Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Gender: Male, Age: 36

The River Hostel

Valencia, Spain
80%

A good hostel close to the old town city centre in Valencia. It's really well located for events during Las Fallas and for the rest of the time, it's only a five minute walk to the centre and right beside the 'river', so you can walk along there to the museums and beach. The facilities are really good, comfortable beds and big lockers in each room. It's really clean as well. Staff come across as rude and disinterested, but they answered every question I asked, so can't complain.

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


El Warung Cave Hostel

Gran Canaria, Spain
89%

Great hostel, it's reeally small, just a couple of rooms in the rock andonly one bathroom. But Manuel is a really nice chilled out guy and helps create a friendly atmosphere amongst all the guests. It's a great place to stay for a couple of days and do some walks around the big hole in the ground.

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


100%

Second time I've stayed at Pariwana Lima. It's a good hostel. Comfortable beds, lockers in the rooms with power points in them to charge phones and laptops. The staff are very helpful and friendly. It's in a good location, near some great restaurants. Can get a little loud if you're looking to sleep, but no real complaints.

  • 12th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back to Lima! Cheers! Solange Front Desk Manager

Hostal Naira

La Paz, Bolivia
80%

It's a hotel, not a hostel. Excellent facilities, clean, big rooms, great breakfast, good location. It's actually opposite St Fransisco Cathedral (not where Google maps says). The only down side were the staff. Rude, unhelpful, poor English. I gave up trying to communicate with them.

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Arthy's Guesthouse

La Paz, Bolivia
97%

Great hostel. It's super clean and has excellent facilities and large rooms. The staff are really friendly, speak fluent English and try to help out with everything. Yes the water in the showers is only luke warm, but it's not cold and it just makes you take shorter showers. Good location to the markets and bus station as well.

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!

Ecolodge Copacabana

Copacabana, Bolivia
77%

I like the concept and the hostel has big comfortable rooms (all seperate buildings). It's a nice place to chill out in the sun. But the hot water only lasted for about three minutes and it's really far from the town. It's about a 20-minute walk along the beach. At night, you must have a torch, there is no lighting at all and it can be scary. Staff are friendly, but English is difficult.

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Qelqatani Hotel

Puno, Peru
100%

A lovely hotel and great value for money. I booked a single room and they gave me a triple at no extra charge. All the usual hotel facilities you would expect. Nice breakfast with more than just bread and jam. The staff are really friendly and speak fluent English. You can pay with Soles or US dollars. The map is not accurate though, the hotel is actually about a two-minute walk from the main pedestrianised street and five minutes from the main square. Good location.

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Hostal El Triunfo

Cusco, Peru
94%

A good hostel in a central location

  • 31st Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Pisko & Soul

Cusco, Peru
97%

Great hostel. Up a few steps from the centre of town, which is a bit of a puff, but otherwise it's super clean and the staff are really friendly. They will make scrambled eggs for you for breakfast if you ask and a packed lunch if you have to leave on an early tour. They also help out with taxis and make sure you get on your way.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


97%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. The staff are really friendly and helpful. I left some of my clothes at the hostel by mistake and they arrianged for someone to bring them to Cusco for me. The whole place is really clean, the dorms are large and there's a few bathrooms, so now need to queue for showers. They also have three computers for people to use, but a whole area with plugs where you can set up your own laptop. You won't regret staying here.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


80%

Desert Nights is a decent hostel. It's not the usual YHA/HI standard, but it's still reasonably clean (sand about, but it's unavoidable in Huacachina), the dorms are huge and the beds are very comfortable. It would be better if there were large lockers in the rooms so you could put your bags in them, instead of tiny ones for iphones and wallets. Also the showers/bathrooms need a bit of work. The restaurant out the front is excellent though and everyone eats there.

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


100%

An excellent hostel in Miraflores close to some great restaurants. It's super clean and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Annecy Hostel

Annecy, France
89%

Don't want to give the hostel a bad rating, but didn't spend much time there to be honest. Finding it and checking in was easy, the guy on the front desk was quite friendly. The dorms are large and clean and the bathrooms are as well. Great place to stop down for a few nights. Was in Annecy for the Etape du Tour, along with half the hostel and they were really accommodating to us and our bikes, so thanks for that.

