Reviews: Anonymous

Managua Backpackers Inn

Managua, Nicaragua
49%

This hostel is poorly located for visiting Managua. The female dorm room has no lock and no secure storage facilities for backpacks. There are also broken window vents meaning mosquitos are a real problem at night. The staff were completely disinterested apart from a guy called Ricardo who was the only good thing about this place. There are better located hostels for your money - go elsewhere!! The hostel advertise as being in a safe location - this is only true if you want to visit the Mall...

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (2 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, In fact the female dorm does have a lock on the door, however, being a shared dorm (not a private room), we don't provide a key to guests for the room. We'll look into the problem with the window and make any necessary repairs. Also, we have lockers located just outside of the room you stayed in and also near the reception area. We feel that the hostel is well located near major transport hubs and shopping, etc. in one the best neighborhoods in Managua. Thanks for your comments.

Hostel Urbano

San Jose, Costa Rica
66%

This was the strangest hostel in which I have ever stayed! Zero atmosphere on the outskirts of town. Kate at reception was excellent in providing advice about onward travel but that was really the only redeeming quality. I haven't stayed anywhere else inSan Jose but if you can avoid stopping in the city, then do! I was told lots of horror stories about arriving at the airport but it was fine, none of the hassle that you get in Asia. Stay here only if you need help planning your trip!

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (2 reviews)