Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel, Ottawa, Canada
8.3
2nd Jul 2015

A single cell really is a single cell - a bed and thats it! It was still nice to have my own space after lots of dorm rooms. I slept well but I definitely recommend earplugs as the doors don't keep any noise out at all. It was a great location for walking to lots of Ottawa's attractions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Planet Traveler Hostel, Toronto, Canada
10.0
30th Jun 2015

I really loved this hostel. The area around it is really funky and great for exploring. The breakfast is amazing, the staff are really friendly and helpful, the common areas (rooftop and ground floor) are really chilled out and nice. The 6 bed dorm was well thought out - there's a door between the sleeping area and the lockers and bathroom so you can pack and change without waking people up but the dorm had no room for luggage storage - there were suitcases and backpacks covering the floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Space Hostel Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
9.1
27th Jun 2015

I loved this hostel. It is a little out of town but a really nice area to come back to at the end of a day. It's an easy walk to Ueno Park and a nice temple. The staff are friendly and helpful. the bunk beds are lovely with privacy curtains, lights and power points but there wasn't enough room for people to store big bags and backpacks so the floor space was very crowded in the 6 bed dorm. The rooftop area is great - I recommend staying at this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Udee Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand
8.9
11th Feb 2015

A great place for a chilled out stay in Bangkok. A nice suburban location with lots of great good options but also an easy ride into the centre of the city. The instructions in Thai for getting to and from the hostel were really helpful. The taxi I hailed on the street was only half the price of the hostel's shuttle to Don Mueng. There's not a lot of mixing and meeting other travelers here but I enjoyed escaping to the hostel's laid back atmosphere in busy, crowded Bangkok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
La Comarca Hostel, El Chalten, Argentina
7.4
4th Jan 2014

The hostel is really close to the bus terminal. Unfortunately there's nowhere comfy to chill out when the El Chalten weather is horrible. The guy working there is really friendly. One of the cheaper options in town but it kind of feels like it. It's still being built so may get fancier in the future

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers Kaweskar Hostel, Puerto Natales, Chile
8.9
23rd Dec 2013

Great cosy hostel to plan or recover from a Torres trek. Omar's information is great and he keeps the hostel running smoothly but all the efficiency makes it hard to relax at times. There's a great breakfast and a good kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hospedaje Costanera, Punta Arenas, Chile
7.4
22nd Dec 2013

Was fine for one night though a little faraway from the centre where bus companies and ATMs are. The female dorm was pretty cramped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Antarctica Hostel, Ushuaia, Argentina
8.0
6th Dec 2013

This hostel had a great kitchen and lots of room to chilling out and using wifi. Helpful staff. The worst thing was having to go downstairs and through the lobby/lounge to get to the bathrooms from the dorms. The third hostel I stayed at in Ushuaia and the one I'd most recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Cruz del Sur Hostel, Ushuaia, Argentina
8.3
27th Nov 2013

Friendly place. The kitchen is well stocked but really cramped when more than 2 people want to cook. The wifi/chill spot is out the back, through the snow/rain so people tend to hang out in the halls outside the dorms and it gets loud sometimes at night. Only other complaint is that when the dorm is full there's nowhere near enough room for people and luggage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Los Cormoranes, Ushuaia, Argentina
6.6
26th Nov 2013

Catch a taxi if your bag is heavy - it's a steep and longish walk from the bus station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
13 Lunas Hostel, Chiloe, Chile
9.1
17th Nov 2013

Great location straight across the road from the Cruz del Sur terminal. One of the comfiest bed that I have slept in in months. Great breakfast and great kitchen.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments, if you have any suggestion to improve we would really appreciate that, thank you and good luck. Claudio.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Palafito Sur, Chiloe, Chile
7.1
15th Nov 2013

Cute house over the water but LOUD, you can hear everything that anyone says or does anywhere in the building. The breakfast was great and the beds really comfy (though you have to make them up yourself).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Margouya Patagonia, Puerto Varas, Chile
8.9
13th Nov 2013

The most comfortable bed I've slept in in 9 months of travelling. Cheerful and helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hospedaje Penthouse 1004, Bariloche, Argentina
9.4
5th Nov 2013

This was a great place to stay, one of my favourites in South America. Great big kitchen and living areas though the dorm was very cramped and another bed was added during my stay - no room to pack or sort belongings. I would have stayed again but you can't check in after 4pm in Summer which was a shame.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina
8.9
25th Oct 2013

There were a few problems when I was there - the hot water doesn't work all the time, I had quite a few cold showers and the dorm room door wouldn't close properly and took 3 days to be fixed. Nevertheless, I really loved this hostel, the staff are amazing, you can ask them anything and they'll know or find out for you. They even learn people's names, not easy in such a massive place. It looks busy and crazy when you first arrive but a a solo traveller, I met so many nice people here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Bambu, Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
8.3
23rd Oct 2013

