Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
8.6
13th Apr 2014

Rooms nice. Bathrooms mouldy and not very clean. Only stayed one night. Big kitchen. Movie night with popcorn was great! Woolworths 5mins away. Airbus stop 5 mins away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Peppertree Lodge, Paihia, New Zealand
8.6
9th Apr 2014

Pretty sure I had bedbugs although the guy running the place checked and promised me there weren't. Bathroom is accessed from outside which is fine if you don't mind all the bugs that therefore fly or crawl in. Great value for money though, great location, opposite Base, 15-20 min walk to Woolworths, 5-10 mins to town/wharf/library (free wifi). I probably wouldn't stay again due to the amount of bites I came away with but my friend didn't get as many so perhaps I'm just unlucky!

View Property Reply

Stephanie, I turned that whole room out after you left, checked every sheet waterproof, mattress, then the 8 beds in that dorm, the slats using a thin plastic, under the slats and every bed was 100% clear, people in all those beds since and not a bite mark between any one. Whilst you were there I checked your and your friends sheets, not a mark on them , and nothing to show unwanted visitors. I also fumigated that room, and not a dead body to be found, so not sure what nibbled at you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
The Station Backpackers, Auckland, New Zealand
7.4
5th Apr 2014

Good hostel but a bit overpriced. Nice homely feel. Lots of free food available, probably from people leaving for the airport. 5 minute walk to countdown, 10 mins to the centre. Free WiFi only downstairs. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Blarneys Rock Backpackers, Rotorua, New Zealand
10.0
31st Mar 2014

Best hostel I've stayed in. The girls working there are really helpful and friendly, it's really clean, the rooms are spacious, we got a free upgrade to a 4 bed dorm rather than 8 (with one of the bottom bunks a double!), the kitchen has an oven, loads of free herbs, spices and other free food. Free unlimited WiFi big plus, great discounts on activities there too and if you're there on a Thursday the night market is right on the doorstep. 5-10 min walk to Pak 'n' Save. Brilliant, stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Taupo Urban Retreat, Taupo, New Zealand
9.4
26th Mar 2014

Great hostel, staff really nice and helpful, rooms pretty clean although quite a lot of web and some spiders on the windows and in the bathrooms. Cheap(ish) bar. Clean kitchen. Bit noisy at night as Kiwi Experience use this hostel. Phone available for use for freephone numbers. Overall really enjoyed my stay here and would stay again.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments, enjoy the rest of your travels :-) Housekeeping are trying to keep ahead of those diligent spiders!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, Te Anau, New Zealand
8.3
12th Mar 2014

Lovely backpackers, like little blocks of houses, we had a balcony overlooking the lake. Lots of games, comfy lounge area. Single beds rather than bunks was an absolute treat! Walking distance to shops. They had a problem with mice while we were there, they were dealing with it though and we didn't see any. Lovely place, would definitely stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
Gonow Family Backpacker, Brisbane, Australia
8.9
24th Jan 2014

Great homely hostel. Basic rooms but you're only sleeping in them! Air con only on for part of the evening and night so woke up quite hot. Free pasta and rice provided in the kitchen. Not much cutlery. Free WiFi always a plus. Mango trees in the yard! Laundry available, lockers available, secure outside gate overnight (use your room key to get in) and locked rooms. Staff really nice and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
10.0
8th Dec 2013

Free breakfast is basic cereals and milk, but everything you need. Get up early enough, there's fruit too. Free WiFi great, signal not in all rooms but good in most other areas. The staff I dealt with were all very helpful and honest about trips, ie told me where I could save money and advice where they'd done tours/self drive trips themselves. Ten min walk from central bus station, 15 to Coles probably at a slow pace! Under 10 mins walk to Currie street for public buses. Saw cleaner daily.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.