Reviews: andnils

Location: Sweden, Gender: Male, Age: 33

Encore Express Hotel/Hostel

San Francisco, USA
74%

There is a music studio in the Hostel basement and they play very loud music until 11 pm. Otherwise a OK hostel.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (35 reviews)


71%

Good price and OK location. Had very few restrooms and showers.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (35 reviews)


The Wayfaring Buckeye Hostel

Columbus OH, USA
63%

Good hostel, ca 1 hr walk to downtown or 20 min by buss. Clean and nice hostel.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (35 reviews)


HI-Baltimore Hostel

Baltimore, USA
83%

Very good HI hostel close to the harbor.


71%

Good and clean hostel for the money. Is about 40 minutes away from Manhattan by bus and subway which I think is ok regarding the price.


71%

It's a good location on Hollywood Blvd. Relatively small rooms and the lack of power outlets made it sometimes hard to keep your electronics charged.


Route 66 Hostel

Albuquerque, USA
57%

It's a pretty worn down place without air condition (it is very hot in Albuquerque in the summer). A surprise when checking in is that you are supposed to do chores which I think is unreasonable that that is not mentioned before you arrive.


Nashville Downtown Hostel

Nashville, USA
89%

Good hostel in a great location. Security is good, in daytime you have to use your key card three times to get to your room. The thing I missed though where lockers in dorm or a common location with a lot of people.

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (35 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have lockers in community room but we are working on getting lockers for the rooms. We can confidently say we have one of the best community area where guest can cook, watch TV, play foosball, shoot pool, have drinks with friends and join in ont true Nashville jam sessions. It is not uncommon to find 20~50 people in our community room socializing any given night.

71%

It's a good and clean hostel with a good price for being in NYC. With the bus and subway i takes about 40 minutes to get to times square. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (35 reviews)


Mark Twain Hostel

Hartford, USA
43%

A bit to high price for what you get. Seemed like a house where a family lived and run a hostel. Facilities where pretty much run down.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (35 reviews)


Alaska Backpackers Inn

Anchorage, USA
57%

No customer comment


69%

Good price, not a very good hostel


74%

For being a Hostelling International hostel it was disappointing. It was OK but not great as I expected.

  • 27th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All hostels are different. Sometimes its hard to set expectations, because we dont have a "star rating" system like hotels do. Yes our building is old and our facilities too, but the main thing to keep in mind is that we are 2 blocks from the beach. There's a limit to the improvements we can make, simply because we could just turn it into a "budget hotel" and charge 3 to 4 times as much. We want to keep it a hostel, so backpackers have an affordable place to stay. Most guests realize this.

91%

Very good hostel. The only bad thing is the location.

  • 24th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Please come back and visit again soon. Take Care, Lydia, HI-Seattle AGM

Avenues Hostel

Salt Lake City, USA
57%

No customer comment

  • 19th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


HI - Madison Hostel

Madison, USA
83%

Only bad thing is that there where no air conditioning in the dorm room

  • 13th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


Chicago Getaway Hostel

Chicago, USA
74%

The showers and restrooms were a bit to far from the dorm during nighttime when you had to pass reception to get there.

  • 12th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Anders: Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate your comments. We hope to have you as our guest again in the future! Take care, Mat Meadows General Manager

46%

No good beds, no ac so it was really hot in the room and showers and bathroom wasn´t that great.


Hollywood Youth Hostel

Los Angeles, USA
57%

Security is bad, not enough lockers for everyone. Depending of where your room is you may or may not get any sleep (i.e. window facing the Hollywood blvd or not)

  • 18th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


33%

It is impossible to sleep during flight operations between 0500-2300 hrs. Staff is really annoying and will not leave you alone!

  • 15th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


53%

No customer comment

  • 29th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


The Indy Hostel

Indianapolis, USA
70%

No customer comment

  • 25th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


La Maison du Patriote

Montreal, Canada
83%

No customer comment

  • 20th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (35 reviews)


37%

No customer comment


Backpackers on Dundas

Toronto, Canada
73%

It's an OK hostel very close to the Greyhound bus station with a central location to most of Toronto's attractions


Washington DC Guesthouse

Washington DC, USA
40%

Located in not the best of neighborhood, very small hostel, not much space.


HI-Baltimore Hostel

Baltimore, USA
93%

One of the best hostels I stayed at, and it's close to everything.


67%

Terrible beds, the mattress was made of and you couldn't move without waking up the entire room. Didn't get very much sleep there.


53%

It´s in Brooklyn so you have to go by metro to get anywhere, otherwise it´s ok


AAE Banfield Portland

Portland, USA
57%

It's a Motel and not a hostel


67%

Verry expensive for a hostel, still the cheapest place in town... Restrooms didn't have any locks


47%

Bad security, verry dirty, but also verry cheap. $15 / night is verry good so I stayed longer than I planed.


Taipei Hostel

Taipei, Taiwan
53%

AC only after 11 PM in dormroom


Cloud 9 Backpackers Resort

Brisbane, Australia
50%

No clean sheets on the first night, Door locks didn't work, Toilets and showers wasn't what I would define as clean


Hospedaje Casco Viejo

Panama City, Panama
50%

The hostel lies in the worst area of Panama city. If you go out in daylight the police stop you and say that its not a good area to be in, they even escort you to safer areas. They only have cold water, but you never no if you even gonna get that. Find a hostel in downtown instead.