Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Canada, Gender Male, Age 33

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
9.7
22nd Oct 2016

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The ONE Hostel Hongdae in Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
8.0
14th Sep 2016

A very well located hostel that is a bit shabby in its facilities but is rather endearing due to the nice vibe and the presence of a nice cat and dog. The bed was very rickety and the fact the reception was often closed was annoying, but like I say, it had a nice vibe and everyone was really nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.0
4th Sep 2016

Nice hostel in a convenient location. The area around is a bit touristy but a good intro to Beijing for first-timers. Also, Great Leap Brewing is close by and that's key. The hostel does need another sink in the upstairs bathroom though, and security could be better (you can enter the hostel through a restaurant without being checked really).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Toc Hostel Madrid, Madrid, Spain
9.7
24th Jul 2016

One of the best hostels I've been too; great location, great internet, great design and vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.3
21st Jun 2016

Great party hostel, not so great for other things though. Not that it was loud in the rooms or anything, but there isn't really much common space outside of the bar which is not super cheap, and there is no kitchen. Still, would be a great time for sure if you're looking for fun nights in Paris.

View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks a lot for the time to review us. Perhaps you haven't seen it, but it was possible to warm up your food in the microwave located into our chilling room, you can also borrow some cutlery to the bar for free. We hope to see see you a next time !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Queen Hostel, Milan, Italy
8.6
11th Jun 2016

Nice new hostel with a good vibe. I believe they've recently opened so getting better day by day. One thing that needs to be fixed is adding screens to the windows! I got about 40 mosquito bites during my one night stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Duo Housing DC, Washington DC, USA
8.9
27th May 2016

Very social atmosphere with the great rooftop patio. Short walk to the subway station. Try the El Salvadorean restaurant nearby for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Legends, Rome, Italy
8.0
6th May 2016

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, Johannesburg, South Africa
8.6
11th Feb 2016

Very welcoming hostel with friendly staff. Please install personal lockers though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
91 Loop, Cape Town, South Africa
8.9
6th Feb 2016

Great hostel, comfortable beds, good WiFi, great location. Only concern was downstairs it was hard to understand if the tables were meant for hostel patrons or outside people for the bar/restaurant. If they are meant for non-guests I suggest making a bigger common area where one doesn't feel pressured to buy something!

View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words. The downstairs is for both hostel patrons and Capetonians. We're sorry you felt a pressure to buy something; this is obviously not the intention! We're also currently working on a common room downstairs which should be completed in the next month or so.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
9.1
3rd Feb 2016

Great hostel, great beds, great wifi, very secure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, Mexico City, Mexico
6.6
29th Jan 2016

This may be an Hosteling International hostel officially, but don't expect anything like what you would get at a European HI. I had a lot of things stolen out of my locker, and my main complaint is the very poor security. A keycard is required to get upstairs to the room, but the door was constantly left open and no staff was watching it. My dorm room had 6 beds, but it was attached by the bathroom to another room; so more people with access to the room. Good location, but don't bring valuables.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.9
6th Dec 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Safestay London Holland Park, London, England
9.4
5th Dec 2015

Really a beautiful setting being right on Holland Park. If you're looking to see a new part of London, this is a really nice place to stay. Place could use a kitchen. Other than that, would highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Luxembourg City Hostel, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
9.4
27th Nov 2015

Really nice hostel, nice breakfast, nice setting.

View Property Reply

Dear, we are glad you had a good time in Luxembourg and were happy with all the facilities and services provided! Thank you for your visit and the fabulous rating!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Capital View, Washington DC, USA
8.6
22nd Nov 2015

Nice little hostel in a convenient location, close to the train/bus station. Lockers, wifi, everything you need.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Melbourne Central YHA, Melbourne, Australia
8.9
9th Nov 2015

Great hostel, good location, great that there is free internet in the lobby (though it went down once for a few hours). Beds a bit squeaky.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Brisbane City YHA, Brisbane, Australia
9.7
8th Nov 2015

One of the best HI hostels I've been too. Good that it's a bit more social that most with the big kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Budds In Surfers, Surfers Paradise, Australia
8.0
7th Nov 2015

Very good value and great location. Free wifi is a huge bonus in this country. Security could be better, you don't have to walk through the reception to get to the rooms and anyone could just walk in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Stayokay Maastricht, Maastricht, Netherlands
9.7
30th Sep 2015

Great clean hostel, with great breakfast. A very short walk to everything worth seeing. One slight complaint, in our room the light near the entrance to the room automatically went on when someone entered, so that was a bit annoying while trying to sleep. Other than that, fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Flying Pig Uptown, Amsterdam, Netherlands
9.4
29th Sep 2015

Great hostel, and great to meet people. A bit of a party hostel as it aims to be, but rooms were quiet at night. Could use an elevator and a iron.

