Reviews: Anonymous

Sunshine Bedz KL

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Cockroach in the bedroom the first night!! Pulled out the bed to find two traps so hostel appears to have a problem with them? Fleece blanket way too small to keep warm with the aircon on. Terrible ventilation in our room which results in a stale smell in the room all the time. Breakfast aweful. Toilets and showers were kept clean. Staff were polite. Good location if the monorail was working up to Sentral but it was not while we were there. Prepare to lug luggage up LOTS of stairs!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We have a no food and drinks policy in the hostel to prevent pest in the rooms. We also have traps to capture the rest as we do not really want to poison the rooms you sleep in. All our private rooms have AC and a remote control so you can control the temperature. We are sorry you did not enjoy our simple breakfast of coffee, tea and jam on toast. It was just to start your day and enjoy Malaysian food available everywhere outside. Yes, on the 2nd floor we are.

5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1

Singapore, Singapore

Very very basic accomodation. No window in our twin but it was clean and the air con worked superbly. No lifts either so expect to lug your baggage up LOTS of stairs. The shower and toilet area is very basic - would not highly rate it and could certainly do with an upgrade. Very good location in the heart of Chinatown - less than a minute walk from Chinatown station to the hostel!! I also got laundry done by the hostel - very prompt, cheap and clothes were perfect when returned to me.

Brisbane City YHA

Brisbane, Australia

The place is spotless!!!! Kept so clean which is a huge plus! Very secure and lockers in the room for your bags. Staff are lovely and ice pops on arrival were a really nice touch! Recommend the place fully. Nice few eateries close by and close to supermarket. Short walk from the Roma Street train station also. Only stayed one night but one of the few hostels that I would happily stay for a few nights!

Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort

Surfers Paradise, Australia

Lovely staff! Very chilled atmosphere and nice communal area. Bit away from the centre but really nice to walk in via the beach. They also provide a shuttle bus every hour which is a very nice touch!

Base St Kilda

Melbourne, Australia

Nice location and close to tram stop for access to the CBD. Hostel itself is a party hostel. Could be more room in the dorms - tight squeeze when bags are in there. En suite is a pain as no other communal bathrooms available. We had a girl in our dorm who was throwing up all night and thus an en suite only became a nightmare!! Not the best hostel but not the worst either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems apart from messy room mates you had a pretty good stay. We're sorry that it affected your stay and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay with us here at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

The Flaming Kiwi Backpackers

Queenstown, New Zealand

Exceptional staff in Kent and Shona!! Home from home and the perfect mix of professional, lovely and caring :) Hostel has a great vibe, excellent facilities, free wifi and super comfy beds! Great location too! If you want a stay in Queenstown that's value for money and memorable - stay here!! Thank you so much again to Kent and Shona for a wonderful stay and for going out of your way to look after us!! Hope to be back :)

YHA Wellington City

Wellington, New Zealand

Pro's - great location, safe hostel, good Internet facilities, good laundry service and supermarket just across the road. Con's - Constant filthy kitchen, stained bed sheets, paper thin walls, uncomfortable beds, lacks in atmosphere and staff are professional friendly but not very helpful or proactive in problem solving. Overall the hostel is okay. Location is it's biggest asset.

Criterion Art Deco Backpackers

Napier, New Zealand

Jeff the manager is the perfect mix of professional, helpful, fun and generous! Absolutely loved this hostel. Great fully stocked kitchen. Bathrooms and rooms are spotless. Extremely comfey beds. Loads of space in the hostel. Currently going under some new renovations which will only make the place even more like a home from home. Absolutely fantastic hostel location, cannot be beaten! The hostel's previous life was a hotel from the 1930's so it's a special experience to stay here! :)

Rainbow Lodge Backpackers

Taupo, New Zealand

Ross and Jackie who run the hostel are lovely and great hosts! Hostel is very well run, clean and great layout. Creates homely atmosphere. Liked so much we added an extra night. Matt at reception is one of the nicest guys you'll meet on your travels! Hostel is ideally located and highly recommend. Had a great day at the races in Taupo too! Larson the Labrador was a great addition while we were there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments :-) we're glad that you enjoyed your time here that much that you extended your stay. safe travels, your always welcome back. .

Nomads Fat Camel Hostel

Auckland, New Zealand

The staff here are fantastic! Extremely helpful and just lovely people! The hostel itself is in need of restoration - balding and dirty carpets, mould in the bathrooms. Bed bugs - many girls were bitten in my dorm. Beds are uncomfortable. The hostel is due for renovation sometime and hopefully they will prioritise that! Events are on most nights and are great fun. The hostel has a fantastic location also and everything is very accessible.