Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Canada, Age 31

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ventana Sur Hostal, Santiago, Chile
9.1
2nd Apr 2015

The place is clean and well-located. The staff are very helpful with whatever you may need. Great atmosphere with common areas allowing to easily meet people.The only problem is that the internet was quite spotty during my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Crash Palace, Rotorua, New Zealand
9.1
3rd Feb 2014

Good common areas and awesome staff. Would definitely stay here again! No security lockers, but the rooms are all keyed.

View Property Reply

thanks for taking the time to leave us a review we appreciate it. we have 24 lockers at reception not sure you saw them. have a great trip through nz.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge, Auckland, New Zealand
8.9
1st Feb 2014

No security lockers, but great facilities. Picked up the keys after-hours so didn't actually see the staff, but awesome that it's a possibility!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Attic Backpackers, Auckland, New Zealand
8.0
31st Jan 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bamboo Beach, Nadi, Fiji
8.6
11th Jun 2013

Close to the beach, has a travel hut and anyone at the office can help you on your way to explore Fiji. One downside is that there was no hot water when we were there...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bath YMCA, Bath, England
8.3
8th May 2013

Pretty standard hostel - clean, friendly service, etc. There is parking across Broad St. from the hotel, which is convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge, Marrakech, Morocco
7.4
15th Sep 2012

First of all, note that there are two hostels that are listed under the Riad Marrakech Rouge title in Hostelworld. We stayed at the "old" one, so I can only guess that the 95% rating is given by members who've mostly stayed at the new one. The hostel itself is fine, though two toilets and 3 showers for the whole place resulted in occasional waits. No security lockers in the rooms. Malek (the owner) is extremely at first, but unfortunately, can turn downright nasty when frustrated...

View Property Reply

Dear Future Guests of Marrakech Rouge, The completely unsubstantiated statement at the end of the above review can be explained as follows: the above guests spent their nights drinking heavily on the terrace. We are all for guests enjoying themselves and you won't find better hosts we reckon, in the world, than Malek or Ali. However, we do not tolerate behaviour that compromises the comfort or sleep quality of our other guests and neighbours. Asking several times for the above guests to be respectful and lower the volume, and being completely ignored and then sworn at, is most definitely frustrating. So, in conclusion - 'downright nasty' - not at all, 'frustrated' and offended - absolutely. No apologies. The above guests actually stayed in the newer building, and the two are connected in the same 'derb' or 'street' - guests are welcome to enjoy the atmosphere of both. Our rating combines the two buildings and is due to the way our amazing hosts - Malek and Ali look after all our guests. Happy, respectful travelling to everyone!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Royal Mile Backpackers, Edinburgh, Scotland
9.4
4th Aug 2012

Can't beat the location right on the royal mile. The free security lockers are a nice touch and the staff are great, helping you out with finding stuff around the city, etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Caledonian Backpackers, Edinburgh, Scotland
9.7
1st Aug 2012

About a 10 minute walk away from the castle and Royal Mile. Great common area with full kitchen, good WiFi all over, etc. The airport bus also drops you off right outside their door.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Global Village, Belfast, Northern Ireland
8.9
30th Jul 2012

Great staff, location is about a ten minute walk from the city center, with the sights and restaurants nearby. Bring your own lock for the under-the-bed lockers. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Four Courts Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
9.1
27th Jul 2012

Great location between the Temple Bar district and the Guiness Storehouse. Unfortunately, no internet on the top floor and odd closing times for the kitchen. Overall, great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
8.9
13th Jul 2012

Well-positioned between the central bus station and the old town. Great bar areas are very close-by too. The floors in the dorm room were somewhat dirty and the beds left something to be desired, but the kitchen and common areas are a dream. Unfortunately, you have to pay for using their computers, though the wifi is very good. Great staff and having a Sabbath dinner at the hostel was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hotel des Olympiades, Paris, France
8.9
5th Jul 2012

Well-positioned between the central bus station and the old town. Great bar areas are very close-by too. The floors in the dorm room were somewhat dirty and the beds left something to be desired, but the kitchen and common areas are a dream. Unfortunately, you have to pay for the internet. Great staff and having a Sabbath dinner at the hostel was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Monk's Bunk, Tallinn, Estonia
9.4
24th Jun 2012

Great staff, great place. Currently renovating, but even with that, the 3 showers on the reception floor were enough. Located next to old town and the airport bus (90K) stops right outside their door.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Football Corner Hostel, Krakow, Poland
9.4
18th Jun 2012

Excellent place, staff will help with what to see, where to eat, etc. Big lockers. Meter parking available right outside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
A1 Hostel Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
9.1
17th Jun 2012

5 min walk from the center. Awesome staff (even got some help with parking!). Full kitchen with fridge made things a lot more convenient. One complaint is that there is only one shower and one toilet, making mornings potentially frustrating...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Eurasia Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
7.1
1st Jun 2012

The location is bar none and the reception staff were friendly and informative. However, the breakfast was small and you were only allowed one egg despite it being called a buffet... The bathroom had the smallest sink everl and the shower flooded the place every time, which was annoying. There is a safe in the room..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Tchaikovsky Hostel, Split, Croatia
8.6
29th May 2012