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires

Buenos Aires, Argentina
97%

Great hostel. Super clean and comfortable beds. The staff are friendly. Easy to get to as well from the airport. Will stay again

  • 7th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Castillo Surfista Hostel

Santiago, Chile
97%

One of the cleanest and most comfortable hostels I've ever stayed in and excellent value for money. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Santiago. The staff are excellent too.

  • 6th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Kona Tau

Easter Island, Chile
80%

Picked up on arrival at the airport and a welcome glass of pineapple juice - both surprises. The hostel is expensive for a hostel, but then probably in line with whatever else is available on Easter Island. The rooms are clean and have really big lockers and it's only a short walk both to the airport and the main street. Breakfast is really good too. The only negative perhaps was the staff were difficult to find at times.

  • 3rd Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Hospedaje Penthouse 1004

Bariloche, Argentina
100%

The BEST view of any hotel or hostel in Bariloche. There's simply no reason to spend more money staying somewhere else. The staff are super as well, especially the blonde girl (sorry I forgot your name). Don't be put off by first impressions. You have to take the service elevator up to the hostel. Once you get inside, you'll see it's one of the best in Argentina.

  • 27th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Hospedaje Magallanes

Punta Arenas, Chile
97%

A fantastic hostel built on to the back of a house about five minutes walk from the town square. Marisol is really lovely and so very helpful. The place is spotless and the shower seems to be quite new. There are no lockers in the room, but everyone was really friendly when I was there, so it wasn't a problem. Breakfast was prepared for me in the morning before I left for the airport at 5.30am! I will definitely stay here again.

  • 22nd Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your awesome review! Yup, the shower cabin is brand new! True! There are still no lockers in the dorm - answering all the questions of curious travelers tends to be time consuming and we still haven't found the time to finish the lockers for this reason - but it's work in progress and we're almost done! We serve breakfast from 07:00 through 10:30-ish. For early risers, we always leave breakfast out - self service - no problem! Thanks for staying with us and looking forward to having you here again one day! Kind regards, Sebastian

America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires

Buenos Aires, Argentina
97%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. The staff are really friendly and full of information. The location is good, equal distance between the cool bars and restaurants and the main promenade in Buenos Aires. The best thing by far though, is the most comfortable beds and pillows in any hostel, ever!

  • 19th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


America del Sur Hostel

El Calafate, Argentina
94%

Great hostel, just like the one in Buenos Aires. Really comfortable beds and just a short walk from the town centre. The only down side is that the walls are thin and you can pretty much hear everyone walking and talking outside your room. No so much of a drag though as many people were in bed early to get up for excursions the next day.

  • 19th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Celica Art Hostel

Ljubljana, Slovenia
86%

This is a good hostel with good facilities, but it's biggest problem is the rooms become incredibly hot in summer. Our room was probably five degrees hotter than the hallway outside, so hot that when we were in the room for five to 10 minutes, we were covered in sweat. It was horrible to try and sleep, and we couldn't even stand being in the room until about 2am when it had finally cooled down a bit. I wouldn't stay here in the summer ever again, otherwise it's ok.

  • 4th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Traveller's Haven

Bled, Slovenia
89%

This is a good hostel with good facilities, but it's biggest problem is the rooms become incredibly hot in summer. Our room was probably five degrees hotter than the hallway outside, so hot that when we were in the room for five to 10 minutes, we were covered in sweat. It was horrible to try and sleep, and we couldn't even stand being in the room until about 2am when it had finally cooled down a bit. I wouldn't stay here in the summer ever again, otherwise it's ok.

  • 3rd Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Smart Place Paris

Paris, France
89%

A fine hotel/hostel close to Gare de Nord

  • 30th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Lucky Hotel Apartments

Larnaca, Cyprus
97%

A great hotel right near the beach and also close to the freeway, so you can get to Lefkosia/Nikosia or Northern Cyprus quite easily. The hotel is out of Larnaka, which is fine if you're not fussed about staying in the city. The facilities are excellent, the rooms are huge, clean and recently renovated and the value for money is fantastic. Would definitely recommend.

