Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Oaklands Lodge, Auckland, New Zealand
9.7
13th Mar 2016

One of the best hostels we have stayed in in over 30 years of travelling. Beautiful double story wooden building. Well equipped kitchen with lots of fridges and freezers, big preparation areas and everything well labeled. Very clean and well maintained. Our double bed room was roomy and well ventilated. Good sized lounge and dining areas. Good atmosphere and very quiet at night.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have tried to make the best retreat for backpackers to enjoy quiet nights and having a very clean place to stay. We hope you continue to travel for another 30 years and we get to see you again in the near future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
The Attic Backpackers, Auckland, New Zealand
9.1
16th Feb 2016

Had a wonderful stay at the Attic. Very central to all town sites and helpful staff. Hooks would be good in the rooms to hang gear. Disappointed that extra cost is incurred if paying by credit card.

View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks for leaving us a review. We're super happy to hear you had a "wonderful stay" with us. It's great to hear you found our staff helpful as we try to go the extra mile for all guests in terms of service and presentation of the hostel. We do have hooks in our rooms but will address your suggestion and look into adding more. Unfortunately, most places in New Zealand will have a similar charge in place for international credit cards. We hope you have an awesome time on your travels and stay with us if you're ever back in Auckland. The Attic Team :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
YHA London St Pancras, London, England
8.9
17th May 2014

great location loved it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Castle Hostel, Ballycastle, Northern Ireland
8.6
10th May 2014

Berkley was a very welcoming host and runs a clean tidy hostel in a good location close to all facilities.Free parking at the rear was a bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Fairman House, Derry, Northern Ireland
9.1
8th May 2014

The home was spotless with very good facilities for self catering, a very comfortable lounge to relax in. Easy walking distance to town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Apple Hostel Letterkenny, Letterkenny, Ireland
7.1
6th May 2014

Extremely helpful manager. Very close to town facilities. Rooms are in the process of being renovated.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your recent stay at Apple hostel. We are now at the end stage of refurbishment at apple hostel. By adding 5 new en suite facilities to some of our bedrooms. Our brand newly designed kitchen has been finished in Jan with open stove.The final stage of the common room where we added a large stone wall and stove and are just awaiting the bar counter for the games room with a pool table. glad you found our staff helpful as it is so important to make all our guests welcome.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Aras Ghleann Cholm Cille, Donegal, Ireland
9.1
5th May 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at the hostel which is located in a picturesque area. Paul was very welcoming and informative about local sights. There's a large well equipped kitchen & dining area and a cosy fire in the evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
The Benwiskin Centre, Sligo, Ireland
10.0
4th May 2014

Brilliant hostel. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Good location in picturesque setting. Everything is clean, tidy and organised. Spotless & well equiped kitchen and good dining facilities.The best hostel we have ever stayed at. Absolutely recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
ArrowRock Lodge, Sligo, Ireland
7.4
3rd May 2014

Very helpful host with good ideas for sightseeing.Good lounge, dining & kitchen facilities.

View Property Reply

Thank You for the kind comments.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Valley House Holiday Hostel, Achill, Ireland
4.6
2nd May 2014

Helpful and freindly staff with good breakfast provided. Showers were hot. This hostel has seen better days and has a very tired and run down appearance. Needs a lot of work on repairing torn carpets, loose floorboards and no heating in the rooms at night to bring it up to an acceptable standard.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Kinlay Eyre Square Hostel, Galway, Ireland
10.0
1st May 2014

Excellent hostel well run with friendly helpful staff. Great security and the best breakfast provided by a hostel so far!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Rainbow Hostel Doolin, Doolin, Ireland
8.0
30th Apr 2014

Mattie was extremely informative about the area and gave us good suggestions for exploration. Warm and cosy at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Travelodge Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
9.7
29th Apr 2014

Good location if you have a car. Excellent facilities and security. A fridge in the room would have been appreciated. Diner next door to Travelodge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Tower View Lodge, Tralee, Ireland
2.0
28th Apr 2014