View Property Reply

Hey There, Thanks a million for leaving us a review! It's great to read you had such a great time partying with us but also got a good nights sleep :) Unfortunately, as our building is a traditional Dutch townhouse, we cannot install an elevator. We are glad to see this did not affect your stay with us. We will take your suggestion for an iron onboard. Thanks again for your time, hopefully we can welcome you again in the future! Cheers, The Flying Pig Uptown

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Smart Russell Square Hostel, London, England
7.7
4th Jul 2015

A great price for the location, but the large dorm I stayed in felt like a military barracks, with 3 levels of bunk beds, and the bathrooms were so comically small they were hardly usable for showers. Also, hardly any plugs in the room. If you're really looking for something cheap, this will do, but otherwise you may want to try somewhere else.

View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. Some o our rooms may seem a little cramped, but this is London and every inch counts. Also our prices are very cheap as well. The hostel is going through some refurbishments, and we are working on improving all our rooms. Best regards,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Eastener Hostel, Berlin, Germany
9.1
2nd Jul 2015

Great hostel, really enjoyed the fellow who runs it. The reception not always being open can be slightly awkward, but generally it wasn't much of a problem. Nice comfy beds and secure lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
BaseCamp Bonn, Bonn, Germany
9.7
30th Jun 2015

A fantastically creative hostel. Very close to the U-bahn that takes you to the city centre in 8 minutes. Would recommend this place for anyone coming to town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
9.1
27th Jun 2015

Great hostel, comfy beds, good wifi. Need to provide an iron, but other than that, great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Washington DC House, Washington DC, USA
8.3
19th May 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Auberge Saint-Paul, Montreal, Canada
8.6
11th May 2015

Really nice looking new hostel, with comfy beds, lots of bathrooms, and right in old Montreal. One complaint is there is no noise curfew after 11pm, and several of the rooms are right beside the common area so it is very loud. Fix this, get an iron and this will be the best deal in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Brisbane City YHA, Brisbane, Australia
9.7
6th May 2015

Best HI hostel I've stayed at in a while. They are usually clean, safe, but also boring. This one was really good in terms of having a social atmosphere, with a great common area and kitchen upstairs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Tram Stop 14 Backpackers, Melbourne, Australia
9.1
2nd May 2015

A really great hostel in a great neighborhood. Almost all the guests here are long timers working on visas, which often leads to an unwelcome environment, but the staff were great at introducing me to everyone, and the set up is very conducive to meeting people. Also great that wireless is free, which I found rare across Australian hostels. For sure worth a visit.

View Property Reply

We're happy that you felt welcome in our hostel. Our set-up is very conducive to meeting everyone who lives in the hostel. Thank you for your review.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Townsend Lodge, Perth, Australia
8.6
28th Apr 2015

Great that there is this affordable option to have your own room in Perth, which is not a cheap city. Free wireless internet though would be amazing, only because outside of the street mall area downtown, there are very few places in Perth to access wireless internet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Canberra City YHA, Canberra, Australia
8.6
27th Apr 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Blue Parrot Backpackers, Sydney, Australia
8.0
24th Apr 2015

Pretty good hostel, and the free wireless was a huge bonus. I had the bad luck of there being a big group of long-timers who were working in Sydney at the time, and they were not welcoming of others really.

