Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: german_alex

Location Germany, Gender Male, Age 32

  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Tipperary House, Dublin, Ireland
8.0
24th Jun 2016

Nice hostel, close to to Heuston station. Staff was super nice and there's free breakfast. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were ensuite. Definitely a great budget option in that part of town. Shame it lacks somewhat of a common room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace, Barcelona, Spain
7.1
1st Jun 2016

The hostel is quite nice overall. Good facilities, everything's new and the beds are comfortable. However, for the price you pay for an 8-bed dorm the price is extortionate. In addition some things didn't work. The reading light by my bed was broken, one of the shower doors on the 5th floor couldn't be locked. The horrific breakfast that just consists of muffins and instant coffee is €3 extra and all of the pans are total bad. Had to scrape my eggs out with a knife. The pool is a pond really

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Cheers Downtown, Istanbul, Turkey
7.4
12th May 2016

Overall, this hostel is a good place to explore Cihangir and the surrounding area. Unfortunately, the first floor really smelled like toilet, something I pointed out to the staff a few times. Initially I was going to stay in a dorm room but eventually they offered me a private with bathroom, which was a lot nicer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Park Villa, London, England
9.4
9th Apr 2016

Really nice hostel in a nice part of London. Easy to get to Shoreditch and Hackney by bus or underground. The rooms are nice, the beds comfortable and there is locker space under each bed. It's a nice touch to have bedlinen and towels included as well as free breakfast. Would definitely stay here again any time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kangaroo-Stop, Dresden, Germany
7.1
26th Mar 2016

This hostel was really handy for me because of its proximity to Neustadt train station and the Neustadt neighbourhood, which is lovely. However, as I also mentioned during checkout, I think the hostel is rather dated, and I didn't like that they charge you for everything extra. A towel: €0,50 - I mean come on. Especially if then in the men's showers upstairs 3 showers don't have curtains, there are no reading lamps by the beds, and the lounge is dark and uninviting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
TripOn Open House, San Jose, Costa Rica
8.0
15th Dec 2015

Overall a good hostel in San Jose. The location is excellent albeit there are few 'low budget' food options nearby. The dorm we stayed in is definitely way too small for 6 people, there's hardly anywhere to put your luggage and the dorm's windows into the corridor make it very noisy. What's more, the single shower on the ground floor is a disgrace. On the plus side, there's a really good free breakfast, a pool table and a nice garden. I'd probably stay here again but not in dorm 2.

View Property Reply

Sorry you had chosen the cheaper option. This 6 bed dorm room is our cheapest dorm. We have much bigger dorms, but those of course will cost $ or $2 more which most people tend not to want to opt for. If you visit us again, we will book you in one of the bigger dorms which has their own bathroom,you will have to pay just a little more;)About the shower, some people seem to be having a party when they are taking a shower and if you enter just after they leave, it tend to be messy which we clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Bambuda Lodge, Bocas del Toro, Panama
8.6
11th Dec 2015

The lodge is a truly special place and its owners and their staff are amazing. The communal meals are a wonderful thing and always super tasty, the pool is great and the surroundings beautiful. Only the transport to and from the island sucks although this is a problem everywhere in Bocas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Gaia, Boquete, Panama
7.4
9th Dec 2015

The hostel is nice. It's a bit removed from the main drag but offers tranquility and good facilities. It was a bit hard to find at night and the beds could do with an upgrade. There were no electricity outlets by the top bunks and no reading lights. But on the plus side it feels more like someone's home and it's surrounded by nice gardens.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Magnolia Inn, Panama City, Panama
7.7
7th Dec 2015

This hostel is a good option for staying in Casco Viejo. I met various staff members and all of them were super friendly and offered tons of good advice. The rooms were clean and of good size. However, I didn't have an orthopedic mattress as stated in the Lonely Planet. I think offering breakfast to guests would go down well as decent options are hard to come by in this part of town. I also think that maybe keys to the rooms would be a good idea since anyone can walk in at anytime.

