Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Ireland, Gender Female, Age 37

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Inverness Student Hostel, Inverness, Scotland
10.0
5th Jul 2016

Lovely cosy place with friendly staff and guests. Beautiful view in the evening over the river and sunset. Much better than another one in the main street - worth the extra few pounds to feel safe and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Spire Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
8.9
18th Aug 2015

Staff were friendly and helpful. Location very central near bus and trains. Nice that breakfast is included and the hostel is very cheap. The room is quite cramped with not much space for luggage - esp if you are on the top bunk - but that's why it's cheap so I'm not complaining! Also good that you can choose a female only dorm as now it's not so easy to find that option in Dublin.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Dublin International (YHA), Dublin, Ireland
7.4
31st Jan 2015

In general a cheap safe night's stay. I found crumbs in my bed though when I went to put on the outer sheets and wasn't sure that my room was very clean. Most of the staff were very helpful but some were not, e.g. too busy on their personal phone call to deal with reception. It was a hassle to have to go all the way from the kitchen upstairs to reception to borrow a cooking pot! There must be a bad problem with stealing as I've never done this in any other hostel.

View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments, We're sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay here at the hostel. Should you return to Dublin we would be more than happy to look after you again to try and redeem ourselves in your eyes. Knd regards, Dublin International Hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Mec Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
9.1
2nd Sep 2014

I like this hostel-it's great being inside an old Dublin house, very atmospheric. Staff are friendly. Kitchen is useful to save money in the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Sheilas Cork Hostel, Cork, Ireland
10.0
27th Apr 2014

I always stay here when I come to Cork because it's such a lovely hostel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Other guests are nice. The kitchen is great-nice to save some money by making my own food. I've usually had a nice quiet night's sleep too which is unusual in a hostel! Very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Rowan Tree Hostel, Ennis, Ireland
10.0
24th Nov 2013

Lovely hostel. So spotlessly clean and really nice people staying there. Ennis is a great town for music and this hostel is close to everywhere. Staff at reception are very helpful.

View Property Reply

Thanks a million for you great review, we are very fortunate to be located in the center of Ennis the home of traditional Irish music and we have lots of musicians staying here with us on a regular basis. Nollaig shona dhuit ! (Happy Christmas) from all the team @ Rowan Tree Hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Abrahams Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
8.0
23rd Nov 2013

Good value for Dublin, but it depends who's in your dorm as to how noisy it is! Was good to have a bathroom in our dorm but sometimes you had to wait a while to use it, with other 10 girls in the room, or find another bathroom outside. Also you have to make your own bed unlike in other hostels in Dublin but it's cheaper, so fair enough. Very close to the bus and train station. Kitchen very busy at breakfast time but you get an egg which is filling compared to just jam at other hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Clink261, London, England
8.0
7th Jul 2013

quite noisy due to other inconsiderate guests and very hot in room, but staff were friendly and helpful and showers and toilets were very clean

View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice words about the staff and the cleanliness! London is boiling hot these days, hopefully it didn't leave a bad impression for you and we'll see you again soon :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.9
5th Jul 2013

I like the privacy with the curtains around the bed. Staff are helpful. The hostel is a nice building. Showers/toilets can be busy at times if you are in dorm downstairs which is a problem in the morning if you are in a hurry!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Mec Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
8.6
20th Dec 2012

very helpful friendly staff. nice clean and quiet room - i had a good night's sleep. the main problem is the stairs and the fact it's an old building but it's very good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
10.0
22nd Oct 2012

Very well-run place with a nice 'old-house' decor inside. Good value for London and fairly quiet compared to other hostels so it was possible to sleep! Staff were always very helpful and available if needed. Regular cleaning keeps the place in good order and there were plenty of bathrooms for all the guests even when it was busy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Neptunes Town Hostel, Killarney, Ireland
5.1
1st Sep 2012

Sadly my time there was bad due to a noisy German school group who kept everyone awake for 3 nights' running. The hostel is designed so that the noise echoes loudly, when doors are opened and people walk around, esp as the group were on the top floors. The showers and sinks were overcrowded - I always had to queue - and water just goes on the floor and there's nowhere to hang your clothes to keep them dry. The kitchen was busy and it was hard to cook there with so many people. Very stressful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Mec Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
8.3
26th Nov 2011

Had a good experience - it's my second time there; nice staff - receptionist remembered me from last time. Quiet night in the dorm which was perfect as I needed to sleep! Good filling breakfast. I like the Georgian houses in this street: even if it's old and there are lots of stairs, it has Dublin character.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Astor Victoria, London, England
6.7
25th Oct 2011

Didn't feel very clean - the floor was still dirty after the cleaners had been in the room. I heard a lot of noise all night as it's a very busy hostel with people coming and going all the time and this echoes around the halls and stairs. The showers weren't very inviting. The kitchen was chaos, so many people trying to get in a small space to make food and eat especially at breakfast. Also the cleaners lost my pyjamas when they changed the bed even though I wasn't leaving that day.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Abrahams Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
7.3
14th Oct 2011

Very clean and quiet room, a bit hot maybe. Shame about the very grumpy man at reception and the keys that don't work well in the doors. Also be prepared to make your own bed when you arrive and take your sheets off again when you leave, extra work compared to the other hostels in Dublin! Breakfast was very generous - even including a boiled egg and yoghurt, but there were lots of people so queues to get the food. Secure and good location.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Mec Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
7.0
7th Oct 2011

Good value. Lots of stairs and depends on your dormmates whether you get sleep - mine were drinking, listening to loud music and talking about cancer when I came back so it wasn't great but that's just luck sometimes. There's a nice garden though and staff were friendly. Breakfast was nice too and the lady serving it was lovely. Location, in a quiet street, but a bit far from the main entertainment areas like Temple Bar compared to other hostels.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Castle Hostel, Tralee, Ireland
9.7
11th Feb 2011

Yes, it's true what the other reviews say: the owner Stephen is one of the loveliest people ever, so helpful and friendly. I had a lovely stay there, met some nice people and even decided to come back on my return journey because it was so nice. And it was also peaceful so I got some sleep (unlike in other hostels!)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Sheilas Cork Hostel, Cork, Ireland
10.0
5th Jan 2011

lovely friendly place to stay and quiet enough to get some sleep at night!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Isaacs Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
8.0
23rd Sep 2010

very nice well-kept and had a good night's sleep

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Jacobs Inn, Dublin, Ireland
9.7
6th Aug 2010

Really lovely - friendly enthusiastic staff and lots of activities, including sauna and films, and help to get to know Dublin. Nice people staying there too. One of the best hostels I've stayed at in Dublin so far.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Abbey Court, Dublin, Ireland
8.7
13th Apr 2010

I had a lovely stay. Thank you to all the staff for being so friendly and helpful.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
Cardiff Backpacker @ NosDa, Cardiff, Wales
8.0
24th Oct 2004

Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Shame about the plastic mattresses/slippy sheets, very uncomfortable to sleep on!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Globetrotter
9.0
28th Jun 2004

very friendly. a nice place to stay.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.