Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous

Location USA, Gender Male, Age 45

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Gusti Homestay, Seminyak, Indonesia
8.9
6th Jun 2015

Great value. Distance to beach too far to walk, but scooters are free to use and a big plus for seeing the island. Free pick up from airport is nice, drop off at airport, however, is not free. Staff really good. Kitchen decent. Facilities ok, a little run down but clean. AC in rooms and only local TV. Nothing in immediate area you have to travel to see and do anything, but scooters make that possible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
The Packer Lodge, Jakarta, Indonesia
8.3
1st Jun 2015

Hostel is nice and very good value. Jakarta is better avoided if possible. This hostel is close to the Dutch quarter which is not great but the only show in town. Hostel is right on the main thoroughfare where the bus is easily accessible. Hostel does a nice job in a place where there is nothing to do.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Lily's Hostel, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.7
24th May 2015

2nd time I've stayed here. Excellent value and location. Effort made create pleasant atmosphere. Airport pick up and drop off service. Must take shoes off at door. Breakfast included. All around good deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Villa Medamrei, Siem Reap, Cambodia
10.0
19th May 2015

Excellent staff. They have clearly been trained in customer service and etiquette. Noticible effort has been made to decorate and create atmosphere. Good restaurant upstairs. Rooms are cleaned as soon as you leave to go see the temples. Great value. The room I had even had a small outdoor sitting area. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
A Dong Hotel, Hanoi, Vietnam
9.7
16th May 2015

Second time I stayed there and just as good. Staff helped find a equitable room in another hotel for a friend of mine when they were full. Always willing to help and even would invite me for a drink. Really nice people. Clean and quiet. They do have rooms that overlook the street, and these are not quiet, but perfect for watching the action at night. Great value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
A Dong Hotel, Hanoi, Vietnam
10.0
10th May 2015

Good value for location and helpful staff who are ubiquitous and always greet you with a smile. Good facilities, a/c, laundry service, cable tv in room, and wifi on each floor and reception in room. No complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Lily's Hostel, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
10.0
30th Apr 2015

Great staff, super clean, significant effort to make the atmosphere pleasant, good security with 24 hour concierge. Breakfast included. Good tours from here. Nice and quiet, not a party house for kids. 100%. Perfect place to stay to get your bearings upon arrival to Ho Chi Minh city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Swanky Mint, Zagreb, Croatia
8.9
6th Jan 2015

Reason for the poor grade on the staff is that I was insulted by one of them sitting in the kitchen. I was asked by her where I was from and when I told her, she said, "I'm sorry". Then she went on to insult my generation for lack of political and social contributions. So, within a few hours of checking in, my home and my generation were insulted. This was bad enough when I thought she was another guest, but then I learned she was a member of the staff. No problem with anything else. Shame.

View Property Reply

Dear William, we are terribly sorry for the experience that you had with one of our's ex volunteers. If it means anything she apologies for the misunderstanding. According to her the things she said about your state, generation etc, were meant as a pun not as an insult. Hope we'll see you some time in the near future so we can smooth things out over some welcoming drinks at our bar ;) Safe travels! Lovro

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Elite Guesthouse, Mostar, Bosnia And Herzegovina
10.0
3rd Jan 2015

Great place. Owner/operator is on top of everything. Upon arrival, he gives a welcome briefing about what to do and see, where to eat, etc... He had heat already turned on in room and provided free laundry. In room, there was coffee, cable tv and spacious bathroom by local standards. Location is great, in the middle of shopping area and about a 300 meter walk to Old Town and Stari Most. Very clean. All around high marks for this hostel. Strongly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
CroParadise Green Hostel, Split, Croatia
9.7
27th Dec 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Swanky Mint, Zagreb, Croatia
9.7
26th Dec 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
The Backpackers Ritz of Johannesburg, Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0
8th May 2014

Staff lacks understanding and acceptance of travelers issues like time zone changes and are generally unfriendly, at times, mocking. They behave like they are doing you a favor accepting your money. Place is run down and not well kept. No towels, soap, washing machines, tiny showers and toilets hard to maneuver in. Location is not bad, but still a 4-5 km walk to the Sandton train station. Local shopping mall nearby. Neighborhood seems safe as I was able to walk around at night with no issue

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
10.0
22nd Mar 2014

Perfect for staying on outskirts of Dublin. They are spare rooms in the dormitory of a small college. Included full Irish breakfast in cafeteria, 7-8 euro value. Huge computer lab where guests have access to internet. Costa coffee in the lobby. About one hour walk to downtown, 2.35 euro bus to O'Connell St. 24 hour concierge. Two large TV rooms and small kitchen areas with microwave but no oven. Very quiet, no kids making noise all night. Ideal for people who don't like the noise of hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Bru Bar & Hostel, Cork, Ireland
6.0
18th Mar 2014

This hostel is advertised as voted the 7th best hostel in the world by hostelworld.com. Not sure why this is. Postive things: (Security) Need keycard for several doors to rooms. Underbed storage baskets in rooms, but they do not lock. (Location) Short walk to downtown and to/from train station. (Price) Cheap dorms. Negative things: Small kitchen and TV room. TV doesn't work anyway.Staff did not know how to repair. Cold water in showers. Full bar on 1st floor but full of locals, not guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.