Reviews: Shiru

Location: Spain, Gender: Female, Age: 30

The House Hostel

Sokcho, South Korea
97%

Very nice and cozy place. Clean, with nice beds and a bathroom per bedroom, with is actually detached from the room. The owner is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is simple but nice. The common room is the cutest. Computers are a bit slow but wifi works well. Good choice ;)

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Backpackers INSIDE

Seoul, South Korea
77%

The owners are rockstars. SO so so nice and helpful. The place is nice, confy and clean, with breakfast in the morning and tea - coffe facilities. Wifi and internet work fine. Beds could be nicer but they're good. Main problem I see is that is not very big and my dorm was beside the common room - and I could hear everything one day that I wanted an early night.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Mama Simona Hostel

Cusco, Peru
86%

Great place, beautiful, clean and with awesome breakfast. They even have a travel agency there. There is not much of a common room but the space is nice and cosy. Stuff were really nice and helpful.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


69%

The family running this place are really kind and nice. Breakfast is also nice. They kept my bag while I was travelling. Sadly, it is under renovation (so a bit noisy and dirty) the shower on my floor didnt work and it was really cold (they provided me with extra blankets though) Im sure that, as soon as the works are over, it will be a really nice place!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


100%

I loved this place! Stuff are awesome, facilities are incredible (full kitchen, tv room, videogames room, pool room, hammocks...) Good to meet people if your a solo traveller. Nice free breakfast. I would totally recommend it!

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Kokopelli Hostel Paracas

Paracas, Peru
89%

Great place! They even have a swimming pool, free kayaks and a really nice bar. Breakfast is nice, and it is located right beside the beach. I would totally recommend it.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


80%

Well located in Miraflores, nice rooms and common areas, clean and neat. Was there for just one night and could not socialise, but had a really nice atmosphere. Cool to meet people!

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Meander Taipei

Taipei, Taiwan
77%

The hostel is clean and well located. Beds are comfy and showers are awesome. Found a couple of bugs on my room though. Stuff members are nice. Wifi is good and works n the rooms too. Common room smells like wood, which I liked. Not very lively, at least not while I stayed there... also, there is no elevator, so if you're carrying a big bag ask not to be allocated on the 6th floor...

  • 1st May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for suggestions and support. Meander will keep up our quality. Hope to see you again!!

Hong Kong Hostel

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
89%

All the members of the staff are nice; my flight was delayed, I arrived at 1:30AM (almost 3h late) and instead of being angry they offered me a private room in order not to awake people who might be sleeping on my dorm. Beds are confy and the place is clean. Very close to the subway. Free computers and tea and coffe from 8 to 10. The only bad thing is that the rooms are spread in different buildings and the common area is a bit small, but I met a lot of people anyway!

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


HI Siem Reap

Siem Reap, Cambodia
100%

I loved this place. Great staff - helpful and smiling (booking tours, tuk-tuks, hanging out in the common area...), comfy beds, nice showers, very clean... It is not a party hostel though - doesnt have a bar, but they have a patio (with a jacuzzi!) and a terrace, so is ideal if you want to relax and have a chat with other travellers after a long day exploring temples. Location is great: 5-10 min walking from Pub Street and markets, close enough to walk but far enough if you just want to chill.

  • 20th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


The Led Zephyr

Sihanoukville, Cambodia
66%

Ok, it has an awesome bar with live performances every night and open mic (free beer if you perform). But the dorms are so tight you can sleep holding hands with the person beside you, air conditioners and fans are right on top of the upper beds (so you either boil or get a cold while sleeping!) wifi isnt great and works just at the bar and I got misleading information from the girl on reception. Still a fun place to hang out at night.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


The Mad Monkey

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
80%

Nice hostel, very clean, comfy beds, 24h hot shower, nice staff - they can help you booking tickets and they organise parties and gatherings. They have a nice café and a nice bar, so it is a cool place to meet people. The only thing is that is it a bit pricy in comparison and my stay was spoiled by very noisy roomies.

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Easy Go Hostel

Vang Vieng, Laos
71%

Nice place with awesome views, free coffe and tea and smiling stuff. Downsides: to get to my dorm u had to go through a narrow-not illuminated at night staircase, wifi is not great (works fine just at the lobby, and not always) and the showers werent very clean- always with at least 3cm of water on the floor, spiderwebs... There were bugs everywere, too, but that was to be expected... Just so u know in case ur apprehensive.

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Khammany Inn Hostel

Luang Prabang, Laos
83%

It is a cool place to stay with awesome free breakfast and nice stuff who, from time to time organise cool parties for their guests. The 2 downsides are: my dorm had no door, so anyone could enter any time day or night and it was on the second floor...and the bathrooms are on the basement. I had food poisoning (not the hostels fault) and that was inconvenient.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Sihome Backpackers Hostel

Vientiane, Laos
83%

Awesome free breakfast and nice stuff. Good for meeting people. Pretty clean and neat, too. Not enough bathrooms though!

  • 19th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse

Seoul, South Korea
86%

Nice place to stay if you're travelling solo! Staff are nice and they hang out at the common room and help travellers to met each other. It is close to the metro station (easy to hit from any airport) and close to a really lively and nice hanging out area (Hongdae). Showers and bathrooms are separated for boys and girls, they have free gel and shampoo and it's clean enough. Pity they cancel the tours they offered.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


83%

Nice common area to met other travellers! The place is clean and cool but we saw a cockrouch running behind out closet... Hopefully just an incident!

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


83%

The common room is big and cozy, nice if you're travelling alone. It is a very nice place. The only problem is that we saw a cockroach in our room...