View Property Reply

Dear guest. Thank you for your review. We do have orthopedic mattresses in all our dorms, except the bed you slept in that night unfortunately. We review our mattresses every 3 months and your bed has been upgraded directly. Casco is famous for its abundance of restaurants and there are 8 places to have a breakfast within 400 m from us, both economic and gastronomic. We have a locked main entrance that we open from reception for your security and convenience. Kind regards

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
MINIMAL, Berlin, Germany
7.7
11th Oct 2015

Anne's hostel is really nice in almost every way. She's a wonderful host and she goes out of her way to make you feel welcome, a real treat I think. The hostel is decorated with lots of love and attention to detail. The beds are really comfortable and plenty of space to put your things. The showers downstairs are super nice and have really cute action figures sitting on pipes. However, the lack of a kitchen and proper living room makes it a bit anti-social.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI San Francisco - Downtown, San Francisco, USA
7.4
11th Sep 2015

This is the second time I've stayed at this hostel and generally I think it's a pretty good place to stay. The facilities are very decent, staff is very friendly and the breakfast is good. Our room was not entirely clean when we checked in and they were kind enough to give us a small refund. Overall I think the price for one night is very high but the hostel makes up for it with other things.

View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback. We very much apologize for the mistake! We would have loved to have had a fully clean room for you. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we could improve the situation, as well as your patience in the handling of this matter. This will not be a problem on your 3rd stay!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.0
28th Aug 2015

Generally a nice hostel. Good if you need parking in downtown SF. The rooms got quite hot at night during summer so that's a bit of a down point. Also the fact that the breakfast is limited to certain items per person.

View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us! It sounds like you visited during an uncharacteristic heat wave (San Francisco is typically quite chilly during the summer!) However, I am sorry to hear this caused you to be uncomfortable at night. I hope you'll stay with us again on your next trip to San Francisco (hopefully on a cooler day!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI Portland Hawthorne, Portland, USA
8.0
26th Aug 2015

Really liked this hostel for its location and general homely feeling. I stayed in the basement room that connects with another room so that was a bit uncomfortable going in and out of the room all the time. Also my bed was right below an exit sign that shone brightly at night. Overall nice hostel though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Ciarus, Strasbourg, France
6.9
11th Jul 2015

This hostel feels more like a hotel than a hostel. I find it lacks character and it's often full of school classes, which makes it more difficult to meet people. The room was actually very well equipped and the facilities were excellent. I like the fact that you don't even have to make your own bed but there were lots of black hairs on my pillow so making sure the bedding is clean needs to be improved. The breakfast for €6,50 is pretty poor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Frankfurt Hostel, Frankfurt, Germany
7.7
9th Jul 2015

Generally this hostel is pretty good. The facilities are alright, the ensuite dorms are ok. However: I was unfortunate enough to be sleeping in a bed where the mattress was completely worn through and below me slept a stinking rhino who clearly didn't know one things about personal hygene or being respectful towards your dorm mates. There should be an age limit on people staying in hostels. It was really awful. The breakfast could do with a bit more love.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Astor Museum Inn, London, England
8.6
1st May 2015

Have stayed in many London hostels and this one was by far the best. The beds are comfortable, the linen is crisp and the location is almost unbeatable. I found staff to be very friendly and helpful but there are few showers for many rooms and the kitchen is a bit sad. Other than that it's a great place to stay.

View Property Reply

Hi!!! Always trying our best to make everyone feel at home! I guess the kitchen being sad is due to the good weather that we had in UK lately that lead the people outside, you can always ask reception to put some music or plug your phone to the speakers. Thanks for your review!! AM Team

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Gay Hostel Berlin, Berlin, Germany
6.9
28th Mar 2015

The location is great if you're planning to hang out in Berlin's Gay hood. Loads of bars and restaurants to choose from. However, my bed was very worn and sagging in the middle and there are no sockets to charge your phone if you're on the top bunk. Also, the single shower is in pretty poor shape and the communal showers are plain weird. At least if they looked inviting I wouldn't mind getting naked in front of other guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Pfefferbett Hostel, Berlin, Germany
8.9
24th Jan 2015

I have stayed here before and I really like this hostel. It's a bit hidden but has a very central location and is very well connected by U Bahn. The area is full of nice cafés and bars and the hostel itself is modern and clean. I guess the only thing that annoyed me was that several guests came into the dorm between 2-4 in morning on the Sunday night and decided to make a racket and turn the lights on. A bit more respect would be appreciated.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI San Francisco - Downtown, San Francisco, USA
7.7
8th Dec 2014