  • 9th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


C.C.Ly Hostel

Catania, Italy
100%

A fantastic hostel. The facilities are really good and the staff are friendly and helpful. Quite close to the train and bus stations and also the main sights.

  • 25th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


A Casa di Amici

Palermo, Italy
97%

Great hostel. No lockers in the rooms, but they're huge. The place is really clean, well located and the girl on reception was really nice and helpful.

  • 24th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


97%

Fantastic to finally find a good quality hostel in central Paris. No lockers in the rooms, but there's only four or six beds, so it's no great problem. Very clean and good facilities including excellent wifi.

  • 25th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Wink Hostel

Singapore, Singapore
100%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The pods are awesome and have everything you need. It really feels private. I highly recommend this hostel.

  • 2nd Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Alibi B11

Piran, Slovenia
93%

A fantastic hostel, right in the heart of Piran. Super clean, Nina is a great host. You will not regret staying here. Check out the map of 1980's Europe in the entrance!

  • 27th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


97%

A great hostel and the owner is really nice and helpful. It's a bit of a walk from the bus station, but really close to the old town. Super clean and huge rooms.

  • 26th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Old Town Hostel

Zadar, Croatia
97%

No customer comment

  • 23rd Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


90%

No customer comment

  • 21st Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


100%

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Nothing to complain about here at all. It's like staying in a villa. The rooms are a decent size and some are broken up, so a six-bed dorm becomes a three. The whole place is clean, free internet and drink on arrival, tours and dinners organised. Excellent!

  • 27th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


RC Miguel Angel

Madrid, Spain
97%

Free internet, great location, no common area though, but it's super clean and the rooms are large.

  • 26th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Hostel Cerro de Bu

Toledo, Spain
97%

A fantastic hostel. the rooms are a little small, but the whole building is small and it's not a problem. The whole place is perfectly clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the kitchen is great. Well located close to the bus station and a 10 minute walk from the main square.

  • 25th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


RC Miguel Angel

Madrid, Spain
97%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in, in any of the capital cities in Europe. It's super clean and the staff are great. There's no real common area, but the rooms are large, so you can chat in them. Free internet and a two minute walk to the main square are bonuses.

  • 23rd Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Urban House

San Sebastian, Spain
97%

A great hostel in a great city, make this your place to stay. It may be a little loud if you are in a room next to reception and you had an early flight, but other than that, no faults.

  • 22nd Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Hostel Ospitalia del Mare

Cinque Terre, Italy
93%

A great hostel in a great location. Really spacious and clean. Is ideal in good weather as close to the beach and Cinque Terra (via train). The directions can be a bit tricky, starting following the signs to Acqua Dolce and then to the hostel itself. The map on Hostelworld is accurate.

  • 7th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


67%

A bit shabby, but if you are the bohemian hippy type, you'll probably enjoy it. It's a long walk from the train/bus station, but reasonably close to Old Jaffa. The verandah has a great view.

  • 17th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
come positive, your stay will be positive! in general we are 10 minutes from the bus station by walk , ands 10 min to jaffa and the beach, and only 15 min to rothchild...center of town. and we are lucky to have florentine neighbourhhood right next to us. Rafi

Aviv Hostel

Tiberias, Israel
80%

A hotel with a suite turned into a dorm, so it is a bit cramped. But the location is great, the balcony is fantastic and Tiberias is a surprisingly cool place. rent the bikes and ride around the sea.

  • 14th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


90%

A lovely hostel that would be perfect in summer. It's a bit of a walk from the city centre, but you can get a #7 bus to a stop just down the road. Really clean and great facilities. Excellent breakfast too.

  • 29th Dec 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


100%

A fantastic hostel, more like a boutique hotel for some of the double rooms! Great location, excellent breakfast, super clean, the staff are really friendly. I definitely recommend this place.