View Property Reply

We’re happy you enjoyed the hostel and the free WiFi! We’re sorry to hear you did not have the opportunity to get to know some of the guests because everyone is travelling solo so they’re interested in meeting new people. We only have a small amount of long termers who have been with us a few weeks (literally 3 people). We do have nightly activities to involve everyone, it’s a great way for the new people to meet! However it is up to the individual if they want to take part.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI Washington DC, Washington DC, USA
9.1
25th Mar 2015

Great hostel, just need to get rid of the system where you have to pay to put stuff in lockers after you check out,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Johannesburg Backpackers, Johannesburg, South Africa
6.9
13th Feb 2015

A pleasant looking hostel, but one with little atmosphere, no lockers in the dorms, no internet, and a staff that is not always attentive. Like other reviewers I too was stranded outside the gate at one point, with no one coming until someone who dropped me off called them (which was a bit embarrassing). The guy working nights did not seem to care too much about things. Fixing these things would make this a great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Atlantic Point Backpackers, Cape Town, South Africa
9.7
8th Feb 2015

Really great hostel. Safe, comfortable beds, big lockers. One suggestion: get new code locks on the doors! Not having to carry a key is handy, but the door locks require two hands to open, which can be very frustrating when carrying things, etc. Also, install hooks on the inside door of the bathroom stalls. Other than that, great job!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Cat and Moose Backpackers Lodge, Cape Town, South Africa
9.4
5th Feb 2015

A really fun and secure hostel, right on Long Street where things are happening. It could use a bit of a touch-up here and there, but otherwise, a really great value for the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.6
17th Nov 2014

The nicest hostel in Ottawa for a good night's sleep. Not as social as the other two, but much more comfortable. Comfy beds, a huge bathroom, nice wireless internet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Geneva Hostel, Geneva, Switzerland
8.9
28th Oct 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.6
23rd Oct 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
City Hostel Geneva, Geneva, Switzerland
8.3
17th Oct 2014

A nice hostel, with comfortable beds and good security. One complaint is the unisex bathrooms, which are a bit uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Alplodge, Interlaken, Switzerland
9.7
17th Oct 2014

An amazing hostel, and the best deal in Switzerland when you consider how expensive everything is in the country! Comfy beds, a good social vibe upstairs, awesome breakfast, and right near the train station. Only thing that prevented me giving it 100% across the board was the fact the receptionist wasn't always there, but easily the best hostel I've been at in years.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Ottawa Backpackers Inn, Ottawa, Canada
8.0
20th Aug 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI Washington DC, Washington DC, USA
9.1
15th Jul 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Four Courts Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
8.9
4th Jul 2014

Great hostel in a central location, comfortable beds, big kitchen, and good wifi. Good place to meet people. Only complaint was the presence of several long time guests who kind of sucked the energy out of the place a bit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Oscars Hostel, Cork, Ireland
9.7
1st Jul 2014

Clean and secure hostel, with a nice vibe, and an amazing dog.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Istanbul Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
5.7
30th Jun 2014

A really poor hostel, except for the location. No personal lockers and anyone can just walk into the downstairs dorm from the street basically. The downstairs dorm is really unpleasant. When I checked in, before I had even got out my passport the sleazy guy at reception was hounding me about tours and shuttle buses, etc. I didn't see the Hosteling International flag out front, maybe they've been kicked out of the organization. No HI hostel should be this bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Tbilisi Hostel, Tbilisi, Georgia
9.1
17th Jun 2014

A really pleasant place, the owner and staff are super friendly and helpful. While not in the town centre, the atmosphere of the local neighborhood is amazing and it's very easy to walk to the old town or connect to transport links out of Didube station. The cats were nice too. One suggestion would be to get new lockers since many of the ones there have missing keys or don't work well. So far my favourite hostel on this trip and recommend 100%

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hootananny Hostel, London, England
8.3
10th Jun 2014

This place is a bargain, and easy to get to Central London (or anywhere) via the nearby Victoria line. The place is a little worn, and at times it seems a lot of the guests are actually people living there for extended periods of time, but I have a strange affection for this place after using it twice in two years. One issue is the staff hours are not great so early morning or late night arrivals can be tricky. Brixton Market neaby is great and there is a full grocery store across the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, Amsterdam, Netherlands
8.6
7th Jun 2014

Very nice hostel, but please install lockers in the individual rooms. After dozens of HI hostels, this is the first one I've ever been to that does not include lockers in the room (you can pay for using one downstairs but this is impractical and it shouldn't cost money to lock up things). Other than that a great hostel, a bit out of the centre but easy to get anywhere, and the neighborhood is really interesting (try all the Turkish food). Also, immaculate clean rooms and comfortable beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Ottawa Backpackers Inn, Ottawa, Canada
8.6
29th Apr 2014

