Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: andnils

Location Sweden, Gender Male, Age 35

  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Auberge de la Paix Québec, Quebec, Canada
8.0
21st Jul 2015

Nice hostels in the old city of Quebec City, close to everything. Breakfast included.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI Charlottetown Backpackers Inn, Charlottetown, Canada
9.7
15th Jul 2015

This was one of the best hostels I have been to (have been to 50+) and definitely the cleanest one! I will recommend this hostel to everyone that travels to Charlottetown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Q4 Hotel, New York, USA
7.4
7th Jul 2015

It's an OK and relatively cheap hostel close to Queensboro plaza with good access to the entire city through the Metro. Would definitely stay here again, mostly because of location and price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Encore Express Hotel/Hostel, San Francisco, USA
7.4
26th Jul 2014

There is a music studio in the Hostel basement and they play very loud music until 11 pm. Otherwise a OK hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
AAE 11th Avenue Hostel, Denver, USA
7.1
18th Jul 2014

Good price and OK location. Had very few restrooms and showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel, Columbus OH, USA
6.3
11th Jul 2014

Good hostel, ca 1 hr walk to downtown or 20 min by buss. Clean and nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI Baltimore, Baltimore, USA
8.3
8th Jul 2014

Very good HI hostel close to the harbor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.1
1st Jul 2014

Good and clean hostel for the money. Is about 40 minutes away from Manhattan by bus and subway which I think is ok regarding the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.1
9th Aug 2013

It's a good location on Hollywood Blvd. Relatively small rooms and the lack of power outlets made it sometimes hard to keep your electronics charged.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Route 66 Hostel, Albuquerque, USA
5.7
2nd Aug 2013

It's a pretty worn down place without air condition (it is very hot in Albuquerque in the summer). A surprise when checking in is that you are supposed to do chores which I think is unreasonable that that is not mentioned before you arrive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Nashville Downtown Hostel, Nashville, USA
8.9
29th Jul 2013

Good hostel in a great location. Security is good, in daytime you have to use your key card three times to get to your room. The thing I missed though where lockers in dorm or a common location with a lot of people.

View Property Reply

We have lockers in community room but we are working on getting lockers for the rooms. We can confidently say we have one of the best community area where guest can cook, watch TV, play foosball, shoot pool, have drinks with friends and join in ont true Nashville jam sessions. It is not uncommon to find 20~50 people in our community room socializing any given night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.1
21st Jul 2013

It's a good and clean hostel with a good price for being in NYC. With the bus and subway i takes about 40 minutes to get to times square. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Mark Twain Hostel, Hartford, USA
4.3
19th Jul 2013

A bit to high price for what you get. Seemed like a house where a family lived and run a hostel. Facilities where pretty much run down.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Alaska Backpackers Inn, Anchorage, USA
5.7
7th Aug 2012

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
6.9
3rd Aug 2012

Good price, not a very good hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI Honolulu - Waikiki, Honolulu, USA
7.4
27th Jul 2012

For being a Hostelling International hostel it was disappointing. It was OK but not great as I expected.

View Property Reply

All hostels are different. Sometimes its hard to set expectations, because we dont have a "star rating" system like hotels do. Yes our building is old and our facilities too, but the main thing to keep in mind is that we are 2 blocks from the beach. There's a limit to the improvements we can make, simply because we could just turn it into a "budget hotel" and charge 3 to 4 times as much. We want to keep it a hostel, so backpackers have an affordable place to stay. Most guests realize this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.1
24th Jul 2012

Very good hostel. The only bad thing is the location.

View Property Reply

Thanks for your review! Please come back and visit again soon. Take Care, Lydia, HI-Seattle AGM

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Avenues Hostel, Salt Lake City, USA
5.7
19th Jul 2012

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI Madison, Madison, USA
8.3
13th Jul 2012

Only bad thing is that there where no air conditioning in the dorm room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Chicago Getaway Hostel, Chicago, USA
7.4
12th Jul 2012

The showers and restrooms were a bit to far from the dorm during nighttime when you had to pass reception to get there.

View Property Reply

Anders: Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate your comments. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Take care, Mat Meadows General Manager

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
4.6
5th Jul 2012

No good beds, no ac so it was really hot in the room and showers and bathroom wasn´t that great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
3.3
15th Jul 2011

It is impossible to sleep during flight operations between 0500-2300 hrs. Staff is really annoying and will not leave you alone!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
5.3
29th Jun 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Indy Hostel, Indianapolis, USA
7.0
25th Jun 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
La Maison du Patriote, Montreal, Canada
8.3
20th Jun 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
3.7
16th Jun 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers on Dundas, Toronto, Canada
7.3
2nd Jul 2010

It's an OK hostel very close to the Greyhound bus station with a central location to most of Toronto's attractions

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
Washington DC Guesthouse, Washington DC, USA
4.0
26th Jun 2010

Located in not the best of neighborhood, very small hostel, not much space.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
HI Baltimore, Baltimore, USA
9.3
25th Jun 2010

One of the best hostels I stayed at, and it's close to everything.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
HI Chamounix Mansion, Philadelphia, USA
6.7
24th Jun 2010

Terrible beds, the mattress was made of and you couldn't move without waking up the entire room. Didn't get very much sleep there.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
5.3
22nd Jun 2010

It´s in Brooklyn so you have to go by metro to get anywhere, otherwise it´s ok

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
AAE Banfield Portland, Portland, USA
5.7
5th Jul 2009

It's a Motel and not a hostel

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
6.7
2nd Jul 2009

Verry expensive for a hostel, still the cheapest place in town... Restrooms didn't have any locks

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
4.7
20th Jun 2009

Bad security, verry dirty, but also verry cheap. $15 / night is verry good so I stayed longer than I planed.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
Taipei Hostel, Taipei, Taiwan
5.3
18th Jul 2007

AC only after 11 PM in dormroom

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
Cloud 9 Backpackers Resort, Brisbane, Australia
5.0
17th May 2007

No clean sheets on the first night, Door locks didn't work, Toilets and showers wasn't what I would define as clean

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • andnils
  • Sweden,
  • Globetrotter
Hospedaje Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
5.0
10th Apr 2007

The hostel lies in the worst area of Panama city. If you go out in daylight the police stop you and say that its not a good area to be in, they even escort you to safer areas. They only have cold water, but you never no if you even gonna get that. Find a hostel in downtown instead.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.