Reviews: Anonymous

The Backpack Cape Town

Cape Town, South Africa

This place would be fantastic in the summer, but unfortunately we were absolutely freezing! No heater and only a thin quilt and blanket. Hot water bottle was a nice touch, but still shivered through the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes Andrew houses are built for our long hot summers and not our short winters. Usually we dont have such a bad time of it but it was desperate this year. More blankets are available from housekeeping - i am sorry you were not aware of that we do have extras. Hot water bottles have in the past been enough to warm the bed and make it cosy. Any green ideas for us? we are open to suggestions. Kind regards The Backpack Team

NgocThao GuestHouse

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

This is a true guest house. Whole family lives on first two floors. You walk through their living room to get to rooms. They are all very welcoming, speak perfect english, gave us a glass of orange on arrival from the heat. On final day looked after our bags for us, and even offered us use of their shower before going to airport. easy to find, fair price, soft beds, good bathroom, really nothing more you could ask for :-)

Lub d Bangkok Silom

Bangkok, Thailand

If you want to stay away from Khaosan area for reasonable price, this is perfect. Top quality hostel, modern, clean and welcoming.

St Christopher's Edinburgh

Edinburgh, Scotland

Good hostel, our dorm was a bit smelly though! And very cold because we had to have the window open to try and loose the smell!

Khaosan Tokyo Ninja

Tokyo, Japan

Excelent hostel, very friendly staff, clean comfortable, great communal space downstairs, good location, definatly worth the extra few pennies over the Smile hostel. When i come back to Tokyo in the spring, i will definatly stay here!

Khaosan Tokyo Smile

Tokyo, Japan

Japanese bar man very rude! He was v pushy,asking us to buy more drinks evry few mins. When we had had enough for the evening we said 'no thank you', he replied 'thats not my problem'...Turns out that if you have no drink, you are kicked out. This is the hostels main communal space!! Paying guests should be entitled to be in there regardless of drink in hand! A hostel is meant to be a home from home when travelling. After staying here we moved to Ninja hostel. MUCH MUCH better!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. We regret about how you felt when you spent time at the bar while you were staying here. Actually, the bartender doesn't belong with Khaosan Tokyo Hostels since he owns the bar by himself, we cannot really say anything however, when you coma back again here next time, we hope that you would be able to be happy to stay here! Thank you very much! Michiko

RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan)

Guangzhou, China

Great simple hostel, good location, very clean, very friendly, only stayed for a night before moving on to HK, but it was excelent.


Couldnt find this place, walked arround for ages in the heat, the address (on booking confirmation) was completely wrong, 90 Pantao Rd is actualy a bank, even the bank agreed that the address was theirs when we showed them the hostelworld print out, and had never heard of the hostel. Tried calling the hostel but no one ever answered. Ended up staying at the Bamboo, which was excelent.


Excelent hostel, Staff very friendly, room and bathroom were very clean, fast internet, dorm beds are massive! excelent pool table, good drink prices, food menu is very limited, but good food, and only 5 minutes walk to street with restaurants and bars.

Ge Sang Garden Inn

Shangri-la, China

Food isnt very good, and at the time it said the bed (35yuan) included breakfast but it didnt. Shame as you can stay 3 minutes away for 15 yuan and pay 10 for an excelent breakfast. Very friendly and helpfull staff however, and a nice bar area.


Simple hostel, great for a short stop. No showers though, entire hostel has to share 4 small sinks! Tiny chinese girl on reception was awesome!


Excelent, my first stay in a hostel in Europe, and it was excelent! Drank a few too many 1euro beers though..!


Brilliant! Just Brilliant! their directions are a bit poor, but somone left some very good directions in the comments, use them!

Hotel Pallvi Palace

New Delhi, India

Dirty room, rude staff, Overcharged me.


Perfect! Brilliant service, great food, and he arranged a guide for us, Mr. Bomb who was awesome!