Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostal Eucalyptus, Potosi, Bolivia
9.4
10th Jun 2016

Warning, they don't keep hostelworld up to date, so you can't be sure you'll get the rooms you booked. However once the room farce was over, we had a very comfortable stay. The only heated rooms we found in all Bolivia, oh what a luxury! Showers were hot (takes 5-10 minutes to heat up if you're first in the morning). Staff very helpful, even arranged a custom tour of the mines because some of us didn't want to go underground. Breakfast was good (eggs cost extra). Would happily stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
The Backpack Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa
9.1
17th Aug 2013

This place would be fantastic in the summer, but unfortunately we were absolutely freezing! No heater and only a thin quilt and blanket. Hot water bottle was a nice touch, but still shivered through the night.

View Property Reply

Yes Andrew houses are built for our long hot summers and not our short winters. Usually we dont have such a bad time of it but it was desperate this year. More blankets are available from housekeeping - i am sorry you were not aware of that we do have extras. Hot water bottles have in the past been enough to warm the bed and make it cosy. Any green ideas for us? we are open to suggestions. Kind regards The Backpack Team

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
NgocThao GuestHouse, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
10.0
6th Jul 2010

This is a true guest house. Whole family lives on first two floors. You walk through their living room to get to rooms. They are all very welcoming, speak perfect english, gave us a glass of orange on arrival from the heat. On final day looked after our bags for us, and even offered us use of their shower before going to airport. easy to find, fair price, soft beds, good bathroom, really nothing more you could ask for :-)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Lub d Bangkok Silom, Bangkok, Thailand
9.0
2nd Jul 2010

If you want to stay away from Khaosan area for reasonable price, this is perfect. Top quality hostel, modern, clean and welcoming.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
St Christopher's Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland
8.0
19th Nov 2008

Good hostel, our dorm was a bit smelly though! And very cold because we had to have the window open to try and loose the smell!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja, Tokyo, Japan
9.0
7th Sep 2008

Excelent hostel, very friendly staff, clean comfortable, great communal space downstairs, good location, definatly worth the extra few pennies over the Smile hostel. When i come back to Tokyo in the spring, i will definatly stay here!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Khaosan Tokyo Smile, Tokyo, Japan
5.0
5th Sep 2008

Japanese bar man very rude! He was v pushy,asking us to buy more drinks evry few mins. When we had had enough for the evening we said 'no thank you', he replied 'thats not my problem'...Turns out that if you have no drink, you are kicked out. This is the hostels main communal space!! Paying guests should be entitled to be in there regardless of drink in hand! A hostel is meant to be a home from home when travelling. After staying here we moved to Ninja hostel. MUCH MUCH better!

View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. We regret about how you felt when you spent time at the bar while you were staying here. Actually, the bartender doesn't belong with Khaosan Tokyo Hostels since he owns the bar by himself, we cannot really say anything however, when you coma back again here next time, we hope that you would be able to be happy to stay here! Thank you very much! Michiko

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan), Guangzhou, China
8.3
31st Aug 2008

Great simple hostel, good location, very clean, very friendly, only stayed for a night before moving on to HK, but it was excelent.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
4.0
28th Aug 2008

Couldnt find this place, walked arround for ages in the heat, the address (on booking confirmation) was completely wrong, 90 Pantao Rd is actualy a bank, even the bank agreed that the address was theirs when we showed them the hostelworld print out, and had never heard of the hostel. Tried calling the hostel but no one ever answered. Ended up staying at the Bamboo, which was excelent.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
10.0
20th Aug 2008

Excelent hostel, Staff very friendly, room and bathroom were very clean, fast internet, dorm beds are massive! excelent pool table, good drink prices, food menu is very limited, but good food, and only 5 minutes walk to street with restaurants and bars.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Ge Sang Garden Inn, Shangri-la, China
7.0
14th Aug 2008

Food isnt very good, and at the time it said the bed (35yuan) included breakfast but it didnt. Shame as you can stay 3 minutes away for 15 yuan and pay 10 for an excelent breakfast. Very friendly and helpfull staff however, and a nice bar area.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
7.0
17th Jul 2008

Simple hostel, great for a short stop. No showers though, entire hostel has to share 4 small sinks! Tiny chinese girl on reception was awesome!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
9.0
19th May 2008

Excelent, my first stay in a hostel in Europe, and it was excelent! Drank a few too many 1euro beers though..!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
10.0
26th Jun 2007

Brilliant! Just Brilliant! their directions are a bit poor, but somone left some very good directions in the comments, use them!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Hotel Pallvi Palace, New Delhi, India
4.0
5th Jun 2007

Dirty room, rude staff, Overcharged me.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
9.3
1st Jun 2007

Perfect! Brilliant service, great food, and he arranged a guide for us, Mr. Bomb who was awesome!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.