Much improved from last year!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
SoBe Hostel & Bar, Miami, USA
7.7
19th Mar 2014

A conveniently located hostel, with a good vibe and helpful staff. Main compliant: the bathroom stalls are so small you can hardly turn around in them. There seems to be room to make them bigger so please do!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI Portland - Northwest, Portland, USA
8.9
18th Dec 2013

Great hostel, great beds, a good kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Second Home Hostels, Seattle, USA
5.7
17th Dec 2013

An acceptable place to stay if you're just planning on spending the night to wait for a flight from the nearby airport, but for sure do not stay here if you are a tourist. Most of the guests seemed to be more like older residents using the place as a temporary home. A guy in my room got up at 4:30 at turned the light on to get ready for work...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ottawa Backpackers Inn, Ottawa, Canada
6.3
11th Dec 2013

A mediocre hostel that is poorly managed. The staff are more interested in hanging out with each other and long term guests, than helping people. I was here when it was snowing, and they had the nerve to put a sign up saying "Ice on Stairs" without actually bothering to take 2 minutes to shovel and salt them. The constant presence of several long term guests makes the place a bit strange to be social in as you feel like you're intruding on someone's house almost. Terrible mattresses too.

View Property Reply

Hi, we're really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We really do appreciate customer feedback and use it to update the hostel experience - our latest addition is new mattresses. Hopefully next time you stay you'll notice the difference :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.3
18th Nov 2013

Definitely the most comfortable of the hostel options in Ottawa.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Old City Philly House, Philadelphia, USA
8.9
1st Nov 2013

Very nice hostel close to everything. Very comfy beds, attentive staff, and a great social atmosphere even for solo travelers. One of the best hostels I've been at in North America.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel, Ottawa, Canada
7.4
29th Jul 2013

Interesting hostel worth staying at. Be aware though that this is another hostel providing a false price to Hostelworld. When you arrive you will be charged tax on your stay. Why Hostelworld keeps allowing hostels to rip people off this way I do not know...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark, Amsterdam, Netherlands
9.4
20th Jun 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ottawa Backpackers Inn, Ottawa, Canada
6.9
4th Nov 2012

A nice hostel overall, except the beds. I've stayed her twice and both times the mattresses were old and warped, and the bunk bed frame needed serious maintenance. Please have the staff actually make the beds rather than leaving guests to waste their time putting a duvet cover on, etc. For a very cheap hostel this would be acceptable, but for $27 a night it's a bit much to ask, especially considering I always saw staff sitting around and talking to each other.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
La Maison du Patriote, Montreal, Canada
6.9
2nd Nov 2012

Good hostel overall, in a nice location, but no staff at night FYI. Please do remove the silly $3 charge for linens, as that needs to be included in the price on Hostelworld.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ottawa Backpackers Inn, Ottawa, Canada
8.3
17th Oct 2012

Very nice hostel in a good location. Great kitchen, good wifi, etc. Only problem was my bed was pretty warped, and $27 is quite a lot for a 10 bed dorm spot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Sabina, Brussels, Belgium
9.1
27th Aug 2012

Very affordable double bed room within a short walk of the Royal Palace, central train station, and the National Express and Megabus stops. Very nice woman at the reception. Only one complaint is that the double bed was actually two singles put together, and they came apart a bit. Still, hard to beat such a good price so close to where you need to be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Rock N Bowl Hostel, Bristol, England
8.9
5th Jul 2012

Very nice hostel in a nice location, within walking distance to everything. Very comfy beds. They need lockers, but apparently they are on the way, and in the meantime they have a locked up place for valuables.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hootananny Hostel, London, England
7.4
30th Jun 2012

An acceptable hostel during the week considering the low price, but I wouldn't ever stay here on a Friday or a Saturday night. On the Saturday night there was live music and over 100 people outside my window partying on the patio below until 3 am. Brixton is a very fun area though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.9
14th Apr 2012

