Reviews: Fishmonger

Location: Australia, Gender: Female, Age: 38

Venezia Hotel

Miami, USA
29%

My bathroom had an unemptied bin. My bed had sand between the sheets & other people's hair and make up stains on the pillows. THIS HOTEL DOES NOT CHANGE THE SHEETS OR CLEAN THE BATHROOMS. Single rooms end up being over $100 after tax, and they add a mandatory 'safe' charge to your bill whether you use the safe or not. Also they take a deposit from you credit card after you book that is NOT the Hostelworld 10%.

  • 7th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


57%

Less a hostel than an island crowded with refugees (including people with kids & the middle aged cruise ship crowd) crammed together by the surrounding barrier of the high price of sleeping in M Beach. Like a factory (for printing money for the owners) you will line up & wait for everything (reception, breakfast). If your roomys all go to sleep at 8pm, there's no communal space that's not a darkened party area. Staff are disinterested / rude, it's really expensive & poor value - the norm in MB!

  • 3rd Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Mountain Hostels

Manizales, Colombia
66%

Don't be mislead! I booked a single room 'with private ensuite'. It doesn't exist. Mountain is TWO houses. The one with reception looks better. The other is crappy - you hear everything going on in the house through the walls (noisy Colomb. permanent residents), they don't clean on sundays so went the whole weekend with no toilet paper and bins overflowing with other people's excrement, my stuff was stolen from the fridge. Some staff helpful re organising trips, but manager rude. Overall depressing.

  • 23rd Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Black Sheep Hostel Medellin

Medellin, Colombia
100%

This place is marvellous. Owner Kelvin is fantastically friendly and helpful. There are plentiful common areas where socialising is easy, yet it's quiet enough to get a good sleep. The location couldn't be better - on a quiet and pleasant residential street, walking distance from the metro, a huge Exito supermarket (with attached Juan Valdez for emergency strong coffee) and Medellin's best restaurants and bars. Best hostel I've stayed in in six weeks in Colombia. Superbien!

  • 19th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Eco Hostal Yuluka

Santa Marta, Colombia
89%

This is a GREAT place to stay if you are visiting P. Tayrona. It's 2km from the entrance (walkable) and you are NOT stranded - there are heaps of restaurants on the highway outside the Parque entrance and frequent buses going past the door of the Hostal to get you there. Sleeping here is preferable to being cheek by jowl with a billion campers inside the park and the river across the road is nicer and more peaceful to swim in than the Parque beaches. Owner Nelly is gorgeous - inside and out.

  • 28th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Hostel Kasa Guane

Bucaramanga, Colombia
60%

More Guano than Guane. Roaring traffic, beeping horns, grinding gear boxes, multiple car alarms, shouting pedestrians, screaming kids, loud drunks carousing to duff duff in the bar upstairs. All of these sounds can be yours all at once. But wait - there's more! Choking traffic fumes to help your lung cancer along, and a rude dude who treats you as an inconvenience to his phone call when all you want to do is check the hell out.

  • 25th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you had such a negative experience when staying with us. While we appreciate your comments the reality of living in a fast growing, buzzing South American city is that sometimes it can get a bit noisy. The countryside around us is beautiful and great to explore and get away for the city if you feel it’s all getting too much. Sorry that you didn’t get a chance to enjoy it and apologies if you didn’t get the level of service you expected. We will use your feedback to improve.

Tinto Hostel

Barichara, Colombia
91%

This is a cute little hostel. It's best asset is sweet and friendly owner Javier, who goes out of his way to help his guests with info and advice, and to keep things scrupulously clean. 'Little' is an important descriptor though - the dorm rooms are tiny. I was alone in mine, so was perfectly comfortable. There is shelf and locker space for everybody, but if the rooms were full it would be quite a squeeze!

  • 23rd Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Capital View

Washington DC, USA
57%

This place is lacking the very basics. No soap or hand towels in the bathrooms. There's a big problem with a communal living space where it's hard just to wash your hands. Sinks are tiny - hard to clean teeth or wash face. No hooks / shelves to hang stuff / towels. No shoes allowed. What does this all mean? Your clothes / towel / socks / feet are condemned to soak up other people's dirty water & urine from the floor and you are going to rub yourself with it / wear it / take it to your bed. Yuck!