The hostel looks a bit dingy from the outside but the beds and rooms are comfortable, there are plenty of showers and toilets and free breakfast that goes a long way. The staff were really helpful and sweet especially during the storm when there was no power. However the ginger guy was a bit OTT.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bilbao Central Hostel, Bilbao, Spain
7.7
15th Sep 2014

The hostel is in the city center which is handy for catching the airport bus. The buiding is really ugly and the rooms have 0 character. It actually feels a bit like a government ministry building. The bathrooms are good and are not communal. There are no socket by the beds, which is a minus point. There's a good living room space though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Downtown River Hostel, San Sebastian, Spain
7.1
14th Sep 2014

Overall an ok hostel. They were doing some building work downstairs, which could be expansion work. I agree with other reviewers that the common areas are not sufficient. There's one table in the kitchen space, which is also right outside most of the rooms so socializing after 11pm doesn't happen. Also, the showers were blocked with hair and you can just walk into any room whenever you please. There is no "security" as such. It's a small hostel and quite friendly overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Malti, St. Julians, Malta
8.9
22nd Aug 2014

The staff at Hostel Malti is really outstanding. Super friendly guys, always up for a chat and a laugh. I loved the roof terrace and the jacuzzi with sweeping views over St. Julian's. There is no breakfast included but they often do roof top BBQs and the hostel is relatively close to Paceville. It's really a bit of a party hostel actually, which is great if you're on your own and wanting to meet new people. I think the showers could be a bit cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
PLUS Berlin, Berlin, Germany
7.7
21st Jul 2014

Overall a good hostel. The beds were nice, there were clean linen and towels, 2 showers per dorm and even a swimming pool. However, the hostel attracts very big and noisy Contiki travel groups who shout in the hall ways and the breakfast is a massive let down. For 6EUR you get dry hard scrambled eggs, bad coffee and a poor selection of cheese and meat. I would probably not stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pfefferbett Hostel, Berlin, Germany
8.9
16th Jul 2014

I loved this hostel for a number of reasons. 1) It's in a lovely patio just minutes from the action of Mitte and Prenzlauer Berg 2) they have a micro brewery next door 3) the little garden where you can have breakfast or chill out is LOVELY 4) the rooms are cool and the beds are good. If you're looking for accomodation in the heart of Berlin and without the noise of huge tour groups etc, this would be an excellent option. The breakfast buffet was also really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Home Made Hostel, Budapest, Hungary
8.0
11th May 2014

I liked this hostel because it really feels like you're staying in someone's home but that also has disadvantages. The floorboards were really creaky and to get into my dorm I had to walk through another dorm. At a small scale hostel like this, it might also be nice to include breakfast in the price. Otherwise really nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
8.6
9th May 2014

Really well located hostel. Doesn't have much character as it's way too big to feel like a cozy place to stay but it makes up for it with excellent facilities, good value for money, friendly staff and a perfect location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Akumal, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
7.4
30th Dec 2013

I stayed in this hostel on new year's eve and overall it was good. Really nice staff, a nice court yard and good entertainment options. However, the bathrooms are really gross and in winter the rooms are ice cold. The beds also need to be fixed as they shake and croak every time you move.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hlemmur Square, Reykjavik, Iceland
7.4
31st Oct 2013

I really liked the beds and the bathrobe was a nice little extra. The bar downstairs was always lively with bands and people but overall the decor feels a bit cold. Shame the kitchen on the 3rd floor had no windows and only one very stuffed fridge. The location is handy for catching a city bus but overall quite far from the center of town. Takes at least 20 mins to walk. I would stay here again though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ostello S. Fosca, Venice, Italy
7.1
12th Sep 2013

I stayed here for one night last week. The hostel is relatively easy to find if you can read a map. I don't agree with other comments that staff was rude. I was checked in by a very friendly guy and everyone else I interacted with was very friendly. The beds were a bit stiff and there were no lockers for your valuables. The curfew only applies if you're staying within the gates so you might want to ask for one of the external rooms. I thought it was a shame that breakfast was not included.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Flying Pig Uptown, Amsterdam, Netherlands
7.7
8th Jul 2013

