Reviews: Anomaly

Location: Canada, Gender: Male, Age: 26

Jetpak Alternative

Berlin, Germany
77%

It's located in Kreuzberg, which can be cool, but at the same time it is right across the street from Gorlitzer Park which is full of drug dealers. Most of the dealers will stop bothering you if you politely refuse, but one night I was followed for half a block by one. Very annoying. Hostel itself is secure though despite the area and has one of the best deals on beer you can get in Berlin.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Hostel Happy Seven

Gdansk, Poland
91%

A pretty good hostel. Centrally located and everything in Gdansk is walkable, so you have a good base camp by staying here. You have to take your shoes off when entering, a bit weird, but the place is clean, so I guess that helps.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


94%

First of all, this is in the city centre. If you stay here, you will be hearing drunk people shouting in Polish until late in the evening. On the plus side, it's in the city centre. The area is absolutely stunning and every tourist attraction is walkable except for the Jewish District. Hostel staff were helpful. Restaurant service was slow, especially at breakfast.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, I must apologize for all of the Polish people that made your stay here annoying by noice or service. If there is anything taht we could improve, talking about atmosphere, just let us know, so the next time you'll stay here would be perfect! Regards, Asia

Poets Corner Hostel

Olomouc, Czech Republic
94%

Olomouc is a quiet town, but the owner will show you what there is to see. Hostel is small and that is a great thing as the owner has lots of events you can tag along for, sometimes taking everyone out to dinner or drinks. No complaints here.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Mosaic House

Prague, Czech Republic
60%

Wifi only functions for about a minute per hour. That is embarrassing and no hostel should have such poor service. I mentioned the issue to the front desk, but they didn't seem to care. There is a lot of noise, but my room seemed to cancel it out quite well. Rooms are clean. Note: this is an Eco hostel, this means that the A/C is a cryptic puzzle to get working and that you should bring your own toilet paper unless you like rectal bleeding and flushing the toilet five times for one visit.


Activity Hostel Budapest

Budapest, Hungary
89%

Hostel is located at the very beginning of Andrassy street, very close to the Danube and within walking distance of many attractions, and those that aren't walking distance can be accessed by a nearby Metro station. Hostel was clean, though it didn't really offer much amenities in the hostel itself. Aside from that, it didn't really do anything wrong.


Apartments & Rooms

Dubrovnik, Croatia
86%

For the location (Five minute walk to the old town) it is very reasonably priced. It doesn't offer much except a normal room, but it does that at a fair price and no real downsides. Room was cool despite there being no A/C.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Als Place Hostel

Split, Croatia
86%

Has working and very good A/C from 11 PM onward. That's all you need to hear, right? Well, the owner is also very helpful, he'll explain what's good to see and eat. There are a few reasonably priced restaurants nearby that he'll recommend. The building itself is an old one, it has lots of character. Very small. Did I mention it has working A/C? You kind of need that in Split.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Old Town Zagreb

Zagreb, Croatia
94%

The owner is incredibly helpful and nice. The location is just a few blocks away from almost everything worth seeing, very walkable. You get a good deal at a local restaurant for staying at this hostel.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Vila Veselova

Ljubljana, Slovenia
89%

It's in a historical building so it can seem a little musty and old. Personally, I like that. In any other city, the Location would be penalized, but Ljubljana is not very big so it's not a big deal that the hostel is on the edge of the city center. Staff were helpful and the price for washing and drying your clothes was reasonable at 5 euros. If you're traveling in the Balkans, make sure to mention that to the reception as they have good advice about where to stay.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Jazz Hostel & Apartments

Bled, Slovenia
100%

I arrived after getting lost for fifteen minutes (It was my mistake) exhausted and burning up under the noon sun. As soon as Jani introduced himself, I forgot all about that. He is an amazing host, very friendly and will show you everything there is to see. Wifi is everywhere with multiple access points. There is a bar called Jazz Bar attached to the hostel, despite the name, it was never noisy but it is a good place to get a beer after a long hike. The best hostel I have been to.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Westend City Hostel

Vienna, Austria
74%

It's okay. Location is far from the centre, but on the plus side, the Habsburg palace is very close by so you can visit it early before everyone else does. Wifi only works in the common room.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


MEININGER Salzburg City Center

Salzburg, Austria
77%

The only issue with the hostel is that it is not in the city center like the name suggests. It's a 20+ minute walk to get anywhere worth going, though there is bus connections as well that are quicker. Everything else about the hostel was fine. Clean and secure. Wifi everywhere.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for your feedback! We´re glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay here even though the hotel was not as central as you´d expected. We would be really happy to welcome you in a MEININGER again soon! Greetings from Salzburg Your MEININGER Team

Hostel Marmota

Innsbruck, Austria
77%

Hostel is one of those ones that have a one key policy for dorm rooms. This isn't really an ideal situation, but the hostel is in a safe neighborhood. Location would be poor, were it not for the fact that the castle along with the beautiful park and hiking grounds are right next door. Also, Innsbruck isn't that large. It takes about 15 minutes walking to get to the center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it means a lot to our Marmota Team! It's our second summer here and we do our best to make all the facilities perfect. As you mentioned, we are located in a safe area and you need to know that Innsbruck is one of the safest towns in Europe! We always looking to improve the experience we provide for our guests, so we will keep working on dormitories key policy rules, to make it simple for every traveller. Fingers crossed for your travels!

