Reviews: Anonymous

Tina's Hostel Chongqing

Chongqing, China
20%

Honestly THE worst place we have ever stayed in, there are not enough characters in this review to explain how terrible it was! We've stayed in some bad places in Africa and India but this place is nothing in comparison. Staff don't care in any way, rooms are beyond filthy and mouldy, toilets and showers are so horrible that you would be dirter coming out of them. Really not worth your money staying here.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (5 reviews)


77%

This hostel is a great location just outside of the old walls of Xi'an, the subway is around the corner. It is a hotel running as a hostel, you need key cards to run the electricity so when in a dorm can be a bit annoying. Prob the comfiest dorm bed we have slept in! Very modern and clean facilities. Staff aren't very helpful though, especially the bar man who when I had my own food in the chillout area quite stern and rudely gave out to me in Chinese - even tho no signs saying no outside food.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (5 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your praise to our hostel.We are working on making a comfortable feeling for you when you are in Xi'an. As for the bar man,I checked with him about the problem you mentioned.And he said that may be it's his Chinese pronounce made you uncomfortable.If it is that,I apologize to you truthfully. Thanks.

57%

We originally booked for 2 nights but changed to 4, staff were so bad when we arrived, very scatty and didnt listen to what we were saying about our changed booking. We paid what they asked us for assuming it was the total bill, 2 days later our keys didn't work and the manager told us (very accusatory)that we had only paid for 2 nights. It was very embarrassing, esp when it was their staffs incompetence. Poor apology. Four showers to cover 2 floors of ppl so always a queue. Did like thecurtains

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (5 reviews)


Tavern 47

Shangri-la, China
74%

The owner here is very friendly, no taxi would actually drop us to the hostel as it was under construction so he picked the 7 of us up. At the time of writing the road outside was under construction so was hard to get in and out of hostel but not the owners fault. We had private room, was comfortable and quiet! Only two showers available so there was a bit of a queue! Food was tasty and reasonable price! A nice quite family run hostel, such a pity old Shangrila has been destroyed by fire!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (5 reviews)


Garden Inn

Lijiang, China
91%

We really enjoyed our stay in Garden Inn. The staff really made our stay, they were so helpful for any questions we had about the area and helping us book tickets for tiger leaping and train tickets. They really went out of their way and their English was excellent! We stayed in a 4 bed room, nice and comfy, a tad small when it was full as lockers only fit so much, but clean! Good location to the old town, they provide detailed instructions to find them, so follow them and you should be good! :)

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (5 reviews)