Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
10.0
11th Dec 2014

This hostel was one of the best we've been to so far. Tasty basic breakfast (sometimes there's pancakes!), comfy warm beds, amazingly friendly staff, quiet but really cool atmosphere. Only a 15 minute walk to Plaza de Armas. We would definitely recommend this to anyone else looking for a laid back place with a great atmosphere and extremely nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Tambopata Hostel, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
8.0
10th Dec 2014

This is a pretty good hostel. Walking distance to the main plaza and close to the port where you depart for all jungle tours. Good breakfast and kitchen. Hammocks. Pretty clean. Nice little living room with a small TV. BUT the mosquitos are outrageous. We never got bit much after 6 days in the jungle until we came to this place. Since the rooms are around an outside garden, the place is swarming with mosquitos (inside the rooms!), so be aware!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Tarantula Eco-Hostel, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
6.3
8th Dec 2014

This place has great deals on tours and the manager Abed is really nice and accommodating. Not really an atmosphere because it's also a family home. There's not really walls to the rooms, just half-walls and the rest are large see-through screens, though it does help with the heat. Pool is not swimmable - it's murky and a family of frogs live in it. Bugs can and probably will get in the room (cockroaches, mosquitos, spiders - not tarantulas though). BUT, it IS the Amazon, so it's all expected.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kokopelli Hostel Cusco, Cusco, Peru
8.9
6th Dec 2014

Pretty great hostel. Fairly clean, big lockers that slide under the beds, fair priced restaurant and bar with happy hour. Legit luggage storage room with tags for your bags. The only thing is there's no kitchen and it's definitely a party hostel, so be prepared to not get good sleep. There's no curfew, so music can go until 6am even. But overall, if you're looking for a good time and a place to drink and meet people, we'd recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kon Tiki Bungalows, Mancora, Peru
10.0
25th Nov 2014

The hostel and the staff were amazing. If you're a couple or in a group, this is definitely the place to go if you want a really good priced chill hostel to relax. It has an incredible view of the entire city and beach, hammocks, a nicely equipped kitchen, good wi-fi and a comfortable outside patio common area. The rooms were very clean and there are padlocks on the doors. The owner also picks you up and drives you to the bus station for free! Requires a tiny hike to town (5 min), but not hard.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
La Gringa d Huanchaco, Huanchaco, Peru
4.3
19th Nov 2014

This is the DIRTIEST hostel we have ever stayed in! There is mold everywhere, nothing is clean, bathrooms are unusable. We arrived at 4:45AM and had to knock on the door for 30 minutes before someone answered, but they claim to have 24hr reception. Hostel owner is nice but not concerned with the comfortability of your stay. We used their laundry service which arrived 3 hours late so we were not able to dry it ourselves and had to pay more. Go down one block & stay at J &J, they are incredible!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Andescamp Hostel, Huaraz, Peru
4.9
15th Nov 2014

This hostel didnt have much of an atmosphere when we stayed. The receptionist who was also a traveler did not know about our reservation, but let us check-in early. Staff were very cold and uninviting, they only spoke to you when you asked a question and made it seem like a huge inconvenience that you were asking them something. Breakfast is not served on Sundays, its their "rest day"! So if you only book on a Saturday night, breakfast is not included like it says on the website. Dont stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Enjoy Hostels, Lima, Peru
7.4
11th Nov 2014

We only stayed for one night. Hostel was quiet. 2 living room areas that are nice. Free basic breakfast of bread with butter and jam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
4.6
5th Nov 2014

This hostel didn't have much of an atmosphere and the owners kids are running around all the time yelling and screaming and the walls are very thin. Our private room shared a thin wall with the kitchen so we were woken up early every day. The staff who book tours were horrible and none spoke English. While they explained the tours they were very rude. We booked with them but we didn't get what we paid for (bilingual guide), our tour started late, it was completely unorganized. Don't stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
La Casa de Miguel, Ica, Peru
4.9
2nd Nov 2014

Michelle and Miguel are very nice and helpful hosts. They can also book tours for you at low prices. However their home was quite dirty, no hot showers, no locks or door knobs for the rooms, really bad mattresses, sink in the private room bathroom didn't work, and the free breakfast was only very hard stale bread with jam and butter (but the french press coffee was really delicious and nice to have). Also, they have 4 dogs, 2 cats, and roosters to be aware if you're not an animal lover.

View Property Reply

Our aim is to provide a secure home to travelers, at low prices. If we put hot water, we have to charge triple the price, like all other typical hostels. We are aware of the sink issue, but the price of the room with private bath is the same as other rooms, and you have a private toilet and shower. Door knobs will be changed so our guests feel more secure. And lastly, we do have many animals, however we are proud to have them represent us, so it may be inconvenient for non animal lovers, indeed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hospedaje Brabant, Nazca, Peru
7.4
1st Nov 2014

The main receptionist is really nice, but the night attendant not so much. Good beds. No kitchen. Breakfast not included and is 5 or 7 soles depending on what you get. Very close to lots of restaurants and main plaza. Hot shower. Great rooftop patio with comfy chairs and shade. Good Wi-Fi. You can book tours at reasonable prices with the hostel. Free computer to use and luggage storage room available, but with no lock. Nothing to write home about, but pretty good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Friendly AQP, Arequipa, Peru
10.0
24th Oct 2014

This hostel was amazing. The staff are extremely nice and helpful. They have tours at reasonable prices too. Hot showers. Great breakfast (eggs and bread or pancake). Relaxing outdoor patio with ping-pong table and comfortable living room with large couch and a big TV. Short walk to Plaza de Armas. Close to a huge supermarket. Kitchen is good, but a little small. Overall, I'd recommend this hostel to anyone going to Arequipa. The beds even had individual curtains for privacy and great mattresses

