and beds were clean. Shared bathroom cleaned often, but smelly anyway (2 squats, 1 sit). For price, value was very good. PS- Call if you will be later than your set arrival time!

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Kose Pension

Goreme, Turkey
69%

Would recommend, but several issues. Good value. 20 bed dorm is rooftop terrace with 20 mats side-by-side ringing the room. Would have been uncomfortable/crazy if full. Some pillows/mats dirty. Rooftop common area with good view. 2 bathrooms for dorm, clean, but toilet paper goes in trash, unappealing. Staff seemed inconvenienced/disorganized when we asked questions. Insecure: bag storage next to unattended door leading to rooms. No lockers/safe. Quiet location, 5 minute walk into tourist area.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Levanten Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
97%

The hostel is very clean, the atmosphere is relaxed and easy-going, and the staff here are amazing (really, they're hard-working and so friendly). The hostel is in a quiet residential area right near Taksim Square, convenient and not noisy. Small shop right next door that's open late. Dorm beds are comfortable. Downsides: the dorms on the upper floors can get warm and there's only one bathroom per floor. This is my 2nd stay. In total, I've spent almost 3 weeks here! Highly recommended!

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Arkadas Pansiyon

Pamukkale, Turkey
86%

Great location, on main street, five minutes from Travertines and bus stations. Rooms clean, good AC, comfortable bed, very clean sheets. Impressed! No divider between toilet and shower, so bathroom always all wet. Shower water changes temperature on its own, leading to chilly blasts. Run by older couple that seemed friendly, but sometimes a bit impatient with us. CHECK-OUT TIME IS 11:00am, not noon! Didn't get a chance to try free breakfast. Good stay for a great price, would stay again.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Boomerang Guesthouse

Selcuk, Turkey
74%

Overall good value and a good stay. Right across from bus station. Beds INCREDIBLY squeaky. Dorm room in basement (nice and cool, felt damp). Dorm bathrooms weren't serviced often enough. Restaurant/garden next door relaxing, expensive (one meal tasty, one too salty), service good. Complimentary breakfast simple/tasty. Staff helpful and enthusiastic, but appeared disorganized: no one was ever at reception and staff seemed harried and tired. Changes taking place, so maybe just because of that.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)