  • 28th Dec 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


City Hostel Nürnberg

Nuremberg, Germany
93%

Very clean, big rooms, excellent location. A great hostel

  • 14th Dec 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Hiie Bed & Breakfast

Tartu, Estonia
83%

Just what you would expect from a HI hostel. Good facilties, large rooms, everything is clean. The only down side is that it is about a 15 minute walk from the town centre. But you can get a bus which stops at the end of the street.

  • 15th Oct 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Tallinn Backpackers

Tallinn, Estonia
90%

A pretty good hostel in an excellent location

  • 11th Oct 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Hotel Vodisek

Koper, Slovenia
90%

A hotel like any hotel really. Close to the bus/train station and a short walk into the old town. Open 24 hours, so it's a good place to stop for the night.

  • 19th Sep 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Nap Hostel Pecs

Pecs, Hungary
93%

A good hostel with massive rooms right in the heart of the old town. It can be a bit difficult to find though. The entrance is actually on Szent Mor utca. Look for the Nap Hostel sign on the wall of the building and buzz the door behind it. Follow the signs inside and through the courtyard to the hostel.

  • 17th Sep 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Tiger Tims Place

Budapest, Hungary
93%

This is a great hostel and Tim is a really cool guy who likes to get to know everyone who stays at his place. It may seem a bit strange on first impression, but give it a chance. It's like a student dorm, except no exams and tension. Plus there's thousands of movies to watch if you're bored, free internet and a pub crawl every night, but it's not a party place if that's not your sort of thing, so either way, you'll enjoy it.

  • 14th Sep 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Aqualand

Poprad, Slovakia
97%

An excellent hostel with a really friendly owner. If you have any questions, he has an answer for you. The hostel has great facilities, is really clean and is reasonably close to the train and bus stations. The place is called Aqualand Penzion if you are unsure when you are looking for it. It is definitely a great place to stay after a few days in the mountains.

  • 11th Sep 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Patio Hostel

Bratislava, Slovakia
90%

Free washing, but you must supply your own powder, or buy some. The drier didnt work while I was there, so I couldnt get my clothes dry. Other than that, a good hostel, cheap and a good location. Very clean and free internet.

  • 9th Sep 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Poets Corner Hostel

Olomouc, Czech Republic
100%

The only disappointment for me was that Francie wasn't there to see me off when I picked up my bag. Other than that, it's a fantastic hostel on the edge of the old town. Francie is the best hostel owner I have ever met. She really goes out of her way to make you feel welcome in what seems like her own apartment. The place is super clean, has free tea, cofee and toiletries, you get a map with everything explained. A perfect place to chill out and enjoy Czech life.

  • 8th Sep 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ooops! Sorry we didn't get to say goodbye! Enjoy the rest of your travels and thanks for the lovely compliments :)

Hostel Postel

Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
97%

A great hostel, right on the edge of the old town. It's sort of like a boarding house really, and so very clean. Make sure you email the hostel to confirm your arrival time, no matter what time that is. They will be there to meet you if it is outside their office hours.

  • 6th Sep 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


St Christophers Prague

Prague, Czech Republic
97%

One of the best hostels you will ever stay in, but it's really a hotel with bunks. That's not bad though, there's common areas to meet people, a bar, all-you-can-eat breakfast. The rooms are fantastic, especially the bathrooms, the staff are super, it's a brilliant place.

  • 4th Sep 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (96 reviews)


Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Reykjavik, Iceland
100%

One of the best hostels I've ever used, with bathrooms better than in my house. No complaints, except that they automatically charge you the non-HI member rate online. So book through HI's website instead.


Guesthouse Akureyri

Akureyri, Iceland
90%

A fine place to stay, clean and secure and right in the centre of town


Reykjavik Backpackers

Reykjavik, Iceland
97%

A fantastic hotel, not in the centre of downtown reykjavik, but on the main street and amongst the action anyway. The staff are super helpful and it´s really clean. Would be nice to have lockers in the rooms. No other problems though.


Embassie Liverpool Backpackers

Liverpool, England
70%

Ok hostel, a bit of a walk from the action.


smartcityhostels Edinburgh

Edinburgh, Scotland
90%

Showers could do with more hooks, but it's a good hostel in a central location. No complaints.


