Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Gender: Male, Age: 31

Khaosan Tokyo Original

Tokyo, Japan
94%

This was my second hostel in Tokyo, and I would stay here again if I came back. Really well located, great staff and a pleasant place to hang out.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


80%

This hostel is an interesting experience. It is basically a capsule hotel, with small bedrooms. It's great if you want your own space and aren't claustrophobic! Amazing value, and although not greatly located, it is close to the station.

  • 23rd Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


A-yado Gion

Kyoto, Japan
100%

Really slick hostel, clean, well laid out and well located. Highly recommmend

  • 21st Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are really glad to hear about that. Also we are happy that you seemed to enjoy your stay here. When you come back to Kyoto, please stay here again!!

77%

The hostel is okay, with the staff really friendly and helpful, and a great little bar. They organise local meetups, so it's a great place to meet locals and indulge in Japanese culture. Atmosphere is a little flat though, with the hostel split over two buildings, and security is a bit of an issue, particularly in the apartment.

  • 19th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


80%

No customer comment

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Jordan Tower Hostel

Amman, Jordan
97%

Really good and comfortable hotel, well located right in downtown Amman. The breakfast here is amazing, and included in your room fee. Definitely recommend.

  • 28th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed our breakfast - which definitely is the best breakfast in all budget hotels in Jordan :) Hope you come back and enjoy it once again.

Saba'a Hotel

Petra, Jordan
94%

Really friendly hotel, with the staff very welcoming and attentive. The hotel is a short walk from Petra, making it a great base to have, and it has very comfortable couches, which is important after walking around Petra for 7 hours during the day!!!

  • 25th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Penguin Village

Dahab, Egypt
74%

Not overly impressed with Penguin. The setup is great, but the staff continually gave me inconsistent prices for tours and equipment hire, were not very knowledgeable about onward travel from Dahab, and came into our dorm rooms at 8:30AM to clean (before check-out). The WiFi also rarely worked, which the staff seemed non-plussed about. If the staff didn't have such bad attitudes, this place could be okay. Will stay elsewhere next time.

  • 20th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


100%

Terrific little oasis from the busy streets of Luxor. Maria and Sayeed run a very pleasant hostel, and are very friendly, helpful and accommodating to all your travel needs, The hostel itself has a great atmosphere, with a terrific roof terrace, ideal for having a beer at the end of the day. The breakfast is huge, and included! Would stay again for sure!

  • 18th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Yaseen Hotel

Aswan, Egypt
89%

Very convenient hotel, located very close to the train station. The staff are friendly, and very helpful. I had a tour and falluca ride ogranised for a very good price within 30 minutes of checking in! Would stay again.

  • 17th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Aussie Hostel

Cairo, Egypt
94%

Very good place to stay in Cairo, run by the friendly and helpful Hany, and all his staff. Hostel is clean, offers a very good breakfast, and is a short walk to Tahir Square and the Museum. It also has two nearby metro stations. I would stay again.

  • 12th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (71 reviews)


Hostel Oki Doki

Warsaw, Poland
100%

Really good hostel, one of the best I've stayed in. Great atmosphere, good facilities and great for socialising, specially if you're travelling solo. Definitely recommend!

  • 9th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


69%

No customer comment

  • 23rd Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Ostello Corniglia

Cinque Terre, Italy
77%

No customer comment

  • 21st Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Hostel Pastoral

Nice, France
83%

Friendly staff, nice and close to the station, highly recommend

  • 23rd Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
51%

Staff were too slow, absolutely no ability to multi-task, beds were assigned to the wrong people, and the general atmosphere was poor. It is a new hostel however, and can only improve, and I sincerely hope they have and will.

  • 27th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


KEX Hostel

Reykjavik, Iceland
100%

Terrific hostel with a fantastic atmosphere, outstanding facilities and tremendous staff. Amazing bar, located well, and just generally a pleasant place to hang out. One of the very best hostels I have stayed in, and I've been to a few in my time!

  • 6th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Sleep in Heaven

Copenhagen, Denmark
86%

Really good hostel, loses a bit of atmosphere due to the amount they have spread out, but still probably the best option. Would stay there again

  • 3rd Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


100%

Excellent hostel, run by friendly and very helpful staff. There is a great open and welcoming atmosphere in the hostel, making it a great place to say when travelling solo. It has a great family feel to it, and is extremely well located in the centre of the city, and in particular, right near the big bars and clubs. Stayed in a few different hostels in TA, and highly recommend you choose this one.

  • 30th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Port Inn

Haifa, Israel
80%

The staff at the hostel are great, but the hostel itself lacks a decent common room, and is not the best environment for meeting other travellers, and the kitchen can only accomodate one person at a time, meaning if you are planning to cook, you'll be lining up for a while. There are also extra costs for linen, and breakfast is not included, which is a real shame.

