Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Ireland, Gender Male, Age 33

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Leonardo House, Florence, Italy
7.1
2nd Sep 2015

There is so much that's great about Leonardo House; location, comfort, staff, etc. BUT- Leonardo has a serious problem about closing doors. There are signs on every door, saying to 'close them carefully'. We let the door close by itself once - we did not slam it - and Leonardo rushed to the room to give us a warning. We felt like kids being told off. We heard him saying the same to others, and the doors really were never loud. It made us feel very awkward in our stay, like we weren't welcome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Pisa, Pisa, Italy
9.1
1st Sep 2015

Loved this place. It's very close to the airport and train station but a little further than expected from the centre of town. Great overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Smart Hyde Park Inn Hostel, London, England
6.9
31st Aug 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Abbey Court, Dublin, Ireland
9.1
26th Jun 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
4.3
20th Nov 2013

This could be a great hostel but it's not there yet. Location is pretty good; ten minute walk from Victoria Station in a residential area. But the security is just awful. They say that they have locks on the outer door and door to your room - which is true. But the locks are push button ones, not key carded. They give you a scrap of paper with the different codes on them and I saw several of these sheets left around the bar downstairs; anyone could have picked them up and gotten into the rooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Astor Museum Inn, London, England
6.6
24th Jan 2013

No enough plug sockets in the dorms. An eight person dorm had two plugs. And considering that nearly everyone has smart phones these days, that really isn't acceptable anymore. I had to spend an hour in a Starbucks the next day just to charge my phone. Also - some individual reading lights would help a lot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Bru Bar & Hostel, Cork, Ireland
8.6
18th Oct 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Cork City, Cork, Ireland
8.0
4th Aug 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Belfast International Youth Hostel, Belfast, Northern Ireland
8.3
5th May 2012

The only real downside here was the location. It's quite central which is great but it is across from a dodgy looking pub (with dodgier looking customers) and the Rangers fan club.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Avid Traveller
Astor Kensington, London, England
9.3
4th Mar 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Avid Traveller
Smart Russell Square Hostel, London, England
5.3
7th Oct 2010

There's a reason this hostel is so cheap. The beds (especially in the dorms!) are piled tightly against each other. Also, the bunks are TINY! I'm 5 ft 9, so just below average height for a guy and I found the bunk too short. Awful, characterless place. I won't be back. Astor Museum around the corner is miles better!!

View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. However the small dorms we have are bigger and have more space in them. Kind regards, SRS TEAM

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Avid Traveller
Bru Bar & Hostel, Cork, Ireland
7.0
18th Oct 2008

While the location and staff were all very good, the hostel itself is just seriously lacking in some character. Bland bedrooms and hallways could do with a facelift. There's a few other things that irritate also. Such as the fact that you have to change your keycard every single day you stay there which seems pointless. And the fact that the cleaners very loudly and very rudely throw people who are checking out out of the rooms if they're still in there even a few minutes after 10.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Avid Traveller
All In Hostel/Hotel, Berlin, Germany
6.7
16th Sep 2008

The communal male toilets always smelt really bad - could have done with being cleaned or fragranced more regularly

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Avid Traveller
Salmon Weir Hostel, Galway, Ireland
6.0
13th Jul 2008

There was no mention of a curfew until we arrived. However this didn't prove much of a problem as we always managed to get in after 3 some way or other

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Avid Traveller
Kinlay House Cork, Cork, Ireland
4.7
21st Oct 2007

Most of the staff were nice but 'Eileen' was consistently rude. We did not deserve to be treated in such a manner as we had 8 people staying in the hostel over the weekend.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Avid Traveller
Kinlay House Cork, Cork, Ireland
4.7
20th Oct 2007

While most of the staff were nice, one member in particular was very rude and unhelpful any time we had to deal with her. We had a party of 8 people stay in the hostel over a weekend and did not deserve to be treated in such a manner. We stayed here last year too and received the same treatment from her so this is not an isolated case.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Avid Traveller
Kinlay House Cork, Cork, Ireland
4.7
19th Oct 2007

While most of the staff were nice, one staff member in particular was very rude - even blamed us for her mistakes. we booked eight people into the hostel over a weekend and she had no right to speak to us in that way. We also stayed here last year and got the same treatment from the same woman. NEVER AGAIN

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Avid Traveller
Kinlay House Cork, Cork, Ireland
4.7
19th Oct 2007

While most of the staff were nice, one staff member in particular was very rude - even blamed us for her mistakes. we booked eight people into the hostel over a weekend and she had no right to speak to us in that way. We also stayed here last year and got the same treatment from the same woman. NEVER AGAIN

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland,
  • Avid Traveller
Travellers Hostel Island, Prague, Czech Republic
4.7
12th Aug 2006

The only thing going for this filthy hostel is it's great location in the middle of an island

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.