Reviews: JENNA_CLARKE

Location: Australia, Gender: Female, Age: 24

The Mad Monkey

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
94%

This hostel has everything you need for a great stay in PP! Cool bar, good restaurant, big comfy beds and lockers. Staff are all Cambodian and very friendly and helpful.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


The Siem Reap Hostel

Siem Reap, Cambodia
94%

Perhaps a bit overpriced compare to other options in Siem Reap, but you'll have a great time!! Pool is a welcome break from the heat! And all the staff are generally friendly and helpful.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we reckon you are getting what you pay for here at the SRH with our unmatched facilities including pool,cinema, pool table, yoga room, bar, restaurant and more. We aim to show what a quality hostel can offer to our guests while providing the best salaries and leave conditions for our staff. You can be sure that your good times here are assisting the local community - we love our staff and the Hostel is committed to improving their lives. Have fun! :-)

Bada Bing Hostel Istanbul

Istanbul, Turkey
80%

This was a decent place but the staff could do more to improve the atmosphere by getting involved - nights out, cheap group dinners? The beds were decent, showers good and security excellent. There is probably better options in Istanbul though.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


Jumba Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
89%

Jumba is really nice and in a super cool location. The sisters are friendly enough and the breakfast is amazing. To make it 100% they needed to do more to make it feel like a hostel atmosphere - walking tours, nights out etc. As it is it just felt like we got a great deal on a nice hotel.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


Ali's Guest House

Goreme, Turkey
83%

We stayed at Ali's because it had the best reviews. We had a nice stay but I didn't feel Ali was as helpful as other reviewers made out. I hope this was just a once off and that they are not letting the good customer service that gets them business slip!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


Bayrams Treehouse

Olympos, Turkey
89%

We loves Bayrams! Met some amazing people and properly chilled out for a few nights. Great atmosphere. Could've stayed longer. The free breakfasts and dinners are amazing, but there are better options in Olympos for lunch. Stay here in Olympos for sure!!!

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


Sabah Pansiyon

Antalya, Turkey
83%

Nice place to stay in Antalya. Rooms are clean and comfortable and staff are helpful. Decent free breakfast. There's a nice pool across the road so make sure you ask them to show you where it is!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


The Yellow

Rome, Italy
89%

Choose this hostel in Rome!! Nice rooms, fun bar, cheap meals. Only downside is the kitchen is basic so you can't really cook in it.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


Ciao Hostel

Florence, Italy
74%

Good budget option, comfy beds, great kitchen. Not much of a typical hostel atmosphere for people wanting to meet others, but staff are pretty helpful and quite friendly. B

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Grand hostel LerO

Split, Croatia
80%

Decent budget hostel option in Split! Only stayed here one night and it was perfect for our needs. It is a bit of an uphill slog from the bus station and from the old town but it was clean, and comfortable. Staff gave us cold watermelon on arrival - can't complain about that!! Thanks!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Hostel Split

Split, Croatia
69%

Probably wouldn't recommend. Overpriced for what you get - no common areas and cold showers. Staff recommended us a great restaurant though! Convienient location from the bus station but there are better options in Split.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (24 reviews)


Five Reasons Hostel

Nuremberg, Germany
86%

Is combined with a hotel so doesn't really have that hostel feel - no walking tours, nights out, family dinners etc. But if that's not what you're looking for then it's super great - spacious rooms, comfy beds, good kitchen, awesome showers and free wifi.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


The Hipstel

Barcelona, Spain
89%

My second stay at the Hipstel - a shame that the room with the couches was being renovated as it definitely isn't as comfy without it. The bed I slept on this time was pretty uncomfortable, but apart from that it was great!

  • 3rd Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jenna, we just saw your good review! Thank you so much for your kind words! Your enthusiasm encourages us to keep on the same track! We are honored of being part of your unforgettable experience in Barcelona. We hope you are considering coming back soon and therefore, we want to offer you a 10% discount on your next stay! We wish to see you soon! Barcelona will stay right Where you left it ;-) Sincerely, Luisa from The Hipstel Staff

Hostel Meeting Point

Madrid, Spain
71%

It was okay. Really needs a common area for socialising. The kitchen is downstairs and feels like you're cooking in a dungeon! Staff were helpful when you asked but weren't as openly friendly as some other hostels I've been to. Would recommend as a cheap option, but not to solo travellers.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


Home Backpackers

Valencia, Spain
91%

Home Backpackers is a good choice for anyone visiting Valencia on a budget. It's quite big but the atmosphere was still good and the staff are lovely. They have a really big rooftop terrace which is great for socialising. They could do with another 'common area' where people can go to socialise after the rooftop terrace closes. The showers were some of the best I've had in Spain! Pub crawl was fun and the free walking tour with the blonde Austrian girl (forgot her name) was really really good.

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


PILOT Design Hostel & Bar

Porto, Portugal
74%

Decent place to stay in Porto if you are on a budget. The staff are lovely and the common areas are comfy. They need to fix the wifi which was dodgy when we stayed. The 'modern' design of the bathrooms meant they got dirty really quickly even though they were cleaned lots. Free walking tour was excellent, would recommend it.

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


91%

Oasis Backpackers is amazing value for money. The mansion is very cool with a bar and you get a free shot of traditional Portuguese liquor on arrival! Only thing I would suggest is more couches in the common area, and more fans or air-con in the rooms as it can get really hot. But I would still recommend it to anyone!

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comments! More fan's and Air con--check. We now have air/con and heating in every room. The couches are being built and will be on their way shortly. We hope to see you again so you can try a perfectl temparzied nap on our couches!

Cloud 9 Hostel

Lagos, Portugal
91%

Cloud 9 is a good choice if you are going to Lagos! The spot was perfect, staff were super friendly and Skye's free pub crawl was a really fun night! Would recommend Cloud 9 for sure.

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Seville, Spain
97%

The boys at La Banda have done an amazing job. This was a seriously cool hostel in a perfect spot in Seville. The common area and rooms were super comfy and the rooftop bar with views of the Catherdral was incredible. Their €6 dinners (which include a drink) were SO delicious. To think they only opened in April is amazing. Stay at La Banda in Seville, you won't regret it!

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


Itinere Hostel

Granada, Spain
86%

Comfortable clean hostel with friendly, knowledgable staff and a good atmosphere. Is quite big and has an English/Spanish language school within the same building which is random but we met some interesting people. If you're in Granada make sure you go to Babel for drinks and free tapas!

  • 12th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


Roger's House

San Sebastian, Spain
86%

WE LOVED ROGER'S HOUSE! Don't be alarmed when you first walk in at how small it is, because it only adds to the atmosphere of the place. Mario's dinners and sangria were amazing and the bar crawls were so much fun. The staff have great recommendations for good pinxtos, and I never got to do it but apparently the hike they organise is amazing. Only negative is that it is a bit overpriced - the most expensive hostel I've stayed at in Spain.

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


Albergue Zaragoza Hostel

Zaragoza, Spain
89%

Great place to stay in Zaragoza. Quite big which sometimes detracts from the atmosphere and meeting new people but apart from that can't complain at all. Staff are super helpful and the venue in the basement is really cool.

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


The Hipstel

Barcelona, Spain
94%

Fantastic hostel, good spot, great staff, lovely atmosphere. The staff cook dinners for €5-8 every night and organise nights out too. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Would go back for sure!

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)


A&O Berlin Friedrichshain

Berlin, Germany
71%

Good area, clean enough. One of the biggest hostels I've ever stayed in - too big to have much of an atmosphere. The toilets smelled extremely bad while I was there but everything else was pretty clean.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (24 reviews)