Stayed here once while I rented out my own flat in Amsterdam. In terms of location this is hard to beat. It's right by Vondelpark and within easy walking distance to all good museums and nice cafes and shops in Oud West. They have a nice enough bar downstairs and the breakfast is included so it's ok but like all hostels in Amsterdam, overpriced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Cocomama, Amsterdam, Netherlands
8.3
7th Jul 2013

Finding a good hostel in Amsterdam is really not easy. Either you end up in a trashy and overpriced place in the red light district or somewhere out of town with no atmosphere. Cocomama is nice because it has great staff, a good location and comfortable beds. I didn't like the dark halls and relatively tight rooms (a typical Amsterdam thing). Also, for the price they charge they could include breakfast.

View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for leaving us a review. We have planned a refurbishment for the 6-bed dorm where you stayed to create more space, but you are right, Amsterdam monumental buildings have small rooms. Our halls are brightly lit day and night so we're not sure how you got to the comment of dark halls but we will take it into consideration. We provide free coffee, tea, paste, rice and spices and a huge jar with cereal if you would like to make a budget breakfast. Safe travels, regards, Lotje

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Antwerp Central Youth Hostel, Antwerp, Belgium
7.7
6th Jul 2013

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sleep Well Youth Hostel, Brussels, Belgium
8.0
5th Jul 2013

Pretty good hostel in the center of Antwerp, close to the Nationalestraat and the main square. Very modern interior which at times seems a bit cold. Nice selection of beers at the bar but as with all HI hostels, no wifi in the rooms.

View Property Reply

Hello, I don’t know if you made a mistake, but Sleep Well is in Brussels and is not part of HI (no member card required). Our Hostel is located in the city center of Brussels, just behind the “Rue neuve” and very close to the “Grand Place”. As from 01/08/2013, the wifi is free and available everywhere in the hostel, including de rooms. Regards, The Sleep Well Team.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI Vianden, Vianden, Luxembourg
7.1
8th Jun 2013

Walking up the hill is quite a mission but then access to the fort is easy. Wifi only works inside the common room. As with the other HIs - feels like a homeless people's shelter rather than a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Luxembourg City Hostel, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
7.7
7th Jun 2013

I didn't realize the hostel was such a steep walk down from the Center. Although the view is pretty cool it's a bit exhausting to lug your bags around when there's no bus service (on weekends). The corridors reminded you more of a hospital than a hostel but there is a nice garden, ping pong tables and the breakfast is included.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Alcatraz, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
6.6
3rd Jan 2013

Very basic hostel that is essentially nothing more than a place to sleep. No communcal areas to speak of, no kitchen facilities but relatively close to the centre and nearby places to eat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Athens Backpackers, Athens, Greece
7.4
25th May 2012

The biggest selling points are the rooftop bar and the location right next to Acropoli. The bathrooms are nothing to rave about and neither is the breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Little Big House, Thessaloniki, Greece
9.4
23rd May 2012

Probably the only budget option in this city, Little Big House is super chilled and the staff is amazing. Good breakfast included. Views of the city from just up the road are simply breath taking. Would definitely stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sevilla Inn Backpackers, Seville, Spain
8.0
8th Apr 2012

Hostel is located right next to the Cathedral, which is awesome. Rented a bike to explore the city and gotta say that was the most amazing thing you can do. Nice roof top terrace with a little bar in the evening. Met some cool people. Would be nice if they also had Wifi on the roofterrace

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Garden Backpacker, Seville, Spain
7.1
7th Apr 2012

Hostel was ok. Staff were helpful and nice but didn't have much atmosphere. Maybe due to the people who were there at the time. Also prices for Easter weekend were double what they normally are.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel One Paralelo, Barcelona, Spain
8.3
14th Oct 2011