  • 27th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


80%

Charming building, and quite clean. I was the only person staying in my 8 bed dorm, so was quiet, but a pleasant place to stay none-the-less.

  • 26th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


New Palm Hostel

Jerusalem, Israel
83%

The hostel is very well located right in the Muslim quarter, meaning that on Shabbat you won't have any issues finding shops open, and it is across the road from the Old town. The hostel is a little run down, and rough around the edges, but the owner is nice, and the location trumps the negatives in anycase.

  • 25th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Jerusalem, Israel
80%

Abrahams has all the bells and whistles, no doubt about it, but it just doesn't have the atmosphere of a hostel, and seems more like I'm staying in a big hospital. The guests range from backpackers to families, and it was a little irritating sharing a common room with such a diverse group, and it felt more like I was in an airport waiting lounge than a hostel! Staff are excellent, and full of useful information, and the travel desk there is first rate,

  • 23rd Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear friend. Thank you for your comments. We are proud of serving various crowds and keeping the homely feeling while doing that. Our lounge hosts daily evening activities (Live music, movie night, games night, bar quiz and others) which appeal to both young at age and young at heart :)

83%

Really nice hostel, with a great rooftop deck to chill out on and meet other travellers. Great hostel if you are travelling solo, as it is a small hostel, and everyone hangs out together on the balcony around the shisher pipe! Bars are quite close as well, so don't let the industrial surrounds fool you, this place is a must.

  • 21st Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


The 3 Ducks

Paris, France
60%

No customer comment


100%

Excellent hostel, a fantastic place for solo travelers to meet people, and great place to chill out, wish I could have stayed longer. Only a short stay from the beach, or grab a scooter for $4 a day and go wherever you want without a worry in the world!

  • 22nd Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Castle House

Goa, India
97%

Very well run hotel, although the demographic of the other guests were of a lot older age than us. Has an extremely well priced bar, very friendly staff, and excellent food. It is also only a short walk from the main streets of Calangute. You can;t go wrong here, would recommend.

  • 19th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Hotel Royal Castle

Mumbai, India
60%

Hotel was sound enough, our room was fairly clean. Staff were not the most friendly I have encountered, and on arrival they send us up to our room, in which the hallway was being sprayed with some type of toxin (paint or pest control?). This should not have been taking place whilst guests were about.

  • 17th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear SIr, We thank you for visitng our hotel during your visit to Mumbai. We are sorry to note that you had experienced difficulty in the hallway because of some minor painting job being done. The process was only for 3 days and was totally unavoidable. The repair work was not carried out in any of the guests rooms. It is the policy of the hotel note to let out any rooms to the guests which are under repairs or need to be repaired. However we deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you. Looking forward to seeing you in the future and assuring you of our best services. Thanks & Regards Deepak Agarwal (Director)

Mewargarh Palace

Udaipur, India
93%

A new guest house, we found it a very pleasant stay. Owner is very helpful and friendly, they serve very good food, well priced, and only a 10 min work from the centre of town. Would highly recommend

  • 14th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Heaven Guest House

Jodhpur, India
100%

Fantastic, could not recommend this place enough, and was my favourite accomodation in India. Owners are super friendly and helpful, the food on the rooftop restaurant is well priced and very good, and the guest house is very well located in the shadow of the fort, and right in the thick of the action. Do yourself a favor and book your bed now!

  • 12th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


80%

Stayed here purely due to it's proximity to the train station, but ended up being a fairly clean and well run hotel. Has a decent restaurant attached as well. If you want a quick stay in Agra, then I would recommend this hotel, as it is easy access to and from the station.

  • 9th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your fair reviews

Maa Vaishno Guest House

Varanasi, India
87%

Very good value for money. The owner is very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We didn't do the tours he offered due to time constraints, but they received good feedback from fellow travellers. Beds are pretty hard, but the rooftop restaurant and excellent food make up for it easily. Would return.

  • 7th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Smyle Inn

New Delhi, India
67%

Was okay, clean and well located, its a basic hotel, no thrills. Was a bit noisy, but otherwise fine for a night or two

  • 5th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (71 reviews)


Hootananny Hostel

London, England
80%

Pretty nice setup, above a very iconic pub, that has live music. You get discounts on drinks as well. Its pretty well soundproofed, if you are not up for any bands too. It is ten minutes from Brixton tube, or the bus stops right outside. Has a comfortable loungeroom and good kitchen facilities. Would stay again.


London Backpackers

London, England
60%

Its an okay hostel, but its always cold there, there is always a wait to use the kitchen, and most annoying are the long termers there, who make it feel like you are in their space. It is next to the tube, but a long way out. I left a day early because of all this.