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Adventure Brew Hostel, La Paz, Bolivia
8.3
18th Oct 2014

This hostel had a lot of good features and we would recommend it to others. It's right next to the bus station and pretty close to the main plaza. Unlimited pancake breakfast, free beer every night and late check out was definitely amazing. Beds were comfy, but it can get loud at night because of the bar downstairs. There is a pool table, ping pong table, and a travel agency there too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Marlon's House Puno, Puno, Peru
9.4
16th Oct 2014

Marlon's House is definitely a good value. It is clean, has a nice living room on the 4th floor, free tea all day long and the breakfast was good (bread, eggs, coffee, juice). Not a far walk from the center of town (10 minutes or so). Private rooms are big with comfy beds. Kitchen is on the roof and not well stocked, which is inconvenient, but everything worked. We would recommend it to others.

View Property Reply

hello, thank for you score about Marlon's House Puno and for your comment , we are happy because you help us to improve our job and we are happy also because you had a good time here. thank for visit Peru,Puno and Marlon's House :) have a good day

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Yawarmaki Hotel, Cusco, Peru
9.7
7th Oct 2014

This hostel was great and Raquel was so nice and very welcoming. Breakfast is tasty eggs and bread. Raquel upgraded us to a room with a private bathroom free of charge and was very accomomdating when we went on the Salkantay trek. Our bags were stored in a secure locked room the entire time. the hostel was also quite clean, quiet, and comfy when we were there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Empedrado, Mendoza, Argentina
10.0
29th Sep 2014

This hostel was amazing. We absolutely recommend it and would stay again in a heartbeat. Great atmosphere and very clean. 2 kitchens, hot water, amazing breakfast, and helpful staff for booking tours or explaining how to wine taste on your own for cheaper.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Coloria Hostel, Salta, Argentina
7.1
24th Sep 2014

Hostel was pretty good with a cool living room. There was a guitar for anyone to play but it was missing a string and not really in playable condition. The hostel door was not locked so anyone could just walk in and go into some of the rooms before even reaching reception. Open ping pong table. Good kitchen. Tours were overpriced. Good location within walking distance to plaza. Breakfast was simple, but they baked fresh bread each night for the next morning's breakfast, which was a highlight.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Baluch Backpackers Hostel, Cordoba, Argentina
8.3
19th Sep 2014

Hostel has a great atmosphere with a rooftop terrace with lots of seating and a BBQ. There's also a nice living room inside and a decently equipped kitchen. You have to cook your own eggs in the morning, but if you don't mind like us it's awesome just to have eggs, but there's also cereal and bread. Staff are super helpful and friendly. No complaints. Would stay there again. Good location too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Art Rosario Hostel, Rosario, Argentina
7.1
15th Sep 2014

This hostel has the potential to have a really good atmosphere but the hostel is full of students who don't care to socialize because they're not travelers. The breakfast is horrible. Stale medialunas with nasty coffee. The art everywhere was pretty cool and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Kitchen is not very equipped and they don't seem to clean their fridge out often. It's okay for a few days, but just know what kind of hostel you're getting into.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Destino26, Montevideo, Uruguay
8.9
5th Sep 2014

Really great staff. Kitchen was fully stocked and pretty big. Outside seating/BBQ area. Big dining/living room with guitar and hand-drum for anyone to play. Close to popular bus lines and some good cheaper food. Decent breakfast (bread and cereal). Would definitely go there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
El Viajero - Hostel & Suites, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
9.1
4th Sep 2014

This hostel was great. No issues at all. They have a cozy living room with a fireplace that warms up the whole place, included with a guitar for anyone to play. The breakfast was simple but tasty. Right next to the historic part of Colonia and next door to a craft brewery with amazing beer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pousada do Indio Asa Branca, Salvador, Brazil
2.0
4th Aug 2014

The hostel was closed. Door shut. No one answered for 30 minutes and we even had the shop owner next door call the hostel owner on her cell phone and no answer. We had to find another nearby hostel (Hostel Patua), which was pretty good and which we would recommend. We went back multiple times that week and they still had their doors shut. We e-mailed the day before we arrived and have still received no reply. Don't waste your money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Barra Guest Hostel, Salvador, Brazil
10.0
29th Jul 2014

Everything was amazing! I have been to multiple hostels in Brazil and this was by far the best one yet. Clean, calm, INCREDIBLE breakfast, extremely friendly and informative staff, and a FREE caipirinha daily. Kitchen was large and fully stocked. Living room with big TV. Hammocks and couches in outside patio. Great location near grocery stores, bus stop, banks, shopping mall, beaches and the lighthouse. This is a home away from home. I wish I could say the same about my current hostel.

View Property Reply

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Barra Guest Hostel All the team give their best to make sure that the guests are safe, having a good time. Thank you so much for staying with us!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
King Albergue, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
6.0
13th Jul 2014

We stayed for 2 days during the World Cup Final. We booked it last minute at a competitive price. The owner was nice but did not speak English and often complained, though we had no issues with him. The hostel is small and you have to provide your own toilet paper. No real kitchen to cook in. Free wi-fi and computer to use. The hostel is right next to the Catete metro station which is really nice and not too far from Flamengo Beach and Lapa. We recommend booking the 8 bed shared room, not the 16

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
6.3
1st Jul 2014

We were traveling at this hostel as a couple and our stay at this hostel was overall average. When we first checked in they had our reservation wrong and put us in separate rooms, even though we e-mailed them before to ensure we would be together. It took them 3 days to put us in the same room. The hostel itself is pretty clean although the bathrooms/rooms could have been cleaner. Staff were friendly though not too helpful since every few hours there was a different receptionist. 4 days is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.