Youthhostel Zurich

Zurich, Switzerland
60%

Terrible wifi that went down when more than 10 people were in the common room. Pay terminals were located nearby for when the internet was down. Overall, a very dull hostel located very far from anything worth seeing.


Youthhostel Luzern

Lucerne, Switzerland
66%

Typical Hostel International hostel. Clean, but very boring and located far from the center. I had no problems with the staff, they were all very helpful. Wifi is really terrible and it does not work at all if there are more than ten people in the hotspot. There are pay terminals for internet there, coincidentally.


Emerald Fields

Florence, Italy
74%

Front door does not lock, neither do individual dorm rooms. There is a working lock on the door that separates the lobby from the reception area, but anyone staying in the hostel can walk into your dorm room. Location is great and I had no problems with the staff members, but the security issue was very uncomfortable.


Giovanni's Home

Naples, Italy
91%

It's a very nice hostel. First thing that happens when you arrive is Giovanni will give you a long lesson about Naples. Make sure to listen, he will tell you everything there is to do and what makes Naples unique. The location is a bit sketchy looking, but the hostel itself is secure. It also happens to be a block away from the best pizza restaurant in the world. Give Naples itself a try and stay at Giovanni's.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Carlito's Way

Rome, Italy
97%

More of a hotel with hostel rooms. There's no common area so you'll only get to know your roommates at most. However, the hostel is in a really nice building and a very good location. It's also probably the most secure hostel as it's located in the embassy district of Rome and as a result, most roads are guarded by soldiers. The rooms are clean and the fans do a fine job of keeping the room cool on hot Rome nights.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Hostel One Paralelo

Barcelona, Spain
97%

Great location, great staff, and great rooms. AC was a big help. There's a small charge for breakfast, but that's no biggie as the staff cooked dinner on a tip basis every day I was there. Angel cooked every time I was there and his food was really good. I'm sure the other staff members are good at it too. Considering this was a last minute Barcelona booking, I'm extremely satisfied.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Oasis Hostel Toledo

Toledo, Spain
77%

Excellent location and very helpful staff. Likewise it's overall a good deal for Toledo. However there is one big problem: the air conditioning does not work. It doesn't even look like it's powered. This would not be a problem if it were not advertised on this site, but it was and Toledo can be really hot.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. Oasis Toledo has Air Conditioning in all rooms. If there is any problem with it, you just need to inform reception while you stay in the hostel. Greetings from Toledo

Way Hostel

Madrid, Spain
91%

I had a pretty bad experience sleeping due to noise, but it was Corpus Christi and ultimately the hostel is objectively good. Hostel is a few blocks from Puerta del Sol, which means it's basically within walking distance of everything you'd want to see. Hostel has some events too, like a pub crawl, Toledo day trip, etc. I did not do anything of these though.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Pension Roma

Zaragoza, Spain
91%

Helpful staff and overall good lodgings. Some might find the room a little small, but I honestly had no problem and it suited my needs perfectly.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Pension Amalur

San Sebastian, Spain
100%

Miguel is probably the best host I've ever had on my trip, no, any vacation I've had. He knows very little English, but in five minutes he managed to tell me everything I needed to know about San Sebastian. Very helpful. The location is fantastic and you're in walking distance of everything. You can really do almost everything, save for hiking up the mountains, and you're within a few minutes walk to the hostel.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


Bowling Irun

Irun, Spain
69%

It was alright. There was nothing special about it, but nothing really holding it back either. The one issue people might have with it is that it's right by the train station. This is a good location for walking to, but you will hear trains pass by the hotel room. I slept through it, but some people might not.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)


69%

Staff seemed mostly unconcerned and unhelpful. Rooms were clean, however the bunk beds were EXTREMELY loud whenever someone shifted on the top bunk. Way louder than normal. Location is good, very close to the metro and the Sacre Coeur. You could do a lot worse, but it's not really a good hostel.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear that the Staff was not as you expected and we will do anything to change this, about the beds you know we are doing some changes at the hostel and we are always trying to improve our service but we cannot change everything at the same time it takes a while, so the next time you will come you will probably see a new beds. We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you at another time. Best regards, The Regent Staff

Hostel Uppelink

Gent, Belgium
94%

Excellent overall hostel with a great city center location and, if you're lucky, an amazing view of the city center both at night and during the day. Only issue is that the dorm room can get rather hot. This depends on the day, of course.


Abhostel

Antwerp, Belgium
94%

Bridget and Greg wanted to make a hostel that would provide things they wished they had when backpacking. The hostel does an amazing job at fulfilling that wish. The bedrooms are good, the temperature control is shockingly good, and most amazing of all, there are raw eggs for cooking provided! I'd gotten real tired of hard boiled eggs at hostels. It's in an old chocolate factory, there's both a kitchen and a terrace for hanging out. The street its on is not really nice, but it's not dangerous.


Stayokay Utrecht - Bunnik

Utrecht, Netherlands
80%

Facilities were good, amenities were overall outstanding. Location is in Bunnik, a good walk from Utrecht, but doable. When I was there, there was a primary school trip or something and there were tons of screaming kids. Not exactly what I expected from a hostel.


Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Amsterdam, Netherlands
86%

Not at all the worst hostel in the world. This was my first hostel, but I found it was mostly clean. The only issue with cleanliness was the bathroom, which after the shower was run once in a day, the floor of the entire bathroom would be a slimy mess until it gets cleaned the next morning.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (29 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for sharing your experience! We hope to see you again soon! Greetings, Hans Brinker