Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Gender: Female, Age: 33

Probably the worst hostel I stayed at during 4 months travelling South America. No bar, no Internet access, cold showers, 2 lockers for 11 people, swimming pool was lurid green, no airport transfers, no cafe, no games room, no city maps. No one on reception at 5pm when we arrived, so I highly doubt there would be 24 hour security. No cleaning appeared to be done, bathrooms and dorm was filthy, no toilet paper.

Timbo Posada

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina

Great location, wifi worked, good breakfast, clean bathrooms. Got badly bitten in the dorm, not sure if it was bed bugs or just Mosquitos....

Rock Hostel Km0

Buenos Aires, Argentina

This hostel really grows on you. ended up staying for 10 nights. Good location, ok breakfast, wifi worked, air con in common room, fans in rooms, really clean. Good kitchen, BBQ on rooftop terrace.

Hostel Empedrado

Mendoza, Argentina

Good activities every night, easy to meet people, friendly staff. Sometimes had to wait ages to use the bathroom, rooms quite run down and lockers broken. Breakfast was good, fruit, cereal, pastries and coffee/tea, sometimes pancakes. Good cooking facilities but not enough fridge and cupboard space for everyone there.

Alaska Hostel

Bariloche, Argentina

Alaska is THE place to stay in Bariloche, book in early as it's almost always full. Naty, Javi and Luca are wonderful, taking the time to get to know their guests and helping them make the most of their stay. Alaska is a home away from home. The breakfast is homemade bread and jams, there is internet access where you can upload photos and skype as well as use wifi. The kitchen is a great place to gather each night and meet other travellers and share a vino or two.

Casa Margouya Chile

Puerto Varas, Chile

Great location, friendly, informative staff. I liked that breakfast was slightly different every day - the usual breads, spreads and tea/coffee, but some days also cereal and yoghurt, or avocado and ham, or pineapple and tomato. Mixed things up a bit. There are only 2 bathrooms and the toilet is in the same room with the shower, so you sometimes have to wait to go.

Casaclub Hostel

Valparaiso, Chile

Potential to be a good hostel with a lot of work. Only met 4 other guests there, paint peeling from the walls and ceilings, bathrooms were dirty even after they had been cleaned. Was supposed to stay 3 nights but checked out after 1. You would be better off to stay right in town or in Vina del Mar. Breakfast was the usual bread, jam, tea and coffee. Wifi worked. No idea it there was hot water as did not want to use the bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I don´t know what you mean, bathrooms get cleaned al least 3 times a day or as much as necessary and of course there is hot water 24 hours. This is an old restored house and we are constantly making improvements, painting for example. You left before you were supposed to because you and your friend had a problem in downtown not in the hostel, you know what i`m talking about.

Castillo Surfista Hostel

Santiago, Chile

Homely hostel, wifi works and computer you can use, great breakfast with fruit and yoghurt as well as the usual bread and jam. Close enough to walk to most places in town, clean bathrooms, big kitchen, comfy beds. Outdoor area for eating and having a BBQ. Take all the aspects of the good hostels you´ve stayed in and this combines them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the compliments! Hope to see you again sometime.

Bacoo Hostel

La Paz, Bolivia

Hot water, clean bathrooms, wifi worked, basic breakfast. Only about 10 people staying there so no atmosphere, no games in the bar as advertised. Nowhere to hang your clothes on the shower cubicles. Carefull if you get your washing done as they lost mine and it turned out they gave the whole bag to someone else so they don't check who they give it to.

Hotel Utama

Copacabana, Bolivia

Best hostel breakfast ever, clean, big rooms, friendly staff.Water is set at lukewarm in the showers. Wifi is turned off from about 10pm until breakfast. If you pre book they pick you up from the bus station, hoowever they don't tell you about this. Just look for the guys in the 'hotel utama' jackets with a van when you get there. Security seemed fine until I noticed that all the spare room keys are kept on a shelf clearly labelled in the room where the computer is, which anyone has access to.

Pisko & Soul

Cusco, Peru

Great hostel, friendly staff, good wifi, plenty of hot water. City tour booked through them is good. Great location, only a few mins down to plaza de Armas, San blas is a cool area itself.


Awesome hostel, couldn't ask for anything else. Free wifi and pcs, rolls, tea and coffee for breakfast, hot water, clean bathrooms and kitchen, perfect location. The staff were super friendly and knowledgeable. The trips to colca canyon were cheaper than those in town, they even booked our cruz del sur bus tickets for us.

Banana's Adventure

Huacachina, Peru

Great laid back hostel. Free wifi, cool pool and bar. Dune buggying and sand boarding tour is a must at sunset. Food is great, though not the cheapest. Would stay there again.


Great hostel. They picked us up from the bus station, booked us on ballestas islands and national park tours. Gave us info on good places to eat and things to do in Pisco and Paracas. Breakfast was the best included we've had in Peru. Cool rooftop terrace where you can chill out. Manuel, the owner, even dropped us at the local bus station and helped us get tickets so we didn't have to get the overpriced tourist bus to Ica. Would highly recommend.


This is a great hostel if you're looking for something other than a arty hostel. The airport transfer was handy, the staff were all very friendly and helpful with suggestions of things to do in Lima and places to eat. Our private twin room was spacious and the bathrooms were clean. Never had to wait for a shower and always hot water. The breakfast was basic. Excellent location only a block from the beach.


I am not sure why this hostel is so highly rated, maybe because of the pool and location. We were put in a disable room and the drain in the bathroom stank. We had to have a fan on 24/7 in an attempt to dissipate the stench. The bathroom was not cleaned at all whilst we were staying there. No one should have ben put in that room to stay. The staff we okay, not overly friendly or full of advice. Perhaps if we had stayed in a clean room our experience would have been better

Rising Cock Party Hostel

Lagos, Portugal

Great location, atmosphere and staff. Not somewhere to stay if you actually want to get some sleep though. Security was lacking, our room had 6 beds but only 4 lockers and the lock on our door wouldn´t work so the door was always wide open. Staff were helpful in pointing out cheap bars and restaurants to check out in town. Mama´s crepes were great for breakfast.

Travellers House

Lisbon, Portugal

Possibly the best hostel i have ever stayed having spent the last 6 years working and travelling around Europe. Could not fault it. Staff were super friendly and always willing to answer questions and suggest places to eat, drink, check out. Rooms were large and clean, drawers under the bunks where you could store all of your belongings and also included safety deposit boxes. Breakfast was great, hostel organised nights and events were cool. Could not ask for anything more.

Porto Spot Hostel

Porto, Portugal

Awesome hostel, could not fault it. Large, immaculate rooms, right in the centre of town. Great included breakfast, cheap bar downstairs, free internet.