Hostelworld.com

Reviews: cactuschild

Location England, Gender Female, Age 40

  • cactuschild
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
8.9
19th Jul 2014

Fantastic location, hot showers, and incredibly helpful staff (we arrived during the road blockades, so no buses were running and the one guy helped us to find a shared jeep leaving for our destination, which was a lifesaver as my boyfriend had an onward flight booked)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Kokopelli Hostel Paracas, Paracas, Peru
9.1
14th Jun 2014

Great beachfront location, large outdoor and indoor chill-out areas, bar, pool, free breakfast and fast wifi (although it doesn't reach to the rooms). Only downside was that the place was having a bit of an overhaul when we visited so on-site restaurant was closed, many areas blocked off and smell of solvents everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Ekeko Hostel, Lima, Peru
9.7
2nd Apr 2014

I totally loved this hostel. It had a really friendly, laid back kinda vibe and all the staff went out of their way to help you. Really large kitchen, inside and outside common area, and felt very safe and secure there. My only complaint really was the breakfast, which was literally just bread and jam, and that wifi wasn't great in the bedroom. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Mapamundo, Barcelona, Spain
9.7
30th Jun 2013

From the moment I walked through the door I loved this place. It's a beautiful old building smack bang in the middle of the Gothic Quarter, and the staff are lovely and will go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. There's a fully equipped kitchen with free tea/coffee/sugar and other basics like pasta and rice, the whole place is spotlessly clean, there's a bright airy lounge area, balcony and excellent wifi. Can't fault the place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Pars Tailor's Hostel, Barcelona, Spain
8.6
28th Jun 2013

Although still relatively central, it's just outside the old town area of Barcelona, north of the Raval district near to the University. The hostel was clean, with a kitchen, seating area and plenty of toilets and showers (I never had to queue). My only complaint really was that the staff did not seem to be too interested in anything other than making sure we came to the nightly 'party' in the kitchen, they didn't even give us a map when we arrived, or offer any information to us.

View Property Reply

Dear Kiara , This is absolutely false. We are 24 hours in the recepcion giving direccions , maps , suggenstions for the security in the city .good tips for eating and......... there are free maps for all guests . you had to ask for a map or any other help duing 24 hours . If you didn,t want t share with nobody -else in the party , diners or more so this is not ur fault. hope had a good trip . we have the best locacion too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Cheers Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
9.4
19th Apr 2013

Totally loved this hostel. It's pretty small so has a really friendly, intimate feel to it. Staff are lovely, fun and always willing to help. The beds were large and comfy and the room was spacious and clean. There's an amazing bar upstairs with an awesome view of Aya Sofya mosque. The location is great. It's down a little side road (sokak) off the main tram line through Sultanamet, minutes from all the main attractions. Also breakfast was great and free tea/coffee available all day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Atlantis Hostel, Krakow, Poland
9.0
23rd Sep 2009

Great location, clean and airy rooms, plenty of info available at reception. My only criticism is that there is no common room or bar attached to the hostel, so no-where to socialise with other guests.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Condor 1, Prague, Czech Republic
8.3
3rd Jul 2009

Couldn't have asked for a better location! This hostel is literally a few minutes walk from the old town square, and there are bars/cafes/restaurants on the doorstep. The room was light and airy and clean, and the staff (when there were actually staff there!) were very helpful. Not really a ''hostel' atmosphere, more like having your own apartment. But if you don't mind that then I would thoroughly recommend Condor 1 :o)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Hostal AB**, Granada, Spain
7.7
29th Jan 2009

If you're heading up to the Sierra Nevadas this hostel is right around the corner from the bus stop to the station. It's also very clean, showers always hot and only 10 minute walk to Plaza Nueva, the centre of Granada.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
9.3
11th Nov 2008

Wicked hostel! Loads of charachter, the comfiest bed I've ever slept in, well equipped kitchen room, brilliant little bar area that also serves delicious food, and great hot showers! Location was fab too, about a 10 minute walk to St Michaels's church and the historical centre. Would defitely go back agaon and would thoroughly recommend it! :o)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
La Dolce Vita Apartment, Cinque Terre, Italy
9.7
10th Sep 2008

Great little apartment, clean and spacious with a fantastic view across Riomaggiore and the coastline. Is located smack bang in the middle of Riomaggiore's main street, and owner is really friendly and helpful. Would recommend :o)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Camping Fusina, Venice, Italy
9.3
6th Sep 2008

I loved this place! The location is excellent (only a 15/20 minute boat ride from Venice), and the food and drink is a lot cheaper on site than in Venice itself. The campsite is like a little university campus - everything you need on your doorstep. The staff are super friendly and brilliant fun, and it's cheap! Only 13 euros pp/pn for your own little cabin with Venice right on your doorstep! :o)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
B&B Rigoletto, Verona, Italy
10.0
3rd Sep 2008

Fantastic location (about 5 mins walk to the castle and a little further to the Roman Arena), the owner was really friendly, the breakfast was great, and a brilliant little balcony to sit out and eat in on. Would thoroughly recommend :o)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cactuschild
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Makuto Backpackers Hostel, Granada, Spain
8.7
28th Mar 2007

Fantastic little hostel - tucked away in the cobbled streets of the Albayzin but within 10 minutes walk to centre and all amenities. Friendly staff, great outdoor (and indoor) chill out areas, free internet, free breakfast and a large kitchen so you can do your own cooking if you like. Would definitely stay here again :o)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.