Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Canada, Age: 29

Crash Palace

Rotorua, New Zealand
91%

Good common areas and awesome staff. Would definitely stay here again! No security lockers, but the rooms are all keyed.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for taking the time to leave us a review we appreciate it. we have 24 lockers at reception not sure you saw them. have a great trip through nz.

Verandahs Backpackers Lodge

Auckland, New Zealand
89%

No security lockers, but great facilities. Picked up the keys after-hours so didn't actually see the staff, but awesome that it's a possibility!

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


The Attic Backpackers

Auckland, New Zealand
80%

No customer comment

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Bamboo Beach

Nadi, Fiji
86%

Close to the beach, has a travel hut and anyone at the office can help you on your way to explore Fiji. One downside is that there was no hot water when we were there...

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Bath YMCA

Bath, England
83%

Pretty standard hostel - clean, friendly service, etc. There is parking across Broad St. from the hotel, which is convenient.

  • 8th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Marrakech, Morocco
74%

First of all, note that there are two hostels that are listed under the Riad Marrakech Rouge title in Hostelworld. We stayed at the "old" one, so I can only guess that the 95% rating is given by members who've mostly stayed at the new one. The hostel itself is fine, though two toilets and 3 showers for the whole place resulted in occasional waits. No security lockers in the rooms. Malek (the owner) is extremely at first, but unfortunately, can turn downright nasty when frustrated...

  • 15th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Future Guests of Marrakech Rouge, The completely unsubstantiated statement at the end of the above review can be explained as follows: the above guests spent their nights drinking heavily on the terrace. We are all for guests enjoying themselves and you won't find better hosts we reckon, in the world, than Malek or Ali. However, we do not tolerate behaviour that compromises the comfort or sleep quality of our other guests and neighbours. Asking several times for the above guests to be respectful and lower the volume, and being completely ignored and then sworn at, is most definitely frustrating. So, in conclusion - 'downright nasty' - not at all, 'frustrated' and offended - absolutely. No apologies. The above guests actually stayed in the newer building, and the two are connected in the same 'derb' or 'street' - guests are welcome to enjoy the atmosphere of both. Our rating combines the two buildings and is due to the way our amazing hosts - Malek and Ali look after all our guests. Happy, respectful travelling to everyone!

Royal Mile Backpackers

Edinburgh, Scotland
94%

Can't beat the location right on the royal mile. The free security lockers are a nice touch and the staff are great, helping you out with finding stuff around the city, etc.

  • 4th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Caledonian Backpackers

Edinburgh, Scotland
97%

About a 10 minute walk away from the castle and Royal Mile. Great common area with full kitchen, good WiFi all over, etc. The airport bus also drops you off right outside their door.

  • 1st Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Global Village

Belfast, Northern Ireland
89%

Great staff, location is about a ten minute walk from the city center, with the sights and restaurants nearby. Bring your own lock for the under-the-bed lockers. Would definitely stay again.

  • 30th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Four Courts Hostel

Dublin, Ireland
91%

Great location between the Temple Bar district and the Guiness Storehouse. Unfortunately, no internet on the top floor and odd closing times for the kitchen. Overall, great place

  • 27th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Jerusalem, Israel
89%

Well-positioned between the central bus station and the old town. Great bar areas are very close-by too. The floors in the dorm room were somewhat dirty and the beds left something to be desired, but the kitchen and common areas are a dream. Unfortunately, you have to pay for using their computers, though the wifi is very good. Great staff and having a Sabbath dinner at the hostel was awesome!

  • 13th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Hotel des Olympiades

Paris, France
89%

Well-positioned between the central bus station and the old town. Great bar areas are very close-by too. The floors in the dorm room were somewhat dirty and the beds left something to be desired, but the kitchen and common areas are a dream. Unfortunately, you have to pay for the internet. Great staff and having a Sabbath dinner at the hostel was awesome!

  • 5th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


The Monk's Bunk

Tallinn, Estonia
94%

Great staff, great place. Currently renovating, but even with that, the 3 showers on the reception floor were enough. Located next to old town and the airport bus (90K) stops right outside their door.

  • 24th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Football Corner Hostel

Krakow, Poland
94%

Excellent place, staff will help with what to see, where to eat, etc. Big lockers. Meter parking available right outside.

  • 18th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


A1 Hostel Bratislava

Bratislava, Slovakia
91%

5 min walk from the center. Awesome staff (even got some help with parking!). Full kitchen with fridge made things a lot more convenient. One complaint is that there is only one shower and one toilet, making mornings potentially frustrating...

  • 17th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Eurasia Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
71%

The location is bar none and the reception staff were friendly and informative. However, the breakfast was small and you were only allowed one egg despite it being called a buffet... The bathroom had the smallest sink everl and the shower flooded the place every time, which was annoying. There is a safe in the room..