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)


83%

Cool place; just one thing: They dont explain anything on the free tour; they just take you to different places. Still cool, but you might want to do some research beforehand.

  • 2nd Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Q4 Hotel

New York, USA
57%

Ok, the place is nice, conveniently located, beds are comfy and its clean, but it lacks character and the staff members (at least the ones I spoke to) are clueless and rude. Its also placed beside several train stations, so if you are a light sleeper dont stay here. Not the best place to meet people either - it's more a wannabe hotel than a hostel. And! there are not refunds if you have o leave early, and they charge you 5 bucks to keep your bag for the day if you check out.

  • 10th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


63%

The hostel is nice, but is far too far away from everything, even when they have shuttles to the metro station. It was scary coming back home after dark. My room was SO hot that I couldnt sleep. Many people had the same problem, so they slept with their doors open. Showers are nice, with shampoo, but unless ur inside one if somebody opens the door everybody will see u from the corridor (happened to me). Common area is nice, with pool and piano, I travelled alone and met awesome people there.

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are extremely sorry about the heat wave we recently had in Boston. It was very unusual. We are located in one of the safest area's of metro Boston, so if you return that is a concern you should not be worried about. Everywhere you go you have to be careful though. Thank you again

74%

This hostel is very nice, with a big common area (always good if you want to meet people) and a free pool table. Food is ok, but they take their time in serving. It's clean but opening the windows is not always possible, so the smell inside the room can be funny. Beds are comfy. The biggest turn off is that is far away from almost everything you may want to visit. There are 3 metro lines a walking distance away though (10-15min).

  • 1st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
71%

Good location, close to the metro station, clean, and offers free tea and coffe. Common area is a bit small though, and some of the beds are literally on the floor. Also, the stuff is kind of friendly but, in my case, I wanted to extend my stay, but had to pay more cos "there were no beds available in the cheapest room" (which was not true). I ended up changing rooms 4 times in one week. Messy.

  • 27th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Bangkok, Thailand
94%

Could seem a bit pricy in comparison with some other places in the vecinity of KaoSan Rd, but this place is fautless, really clean and with the most awesome matresses I have ever seen in a hostel. Good place to met people. Street food at the hostel's door, waliking distance to many interesting places. Banks at reception is the nicest guy ever :)

  • 19th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your last stay and review with all good things about our hostel.Wish you good trip !

HQ, The Headquarters

Koh Phangan, Thailand
66%

If you want to party, this is your hostel. Don't stay here if you're planning to sleep. Not only cos there's a party almost every night, but because some workers stay at the dorm with their young children, who might cry and scream at night. Lockers are in a different room, which is closed at certain time at night - so if you need to grab something, you can't. Cool place to met people to party with.

  • 15th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


69%

This hostel is basically a 1 story buiding with 5 dorms. I had a reservation but I had to wait for 3h cos they didnt have my bed ready -however several people without a reservation were able to just check in and got their beds straight away FOR CHEAPER. The guy at reception spoke no english at all & was unpolite to me. Ryan was nice later, but it was not a nice first impresion. There is also no common area so people were hanging out at the room till very late. Its clean and showers are nice tho.

  • 10th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Spicythai Backpackers

Chiang Mai, Thailand
80%

Great place to met people, they organise activities almost everyday and all members of staff are nice, but they messed up my friends reservation and they had to sleep on the floor. There is only one bathroom upstairs and only 1 out of the 3 showers has hot water - just so you know. Appart of this, is a nice place to stay.

  • 31st Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Bangkok, Thailand
91%

Great place, lovely and helpful stuff, super-confy beds, great location if u feel like parting on Khaosan but far enough to sleep well (10 min walking) or if u want to walk to the main touristic attractions (Temples 10-20 mins away only!) Awesome street food right in front of the hostel. Showers are ok and the common area could be a bit bigger, but its fine and cosy. Only thing, if u decide to stay for longer you will have to pay more than if u book online beforehand - just so you know!

  • 27th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Cebu Guesthouse

Cebu, Philippines
60%

It is an ok hostel and its not too bad since its cheap and looks like a house - so you can make yourself comfortable. However beds are not really comfy and the first night I had to sleep on the top bunk right in front of the air conditioner - So I had to put my coat and scarf on! and I felt reaaaaally sick next morning. Also, there were a lot of bugs in the bathroom - Not that I really care, but it can be an inconvenience for many people.

  • 30th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
83%

The hostel is nice and, I must admit, I was surprised at how clean bathrooms were. Beds are comfy and there is Wifi in the room. There is also free coffe and tea!! It is easy to met people there cos there are a couple of terraces and a lobby.

  • 28th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
80%

Pretty nice place, incredibly clean. Showers are awesome. Very close to metro station and plenty buses stop nearby. Common area could be a bit bigger though - nice place to stay.

  • 27th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


74%

Not a bad place, but has no elevator (and I was on the 5th floor). Stayed there just for one night, but it seemed clean and nice.

  • 26th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


60%

Not really helpful staff - the hostel is ok if you want to relax but not great if you want to met people.

  • 16th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


97%

Best hostel ever if ur down for a good party. Great stuff and awesome place to met people - even locals! If u sing at the bar (where even locals hang out) they´ll give u a free pint. Really enjoyed my stay there.

  • 9th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Belfast International Youth Hostel

Belfast, Northern Ireland
67%

It is very close to the bus station, some cool bars and city centre in general. Staff is ok and the place is clean enough. Breakfast is not is not included and the bar is a bit pricy, but the coffe and food is nice.

  • 6th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Belgravia Rooms

London, England
20%

Really unpleasant stuff!!