Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
NY Moore Hostel, New York, USA
2.9
30th Jul 2016

Overpriced, dodgy area of city with NYC locals staying at hostel, outdated furnishings, and little security. I have stayed at hostels on four continents, and this was the second worst hostel I have ever stayed at. American hostels are usually pretty bad, but this place was a major ripoff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Q4 Hotel, New York, USA
5.1
29th Jul 2016

Massively overpriced, no attractions in the area, extremely noisy intersection, the toilet didn't work, and they charge for luggage storage.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The MadHouse Prague, Prague, Czech Republic
8.3
26th Jul 2016

Vey friendly staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Circus Hostel, Berlin, Germany
8.0
21st Jul 2016

The hostel is conveniently located next to a metro stop on an active cafe filled street. The facilities are very nice, but I feel as if design won out over practicality. A few issues: 1) One must pay to store luggage (first time I have ever seen that one), 2) no storage locker in the room (only a tinny lockbox too small to hold a tablet), 3) the corner rooms are extremely noisy due to the tram and near constant emergency sirens, and 4) the Tap Room was almost always empty. Lux on a budget though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Silver Central Hostel, Split, Croatia
7.1
18th Jul 2016

A nice clean hostel in a perfect central location. The staff were friendly and the aircon worked 24/7 - not only a few hours per day like most hostels. I stayed during Ultra week so the prices were high. If you are traveling as a couple this hostel is a great choice, but if you are traveling solo you might want to choose a different place. There was a group of 20+ recent high school graduates nearly filling the hostel when I was there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hobo Bear Hostel, Zagreb, Croatia
8.0
12th Jul 2016

Hobo Bear had some of the friendliest and most helpful workers that I have seen in a long time. The hostel is centrally located within walking distance of the main attractions. My only complaint is that I chose this hostel for the aircon, but there is only one unit in a corridor and it does not really work well at all. The first night was unbearably hot.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Zeppelin Hostel, Ljubljana, Slovenia
8.0
9th Jul 2016

Friendly, helpful, and welcoming staff make this hostel. The hostel is located about 10min from the heart of the old town and within waking distance of the bus/train station. On the downside the hostel is a little overpriced for a place that does not have aircon and or temperature adjustable showers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Munich, Munich, Germany
8.0
8th Jul 2016

Hostel has a fun bar and a good atmosphere for a large hostel. Given the price, the rooms and beds could use some updating.

View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We are constantly repairing and updating all the facilities in our hostel. It always helps us when customers give us more detailed informations about what kind of improvements they would want to see in our house. So don´t be shy next time, stop by at the reception and tell us your wishes. Best regards, Wombat´s Management

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Slumber Party Hostel, Koh Phangan, Thailand
6.0
30th Jun 2016

I went during the off season following the half moon party, so there wasn't much of a party. I heard that it's a great time when the hostel is full. Positives: Social, cheap, and centrally located. Negatives: They ask to hold passport until checkout.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wanderlust, Koh Phangan, Thailand
7.1
29th Jun 2016

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Liquid Lounge Hostel, Koh Samui, Thailand
9.1
26th Jun 2016

Small single dorm hostel owned by a friendly couple. The hostel was extremely clean, the room was nice, the aircon worked, and the food was good and reasonably priced with the discount. It was the best hostel that I stayed at in Thailand.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hug Hostel, Chiang Mai, Thailand
8.6
21st Jun 2016

Clean, friendly staff, and decent location. The one downside is that the closing down of all common areas ruines the atmosphere. Chiang Mai in general is a more laid back and conservative city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
MEININGER Cologne City Center, Cologne, Germany
7.7
16th Jun 2016

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pathpoint Cologne, Cologne, Germany
7.1
14th Jun 2016

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers-Duesseldorf, Dusseldorf, Germany
8.3
13th Jun 2016

The place was near empty when I was there, but the facilities were clean. Nice hostel if you are looking for a good nights sleep. Probably a little over priced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Quetzal, Cancun, Mexico
9.1
29th Mar 2016

Hostel Quetzal is essentially my home away from home. Every other year when I need a quick and cheap get away between my Summer trips I head to Cancun. Hostel Quetzal is a place for drinking, partying, and meeting people. A good party hostel without the American frat boy vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Suites DF Hostel, Mexico City, Mexico
8.9
25th Mar 2016

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Dubrovnik Backpackers Club, Dubrovnik, Croatia
8.6
15th Jul 2015

Genuinely friendly and helpful people run this hostel. It's the family hostel experience without the invasion of privacy. The hostel is located a bit far from downtown, but I will definitely stay there again someday.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Plitvice Backpackers, Plitvice Lakes, Croatia
10.0
14th Jul 2015

Never stayed here. I had to cancel my booking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
6.9
14th Jul 2015

Positives: Extremely clean, full size storage cabinets, and air conditioning. Negatives: The website says that the hostel has parking - it doesn't. Street parking is always full (and dangerous). Paid lot located 2 blocks away costs nearly as much as the hostel itself. While only 10 minutes from Old Town, the neighborhood is pretty dodgy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Studio, Zadar, Croatia
5.7
13th Jul 2015