Athens Backpackers

Athens, Greece
90%

Showers need some work (you have to hold the hose with one hand and soap with the other) and there's no lock on the toilet door in the ensuites. Breakfast is just toast, but the staff are really nice and helpful and you can't beat the location.


EastSeven Berlin Hostel

Berlin, Germany
93%

A great hostel quite close to the action in Berlin. No breakfast though, but nothing else to complain about.


40 Berkeley Hostel

Boston, USA
77%

Really a budget hotel not a hostel. The breakfast is fantastic and it's about five minutes walk to the T station. Wifi is a bit dodgy, and there's nothing much else there, but Boston is great, so spend your time outside.


Apple Hostels of Philadelphia

Philadelphia, USA
97%

A great hostel right in the middle of things. Breakfast could offer more for the price, but otherwise nothing to complain about.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Nicholas! I'm not sure if I've mentioned this before ;-) but the breakfast is just meant as a little extra something we do for our guests on Friday, Saturday and Sunday mornings. What we really try to do for everyone is to provide things in the evenings rather than the mornings. Every night we either have free beer, free wine and cheese, a free pasta dinner, free drinks before our free pub crawl, or a very inexpensive $2 Ghost Tour (usually followed by more free beer). ~Marc

Manhattan Inn Hostel

New York, USA
87%

A great hostel. Some rooms are small, but it is in a terrific location, it's very clean, and a great place to base yourself at. It's far better than some other dives in Manhattan.


USA Hostels Hollywood

Los Angeles, USA
97%

A great hostel, not half as loud as I thought it would be given the comments, but ask for a room on the ground level at the back if you're concerned. Free soap and shampoo, great security and helpful staff. Excellent activities! It's an excellent hostel.


Hostal La Mimosa

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
77%

Nice hostel in an old building, but with lots of character. The owners are nice and upgraded me to a single room without me even asking. The also helped out when the hot water stopped. A bit of a trek out of Palma, but the bus stops nearby and is frequent.


YHA Manchester

Manchester, England
93%

In a great location during summer, in winter it is still only a few minutes walk from the centre of Manchester. A really clean and secure hostel, the best in Manc!


YHA Bristol

Bristol, England
100%

Excellent hostel, great value for money. Super clean and security is tight. Big flat screen TVs, great breakfast, nice staff. One of the best in the UK!


Backpackers-Duesseldorf

Dusseldorf, Germany
90%

No locks on the room doors so make sure you bring a proper padlock for the lockers (not just a luggage size one). Free internet and DVDs to watch are good. A bit far from the city centre, but still a good place.


Cologne-Deutz Youth Hostel

Cologne, Germany
93%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Really clean and organised. Big lockers in the rooms with safes in them as well. The only problem I had was that at night the room became like an oven.


Hotel Astrid

Casablanca, Morocco
73%

A fine hotel located close to Place Mohammed V. Free internet down stairs is a bonus. If you want something to do that's not in the Lonely Planet, go to the Cathedral de Sacre Coeur. It's been gutted, but you can climb the towers for Dh20 and there are fantastic views of the city.


100%

Fantastic hostel, one of the best.


Backpackers BCN Casanova

Barcelona, Spain
100%

I stayed at this hostel because it was much cheaper than others, but it is a really good hostel anyway. The staff are really nice, friendly and helpful. It's in a great location, it's super clean, the beds are comfy and the lounge/kitchen area is big and excellent. I definitely recommend this place.


Stayokay Maastricht

Maastricht, Netherlands
90%

A typical HI hostel, brilliantly clean, an excellent location right on the river and close to the centre of the old town. Book well ahead during summer!


Mingyuan Youth Hostel

Luoyang, China
80%

This is really a hotel at cheap prices. The dorm is just a double room you share with someone else. It's a great place to stay and good location, although our bathroom really needed a renovation. Don't take the bus tour for the Shoalin Temple though, find another way to get there. You end up spending most at other temples which you won't understand if you can't speak/read Chinese.


87%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. The rooms are small though, so can be great if you're with your friends, awkward if not. Towels, shower gel and soap supplied. TVs in the rooms, really good place. Free internet too!