Good hostel. I stayed at this one and the other Mingtown one off East Nanjing Road. I'd say this one was a little rougher (very small rooms) but there seemed to be more of a social atmosphere, with a better bar area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.9
10th Apr 2012

Very comfy beds, and amazing location. Very good wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.4
7th Apr 2012

Great hostel, especially considering we're talking about China here! Very comfy beds, and the free pickup in the morning is very nice after the horrific train journey that many backpackers will be taking. One suggestion, more sit down toilets!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Taganka Hostel, Moscow, Russia
7.7
22nd Mar 2012

A pretty descent hostel considering the limited options in Moscow. Close to the subway, and really good lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ashton House Hostel, Manchester, England
8.0
31st Jan 2012

Good location, secure. Only problem was the urinals in the men's bathroom downstairs didn't seem to flush.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kangaroo-Stop, Dresden, Germany
8.3
4th Jan 2012

Nice hostel with a huge kitchen. Helpful staff. Only complaint is that bed sheets cost 2 euros to rent, and this should be included in the price on hosteworld (who brings bed sheets with them any more??)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Czech Inn, Prague, Czech Republic
8.6
3rd Jan 2012

I stayed here because it was only 4 euros a night for one of the dorms. A little far from the centre of town, but in a good area with cheap restaurants and bars nearby, and taking the tram in to the centre is easy. Very secure, and very clean. Needs a kitchen though, and internet needs to be free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel ELF, Prague, Czech Republic
9.4
29th Dec 2011

One of my favorite hostels in the world. The best thing is the common room, which is set up absolutely perfect for people to meet each other. While it's a 15 minute walk to the centre of town, this is actually an advantage because you're not surrounded by tourists all the time, and there are actually cheap places to drink and eat nearby. Also very easy to find from Florenc bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Mitte, Brno, Czech Republic
5.7
28th Dec 2011

One of the stranger hostels I have stayed in. Clean, and good location, but the high price ruins this place. 20 euros is an insane amount of money to pay for a hostel bed in the Czech Republic. They have spent way too much money on the decor, and the place just lacks a fun vibe. Also, 3 times when I was there, the staff person stepped out for some time, and anyone could just walk right in and up to any of the rooms. No key cards. If a cheaper, acceptable hostel opens, go there instead.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Montenegro Hostel, Kotor, Montenegro
8.6
18th Dec 2011

Fantastic location, literally right in the centre of the old town, and a short walk to the bus station and grocery stores. The guy working there was so nice and helpful. Really great vibe. Only real complaint is the fact the front door does not have a lock or key card entry. Also could use another bathroom, as I could see it being a problem when the place is full.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Shanti-Hostel, Skopje, Macedonia
9.4
16th Dec 2011

Great and friendly hostel. Staff were extremely helpful with directions and that sort of thing. Very close to the bus station and easy to find (nice big shining sign in the street). Only complaint was the dorm beds are upstairs but the two bathrooms are downstairs (don't know if that can be solved really...)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
TripHouse, Pristina, Kosovo
8.9
14th Dec 2011

More like couchsurfing than a hostel, but a great experience. Altin and his flat mates are very nice and happy to answer questions. Within walking distance of anything you would want to see, as well as the bus station. Only complaint: finding the place. This is basically an unmarked apartment building! May I suggest they put up a very detailed set of directions, and maybe put a sign or two up if allowed. For now I assure you, you will not find this place without calling them!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Suites Florida, Buenos Aires, Argentina
9.0
26th Apr 2011

A great hostel right in the middle of downtown. The staff was very helpful, and were of huge assistance in figuring out how to attend a soccer game (a must), as well as transportation information. One suggestion, the place needs more plugs for laptop computers! Maybe put out a few power bars from the two lonely plugs in the common area.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.7
23rd Apr 2011

Really great hostel. Usually HI Hostels are sterile and boring but this one actually had a good atmosphere. On the Saturday night there was a great barbecue that really helped with socializing.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Park Iguazu, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
7.7
17th Apr 2011

A solid place to stay, mostly on account of the lockers in each room, and the ability to leave your stuff in big lockers once checked out.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Amigo, Mexico City, Mexico
8.7
11th Jun 2010

Great place at a central location, with great dinner included. My one suggestion is to improve the bathrooms on the first floor!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.