  • 1st Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Tchaikovsky Hostel

Split, Croatia
86%

About a 10 minute walk from the palace and 20-25 min walk from the beach. Helpful staff, clean rooms with massive security lockers. Overall, a very good hostel.

  • 29th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Swanky Crib

Zagreb, Croatia
97%

One tram away from the train station and the center of the city. Great staff, good common room, and nice washrooms. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • 28th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Guesthouse Chlumova

Prague, Czech Republic
83%

Clean local place with everything you need. Not in the center, but there is a tram nearby. Full kitchen is also available.

  • 26th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Som Guesthouse

Phuket, Thailand
94%

Great place, with awesome staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • 9th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Som Guesthouse

Phuket, Thailand
94%

Great place, with awesome staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • 8th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Chada Hostel

Bangkok, Thailand
77%

No safe and the halls smell awful. Clean beds though, and the location is good (east end of Khaosan Road).

  • 4th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


97%

Great breakfast (try the banana pancakes!). Clean, awesome shower, etc. Merry is also very helpful if you want to take some excursions out of town.

  • 1st Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Hangout @ Mt. Emily

Singapore, Singapore
91%

Excellent and helpful staff, 24 hour checkin, They'll store your luggage for you if you are leaving the city later in the day... What's not to like?

  • 24th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


80%

The rooms are open, though you have lockers for valuables. The location is awesome as the beach is literally 100m from the hostel.

  • 25th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Hostel Print

Ljubljana, Slovenia
80%

Very clean place, though a little far from the center considering how small Ljubljana is. The people who run it are great, too!

  • 12th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


B&B Danieli la Castellana

Lake Garda, Italy
87%

One of the cleanest places I've been in - they wash the floors daily! We wanted to move from our room as it was facing the street, which turned out to be quite busy. It wasn't a problem as the staff were very helpful and everything worked out great. The beach is about a 10-minute walk, but Castelleto has great set of restaurants around. Overall, quite happy with this place and would stay here again.

  • 22nd Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (42 reviews)


Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Amsterdam, Netherlands
73%

We didn't have any problems with security, but the staff tols us to park elsewhere because the area is apparently prone to vandalism and theft... Despite this, we've come home at all hours of the night and had no problems at all. Very clean place and there is a bathroom per 6-person dorm, so the waits are never too long. The location is a little out of the way (~40 minutes walk from the center of the city), but there is a couple of regular trams and a night bus that will get you there as well. Bes


Jorplace

The Hague, Netherlands
83%

Very close to the beach, but have to take a tram to the city center, so depends on what you want out of your trip. The 20-bed dorms are still okay, as we had no problems with waiting for the shower, etc.


Hostel ROOM Rotterdam

Rotterdam, Netherlands
90%

The place is clean and the breakfast is good. Though they say that it's quiet hours after 11, the party goes on downstairs for much longer than that, so bring earplugs if you have trouble sleeping (or just join the fun! :)).


Landgasthof Simon

Trier, Germany
83%

Awesome place if you have a car. Very clean, the staff are nice, etc. It's 5-10 minutes out of Trier by car. Breakfast is regular continental fare (buns and jam, cereal, milk, cheese and cold cuts). Overall, quite happy with our stay here.


Youthhostel Luzern

Lucerne, Switzerland
80%

We had a car so the location did not matter, but it doesn't look like it's too close to the attractions by public transport... The staff were nice and the breakfast was good though..


Zurich City Apartment 2

Zurich, Switzerland
93%

Nice clean apartment with a kitchen, etc. Awesome location, close to everywhere you need to go. Andy was very helpful in telling us where to go and what to see. Definitely recommend.

  • 5th Jun 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (42 reviews)


Balmers Herberge

Interlaken, Switzerland
97%

Good food, great drinks prices, and the place has its own club downstairs. Top notch fun. Clean and also has lots of showers. The breakfast isn't great, but can't beat the price for what you get.


Paprika Hostel

Budapest, Hungary
93%

Great place. The staff are awesome and take you out nightly. We've heard of the Hungarian food, but did not get to try any, unfortunately :( Location is great with stores, transportation, and sights very near to the hostel.


Friendz Hostel

Belgrade, Serbia
97%

Awesome place! Staff are great and go out with you almost nightly. Location is also awesome, steps away from the station and right at the center of the city. Definitely recommend.


Hospedaria Verde Esperanca

Lisbon, Portugal
57%

The guys didn't have a record of my reservation through Hostelworld. Luckily they had room, but that's not the kind of service that I expect...


Venice Rooms

Venice, Italy
87%

New place, free laundry, supermarket across the street easy bus service that runs 5:30am-1am. Great place to stay, though the breakfast is brutal.


Residencia Pere Felip Monlau

Barcelona, Spain
93%

Great place, good location.


93%

This place is awesome. It just opened in June '06 and is just spotless. The dorm rooms are a little cozy, but that's more than made up for by the large common area. Skype is also set up on computers for almost-free calling home. Great place and I'm definitely staying here next time I'm in Tokyo.