Arrived at the hostel at 6.00pm. No one was at the premises. Phoned the owner on 2 local numbers with no answer. The 3rd number became an international connection to France where the owner was on holiday. No apology. Said she would get her friend Mike to come around. We waited until 7.00pm. No one turned up! We were forced to find alternative accommodation late in the evening. We consider that this behaviour is completely unprofessional and unacceptable. Do not book this hostel!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Neptunes Town Hostel, Killarney, Ireland
10.0
25th Apr 2014

Warm welcome by staff. Excellently run hostel & well located. Very clean and tidy. Good sized rooms and good lounge area plus use of a computer. The kitchen has all that you need & is efficiently and regularly cleaned throughout the day making it the best hostel communal kitchen we have come across. Very good breakfast provided. Free parking is 5 minute walk away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
6.0
24th Apr 2014

Very nice clean comfortable room. Warm welcome by manager. Refused credit card despite Hostelworld listing. Informed by husband of manager that "Tea making facilities were not provided as we had booked through Hostelworld & we were getting a good deal as it was" TV didnt work. At 7:15 am there was no hot water for a shower.Took 10mins to raise the husband of the manager who asked why we needed hot water so early. No apology given & waited 30mins for the hot water.A very beligerent attitude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Driftwood Country Hostel, Skibbereen, Ireland
6.3
23rd Apr 2014

Large lounge, kitchen & bedrooms, nicely decorated. Desy lit us a fire & made it cosy. The hostel is a considerable distance from Skibbereen so o ly accessible by car.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
8.6
20th Apr 2014

A very well managed hostel with friendly staff who man the front desk at all times. Clean room and ensuite. Quiet at night. Large lounge and dining room but kitchen a little small & cramped for size of hostel. Parking on site was handy. Easy to walk to town centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Cashel Hostel, Cashel, Ireland
6.6
19th Apr 2014

Clean room in quiet hostel.Large comfortable lounge & big kitchen. The front desk is signed that it is attended from 8:30 am but at 900 am Patrick Joseph was not in attendance to reimburse us our Five Euros key deposit. We ran the bell to no avail & finally tracked down an employee who rang Patrick. He returned to the hostel in his car & refunded our money but no apology given despite being delayed by 30 minutes. No note was left at the desk explaining Patrick Josephs absence to hostellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Beach Haven Hostel, Tramore, Ireland
10.0
18th Apr 2014

This is a review for the Beach Haven B&B as we were upgraded

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Beaches Youth Hostel, Wexford, Ireland
10.0
17th Apr 2014

Very warm welcome by Marie & Noel. This is a relatively recently refurbished hostel with a quality kitchen and lovely dining area. Marie lit the coal fire for us to ensure we had a warm comfortable evening. Very clean and tidy with nice furnishings. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
The Old Presbytery, Wicklow, Ireland
5.4
13th Apr 2014

Friendly welcome by hostel manager. Very good kitchen set up with cookers & tables but the fridge was completely inadequate for the numbers accomodated in the hostel. Small lounge positioned in the middle of the walkway for entry and exit. The manager is not on site therefore there was no control of noise at night & we had to go down the street to buy a can opener as the manager could not be contacted. Shower in our room was very unsighty siliconed completely around the square of the shower base

View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We value your comments and will strive to address the concerns raised here. Harry

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
The Dublin Central Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
9.7
8th Apr 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Ian who was very friendly and informative as were all the staff we met. Stayed 5 nights in a good location quiet and secure. Good kitchen facilities & the breakfast provided had a wide range of cereals and condiments. Free Wifi was a bonus and a comfortable lounge area with a range of books and DVDs to watch. Only minor negative was a bad smell outside our room which the hostel was attempting to deal with using an automatic air freshener.

View Property Reply

Hi many thanks for the great review. We solved the problem with the smell. The hostel is fresh again. ;-) It was great to have you here, greetings to Australia. Best Regards, Ian

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.