The hostel worker - who only stops in occasionally - seemed to hate his job and wasn't overly friendly. The shower was also very dirty. When I arrived, the studio was nearly filled with a group of 17 and 18 year old girls from London. Positives: Air conditioning worked well and the hostel located 10min from the old town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Split hostel Fiesta Siesta, Split, Croatia
8.3
9th Jul 2015

Nice facilities, great location, and the air conditioning actually works! (A big plus after traveling through Italy - a country where nothing seems to function but still costs money) Lack of 24hr checkin is a little annoying, but they offered to store my bags at a sister hostel and responded to my email within minutes. I would recommend to anyone traveling to Split.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
PLUS Florence, Florence, Italy
8.3
7th Jul 2015

I moved to this hostel for the air conditioning - the thermostat was turned so high it wasn't of much use. Great facilities for the price. I would have enjoyed them if it wasn't for my needing to leave so early in the morning. Good for singles and groups.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Pisa, Pisa, Italy
5.1
2nd Jul 2015

There are some hostels where the experience and profit go hand-in-hand and there are some that are only about making a profit - this one is the latter. Positives: Close to train station and decent price. Negatives: Overpriced towel hire and drinks, clogged shower drain, creepy senior citizens in the dorm room, very little mingling among guests, get kicked out for cleaning time, and front desk clerk gives you a hassle and tries to keep key despot if the key is returned without receipt.

View Property Reply

We honestly thing thats its all about the attitude you have when you enter a place, if a guest enters with a "that's weird /thats strange" to every of our explanation during checkin, and in general the same attitude towards everything (socializing, drinking and so on) then the hostel experience can never be good. Sometimes its about listening and trying to understand and maybe accept some simple house rules, that a big hostel needs to have to be able to work smooth as we actually do.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Monk's Bunk, Tallinn, Estonia
9.7
25th Jun 2015

Fun hostel in a great location with a friendly staff. The hostel is very clean and modern while still being priced very reasonably. Hands down the best Eastern European hostel I have visited. If you are looking for a party hostel stay here - otherwise search elsewhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.0
23rd Jun 2015

Positives: Great location, good price, and helpful staff. Downside: Tiny bathrooms, small common area, and under bed cage rather than a locker. Overall a good hostel for Eastern Europe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Jimmy Jumps House/Hostel, Vilnius, Lithuania
8.0
22nd Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Warsaw Downtown Hostel, Warsaw, Poland
8.0
21st Jun 2015

Had to cancel my reservation. I'm reviewing because I can't figure out how to delete the review alert.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Berlin, Berlin, Germany
8.9
17th Jun 2015

This was my third Wombats experience. Friendly and helpful staff, located next to metro station, and fun rooftop bar with fantastic happy hour prices. Not the poshest hostel in Berlin, but that is made up for by the atmosphere and price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
U Hostels, Madrid, Spain
8.3
12th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Cheers Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
5.7
9th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
#bunk taksim, Istanbul, Turkey
8.0
8th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Burg Hostel, Sighisoara, Romania
4.9
5th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Smart Hostel Sibiu, Sibiu, Romania
8.6
4th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Old Town Hostel, Sibiu, Romania
3.1
3rd Jun 2015

The hostel is in a fantastic location, but it was nearly empty, dirty, only had one small bathroom, no common area, and the staff was not overly helpful. I canceled the reservation for my third night and reserved elsewhere the second night despite having already paid. Second worst hostel I've been to.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Doors Hostel, Bucharest, Romania
7.1
1st Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Hat Madrid, Madrid, Spain
7.7
31st May 2015

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sungate One, Madrid, Spain
9.4
29th May 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel DownTown, Prague, Czech Republic
8.0
25th May 2015

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel London, London, England
8.3
24th May 2015

Very friendly and helpful front desk. Nice lounge area. The only downside is that it's located a bit of a drab neighborhood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Quetzal, Cancun, Mexico
8.0
4th Apr 2014

Not the fanciest hostel in the world, but it is certainly one of the most social and a great value. I have stayed at hostels in 23 countries, and Hostel Quetzal is hands down the best. Things have changed since I first visited in 2008, but mostly for the better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Amigo, Mexico City, Mexico
7.1
31st Mar 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Suites DF Hostel, Mexico City, Mexico
5.7
29th Mar 2014

I slept on the hardest mattress I've ever experienced, the hot water didn't work, the shower drain was clogged, and it was the most unsocial hostel I've ever visited.

View Property Reply

Dear, I am so sorry you had such a bad experience with us, I am checking what happened with this room while you were here. Also sorry you came in low season, we are working hard to build a new terrace - bar for our guests to have a better stay. Thank you for your comments, we will fix it asap. Fabiola

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Chicago Getaway Hostel, Chicago, USA
8.0
11th Oct 2013

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.