Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: ckurlicki

Location Canada, Gender Male, Age 48

  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
City Hostel Nürnberg, Nuremberg, Germany
9.1
19th May 2014

Good deal, wifi 5€/week, perfect kitchen with large fridge space, lot of lockers space. But a pub near by and i needed earplugs each night...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
A&O Aachen Hauptbahnhof, Aachen, Germany
10.0
17th Apr 2014

An hotel which is an hostel at the same time. Excellent concept, we see it more and more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
9.4
6th Dec 2013

Working computers, improvements since last time i went, hot water hot. A reliable place with reliable, stable prices, & usually booking availability. Among the best value for money in paris.

View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your nice comment Merry Xmas !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Antares Hostel, Nice, France
9.1
22nd Nov 2013

My best place in nice, especially because is a hotel-hostel, ie. With a lot of space. Excellent wifi, plus several computers, good kitchen, fridges. At 14€ a bed ill be back. Good idea for hotels to have a hostel section.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Meyerbeer Beach, Nice, France
9.4
17th Nov 2013

Very good hostel with rooms improved compared to last time. Good wifi. Price ok. Kitchen well equipped. Would be back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Pastoral, Nice, France
9.7
9th Nov 2013

Best deal in nice, provided you dont need to be close to the sea. Enough space,useful fridge in the room, improvements over the years (plugs over each bed, larger kitchen if i remember), good beds, working wifi even if not the best. I would be back with those good prices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Auberge du Voyageur, Arles, France
8.6
3rd Nov 2013

Very good place, best deal in town at that time. Was alone in a room for 3 so very quiet. Very comfortable bed. Good kitchen. Wifi not always working

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Dover Backpackers, Dover, England
8.3
10th Sep 2013

The kitchen has been improved since last time. Useful place to prepare the crossing of the channel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
8.9
23rd Aug 2013

Ok for backpackers. I was totally happy with my 7 nights there. Good deal, lot of space, outdoor spot to dry clothes, good kitchen (but the large fridge was so efficient it became a freezer). Rather far from port museum but close to dday museum and marines museum.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Bath Backpackers, Bath, England
9.1
5th Jul 2013

Very good place but mattresses too hard for my back. Better to avoid. Unfirtunately more and more hostels are using this type of ultra firm mattress.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Dover Backpackers, Dover, England
6.9
4th Jun 2013

Hotel criteria should not be applied to this place, explicitly for backpackers. useful place in dover if you need crossing the channel. has kitchen . Toilets clean, hot water hot . Nevertheless it is a pub plus rooms uptairs in a old house slowly in the process of being refurbished. cleaning of the rooms & dishes is left to the clients. So its a hostel but also a camping barn so to speak. I booked at 15£ but it is (fairly) advertised at 10£ outside the building.

View Property Reply

Lovely honest assessment, but you do the chance to stay in a building built in 1789 and we do have rooms at £8.95 show me anywhere else in Britain you can a bed for less than £9, with breakfast.....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
9.1
27th May 2013

Good deal for a rather expensive town. Good sleep, quiet. Good breakfast included. No kitchen, not even a microwave in a corner. Supermarket near. Wifi rotten (had to go to mcdo, 5 minutes biking.) i would be back with a similar deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab), Brussels, Belgium
8.0
17th May 2013

Pour notre dortoir: pas de casiers et toilettes à l'extérieur dans la cour par un escalier extérieur... Vieil endroit un peu déglingué mais ok pour routards. 21 € pour une valeur de 17. Limite d'âge. On trouve mieux en ville.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Max Hostel, Bonn, Germany
8.9
23rd Apr 2013

I ll be back. Good wifi, good kitchen, quiet. Just a little bit above my usual target prices but ok. Fridge in the kitchen is of minimal (really) size but no problem during my stay. Wifi not free if you dont use their restaurant but at 3 € for 24 full hours its ok for me (5 days = 15 hours in my case) Curtains are too thin so its difficult to sleep in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Rome City Hostel, Rome, Italy
9.7
11th Jan 2012

Im totally happy with my stay, it was ideal for me, quiet, kitchen, wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Dover Castle Hostel and Bar, London, England
9.7
26th Sep 2011

Very good place on the south of thames for anyone like me whose main interest is the imperial war museum, at 20 min. Once in 2 weeks there was a student party in the pub but apart from that i slept well. If the weather is hot the 4th floor becomes incomfortable despite the air circulating device.. FREE (really) wifi a big plus

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ckurlicki
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Clink261, London, England
10.0
16th Sep 2011

New nickel kitchen, beds look new. Wifi but not free. Quiet place though close to pancrass kings cross

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.