Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Surf City Hostel, Los Angeles, USA
5.4
7th Aug 2016

Incredible location offset by a poor management of the hostel. There is a lack of security (3 lockers for 4 beds for example, entrance door open until late with no one filtering the access during the day...). Worst breakfast ever. Just do not provide this kind of breakfast, what is the point? The hostel would need to be freshened up. At least painting and carpets. Probably 10 years without works done. Noisy people when I was there and no one from the staff to ask them to be quiet.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica, Los Angeles, USA
7.1
28th Jul 2016

Great great location in Santa Monica. Quite amazing in such expensive place. The big issue is the room. Aweful and noisy fan! I could not sleep until one guy finally stopped it! But of course it was hot like hell after that... A pity because the location and the patio could have made this place fantastic

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sant Jordi Sagrada Familia, Barcelona, Spain
7.4
15th Jul 2016

There were LOUD kids in the room next door. A killer... Awake from 7-8 am. It is definitely not ideal when you come back at 6 am... This St-Jordi hostel is not as good as the Balmes one whose location is quite amazing and rooftop makes a real difference. Overall ok with some good recommendations from staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Castle Rock Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
8.0
17th Jun 2016

- Great/Amazing location opposite to the castle - Clean - Space in the room even if you are 10. But - No atmosphere when I was there (Friday, Saturday)... - Awful pubcrawl as we went to the most boring (except 1) and expensive pubs in Edinburgh. Plus people from the hostel only which was not great. - Beer pong on Saturday night. I pass especially when you have so much going on in the city. - Weird to have mixed toilets and showers. A bit disturbing. Not a big deal, just weird.

View Property Reply

Glad you enjoyed our awesome location, we quite like it too :) As for the atmosphere- we're sad to hear you didn't enjoy it very much. We have events almost every night and generally there's something going on for everyone but perhaps it wasn't quite what you were looking for this time around. Hope Edinburgh treated you well regardless!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Six Degrees, Jakarta, Indonesia
9.1
1st May 2015

Great hostel in a quite boring city. As other backpackers wrote, 6 degrees is the best thing to do in Jakarta!! The Irish guys are so friendly. The social area is awesome as well. They even have a gym!!! Haha Great place and we come back for our last day before going back to Europe :)!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Wombats City Hostel Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
8.0
8th Aug 2014

Very very very big hostel. Wifi is bad... Awesome lobby, nice bar, great location in Budapest. Too big to create a nice atmosphere actually and meet people easily. The breakfast is ok. Too bad they did not create a terrace on the glass roof

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
10.0
17th May 2014

Nice hostel and one of the receptionnist speaks a very good French!!! Nice view on the park and awesome shower! Elevator is working well!!! Great great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
9.4
16th May 2014

Very modern hostel in a very central location. It's a very big hostel with so many people. BUT the tour to Castaway islands was so disappointed. Ok i wanted a party tour but party tour cannot mean drink the whole day... It was just drinking games when Halong Bay is such a wonderful place... Didn't like my alcoholic heavy drinkers ... Wasted a lot of money. Too bad because the boat, the island itself and Halong Bay are awesome...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hue Backpackers Hostel, Hue, Vietnam
8.0
11th May 2014

Hostel ok... Not amazing but ok. Good location close to the bars in Hue. Quite a walk though to the cidatel! Hue is such a beautiful city! You definitely should go there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sunflower Hotel Hoi An, Hoi An, Vietnam
4.3
9th May 2014

Rude staff... Located between the beach and the city center... So so far away from these both places Breakfast is ok because there is a lot to eat but if the staff could smile instead of looking upset it would be better The swimming pool is ok

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Carpe Noctem Vitae, Budapest, Hungary
8.0
29th Aug 2013

Very nice building. The hostel is located on the 3rd and 4th floors. The elevator was working! Amen! +++: very good staff who takes time to give some advice about the city +++:good parties even if sometimes it's too brand oriented (the hostel is owned by a group that owns 3 other hostels in the city) ---: why do people makes out on the couch? Weird and not very clean Except that very weird stuff, the atmosphere is great. If you want to party go there, if you want to party harder, Retox.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.