About a 10 minute walk from the palace and 20-25 min walk from the beach. Helpful staff, clean rooms with massive security lockers. Overall, a very good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Swanky Crib, Zagreb, Croatia
9.7
28th May 2012

One tram away from the train station and the center of the city. Great staff, good common room, and nice washrooms. Overall, a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Guesthouse Chlumova, Prague, Czech Republic
8.3
26th May 2012

Clean local place with everything you need. Not in the center, but there is a tram nearby. Full kitchen is also available.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Som Guesthouse, Phuket, Thailand
9.4
9th Feb 2012

Great place, with awesome staff. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Som Guesthouse, Phuket, Thailand
9.4
8th Feb 2012

Great place, with awesome staff. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Chada Hostel, Bangkok, Thailand
7.7
4th Feb 2012

No safe and the halls smell awful. Clean beds though, and the location is good (east end of Khaosan Road).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Villa Merry No 1 at the Khan River, Luang Prabang, Laos
9.7
1st Feb 2012

Great breakfast (try the banana pancakes!). Clean, awesome shower, etc. Merry is also very helpful if you want to take some excursions out of town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hangout @ Mt. Emily, Singapore, Singapore
9.1
24th Jan 2012

Excellent and helpful staff, 24 hour checkin, They'll store your luggage for you if you are leaving the city later in the day... What's not to like?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.0
25th Aug 2011

The rooms are open, though you have lockers for valuables. The location is awesome as the beach is literally 100m from the hostel.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Nana's Rooms, Ljubljana, Slovenia
8.0
12th Aug 2011

Very clean place, though a little far from the center considering how small Ljubljana is. The people who run it are great, too!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
B&B Danieli la Castellana, Lake Garda, Italy
8.7
22nd Jun 2011

One of the cleanest places I've been in - they wash the floors daily! We wanted to move from our room as it was facing the street, which turned out to be quite busy. It wasn't a problem as the staff were very helpful and everything worked out great. The beach is about a 10-minute walk, but Castelleto has great set of restaurants around. Overall, quite happy with this place and would stay here again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, Amsterdam, Netherlands
7.3
29th Apr 2011

We didn't have any problems with security, but the staff tols us to park elsewhere because the area is apparently prone to vandalism and theft... Despite this, we've come home at all hours of the night and had no problems at all. Very clean place and there is a bathroom per 6-person dorm, so the waits are never too long. The location is a little out of the way (~40 minutes walk from the center of the city), but there is a couple of regular trams and a night bus that will get you there as well. Bes

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Jorplace, The Hague, Netherlands
8.3
28th Apr 2011

Very close to the beach, but have to take a tram to the city center, so depends on what you want out of your trip. The 20-bed dorms are still okay, as we had no problems with waiting for the shower, etc.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel ROOM Rotterdam, Rotterdam, Netherlands
9.0
27th Apr 2011

The place is clean and the breakfast is good. Though they say that it's quiet hours after 11, the party goes on downstairs for much longer than that, so bring earplugs if you have trouble sleeping (or just join the fun! :)).

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Landgasthof Simon, Trier, Germany
8.3
21st Apr 2011

Awesome place if you have a car. Very clean, the staff are nice, etc. It's 5-10 minutes out of Trier by car. Breakfast is regular continental fare (buns and jam, cereal, milk, cheese and cold cuts). Overall, quite happy with our stay here.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Youthhostel Luzern, Lucerne, Switzerland
8.0
5th Jun 2010

We had a car so the location did not matter, but it doesn't look like it's too close to the attractions by public transport... The staff were nice and the breakfast was good though..

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Zurich City Apartment 2, Zurich, Switzerland
9.3
5th Jun 2010

Nice clean apartment with a kitchen, etc. Awesome location, close to everywhere you need to go. Andy was very helpful in telling us where to go and what to see. Definitely recommend.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Balmers Hostel, Interlaken, Switzerland
9.7
4th Jun 2010

Good food, great drinks prices, and the place has its own club downstairs. Top notch fun. Clean and also has lots of showers. The breakfast isn't great, but can't beat the price for what you get.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Paprika Hostel, Budapest, Hungary
9.3
16th May 2010

Great place. The staff are awesome and take you out nightly. We've heard of the Hungarian food, but did not get to try any, unfortunately :( Location is great with stores, transportation, and sights very near to the hostel.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Friendz Hostel, Belgrade, Serbia
9.7
9th May 2010

Awesome place! Staff are great and go out with you almost nightly. Location is also awesome, steps away from the station and right at the center of the city. Definitely recommend.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hospedaria Verde Esperanca, Lisbon, Portugal
5.7
22nd Jul 2007

The guys didn't have a record of my reservation through Hostelworld. Luckily they had room, but that's not the kind of service that I expect...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Venice Rooms, Venice, Italy
8.7
14th Jul 2007

New place, free laundry, supermarket across the street easy bus service that runs 5:30am-1am. Great place to stay, though the breakfast is brutal.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Residencia Pere Felip Monlau, Barcelona, Spain
9.3
7th Jul 2007

Great place, good location.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
9.3
15th Oct 2006

This place is awesome. It just opened in June '06 and is just spotless. The dorm rooms are a little cozy, but that's more than made up for by the large common area. Skype is also set up on computers for almost-free calling home. Great place and I'm definitely staying here next time I'm in Tokyo.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.