Birmingham Central Backpackers

Birmingham, England
83%

I had to stay in the second hotel around the corner, which wasn't a problem, except it was a damn cold walk to get breakfast in the morning. There's no lockers in the rooms, which is something to be mindful of, but the rooms were big and clean, as were the showers. And there's loads to do in the main common room.


YHA Salisbury

Salisbury, England
90%

Only about a 10 minute walk from the Cathedral at the very most. A lovely old buildings with nice clean rooms and an excellent breakfast. Definitely recommend.


Hotel Roc de Sant Miquel

Soldeu, Andorra
97%

Great value accommodation in an excellent area to learn how to ski. About a 10 minute trek to the gondola to get up the mountain, but hardly anything to worry about. There's also a bus stop right outside the hotel. The room was big and clean, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The meals they serve are excellent too, tapas night on a Wednesday was brilliant. Highly recommend this hotel.


AAE Celler D'en Toni Andorra

Andorra la Vella, Andorra
83%

A good value cheap hotel centrally located in Andorra la Vella. Not all staff spoke English, but their enthusiasm made up for it. Large, clean rooms and close to bus stops to Spain/France or other towns in Andorra.


British Hotel

Valletta, Malta
83%

Not a bad hotel, with a great view of the Grand Harbour from the restaurant. The map on Hostelworld is a little inaccurate though. The hotel is actually on the road, about 1 or 2cm to the left of where the arrow is.


Downtown Hotel

Victoria, Malta
90%

A really hotel and very affordable for three stars. Right in the middle of Victoria (Rabat) and close to the bus station as well.


Napoleon Hostel

Moscow, Russia
73%

I new hostel which was reasonably clean. The showers were quite small though and there's no lockers in the rooms. I wasn't a fan at all of the party going on in the common room next to our room at 5:30am on Wednesday morning. Even less so that the guy from reception was a part of it and was passed out or asleep on the couch in the morning. They also charge 600 rubles to register your visa.


Nord Hostel

St Petersburg, Russia
93%

An excellent little hostel right in the heart of St Petersburg. Katya is beautiful and very helpful, she should be paid more! I had a great time. Free Internet, bottled water and washing machines, food/breakfast from 9am-2pm. They will even help you out with registering your visa and will email an invitation to you. I throughly recommend this hostel.


Hostel Rudolf

Rovaniemi, Finland
80%

An excellent hostel, well the only hostel in Rovaniemi. It's clean and has good security. It's reasonably close to the things you'll want to go to. The only drag is having to walk about 600m with all your baggage to check in at the Clarion Hotel.


Dorm.No

Bergen, Norway
70%

A clean hostel, but I wasn't impressed with having to check in in the bar amongst a heap of drunks. The security also seems average as there's a number for the door, but anyone, current or past lodgers, can use it without anyone knowing. The lockers to put your valuables in are also quite small. Also I booked a bed in the 12-bed dorm, but was put in the 16-bed dorm and when I questioned this, they couldn't give me a straight answer. They also make you pay to use their linen, not that it says that on the website that I saw.


Anker Hostel

Oslo, Norway
90%

An excellent hostel, with clean and really spacious rooms. The staff are really friendly, it's easy to find and a great place to stay in Oslo. Book in advance though!!


60%

A fine hostel, but more like a hospital ward. Not really any chance to socialise with anyone else, and a bit of a walk from the city centre. But a good place to sleep regardless.


67%

There's cupboards in the rooms, but the lockers are outside, which is a bit annoying. Everything else is good though and you don't have to pay for everything like some travel guides have claimed. Just the meals and a deposit for the sheets and keycard.


90%

Lockers are outside the rooms, which is a concern, but the hostel is great otherwise.


Albert Hotel

London, England
67%

Excellent hostel with good rates and facilities. A bit on the quiet side and in a quiet area, but truely a great place to base yourself for a few days or a week.


Albert Hotel

London, England
67%

Good place to stay with comfortable beds and good facilities. No breakfast included and far from the tube.


Kipps Hostel Canterbury

Canterbury, England
97%

Great place to stop for a night or two, highly recommended