The Royal Bayswater Hostel

London, England
47%

This place is cheap, and well located, but the staff are rude and not helpful at all (especially the blond girl). They make you pay to use a locker that can easily be prised open, and the breakfast is a joke. Not somewhere to stay more than a night or two....if that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our policy is that every guest must pay for the locker at £1.50 per day , staff workunder hostel policy. Breakfast is tea, coffee, butter, jam, toast, cereal and orange juice.

90%

Good hostel, with everything you need. Very secure, and close to shops and the tube into the city. Would stay here again for sure, and probably will next week!


Wira Hostel

Hamburg, Germany
63%

Hostel is well located, but staff are quite unfriendly, they charge you for absolutely everything (which will even out in costs with other hostels in Hamburg), and the \'kitchen\' is just a microwave. They have disconnected the stove. Stay at one of the other hostels, it will cost you the same in the end...


Schlafmeile Hostel

Berlin, Germany
87%

Pretty neat hostel. In a nice location, and it is an excellent place to chill. Staff are very helpful and the attached cafe is great.


50%

This hostel is ridiculously oversized at 900 beds. Its basically a big money making machine, and is not a comfortable or well located place to stay. A lot of school groups stay here too, which makes it even worse. DONT DO IT!


St Christopher's Berlin

Berlin, Germany
87%

Good choice for Berlin, with a great bar attached, and friendly staff.


Baxpax Mitte Hostel

Berlin, Germany
60%

This could be a great hostel, the setup is fantastic. Its not though, the staff are most unfriendly and not helpful, and they made us wait 30min one day whilst they performed a staff changeover...all I wanted to do iss ask a question. They also mis-charged me, and generally dont have a clue what they are doing. They also are one of the very rare hostels that charges for WIFI. Heaps better options in Berlin


The Tent Munich

Munich, Germany
77%

Pretty fun place, but expect campsite conditions. Staff are friendly, though food and beer is a little overpriced. It is also a bit out of town. They do a big bonfire at night though, where you can easily meet heaps of people. I would stay again.


77%

Not a great hostel, but has all the bells and whistles and a good bar. they need more staff on the desk. Cant really go wrong here...


90%

Has all the bells and whistles, good bar, good security, imformative staff...no real complaints, though there is no where to truly chill out, but would definately stay again


57%

The hostel part of this business is not it\'s primary concern. Reception were unable to give me any useful information (nor anyone else in graz to be honest), there is no where comfortable to chill out, and it has a feel like your staying in a hospital. The free breakfast is good, thats about it though. Unfortunately its the only option in Graz for a hostel.


Hosteller

Bled, Slovenia
100%

Tom runs a pretty nice hostel here. He is super helpful and friendly and will ensure you have a good stay. It is a small walk out of town, which allows you to stay in the peaceful green and mountainous surounds of Bled, where you can chill in a hammock and really cool your jets. I will definately stay there again next visit...


Hostel & Guest House SA

Sarajevo, Bosnia And Herzegovina
87%

Great place, the family who run it are very friendly and welcoming. Only a short walk from town, and nice views. Only problem was the common room closes early, and you have to pay to leave luggage after checkout, but it is a small family place, so you can understand why this is the case.


Dubrovnik Youth Service

Dubrovnik, Croatia
87%

Not a hostel as such, but a pretty comfortable and clean house. Family who run it will pick you up from the bus station and are very nice. It is a hike to get back from the old town, but is only 15mins.


Hostel Albania

Tirana, Albania
100%

Fantastic hostel, in a very good building with plenty of outdoor space to chill in. Staff are very nice and accomodating, and location is perfect. A couple of hammocks strung up, and an internet connection and this place would be perfect...more so...


Zorbas Hotel

Athens, Greece
87%

Nice place, and easily found from the metro station. Has a great little bar where you easily meet other travellers. A bit out from the centre of town, but the metro is close enough, or you can just walk!


Youth Hostel Anna

Santorini, Greece
80%

Nice relaxing hostel. Close to the beach, though not too close to Fira, the main town. Hiring a scooter next door is a good and cheap way to get into town, and everywhere else as well. Except for Phil, dont expect service with a smile from the rest of the staff, not very friendly at all...


Soula Hotel

Naxos, Greece
90%

Great little place, literally a stones throw from the beach, in an little neighbourhood of iconic Greek houses. Dorms are in a seperate building and travellers easily meet each other on the patio. Wish I could have stayed longer, very chilled out place.


Atillas Getaway

Selcuk, Turkey
100%

Fantastic place, very chilled out, awesome little bar, and the staff are second to none and very friendly and helpful. I have stayed in over a hundred hostels, and this is one of the best I have been to yet...don\'t miss out on a great time, book in now!


