Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Quetzal, Cancun, Mexico
9.1
29th Mar 2016

Hostel Quetzal is essentially my home away from home. Every other year when I need a quick and cheap get away between my Summer trips I head to Cancun. Hostel Quetzal is a place for drinking, partying, and meeting people. A good party hostel without the American frat boy vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Suites DF Hostel, Mexico City, Mexico
8.9
25th Mar 2016

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Dubrovnik Backpackers Club, Dubrovnik, Croatia
8.6
15th Jul 2015

Genuinely friendly and helpful people run this hostel. It's the family hostel experience without the invasion of privacy. The hostel is located a bit far from downtown, but I will definitely stay there again someday.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
6.9
14th Jul 2015

Positives: Extremely clean, full size storage cabinets, and air conditioning. Negatives: The website says that the hostel has parking - it doesn't. Street parking is always full (and dangerous). Paid lot located 2 blocks away costs nearly as much as the hostel itself. While only 10 minutes from Old Town, the neighborhood is pretty dodgy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Plitvice Backpackers, Plitvice Lakes, Croatia
10.0
14th Jul 2015

Never stayed here. I had to cancel my booking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Studio, Zadar, Croatia
5.7
13th Jul 2015

The hostel worker - who only stops in occasionally - seemed to hate his job and wasn't overly friendly. The shower was also very dirty. When I arrived, the studio was nearly filled with a group of 17 and 18 year old girls from London. Positives: Air conditioning worked well and the hostel located 10min from the old town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Split hostel Fiesta Siesta, Split, Croatia
8.3
9th Jul 2015

Nice facilities, great location, and the air conditioning actually works! (A big plus after traveling through Italy - a country where nothing seems to function but still costs money) Lack of 24hr checkin is a little annoying, but they offered to store my bags at a sister hostel and responded to my email within minutes. I would recommend to anyone traveling to Split.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
PLUS Florence, Florence, Italy
8.3
7th Jul 2015

I moved to this hostel for the air conditioning - the thermostat was turned so high it wasn't of much use. Great facilities for the price. I would have enjoyed them if it wasn't for my needing to leave so early in the morning. Good for singles and groups.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Pisa, Pisa, Italy
5.1
2nd Jul 2015

There are some hostels where the experience and profit go hand-in-hand and there are some that are only about making a profit - this one is the latter. Positives: Close to train station and decent price. Negatives: Overpriced towel hire and drinks, clogged shower drain, creepy senior citizens in the dorm room, very little mingling among guests, get kicked out for cleaning time, and front desk clerk gives you a hassle and tries to keep key despot if the key is returned without receipt.

View Property Reply

We honestly thing thats its all about the attitude you have when you enter a place, if a guest enters with a "that's weird /thats strange" to every of our explanation during checkin, and in general the same attitude towards everything (socializing, drinking and so on) then the hostel experience can never be good. Sometimes its about listening and trying to understand and maybe accept some simple house rules, that a big hostel needs to have to be able to work smooth as we actually do.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Monk's Bunk, Tallinn, Estonia
9.7
25th Jun 2015

Fun hostel in a great location with a friendly staff. The hostel is very clean and modern while still being priced very reasonably. Hands down the best Eastern European hostel I have visited. If you are looking for a party hostel stay here - otherwise search elsewhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.0
23rd Jun 2015

Positives: Great location, good price, and helpful staff. Downside: Tiny bathrooms, small common area, and under bed cage rather than a locker. Overall a good hostel for Eastern Europe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Jimmy Jumps House/Hostel, Vilnius, Lithuania
8.0
22nd Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Warsaw Downtown Hostel, Warsaw, Poland
8.0
21st Jun 2015

Had to cancel my reservation. I'm reviewing because I can't figure out how to delete the review alert.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Berlin, Berlin, Germany
8.9
17th Jun 2015

This was my third Wombats experience. Friendly and helpful staff, located next to metro station, and fun rooftop bar with fantastic happy hour prices. Not the poshest hostel in Berlin, but that is made up for by the atmosphere and price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
U Hostels, Madrid, Spain
8.3
12th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Cheers Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
5.7
9th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
#bunk taksim, Istanbul, Turkey
8.0
8th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Burg Hostel, Sighisoara, Romania
4.9
5th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Smart Hostel Sibiu, Sibiu, Romania
8.6
4th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Old Town Hostel, Sibiu, Romania
3.1
3rd Jun 2015

The hostel is in a fantastic location, but it was nearly empty, dirty, only had one small bathroom, no common area, and the staff was not overly helpful. I canceled the reservation for my third night and reserved elsewhere the second night despite having already paid. Second worst hostel I've been to.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Doors Hostel, Bucharest, Romania
7.1
1st Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Hat Madrid, Madrid, Spain
7.7
31st May 2015

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sungate One, Madrid, Spain
9.4
29th May 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel DownTown, Prague, Czech Republic
8.0
25th May 2015

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel London, London, England
8.3
24th May 2015

Very friendly and helpful front desk. Nice lounge area. The only downside is that it's located a bit of a drab neighborhood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Quetzal, Cancun, Mexico
8.0
4th Apr 2014

Not the fanciest hostel in the world, but it is certainly one of the most social and a great value. I have stayed at hostels in 23 countries, and Hostel Quetzal is hands down the best. Things have changed since I first visited in 2008, but mostly for the better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Amigo, Mexico City, Mexico
7.1
31st Mar 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Suites DF Hostel, Mexico City, Mexico
5.7
29th Mar 2014

I slept on the hardest mattress I've ever experienced, the hot water didn't work, the shower drain was clogged, and it was the most unsocial hostel I've ever visited.

View Property Reply

Dear, I am so sorry you had such a bad experience with us, I am checking what happened with this room while you were here. Also sorry you came in low season, we are working hard to build a new terrace - bar for our guests to have a better stay. Thank you for your comments, we will fix it asap. Fabiola

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Chicago Getaway Hostel, Chicago, USA
8.0
11th Oct 2013

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.