Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.6
24th Aug 2016

Overall a great place! Perfect location and comfy (though very narrow) room. More like a hotel so not good if you want to meet people. Buffet breakfast is a nice idea though the food is pretty bland. I ended up extending my stay and would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Danang Backpackers Hostel, Da Nang, Vietnam
5.1
18th Aug 2016

Lots of little things would make this place better. There's a funky smell in the dorm and the bathroom, and it feels like the air doesn't circulate. The wifi doesn't work well or consistently. The staff had slept in and so I had rushed breakfast before catching my bus. The bar area where breakfast is served still had overflowing ashtrays and the stools are super uncomfortable. And they should really take down the sign in reception about why "women are like fish" -- more than a bit offens

View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. We will consider and improve all the problems that you commented. However, firstly, about the unpleasant smell in the dorm room and bathroom, all rooms are equipped with air vent to avoid bad smell in the room. Furthermore, most rooms have windows to ventilate the air. Odor problems may occur because of your roommates. You stay in the Dorm room so that seems unavoidable. Next, wifi, we have installed 2 routers at each floors to ensure the stable wifi. Because of the high number of guests at that time access to watch or download, wifi maybe got stuck. However, you can ask the receptionist to support if problems occur. Thirdly, regarding to breakfast staff, perhaps you were confused about the time. We set from 8-10 am for the breakfast and make sure that our staff always punctual to serve all the customers, even half an hour earlier to prepare. About breakfast area is quite messy, perhaps due to a group the night before held a birthday party until the next morning so our staff did not have enough time to clean thoroughly. We do apologize for the incident. We will try to resolve all and become better. Wish you a nice trip.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Budget Hostel, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
8.3
6th Aug 2016

Comfortable spot, good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
19 Happy House Backpacker, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
4.6
30th Jul 2016

Only one bathroom for 14-bed dorm and it was filthy. Security not great when a guy brought a woman home who walked around the dorm naked. Found Alex extremely annoying. He tries so hard to bro out with the stoners, repeating "smoke some weed?" in a high-pitched voice like a younger brother invited to a party and trying to fit in. And he doesn't give a good idea of bus options but pressures people into buying from him at an inflated rate. Cheap room but not worth it the atmosphere is so gross.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Monkey Republic, Kampot, Cambodia
9.1
25th Jul 2016

Great spot! Dorm gets it all right: AC, private curtain, personal light and electrical socket. Staff are so friendly and the food is pretty good. Only recommendation would be to fix drains in the bathroom (there's usually an inch or two of water on the floor) and put soap by the sinks. But overall one of the best places I've stayed, definitely the best in Cambodia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Serendipity Beach Hostel, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
6.0
21st Jul 2016

The room is a bit musty but fine. Bathrooms were usually not clean. The staff are really indifferent, usually on their phones and not very helpful which can be frustrating. They have the same two guys play music at the bar every night, annoying because they are not very good and just play the same few songs again and again and again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Seagarden, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
10.0
14th Jul 2016

Really wonderful place. Staff is so friendly and hard-working. Food is good and actually cheaper than most other places. Steps from the beach. Hard to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Happy House Zone, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
9.1
13th Jul 2016

Very comfy bed, A/C, lovely staff, and cool space.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel BTB Cambodia, Battambang, Cambodia
9.1
11th Jul 2016

Comfortable beds, A/C, cool space

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Palm Garden Lodge, Siem Reap, Cambodia
6.3
10th Jul 2016

Well, just one big problem with this place. I noticed that the towel they gave me didn't smell very fresh. Then, one morning after other people checked out of the dorm, I saw the girl just straighten the sheets and refold the (used for several days) towels. I complained and she just laughed. Asked for a clean towel, she brought back the same one sprayed in deodorizer. So who knows how many people slept on that pillowcase or used the towel before me! Or after....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Cocoa Mews, Penang, Malaysia
3.7
22nd Mar 2016

BEDBUGS!! When I arrived, I was told the dorm was 'under renovation' and was put in another room. Then, I found out why. The place is crawling with bedbugs. When I told the owner, he said it was 'just the dorm' even though they were in my room too. They weren't taking proper measures to get rid of them, just airing out the mattresses. They really shouldn't be renting out the rooms at all. The whole place is filthy, and the attitude of the owner was really bad considering the problem. Avoid.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
ME.n.U Cafe'& Lodge, Penang, Malaysia
7.1
21st Mar 2016

Nice space, clean, though not a lot of good atmosphere or people talking to each other. The beds are really squeaky and that makes it hard to sleep. Wifi wasn't really working while I was there. When I checked in, the girl working reception was incredibly rude, in a way I found startling. Rest of the staff just seemed distracted watching movies or checking their phones. I switched to another hostel just because the vibe there seemed pretty off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Step Inn Guest House and Hostel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
6.6
14th Mar 2016

The room is really stuffy and hot, making it difficult to sleep. It would be better if they were more proactive cleaning the bathrooms and restocking toilet paper, etc.

