Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: ryanalbarelli

Location USA, Gender Male, Age 35

  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
TANAKA-ya, Kyoto, Japan
9.7
16th Sep 2013

Enjoyed staying here with my wife and 6 month old infant. The owner is very nice and saw us off each morning. There is a 24/7 laundry a few blocks north. Only a handful of rooms. One shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Homeikan, Tokyo, Japan
9.1
12th Sep 2013

My wife and I stayed for four nights at the Morikawa Bekkan Annex with our 6 month old infant. I liked that the place was clean and quiet, if a bit dormy looking in the hallways (which I'm ok with). Free umbrellas to use during the day was a help. Staff was helpful. The walk to the Hongo San Chome station (the one you would usually want to use) was further than I would have liked with a baby, but not a big deal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Birches Backpackers Lodge, Johannesburg, South Africa
8.0
2nd Jan 2013

Stayed here in January. Decent house to stay a few nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Funny Palace Hostel, Rome, Italy
9.3
13th Nov 2011

On check-in, the staff member showed me how to save 16euro on my trip to the airport, gave me a bottle of wine and walked me all the way to my room on the 3rd floor of a different building. Enough said.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Astoria Hotel, Bologna, Italy
8.3
12th Nov 2011

Staff let us keep our bags in the back room. If you get an apartment, it can be a 5-10 minute walk away from the front desk where breakfast and check-out is. Breakfast was good, staff were polite, but not necessarily friendly like an owner of a smaller place.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Zen House B&B, Rome, Italy
8.7
7th Nov 2011

Good place. Location is 10 minutes from the metro and very close to several bus stops. The staff provided a very good bus map and the buses are easy if you buy the 3-day system-wide pass from a metro station for 11euro. The place looked very nice inside.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
AAE Bourbon House Hostel, New Orleans, USA
8.0
22nd Jun 2011

Good place if you're going to the convention center (walkable distance in daylight). Also near a walmart if you need supplies.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
AAE Bourbon House Hostel, New Orleans, USA
8.0
21st Jun 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Maple Leaf Guesthouse, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
9.0
9th Apr 2011

Staff was helpful in assisting me in finding a room in a nearby guesthouse when I showed up a day early. The room I stayed in was extremely well laid out for its size. Many times with small rooms you find many annoying things like poor power outlet location, noisy fan, broken door, faulty sink, etc. At the Maple Leaf, I felt everything was nearly perfect designed in my room (it does seem relatively newly renovated). I'll return here again!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hayarkon 48 Hostel, Tel Aviv, Israel
9.0
31st Oct 2010

We stayed in their best room on the top floor in the corner with ensuite bathroom. 3rd floor balcony looks out onto some of the beach nearby and you have a nice view of the Orchard hotel next door. Able to dry things on the balcony and the shower had plenty of pressure and was high enough for tall people like me. WiFi doesn't work on the third floor, so you have to walk down a couple flights or sit on the lobby bench.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
New Palm Hostel, Jerusalem, Israel
6.0
26th Oct 2010

The staff wasn't all that excited about customers. They did give me some toilet paper when they realized I didn't have any (I was expecting it to cost a fee). We had a private room and the bathroom was pretty small (shower head behind the door). The private rooms on the hotel side were just what we needed as far as a bed to sleep in and a bathroom to cleanup in.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mosaic City Hotel, Madaba, Jordan
7.7
20th Oct 2010

We had a rental car and easily drove here from the airport. They have an area to park your car and 24 hour desk to buzz you in the front door. Room was clean and spacious.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Railway Square YHA, Sydney, Australia
9.3
30th May 2010

As excellent as when I stayed here 5 years ago.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
LEE & NO Guesthouse & Hostel, Seoul, South Korea
8.0
4th Oct 2008

Good place to stay. Mr. Lee is a helpful guy.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
7.7
30th Sep 2008

Was a decent place to stay, probably one of the better deals you\'ll get in Waikiki.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
HI Washington DC, Washington DC, USA
8.0
28th Jan 2008

A good place to stay. Showers weren't the best, but they were clean. Rooms were clean and bunk beds were extremely sturdy. Magnetic key card system was horrible, but tolerable if you live on the third floor near the lobby or have a friend to stay in the room.

View Property Reply

Ryan: I'm glad to read that, overall, you had a nice stay. However, the key cards are giving many of our guests significant difficulty. In earlier responses, I have written about the steps we are taking to alleviate the problem you (and other hostellers) are having. These include new key cards, a new key card maker, and maintenance on the door locks. The key card maker is the last remaining piece of the puzzle. Once we receive the new key card maker, all of us at HI-DC hope that the situation will be resolved. Thank you for your patience with this trying issue. -- Mark Schneider, General Manager HI-DC

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
RC Miguel Angel, Madrid, Spain
8.3
5th Jun 2007

A family run place that is only a minute\'s walk to a major metro stop (Sol). I stayed in a 6 person room and didn\'t have any problem using the two shared bathrooms in the hallway. This was the only place I stayed at in Spain that had lockers in the room to store your bag. They even provide you a lock and key.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Sant Jordi Diagonal Hostel, Barcelona, Spain
6.7
2nd Jun 2007

This was an average place with a good location. Some pros are that it\'s just down the street from a major metro stop and they have 4 internet computers free to use. You also carry your key with you. The shower room was ok but there seemed to be water on the floor a lot. The toilet rooms were too small and had some kind of annoying smell that I can\'t describe (but at least isn\'t any type of sewage smell).

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
10.0
30th May 2007

I stayed here in a 2-bed room with my wife in May 2007. This is one of those hostels you wish you could pack and take along with you to your next city. You can tell they have traveled because everything is anticipated. They check who you are before giving you the key (something I\'ve never seen before). The bathrooms are newly renovated and spacious for those of us not brought up in urban Europe. A full kitchen with new

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Nevada, Granada, Spain
7.3
28th May 2007

I stayed in a double-bed room with my wife in 2007. The room had a shower in it, but there were two toilets accessed via the hallway.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Riviera Cordoba, Cordoba, Spain
6.3
19th May 2007

This is a hotel not a hostel, but all the same it was a nice place to stay. I ended up booking two single rooms for my wife and I because it was the week of the annual fair. The single room had its own bathroom including tub/shower. A/C in room during the day.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Hostal La Fuente, Cordoba, Spain
8.7
18th May 2007

My wife and I stayed in a double-bed room in May 2007. It turned out to be the street-level apartment across the street so we had our own full bathroom, full kitchen, and table to eat at. Was a bit noisy in the morning with the street being so close out the window. Can\'t beat the price if you get this particular room.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Alvaro Residencia, Madrid, Spain
8.7
17th May 2007

I stayed in a twin-bed room wtih my wife in May 2007. Quiet place with only a handful of rooms. Free use of internet computer. Three keys needed between street and your room so I felt it was safe. Good location up the street from TdM metro stop, only 4 stops away from the Renfe station.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
St. Joseph Home Hostel, Gozo, Malta
3.7
26th Aug 2005

A very nice, quiet place to stay. No lockers, but the building is treated as a home and kept locked most of the time. Thanks George

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Balco Harmony Hostel, Sliema, Malta
8.7
24th Aug 2005

Stayed here in 2005 and felt it was one

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ryanalbarelli
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Friend's Hostel, Paris, France
4.0
10th Aug 2005

Put the number onto "room 13". You have 14 beds in the room and no number? Its so little work to do and would be so helpful to everyone. Also, fix the smell in the kitchen sink.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.