Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Budget Hostel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
7.1
14th Aug 2017

really good value for money. We got our own room with a shared bathroom that was always available. with tub/shower and toilet in the same buildning a flight of steps down. the area was kinda run down but close to ouseburn valley, the hipster/arty farty mecka if ur into that stuff. that area was nice. ok, the room could have been more clean, some dust on the TV but the sheets were clean most importantly. felt secure and we slept good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Containers Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
4.9
12th Aug 2017

The dorm/container was ok. although some party people came home in the middle of the night. this hostel seemed to be more of a party hostel, people drinking/smoking in the courtyard. i guess this is ok. But what really set me off was the hygiene in the toilets/bathrooms. pools of urine on the floor and simply dirty and unwashed. i felt bad every time i had to go there. its kindof in a suburb but 10 min bus ride and youre in central edinbourgh. cheers, clean up will you.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Kipps Hostel Canterbury, Canterbury, England
8.9
30th Jul 2017

An absolutely superb hostel with a real homely feeling, a great place to stay which i can't recommend enough. feels like being in a friends mothers house.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
5.4
27th Jul 2017

Almost no water in the shower, sometimes the water stopped working outright. One toilet and shower for 10 people. both supersmall. The staff that cleaned, changed sheets and such seemed to all be hungover and tired. The guy who was supposed to clean the floor just swabbed some parts of the room and then left 1 minute later. The girl who put on new sheets, I saw her put the clean sheets on the dirty floor before changing. On the contrary the main staff in the lobby were great, helpful and nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
8.9
22nd Oct 2016

A really great hostel! clean, functional.really nice, helpful staff who know the city in and out.+Omar "Prince/Michael Jackson" (he does impersonations) as party host. as a hostel should be on most accounts, u wont be disappointed! And the value -- this price for manhattan by central park.--OMG..The few not perfect things--a bit cold rooms, a bit too far to toilet/showers, my room key got demagnetized a few times, but easy to fix! too bad wi-fi dont work in rooms,only in lobby. Just book it now!

View Property Reply

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and was able to take part in our nightly activities. Unfortunately we have no control over the heating system. It is setup to automatically turn on when it is below a certain degree. However, we do provide extra blankets and portable heaters at request at the front desk. Bathrooms are located on every floor at the end of each corridor. We do not advertise Wi-Fi yet we do provide it for free at our common areas. We are working on having it installed through out the whole building. Key cards are sensitive we advise upon check-in to keep it away from cell-phones , credit cards, or metro cards. Your feed back is very much appreciated, thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
4.6
3rd Oct 2016

DIRTY hostel! we didnt even get sheets to put between us and the filthy blankets. NO SOAP! in th bathrooms, not even toilet paper!. small sink in the room.... the pancake breakfast is FAKE just as in many hostels: the pancake dough always run out after 10-20 people. so there is never enough. it is ridicoulous to claim to have pancake breakfast for 50 people th make enough dough for just 10-20 people. cheapskates!! the only positive sides were the staff was nice and friendly/helpful + central Loc

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Cozyness Hostel, Bucharest, Romania
7.1
6th Jul 2016

i can recommend the hostel. friendly staff, helpful, nice garden and its actually quite cozy. a super chill cat called Mitzi so no place for allergics? though there was an issue: where i was given a bed in a 4-bed dorm. put my stuff on the bed. when we returned to the hostel someone had moved my stuff to a table and had his stuff in the bed. talked to staff about it and apperently it was actually his bed=mix-up. n'de bed i was supposed to sleep had someone in it! i was given another bed though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Skadarlija Sunrise, Belgrade, Serbia
9.4
3rd Jul 2016

A super nice hostel i will gladly recommend to anyone! just go live there they even have a nice garden and stuff. nice people and social atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Mostel, Sofia, Bulgaria
9.1
28th Jun 2016

a super nice hostel, really. nothing else to add. highly recommended! very social if u wanna meet other travellers. some of the showers are not in the rooms, which can be both a good and a bad thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Crossroads, Thessaloniki, Greece
8.0
26th Jun 2016

A nice social place to stay, relaxed and right by the old fort walls. THOUGH a bit hot in the rooms, not enough fans! a beautiful view from the balcony and from the fort. close to nice restaurants but up in the hills so u need 2 walk up up when going home... i was completely satisfied. though i tried to reach them for a simple question by e-mail some weeks after departure and the staff still haven't answered my e-mail after a week or more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Art Sarajevo, Sarajevo, Bosnia And Herzegovina
6.9
25th Jun 2014

a nice hostel. you didnt get any keys so had to ring the bell downstairs for 2 doors to open and then knock on hostel door. once i couldnt get into the hostel because no one answered at the bell and opened. irritating. otherwise nice but a bit empty hostel. but clean och nice, friendly staff and so on. i had a good nice time with good sleep at this hostel and i really liked sarajevo!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Stone Hostel, Utrecht, Netherlands
7.7
2nd Jun 2014

I got a really nice feeling of this hostel. relaxed and nice. free coffe. which is nice. linen included. recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Jorplace, The Hague, Netherlands
7.4
1st Jun 2014

a nice relaxed hostel. you feel welcome when you arrive and stay there. friendly and social staff. close to the beach 5 min walk.

View Property Reply

Dear Joakim, Thank you for leaving a review, it always helps us! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, this makes our work worthwhile ;)! We wish you all the best and hope to be able to welcome you back one day @ Jorplace Beach Hostel! Warm regards, Jorcrew

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel de Mafkees, Rotterdam, Netherlands
8.6
31st May 2014

i loved this place. its a really simple place but the atmosphere makes up for it. everyone was so nice and it was so welcoming. the staff was part of the people you hang around with. in my eyes the perfect hostel. really cheap and 5 mins walk from central station. when you dont try to do something in particular and are just good and friendly this magic atmosphere will arise. recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×