View Property Reply

We are sorry for your bad experiences. If the fan rooms are too hot, there are A/C rooms available. We will take your concerns about bathroom cleanliness to heart. With best regards, Step Inn team

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Colombo Downtown Monkey, Colombo, Sri Lanka
8.9
23rd Jan 2016

The woman who looks after the hostel is really wonderful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Electric Cats Annexe, Bangalore, India
8.6
13th Dec 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Baba Haveli Guesthouse, Jodhpur, India
8.3
7th Nov 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Pink Turban, Jaipur, India
5.7
25th Oct 2015

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
6.9
23rd Oct 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Smyle Inn, New Delhi, India
8.9
17th Sep 2015

Overall a very nice stay. On a couple of occasions the main guy at the front desk was pretty rude to us, but the rest of the staff were really nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Smyle Inn, New Delhi, India
10.0
14th Sep 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Kathmandu Madhuban Guesthouse, Kathmandu, Nepal
7.7
9th Sep 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Mountain House Pokhara, Pokhara, Nepal
8.9
1st Sep 2015

On the whole, we were satisfied. The room was clean and the hosts friendly. We were overcharged on several of the services they arranged for us, such as a short trek and laundry, but were sympathetic because tourism is so low right now. Frequent power outages were a bit frustrating especially since the downstairs and neighboring houses were OK. In the end, their warmth seemed more about business than genuine, but overall a pleasant stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Alobar1000, Kathmandu, Nepal
6.9
29th Aug 2015

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.0
4th Jun 2015

It would be great if there was Wi-Fi in the rooms. Also, on the last night there was no electricity in the hostel and the surrounding area. Most of the restaurants and shops had candles lit, but the hostel was pitch black. Just having candles in the main room and around the bathroom would have made a big difference.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Kangding DengBa Hostel, Kang Ding, China
4.6
3rd Jun 2015

Wouldn't recommend it. Not very clean and not a nice atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Angelie Hotel, Jiuzhaigou, China
8.6
30th May 2015

This place would be even better if they i) had soap and toilet paper in the bathroom; ii) had lamps for every bed rather than some and working lockers; iii) had one staff member who speaks some English.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Seoul Base Camp, Seoul, South Korea
9.1
3rd Apr 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Manhattan Hostel, New York, USA
7.4
28th Nov 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.3
17th Oct 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Taipei Walker Guest House, Taipei, Taiwan
6.9
2nd Oct 2014

Very quiet and not a lot of atmosphere. Felt like staying in someone's apartment. Staff are friendly but usually in one of the rooms, not at a desk or in the common area if you have questions. Our room was not cleaned though we were there for almost a week.

View Property Reply

ths you choose our hostel,but i regret maybe we has not to be the best,we don't have 24 hours reception,but if you have any questions,we are very happy can help you,we clean the hostel everyday,but focus the room,just before the check in,in hotel must change pillowcases,sheets,blanket every day,it is a little bit different between hostel and hotel,but if you really need to clean the room,pls let the staff know.sorry about miss understanding.that is our mistakes,but really thanks for your advice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Green House Hostel Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
10.0
1st Oct 2014

We got in very late and had some trouble getting into the hostel at first. Was impressed that the girl at reception upgraded our room and went out of her way to make it up to us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Lee Garden Guest House, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
8.3
6th Sep 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
CheQinn, Bangkok, Thailand
7.4
4th May 2014

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bodega Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand
5.1
2nd May 2014

Disappointed with the atmosphere here, with staff trying too hard to be cool rather than just provide good service. While we were checking in, the owners talked about how 'gay' something was and how much beer pong they played which was off-putting and representative of the immature, bro-y culture of the place. Travel advice seemed limited to what the owners had experienced in the short time they've been in Bangkok and not very valuable or useful.

