Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: ralphsketchley

Location Canada, Gender Male, Age 66

  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Birmingham Central Backpackers, Birmingham, England
8.9
14th Mar 2016

the dorm beds are incredibly uncomfortable but the place has so much eclectic character and good vibes that it's hard not to like it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
10.0
6th Mar 2016

only twice before (approx 50 hostels over the last 7 or 8 years) have I slept in such a comfortable hostel bed!!! these beds are long enough, xtra wide, have privacy curtains and usb power points and strong reading lamp, and are built so solid that bunk movement is almost non-existent. and this hostel still does a full and complete and substantial included breakfast, in an era when most hostels either dont include breakfast or say they do but only serve corn flakes and coffee!! well done, st chr

View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving us a review! We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards from the GDN reception team.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
The River Hostel, Valencia, Spain
7.7
3rd Mar 2016

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
9.7
1st Mar 2016

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Purple Nest Hostel Valencia, Valencia, Spain
7.1
26th Feb 2016

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Cordoba Bed and Be, Cordoba, Spain
8.0
24th Feb 2016

much better than avg; solid bunks but a better shelf and better nitelite would be nice

View Property Reply

muchas gracias! great! we will improve it!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Old Town Hostel Granada, Granada, Spain
8.3
21st Feb 2016

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Yes! Porto Hostel, Porto, Portugal
8.3
13th Feb 2016

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Living Cat's Hostel, Madrid, Spain
7.4
5th Feb 2016

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
M Montreal, Montreal, Canada
9.7
8th May 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Chicago Getaway Hostel, Chicago, USA
8.9
3rd May 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
City Hostel Seattle, Seattle, USA
8.6
29th Apr 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
PLUS Berlin, Berlin, Germany
9.4
1st Dec 2014

came for the pool and sauna, liked the whole place so much that I extended my stay; one of the best hostels I've stayed in - I do have several suggestions for the management, first and foremost that they post a notice on the door to the swimming pool advising guests of the no-alcohol rule AND of the common-sense rule against bringing glass bottles or containers into the pool area (some people are absolutely clueless about such things - I "educated" a large group of young people about both but es

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Berlin, Berlin, Germany
8.3
23rd Nov 2014

stayed here before. like all hostels, has strengths and weaknesses: good guest kitchen with one of the best guest food retention and disposal systems I've seen, excellent breakfast and location for. the rooftop terrace is wonderful but in winter there is a need for more and better common area(s) with comfortable seating for working with laptops etc

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt, Frankfurt, Germany
8.3
21st Nov 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Ani & Haakien Rotterdam, Rotterdam, Netherlands
9.4
8th Oct 2014

One of the seven best hostels (of 33) that I have stayed in this year. Yes, I will return; also for family-friendly atmosphere n comfy large common area. suggestions and constructive criticism directly to the owners. Cautionary note for anyone carrying around a suitcase half their weight: the stairs are very steep. nb several ways to get to the hostel from the Central train station - longer route introduces you to neighbourhood shops, shortest route best if lugging suitcase.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Smart Russell Square Hostel, London, England
6.3
3rd Oct 2014

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Hammersmith, London, England
7.4
19th Sep 2014

you guys need to fix the toilet seats and sweep the floors in the dorm rooms once in a while

View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We apologise that some toilet seats were broken. This has since been resolved. Our cleaners sweep and mop the floors in the rooms every day, however I apologise if the cleanliness wasn't up to standard in your room. Enjoy any future travels!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
MEININGER London Hyde Park, London, England
9.1
4th Jun 2014

hostels should work with hostel booking sites to provide "real-time" information regarding availability and réservations so everyone knows in what bed is booked, for how long, which room, etc - especially regarding the inability to book a bed in a hostel that needs a minimum of two nite stay yet won't let you book because only one nite is avail in each of two different dorm rooms - this hostel was actually one of the better regarding this problem but might be better able to raise this with hoste

View Property Reply

Dear guest Thank you for your review. Thank you very much on outlining the issue with booking.com. We will get a hold of them and sort this problem out. We look forward to seeing you in the near future Your Meininger staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
YHA London St Pancras, London, England
7.7
1st Jun 2014

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Brussels Hello Hostel, Brussels, Belgium
7.1
29th May 2014

I would have appreciated in-room lockers and a better attitude toward security, but all in all it is a decent, safe place to stay with a breakfast. Be warned, however, that all Windows open onto the courtyard, which is a lovely place to sit and eat or drink or relax, but which can be quite Noisy until well after midnight.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Ani & Haakien Rotterdam, Rotterdam, Netherlands
8.9
28th May 2014

nice place - breakfast a little hectic with some uncertainty about what was put out by hostel and - but at least it was a decent breakfast unlike some hostels that promise breakfast but only provide bread - eggs appreciated!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Sevilla Dream Hostel, Seville, Spain
8.0
16th May 2014

brand new hostel, very clean if somewhat sterile atmosphere, staff warming up to busier times

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel, Barcelona, Spain
6.9
11th May 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Helvetia, Warsaw, Poland
9.7
4th May 2014

great place, right by the university, easy access to train station - excellent staff, good basic breakfast with optional purchase of complete breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Unforgettable Nights, Budapest, Hungary
6.9
28th Apr 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Palmers Lodge Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia
8.6
26th Apr 2014

I chose Palmers for location and becuz I once stayed in a Palmers in London - my only complaint was that the dorm room Windows open onto a tram line that runs almost 24/7, worse for me because the window had to be open (altho I think the heat should have been turned off in this room) and my top bunk was situated so that the noise had a direct line to my bed and head - them's the breaks, I guess, but I think this hostel should say something about the trams on the website, if only to head off comp

View Property Reply

thank you for your review, it is always appreciated when our guests write them. We apologize for the heat,but if somebody in your room asked for it to be turned on, we always comply,so all you needed to do was come to the reception and ask for it to be turned down :) we aplogize for the noise, that is why we have soundproof windows,but unfortunately,when the windows are open,we cannoit control the noise and we are located in the centre,so you have to count on that facor :) Cheers, PL team

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
The Doctor's House, Sarajevo, Bosnia And Herzegovina
10.0
22nd Apr 2014

This doctor's house is definitely Worth the hike(s) up the hill. One of the best I've ever stayed in, even without the extra warmth and welcoming hospitality.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Montenegro Hostel Podgorica, Podgorica, Montenegro
9.1
18th Apr 2014

also stayed in a sister hostel in Kodor (there, they need to fix a cracked toilet seat or, even better, replace those cheap plastic seats with something a little more substantial) . . . in Podgorica, what the hostel lacks in facilities is more than made up by the helpful, friendly, dedicated staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ralphsketchley
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Manga hostel, Belgrade, Serbia
9.4
15th Apr 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.