  • 17th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hey there, thanks for leaving such a lengthy review so that we can address it. We provide a free towel for every guest, so that everyone can have their own bathroom to use, rather than a shared towel in the bathroom. There are hooks for towels in every bathroom/shower area. While we do not allow shoes inside the house, starting before the end of January we will have free slippers for every guest. The floor is constantly cleaned; carpet is vacuumed daily and also professionally cleaned routinely, other surfaces are mopped daily. Thanks again, and we will make sure that all of the showers have shower gel, as we have noticed some of dispensers getting low!

Alexander House Charlottesville

Charlottesville, USA
100%

This is a magnificent "hostel" - it's simply a freestanding building of one huge room with 3 bunk beds, bathroom and little kitchen. The bottom bunks are doubles - my mattress was a futon, heaven! The place is beautifully decorated, spotless and cosy. Staff are great, you can walk to town, it's a blessing in an area with not many hostels, especially in winter. The hostel has it's own YouTube video, artily shot in summer, making me wish I could've been in Charlottesville to see trees with leaves!

  • 12th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


66%

The reviews rave about Ron. Apparently Ron is away - will he be back? Who knows, the current caretaker, Greg, was odd & prickly with me. The hostel interior looks like it has been crafted by someone (?Ron) who really cares about guests - ie rooms with knick-knacks, books, info, appliances, but with a family with a constantly coughing kid permanently residing next to my room & paper thin walls, the place had an atmosphere less hostel, more children's hospital. Staying elsewhere on return to D.C.

  • 7th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


80%

This place is a godsend to the out-of-season New England budget traveler. The good stuff: being right in the heart of maritime Newport, free street parking, bagging a small private attic room for the price of a dorm, free wifi, Newport mansion books to browse. The nothing is perfect: $29 a night doesn't get you much in the way of heating in late November - scarves and beanies necessary indoors - and shower water temperature best described as harrowing!

  • 26th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am not sure why this guest had a problem getting hot water for her shower - she never mentioned she was having a problem. Our showers are steamy hot at a moment's notice. We keep the temperature in the house around 60 degrees this time of the year.. By simply wearing an extra scarf or sweater each of our guests contribute to energy savings that enables us to keep the hostel open during the off-season. Thank you!.

Glenferrie Lodge

Sydney, Australia
83%

I stayed here the night before the Sydney marathon - for location it can't be beaten - 5 min walk from the start line, but also in cute and quiet Kirribilli - a stone's throw from Julia's house (the PM's residence in Sydney), the Harbour, the Bridge - unbelievably free and easy to find on street parking on weekends. The room itself was adequate but not flash, with communal bathroom. Adequate, but you are paying top dollar for location, location, location!

  • 15th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Irish Murphys Geelong

Geelong, Australia
74%

I stayed in a double room as a single person over easter with the accommodation situation in the area in dire straits, so I was grateful for a roof. If you are two people, 40 bucks each for what you get is probably not bad value. The good: manager Barbara is fantastic, the bed is clean and new and great. The bad: the shower has a clear screen facing the clear window - everyone in the street can see you naked! Feral communal toilet, a lot of noise from lounge room next door, and a lack of bins.

  • 6th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Melaluka Apartments

Noosa, Australia
77%

A single room for $30 is pretty unbeatable, and it's perfect if you have your own transport and are going to be out surfing or touristing all day. The room is very very basic, but it is a room in a house, so there is plenty of space to hang out in the common area downstairs, or outside, or at the beach or surf club across the road.

  • 12th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Classic Inn Budget Hotel

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
67%

Yes, staff are lovely (most Malysians are) & the place is clean, BUT the hotel is located behind a mall - there is so much noise from mega-industrial air-con outside that it's impossible to open your window. Due to this, and humidity, my room stank of mold, was tiny, and copped more noise from inside as it was at the top of the stairs that everyone used night and day to get to their rooms. AND even though I paid 10% deposit on HW, they threatened to "release" my room if I didnt arrive by 1800.

  • 29th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


City YMCA, London

London, England
70%

The bottom line is you get your own room for £30 in central London with a tube station over the road, which is hard to beat. It's a lottery whether you get a back facing (a peaceful park) or street facing (noisy) room, and on which floor (the higher, the better the view) and whether or not yr bed will have bedbugs. BUT, rubbish things: rude disinterested staff, overrun with v loud Spanish students, shit internet in reception only, cleaners come when u r asleep & won't leave!