Amazing staff, so helpful. The dorm was fine with good air conditioning but terrible sheets. Great breakfast and an easy walk to the centre of the town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Sao Jorge, Bonito, Brazil
7.4
21st Oct 2013

There's no good chill out area in the hostel, other than on the street out the front which was a shame. The breakfast was great. The staff were friendly and pretty helpful but kind of scattered, had to ask things a few times before getting a reply or help. The lock on my dorm didn't work and the front desk if often unattended so anyone could walk in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Coloria Hostel, Salta, Argentina
7.4
8th Oct 2013

Great location with an easy walk to the centre and a reasonable walk to the bus terminal. There's only one key for the dorm which was a bit annoying and the cleanliness of the bathrooms needed to be checked in the evenings as well as the mornings, one was pretty much unusable for a whole evening and night when I was there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Quechua Inn, Sucre, Bolivia
9.4
25th Sep 2013

The owner here is lovely and really helpful. I stayed longer than I planned and loved this hostel. It's a little out from the centre of Sucre but felt safe walking there and back. Great kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.3
30th Aug 2013

I stayed here twice because the female dorm was comfortable and I could sleep well. The hostel is quiet at night which suited me but they seem to be trying to become a party hostel with drinks offers etc. Despite lots of communal space, it's not easy to meet people but is a good place to unwind after trekking. It's a good location for walking to the centre and the markets. The kitchen always looked filthy when I was there, not sure if anyone uses it. They need to get toilet seats for upstairs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Marlon's House in Arequipa, Arequipa, Peru
6.0
25th Aug 2013

Was okay for one night but it was a bit far from the centre of town to feel safe walking back in the dark. People staying in the dorms are only allowed to use two pokey horrible bathrooms, not the nice one in the pictures.Good breakfast.Staff didn´t seem to know much about booking buses and bus times - just suggested getting a taxi to the terminal asking there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Nasca Lodge, Nazca, Peru
8.9
23rd Aug 2013

Really helpful staff organising a night time pick up from the bus station and a flight over the Nasca lines the next morning. Comfortable beds and reasonably quiet (except for some dogs) at night for sleeping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.4
22nd Jul 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Pakay, Tena, Ecuador
8.3
16th Jul 2013

It`s a hard climb up the hill to get there but the tranquiity when you arrive is worth it. It`s not a super cheap place but everything is lovely, an amazing breakfast, great ecofriendly bathrooms and a fantastic hammock balcony.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Masaya Hostel Bogotá, Bogota, Colombia
8.3
7th Jun 2013

The ´girls only dorm´ was super comfortable with little curtains abound the bed, thick duvets and lockers under the beds. Only complaint was the bathroom being a long way from the dorm in the middle of the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Casa del Parque, San Jose, Costa Rica
8.0
21st May 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Globetrotters International, Cairns, Australia
9.3
11th Mar 2010

Great location with helpful staff. Really clean. Has a friendly vibe but you can still get a good nights sleep. Really comfy dorm room with kitchen, bathroom and TV! Would stay here again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Ambleside Backpackers, Lake District, England
10.0
27th Oct 2009

Ambleside is a beautiful place to explore the region from. The manager was really helpful with advice and the \'simple\' breakfast was a lot better than a lot of hostels offer. Had a nice stay.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Granny's Inn Hostel, Sliema, Malta
8.7
28th Sep 2009

Run by a really friendly helpful family, it was spotless and an easy walk to the waterfront. They help organise day trips and give great information about getting around on the bus. Definitely not a party hostel (which suited me).

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
8.0
14th Sep 2009

Massive place, crazy busy when the busabout bus pulls in. It was nice and clean and seemed organised but difficult to get information and the bathrooms always seemed to be being cleaned at the busiest times!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Albatross, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
9.0
15th Jul 2009

Very clean and comfotable. Great location and really helpful staff.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Clarence Castle, Toronto, Canada
9.7
14th Aug 2008

Great place, great staff, great comfy mattresses. Didn't feel like a backpacker at all. My only complaint was that there were no lockers available the whole time I was there and they were tiny - too small for a laptop. I was a little worried about my valuables whenever I was out but apart from that the place is beautiful

View Property Reply

we did run out of locker space while this guest was here. But we offered to lock all of her valuables in our secured office, which she turned down! Further more, our lockers are big enough to store your laptops! They were purchased with laptops in mind. So if this guest was not able to get a locker, how would this guest know if the laptop would or would not fit.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Globetrotter Inn London, London, England
8.3
29th Jan 2005

Neep a public phone closer!! Otherwise fantastic set up, cosy and comfortable.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.