Bayrams Treehouse

Olympos, Turkey
100%

Fantastic place where you can really relax and chill out, be it in a hammock, or a bunch of pillows under the orange trees. Breakfast and Dinner are included and are great feeds. My first dinner there included whole grilled trout, something you would pay big money for in a restaurant. It is close to the beach, and other bars are nearby if you want to mix it up. Staff are very friendly and helpful. You won\'t be dissapointed!


Orient Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
87%

Pretty sound place, though holds a lot of people, which takes away from the place a bit. I stayed in the 30 bed dorm, recommend a smaller one, as it gets cold in the big room! Great breakfast and roof top terrace, and close to everything you need. Be wary of the tours they do, they do good prices compared to others, but you will save a fortune doing up your own trip...less than half what they quote...but they are better than all the other travel agencies.


Aladdin Backpackers Odessa

Odessa, Ukraine
83%

Hostel had just moved when we got there, but it was still a pretty nice atmosphere, Andreas is a cool guy who will show you about the nightlife, and it is pretty centrally located. Make sure you take note of the change of address when you are emailed after your booking...I made the mistake of not doing this!


100%

This hostel has soul and charisma, and it is all driven by Dave, the owner, who\'s energy, and ability to get everyone involved makes this place lively and great fun! Free beer each night helps this of course! This is a great hostel for solo travellers, you cant help but meet great people, it is a great social atmosphere....stay here and I promise your 1-2 nights will become 4-5+...it is after all, the centre of the universe!


Friends Hostel Bucharest

Bucharest, Romania
47%

Had to wake up the staff member when I got in, dorm room was really stuffy and hot, like a sauna! It is close to the train station, and has a good kitchen and breakfast, but other than that its pretty basic...good for if you want to be near the train station for a quick getaway!


Rolling Stone Hostel

Brasov, Romania
67%

Its a nice building, but the staff (sisters) go 800 miles a minute and are always at you when you in the kitchen...if they relaxed a little, so would the atmosphere of the hostel


Retro Youth Hostel

Cluj Napoca, Romania
80%

It is a good hostel, and in a good location, but it lacks a common room. Also the lockers are super flimsy, and some of the beds are too close to each other. I was there when it was quiet so it was fine, but I would imagine there would be a major arm wrestle involved to get in the showers when fully booked!


Keleti Hostel

Budapest, Hungary
93%

Absolutely fantastic place to stay. Josef, the Hostel Manager, is a good man, very friendly and helpful, and immdediatly makes you feel at home. The hostel is small and comfortable, with a great loungeroom inbetween the dorm rooms, making it very easy to meet fellow guests. While it is a little out of the centre of town, there is a metro station right outside, and with the great price for a nights accomodation, getting a metro is quite affordable. There is also City Park 10 mins away.


Patio Hostel

Bratislava, Slovakia
83%

The common room is tucked away in the basement, and is not a very pleasant room to hang out. This effects the atmosphere a bit, meaning you rely on meeting people from your room. Staff are friendly, location is super and it is super secure. Wouldn\'t stay more than a night or two though, unless your with friends


77%

It is a very clean hostel, and very secure, but it feels like a big hotel, and doesn\'t have that backpacker vibe to it. They packed in a bunch of school kids during my stay, which made it noisy, the staff were a little snooty and impatient, and it is a little way out of town, so unless you like walking, you will be on the metro each day.


AQQ Hostel--old account

Krakow, Poland
90%

A good hostel, with a good setup. Kitchen is spacious, and lounge area is relaxing, and a good place to meet people. Showers were cold however, and staff ae sometimes hard to find. When found however, they are great and really helpful.


Hostel Yellow

Krakow, Poland
93%

Really great feel, lots of character. Realy good coomon area and kitchen area. Maybe needs one or two more showers, but no complaints really


St Christopher's Berlin

Berlin, Germany
63%

This place is pub before it is a hostel. The only common area is in the pub, and if you are not drinking and just wanting to chill out, you get stared down at by the staff. Wouldn\'t stay there again, so many better options in Berlin


Circus Hostel

Berlin, Germany
100%

Top Hostel. Really clean, really fun and conveniently located. Staff are friendly and helpful, and there is a wicked bar in the basement. Be careful not to miss out on Belin\'s nightlife though, the hostel bar can suck you in all night....not that it is a bad thing...


Helter Skelter Hostel

Berlin, Germany
87%

Hostel has everything you need, though kitchen is limited. Highly recommend it though, very good value for money


Bob's Youth Hostel

Amsterdam, Netherlands
70%

Good cheap option for Amsterdam. Was a pain having to extend our stay each morning, rather than being able to book in for a string of extra nights. It\'s a loud hostel and gets hectic, but I would probably stay there again


Equity Point Marrakech

Marrakech, Morocco
97%

Fantastic place, in a great building, and right near the centre of town. I don\'t think anything else in Marrakech compares with this one, book it!