View Property Reply

Hello Kelly, this is Ben the owner of Bodega BKK. I'm not sure this review is meant for us, but either way I am sorry you were disappointed. We have 2 gay staff, so I don't believe we would ever call something 'gay', we are open minded and accepting. We also take pride in our professionalism, experience, and expansive first-hand knowledge of BKK, Thailand and Asia (see our many positive reviews related to travel advice, on the other hand see your 47 reviews, most of which are negative).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI-Sukhumvit, Bangkok, Thailand
7.4
30th Apr 2014

Nice place but very quiet with not a lot of other travelers to interact with.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
6.9
31st Jan 2014

There during Chinese New Year when most things in town were shut. The hostel was one of the few places open to eat, but they kept saying the kitchen was closed at random times, with staff unsure when it would open and at times telling us it would be open and then saying it was closed when we arrived which made planning meals pretty difficult. Some of the staff were accommodating, while others seemed indifferent or downright rude. Very little English spoken or extra effort made.

View Property Reply

We are so sorry you had a bad time in our hostel .You know it was Chinese new year ,just one cook still at work.That was why we changed the breakfast time .Also most worker in the bar and reception were part-time,so they can not understand u very clearly.The vacation is over now ,we will be working diligently to make your stays much more enjoyable in the future. We will also improve our service and business by training our staff more. Hope see u again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.1
16th Oct 2013

The food is really overpriced and not good at all. I was really surprised at what they served as a "Sichuan dish" which was not like anything I've had in China even though I've ordered the same dish countless times. It looked like it came out of a can or had been microwaved. When I told them I wasn't happy with it, they said "most foreigners" didn't mind it, as if that wasn't insulting or made it okay.

View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kindly feedback. We're so sorry that you didn't like our food. Once you said you didn't like it, we try to talk to you and return you HALF PRICE as you've started. We've tried a lot to satisfy tourist's flavor from all around world. Might can not make every guest satisfied. There might be misunderstanding that our staff tried to say is most guest like this dish. We're so sorry that from this dish we didn't catch your expectation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
6.9
14th Oct 2013

The internet was not working at all while I was there and the staff seemed indifferent to figure out why or do anything about it. When I came back to Chengdu a few days later, I decided not to stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.0
11th Oct 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse, Lijiang, China
6.0
7th Oct 2013

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Hump Hostel, Kunming, China
9.4
4th Oct 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Trippers Carpe Diem, Yangshuo, China
9.7
1st Oct 2013

One of the nicest places I've stayed!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Royal Hostel Singapore, Singapore, Singapore
6.0
9th May 2013

I wanted to like this place more, but I just don't think the space works for a hostel. Little changes could be made to improve things (a quieter door for the dorm, hooks in the bathroom, rearranging the common area), but overall I think the layout is just too small to ever make it work. It feels claustrophobic and something about the place doesn't seem genuine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
9.4
8th May 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Fernloft KL @ Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
7.4
6th May 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
7.4
9th Feb 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
5.7
31st Dec 2012

The bathroom is really bad.

View Property Reply

Hi Kelly! We are really sorry for the problem. We reconstructed the bathroom just a few days before you checked in and there were problems. The ventilation was not good so the smell was bad and the signs were not where they should be. Now we have already done our best to change it. It's much better. We should have done it before customers check in. This is a lesson for us to learn. Thank you very much for pointing out our problem. If you ever come to Hangzhou again we welcome you to Hofang. Thanks again and have a nice day :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Leo Hostel, Beijing, China
8.6
7th Oct 2012

My only complaint was that the internet was really unreliable, to the point that I had to go to the hostel across the street to get online. The staff were really friendly, but would just say "it should be working now" without doing anything to look into the problem. I think a good internet connection would be a better investment for the hostel than all the Western food items on the menu.

View Property Reply

Hello Thank you for your comments. Very few guests experience problems with the wifi. If there is a problem, rebooting the boxes at reception usually helps. We hope you have a better connection during your next stay! Kind regards Leo Hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Three Legged Frog Hostel, Beijing, China
6.3
5th Oct 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
365 Inn, Beijing, China
9.4
3rd Oct 2012

I thought this was a great spot! I only wish they had an additional common area for guests rather than the (public) bar. There was nowhere else to sit and every night I ended up sharing a table. This can sometimes be great, but I was needed to work in the evening, and at one point I was surrounded by chain smokers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Peking Yard Hostel, Beijing, China
9.4
2nd Oct 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
6.6
1st Oct 2012

I stayed in several hostels in Beijing because I booked late over a holiday period and there was limited availability everywhere. This hostel was more than twice the price and not half as good as the other spots I stayed. It's a perfectly fine place, but there's nothing special that justifies the extra cost. The common room closes at midnight and you can't get online if too many people are using the internet. On the whole, I found the atmosphere here kind of lifeless and claustrophobic.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Fauzi Azar Inn, Nazareth, Israel
9.1
29th May 2012

