Reviews: Anonymous

Angkor Wonder Hostel

Siem Reap, Cambodia
86%

A beautiful hostel close to Pub street but not as noisy. Mr. Why Not offers free pickup and is a delight to talk to. The hostel provides computers as well as cheaply prices beers and drinks. They also give out a guidebook to Angkor Wat which is really cool. Only issue is security a bit as the doors can be opened with the old deck of cards trick. So leave your valuables behind the counter.

  • 26th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


Old Canton Youth Hostel

Guangzhou, China
89%

The staff at this place have been the most beautiful we've seen throughout our journey through China. They are always helpful and keen to talk. Tsingtsau is defnitely the highlight of this place and always interested in what you are doing. Please have lunch or dinner with them as the food is spectacular. They are currently undergoing some renovation and if you have to believe the lower floors beautiful atmosphere the top floor will be something amazing as well.

  • 15th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


89%

Second time here and again it was good. Value for money is excellent, especially if you book through the website deals. Their restaurant food was of okay quality but try to keep to their recommended dishes. Pizza's are quite good as well.

  • 14th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse

Lijiang, China
91%

Mama Naxi is a sweet lady who runs an amazing guesthouse. While staying here you get the genuine feeling that you're actually staying at someones house. Don't forget to partake in the family dinner. While not only very cheap it has been one of the most delicious meals we've had during our time in China. They offer train and bus ticket booking services and daily trips to the Tiger Leaping Gorge and more.

  • 11th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


Tavern 47

Shangri-la, China
100%

Next to the main square this beautiful old building is now operated as a hostel by a Korean and his Naaxi wife. Always friendly to talk to and happy to share their tasty Yak cheese this is the place to be in Shangri-la. The prices for both accommodation and food are very reasonable. Try the Yak burger with cheese and bacon. It will be the best burger you've had in a long time. Also their Korean bbq is very tasty. Security is good, toilets are always clean and they provide good trekking advise.

  • 7th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello~! i'm jun. Thank you for enjoied my hostel and comment. Did you enjoy a tigergorge trek? i hope you make a good friendship with your friend forever.cheers guy!!

86%

Extremely good-value hostel. Their restaurant is top-notch with good and affordable food. Large lockers that fit your whole backpack were definitely a plus! Unfortunately the water was only on 3 hours in the morning and 3 hours in the evening. That really was unfortunate. But besides this small hindrance the place is located very nicely close to the lake, there are many ATM machines nearby and they organise and help you with all your travel needs throughout Yunnan.

  • 4th May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello: Thank you very much for your review and comments. We are so sorry about the water. Yunnan is real drought since 2008 (All you guys can check this with google.com). The goverment is try some way to save to use the water ,such as water using time limited for some area in KUNMING CITY. That is way some of the place has no water during the day ,some of them is OK for 24 hous (our sister hostel CLOUDLAND has 24 Hours water working ). Kind regards. KUNMING UPLAND YHA

365 Inn

Beijing, China
89%

Close to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and the subway this hostel is a great choice for a few days Beijing. Smack in the middle of all the action there are good places to eat. Security was a little bit of an issue as the dorms could not be locked. Also their system of security where you pay 1RMB every time you need a locker is a bit inconvenient. A precaution to the budget traveller: Don't eat at the restaurant. The food is of mediocre quality and very expensive.

  • 1st May 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


365 Inn

Beijing, China
89%

Close to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and the subway this hostel is a great choice for a few days Beijing. Smack in the middle of all the action there are good places to eat. Security was a little bit of an issue as the dorms could not be locked. Also their system of security where you pay 1RMB every time you need a locker is a bit inconvenient. A precaution to the budget traveller: Don't eat at the restaurant. The food is of mediocre quality and very expensive.

  • 30th Apr 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


365 Inn

Beijing, China
89%

Close to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and the subway this hostel is a great choice for a few days Beijing. Smack in the middle of all the action there are good places to eat. Security was a little bit of an issue as the dorms could not be locked. Also their system of security where you pay 1RMB every time you need a locker is a bit inconvenient. A precaution to the budget traveller: Don't eat at the restaurant. The food is of mediocre quality and very expensive.


Beijing Leo Courtyard

Beijing, China
63%

A very beautifully decorated hostel 10 minutes walk from Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. We booked through website but our booking was lost for some reason. We were very nicely offered a 4-person room for the two of us. Unfortunately we later got another guest in this room, and while understandable, they did not have a second key and expected us to work together with this new guest for neither of us being locked out. Rooms and facilities are also in dire need of some repairs.