Overall I think this hostel is pretty good. I thought the fact that Valerio had actually saved me some pasta for dinner on Friday night was really sweet. Other than that the hostel is perfectly ok regarding location etc. The only thing that seemed slightly odd was that some areas or parts still looked like they were under construction.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Ocean Blue Hostel, Miami, USA
7.7
18th Mar 2011

good hostel. a bit overpriced to be honest but right on the beach. not much party atmosphere going on or maybe we just missed it. good beds and bathrooms.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Elena Borgen, Managua, Nicaragua
6.3
10th Mar 2011

very basic hostel in Managua. we arrived really late at night and only slept there for a couple of hours. breakfast was included and very basic. Relatively ok to get to from the airport but not really sure in terms of overall accessiblity

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel, London, England
6.0
4th Feb 2011

Tiny beds that make tall people feel like caged animals, rattling windows, slamming doors and manky showers. If it weren't for the excellent location I wouldn't have stayed longer than 5 minutes.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
7.3
3rd Sep 2010

The Argentinian girl was really really cool, cleared up some issue with our bill without a big deal. Generally an ok hostel, the beds are good but the showers and toilets were yuck and the breakfast is a joke for this price.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Old Town Hostel Gdansk, Gdansk, Poland
7.0
9th May 2010

generally good hostel except the building looks horrific from outside and it's a bit of a walk to the town center but the breakfast was very good and the beds comfortable. The only thing they need to do is get wifi throughout and put the common room somewhere else. it's really noisy

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Flamingo Hostel, Krakow, Poland
9.3
7th May 2010

really good hostel right in the middle of town. Excellent breakfast (free), comfy beds with an individual reading lamp and socket and good showers. Had a really good time here (bar for some annoying groups that made loads of noise). Would definitely stay here again!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Lisbon Lounge Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
8.7
21st Mar 2010

Very nice hostel in the middle of downtown Lisbon only a short walk to many sights and to the metro. Our room was quite noisy at night due to being on the main road but other than that it was really nice.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Bellavista Hostel, Santiago, Chile
8.3
2nd Jan 2010

Good hostel on the whole. Only dorm number 1 can be really noisy as it's right next to the door and the street. Very comfy beds though (probably the best hostel bed I have slept in in a while) and a wicked roof terrace!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Terrazas Estoril, Buenos Aires, Argentina
9.3
30th Dec 2009

I loved this hostel. The 6th floor is just like the Hostel Estoril on the 1st except you have the roofterrace and the weird round room on the roof. Have met some amazing people there and when staff know you by name it gives the whole experience a really nice touch. The hostel is clean with excellent facilities. Definitely would stay there again

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Marcopolo Inn Iguazu, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
6.7
29th Dec 2009

I was not too fond of this place. It has a good location in town but other than that I think it really lacks character. They turned the a/c off at 8am when it was really starting to heat up outside and it feels more like a motel than a hostel.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
El Viajero - Hostel & Suites, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
7.3
21st Dec 2009

the rooms are really small and as far as i know there was no a/c breakfast could also be a bit better

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Pocitos Hostel, Montevideo, Uruguay
8.0
20th Dec 2009

a little out of the way but in a nice neighbourhood and not too far from the bus station. really nice staff and that made it for me. beds are comfy although there are no fans or aircon in the bedrooms. good hostel though

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Ecohostel Andromeda, Gent, Belgium
7.7
26th Oct 2009

In terms of facilities this hostel was amazing. Super comfy beds, great showers and good breakfast! Location is a bit out of the way and the dude who was on duty that weekend was utterly useless. forgot to turn on the water at night! I mean come on!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Kinabalu Backpackers Lodge, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
6.0
2nd Oct 2009

Generally this hostel is not bad. The location (like most other hostels in KK is pretty central) but the bathrooms are literally matchbox sized, some of the staff speaks no English (hello?!) and breakfast is poor.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Mitraa, Singapore, Singapore
7.3
2nd Oct 2009

The Mitraa is a nice hostel overall although the room I stayed in was a bit cramped and had no windows. Also the nearest metro station is a bit of a walk while Little India is not too far. Not too much fun going on while I was there. Seemed more like a hostel for people looking to stay long term but fine enough for the weekend I was there.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Sunflower City Backpacker, Rimini, Italy
8.0
27th Jul 2009