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Citadel Youth Hostel, Jerusalem, Israel
8.6
28th May 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Citadel Youth Hostel, Jerusalem, Israel
6.9
26th May 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
6.6
25th May 2012

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Corinne Hostel, Eilat, Israel
7.7
24th May 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Corinne Hostel, Eilat, Israel
8.6
22nd May 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
8.3
21st May 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Mystic Simurgh Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
8.6
17th Apr 2012

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel La Candelaria, Valladolid, Mexico
9.7
23rd Apr 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Nomadas, Merida, Mexico
7.0
20th Apr 2011

Gorgeous spot with great amenities. Didn´t find the staff very friendly or helpful when I needed help.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Poc na Hostel, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
9.0
10th Apr 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Ka'beh Cancun, Cancun, Mexico
5.3
7th Apr 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
5.7
24th Jul 2010

The free dinners were a great surprise - good and generous. The hostel just seems too big so there's not a lot of atmosphere. I found the room very cramped and claustrophobic.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Banana Bungalow Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA
8.7
9th Jul 2010

really amazing place! while most hostels seem stingy, they really tired to do that little bit extra that makes all the difference to the life of a traveller. room with its own kitchen/bathroom. free laundry soap and cheap machines. free bbq and beer and live music the first night i was there. free coffee all day. nice spot.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Hospedarte Chapultepec, Guadalajara, Mexico
5.7
7th Jul 2010

free bike rental is really great!

View Property Reply

Glad you liked it ! - Gerardo Estrada, General Manager Hospedarte

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel, Oaxaca, Mexico
6.7
29th Jun 2010

mixed feelings. room and courtyard were nice. staff were awesome but overworked. prob with my bill which they recognized but didn't have the authority to change and the manager was on vacation. bkft often inedible, not enough bathroom space. people were having s*x in dorms, showers, and there was a crazy guy there smoking pot in the dorm, stealing food etc, harassing people and staff did little to intervene which i sympathize with, but it did have a negative effect on stay of other guests.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Hermano Pedro, Guatemala City, Guatemala
7.3
28th May 2010

amazing breakfast and friendly staff!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Polanco Valparaiso, Valparaiso, Chile
4.7
24th Apr 2010

Wish I could recommend this place more because I think the owner really tries her best to make a nice environment. That said, cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired, as does overall efficiency. This place doesn\'t really operate like a hostel, more like someone\'s home. Therefore there is some discomfort about complaining or making yourself too comfortable as you feel like you are in someone\\\'s home. The other thing is they had \\\"no record\\\" of my reservati

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
La Chimba Hostel, Santiago, Chile
8.7
21st Apr 2010

A really great hostel. Staff were fantastic.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Inn Bariloche, Bariloche, Argentina
8.7
16th Apr 2010

A really great hostel. Clean, nice staff, great view, free dinner a nice touch.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Bolivar, Buenos Aires, Argentina
6.3
8th Apr 2010

A beautiful old hotel in good location. It could be a lot better if they did just a bit more to make guests feel comfortable. The kitchen has few dishes and no utensils. The bathrooms don't have toilet paper half the time and can be rather dirty. I stayed there over two weeks and my room wasn't cleaned once.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Oca Hostel, Sao Paulo, Brazil
6.0
13th Mar 2010

Very nice staff and a nice spot. Does feel like it needs to be "lived in" a bit more. Have to pay for wifi (R$10/day) and no kitchen.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
****Inactive***HI Brumas, Ouro Preto, Brazil
7.3
10th Mar 2010

They do not recognize the 10% deposit paid, saying it is to Hostelworld and not to them. Staff is friendly but only speaks Portuguese. Very clean and a nice view, though a steep walk back from town.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
A Meson Pousada, Salvador, Brazil
3.7
18th Feb 2010

security is a real issue. there are no lockers and while there is a safe, the day after i put a bag in there i saw it lying on the front desk while they were doing "work." the doors are rarely locked, and several times i walked straight off the street into my room without passing anyone or using a key. another guest was mugged in the front entranceway. the owner seems almost irritated with the guests, and doesn't say even say hello or smile when you pass her.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
La Jungla House Hostel, Panama City, Panama
9.7
24th Jan 2010

an awesome place! staff were so friendly, and great vibe. definitely plan to go back.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
SoBe Hostel & Bar, Miami, USA
9.7
19th Jan 2010

a great place! thought the atmosphere was really laid back and the staff were fantastic. really enjoyed my stay and intend to go back.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.