  • 28th Apr 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


91%

It is understandable that even businessmen visit this place. The value for money is amazing. Hotel like rooms for a fraction of the price you would pay anywhere else. It has a good character but due to its size its sometimes a little difficult to get in touch with other travellers. Around the hostel there are nice and cheap places to eat and relatively close to the metro which will take you anywhere. The staff was great, they put us in a 2 person single for 20% off as they were renovating it.

  • 24th Apr 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


83%

Beautiful premises, very cheap beers and just a nice place to relax for a couple of days. Although it's a little out of the way it's close to the bus station which will get you everywhere. Just for info: Bus 1 goes to the railway station and bus 21 goes to the ferry to GulangYu. Internet didn't work too well and is very slow. So don't expect to make any Skype calls any time soon. The other facilities were perfect and showers really clean. Unfortunately only one staff member spoke good English

  • 22nd Apr 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


91%

Great hostel close to the Great Wall. Very beautiful and clean.

  • 18th Apr 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


Old Canton Youth Hostel

Guangzhou, China
91%

Great hostel close to the metro station. Very easy to get everywhere, some real good restaurants in the neighbourhood and a just a great atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and really nice to talk to. There is a great place to relax and chill out and the hostel offers Y20 meals served at 7pm. Good value! Unfortunately they did not know anything about any newspaper promotion but the beers were only Y10 so no loss :)

  • 15th Apr 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


City Plus Hostel

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
71%

One of the cheaper hostels in the Kowloon area but it shows in the quality. We were staying in a 4-bed family room and I don't think I've ever seen a room that reminded me more of Tetris. The toilets were clean enough however, there was air conditioning and it was smack in the middle of Kowloon. If you're on a tight budget this is a good place but for an additional €5 you could be staying at something way better.

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


Chillax Hostel

Moscow, Russia
63%

Most people at the hostel were Russians living there. There is nothing wrong with this per se, but unfortunately there weren't many people to talk to as not many people spoke English. The staff were very friendly and were very helpful when trying to find your way around Moscow. There was a small altercation with the downstairs neighbour but this was clearly not a frequent occurrence. The hostel is also quite stuffy and extremely hot. Very uncomfortable when trying to sleep.

  • 25th Mar 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. During your stay, we had a 60-40% split of foreigners to local guests - currently, as peak tourist season approaches, we have about 75% foreigners, and during the summer, its almost 100% of back-packers an budget tourists from all over the world... that said, if you want to experience Russia, and its culture - Russian people are kind of a part of that :-). We're sorry you didn't find other foreigners to socialize with - though even most of the local guests know English. Also, we hold daily events, and during the weekends we go out as a group. Maybe you didn't join us? :) Hopefully you will join us the next time you visit Moscow :)

Soul Kitchen

St Petersburg, Russia
100%

Definitely one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The location was amazing, right next to the Hermitage and St. Basils cathedral. A lot of time was taken to give the hostel it's characteristic look and the atmosphere was great. The central area where you could relax was very conducive to meeting new people and the staff were always friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English. If you plan to visit St. Petersburg, stay at this place.

  • 20th Mar 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


Roman Holidays Hostel

Rome, Italy
74%

They moved to a new location which was quite small. The common room was 2 couches in a very small space. It was good value however and very clean. The prior reviews are not accurate however.

  • 17th Feb 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)


Ocean Surf House Taghazout

Taghazout, Morocco
80%

The hostel was great. Unfortunately our apartment was quite dirty. This wasn't a real problem but it might deter some other future guests. Only real problem we found was Atlantis Surf Shop that I believe is closely affiliated with Ocean Surf House. Instead of the 80 Dirham we had to pay 100 Dirham for boards. Also after breaking a very old board after 1 day I had to pay all reparation costs. Also we then got screwed over by the taxi driver that very rudely wanted 200 Dirham. Not as agreed.

  • 12th Dec 2012
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (20 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at OceanSurfHouse. We are friends with Atlantis Surf Shop but we are not the same business, so we cannot control their prices. However they usually charge 120dh per day in peak season. With regards to the taxi driver, you had, unfortunately we cannot control the prices (nor the manners!) of everything(everyone) in Morocco and we are sorry to hear you had a problem. We have taken your comments on board regarding the apartment and will no longer be using this apartment. In recent months there has been some changes for the worse around that building. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again inshallah.

Hostel ROOM Rotterdam

Rotterdam, Netherlands
89%

Great hostel. Close to tram system and pretty much close to most awesome stuff you can do in Rotterdam. Great staff, breakfast was provided and the rooms were very clean. We were only there for one night but the staff were very helpful in explaining how to get to Ahoy where we needed to be. They also recommended a great restaurant. Will definitely return.