The hostel was very clean and friendly. All the facilities you can think of were present and the beds were comfortable. Only thing was it was extremely hot so maybe installing aircon in the rooms is a good idea!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Living Mad Hostel, Madrid, Spain
6.0
31st May 2009

Despite the fact that we were a group of 30+ people the useless and rude staff at this hostel put some of us alone or in random rooms and refused our friends to change. They were very unfriendly and even refused some members of our group to come back inside after a night out. The duvets were manky and the aircon in the room hardly worked. The only plus points were the good location and the roof terrace but we're certainly never staying there again. (only the mexcian guy was nice)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Retro Youth Hostel, Cluj Napoca, Romania
7.7
11th May 2009

One thing that the hostel really lacks is a common room and the lights near the computers should be on all the time and not have a movement detector.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Chisinau Hostel, Chisinau, Moldova
8.7
20th Apr 2009

If you can read a map the hostel is really easy to find (although a sign wouldn't hurt). The hostel is in a perfect location, there is free internet, free breakfast and the staff is super friendly and kind. Beds are a bit hard but over all I had a great time here!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Rolling Stone Hostel, Brasov, Romania
7.0
12th Apr 2009

The hostel was generally pretty good, however, the bathrooms need shower curtains to stop them from flooding. People smashing doors until well into the night can rob you of your sleep.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Chess Hostel, Sibiu, Romania
9.3
9th Mar 2009

Really nice hostel very close to the old town and with some of the best staff I've ever met! They make you feel at home and make sure you have the time of your life in Sibiu! Would stay here again anytime!!!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Mostel, Sofia, Bulgaria
8.7
1st Mar 2009

Lovely hostel in the center of Sofia. Free breakfast, free dinner, free internet and awesome staff make you feel at home instantly! Would stay here again anytime!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Riad Massine II, Marrakech, Morocco
8.0
27th Sep 2008

Very hard to find if you don't know where you are but amazing place in the middle of the city with the friendliest staff and 2 amazing rof terraces!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Bed and Breakfast Keflavik, Keflavik, Iceland
5.3
31st Aug 2008

when we got there we looked through the window and it looked like old and tired with depressing furniture. luckily no one was there when we arrived so we stayed somewhere else.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Mansour Hotel, Amman, Jordan
7.3
23rd Jun 2008

Beds were rock hard but the manager is awesome and the location is perfect. Hot water is now free and the owner will soon install A/C in some rooms.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Suranj, Kotor, Montenegro
8.3
30th Apr 2008

The old lady rocks! She\'s so smiley and lovely! makes you feel very much at home!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Bokun Guesthouse, Dubrovnik, Croatia
10.0
30th Apr 2008

Beautiful house with a lovely garden right by the marina. Tony and his family really look after you and make you feel at home!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel City Center Sarajevo, Sarajevo, Bosnia And Herzegovina
8.0
28th Apr 2008

Perfect location, friendly owner hows always ready to help with anything and nice newly furbished hostel. Would defo recommend this place!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
4.0
5th Jul 2007

Horrible place, really hated it

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand
7.3
1st Jun 2007

nice enough on the shores of the lake. nice walk into the center of town but not close to bus station etc...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Cape Town Backpackers, Cape Town, South Africa
10.0
23rd Sep 2005

sorry i am such a douchebag i meant all smiles! sorry ......

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Cape Town Backpackers, Cape Town, South Africa
9.3
20th Sep 2005

Leah and Mama Fefe made my stay one of the most amazing trips I had had so far! Really lovely staff, nice place with backyard and a great caring Mama Fefe who makes amazing Braai! Totally recommended!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
4.3
30th Mar 2005

This was by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. I was greeted with loads of long black hairs on my bed and all over the room, the floor was covered in dirt and nobody seemed to care since after everyone else who was in my room checked out, staff didn't bother to clean the room or collect dirty sheets. Also, I am used to hostels emphazising that no noise should be made after 11pm so that others can get some sleep but instead I was woken up at 1am by people screaming and shouting in the hall outside for at least 15 minutes and nobody seemed to care. I am never coming back to this place!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • german_alex
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Bahaus Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
9.0
18th Feb 2005

The owner was a legend! Took all of us out on a night out and showed us how you party in Istanbul. Great view from the breakfast room and close to the main sights.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.