  • 7th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


100%

The third time I have stayed here this summer - I got an east facing room this time. From the 16th floor I could see the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, The Shard, city builldings including The Gherkin, all the way out to Canary Wharf, and the BT Tower. I doubt there is another hotel in London that gives such extraordinary views, and certainly not for a double digit price. This place is superb and sublime.

  • 29th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Royal Mile Backpackers

Edinburgh, Scotland
73%

A fairly small, and typically cramped, hostel... No room to swing a cat, but perfectly ok if you need a place to crash following suffering the misfortune of being stuck in Edinburgh for the night, or the double misfortune of being stuck in Edinburgh during festival time. Being on the Royal Mile, this place could not be more central to the action - at this time of year you will have to fight your way to the hostel through a forest of flyer-handing-out show touts.

  • 23rd Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Victoria Hall II

Manchester, England
87%

This place is close to the hospitals and universities, but a good half hour's walk away from the centre of town (there are buses). It was also infuriating to gain access to initially, as Vic Hall II is not signed, and Vic Hall's reception is never open, even during the times on the door that it says it should be, necessitating a phone call to the caretaker - really annoying when you have no phone and there are no phone boxes or shops about. Other that that, fantastic - quiet, clean, good value.

  • 19th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


47%

This is not a hostel for travellers, it is a repository for large school groups. I booked one bed in one room for a week, but after three days was told I would have to move twice in my remaining four nights, or else share the room with a large group of under 15 year olds. The place is constantly overrun with large, loud, inconsiderate groups of children, and if you are an independent traveller, you will suffer. Some staff members are extremely rude. I will never stay here again.

  • 7th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your review, there are a few things that we want to clear up. Normally when we take group bookings they go through our group manager who seperates them from regular travellers. The group in your room was a large group that booked individually online so we had no opportunity to reallocate their bookings. For your comfort we gave you the option to upgrade your room for the remainder of your stay. As this was not what you desired we gave you a full refund of your stay. It is unfortunate that you feel you cannot stay with us again as we pride ourselves on the friendly and comfortable environment we provide travellers. Kind regards, Alyse Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green.

100%

Single traveller heaven! This place ROCKS. The buliding is a tower block, thus the rooms have huge sweeping views of London. Baker St tube station (with it's 5 lines) is on the doorstep, but the location is so central you can walk to pretty much anywhere in London from here. Reception is open 24 hours a day. Contrary to what a previous person said, the rooms and bathrooms are not THAT small (if you are not hugely fat), and it's super quiet and secure. You can't do better for the price.

  • 4th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


80%

This hostel beats the pants off it's fellow in Swiss Cottage (better beds, loads more common area, a garden), would be a very pleasant place to stay, and would undoubtedly be backpacker paradise if it were not ruined by the fact it accepts coachloads of European high school children. When will hostels ever realise that travellers do not enjoy being forced to co-exist cheek by jowel with hoardes of 16 year olds constantly yelling, and making primate noises, at one another?

  • 19th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Santander Rent

Santander, Spain
60%

This is a flat that a woman lives in. She rents out a couple of rooms. The place has the feel of a Cuban casa particulare. It's clean and perfectly fine - there is even a view through the apartments blocks to Santander Bay, but the room doors dont have locks, and the address given on hostelworld is inadequate to find the place - even after I emailed asking for exact address, they only sent a pic of the building and I still had to ask in a bar. The flat is relatively far out of the centre.

  • 4th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Sur Hotel Sultanahmet

Istanbul, Turkey
87%

There is nothing flash about this place, but it is a cheap, clean and pleasant option in Sultanahmet - very well located to the major tourist sights of Istanbul, and the staff are especially friendly / helpful / fantastic.

  • 28th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Old Town Hostel

Tbilisi, Georgia
90%

Thıs ıs a brıllıant deal for sıngle travellers. After spendıng a nıght ın a way overprıced for what ıt was hotel ın Avlabarı, and another nıght ın a fılthy unpleasant 'homestay' on Marjanishvili, I was overjoyed to fınd the sıngle room ın Old Town Hostel. It was reasonably prıced, clean, spacıous, lıght, aıry and wıth a vıew and wıfı - that ıs, the room was excellent. The hostel ıs ın a great locatıon, and the staff are super frıendly and helpful. I thoroughly recommend thıs

  • 23rd Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Sabah Pansiyon

Antalya, Turkey
93%

This is a really lovely place to stay in Antalya. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accomodating. There is heaps of space - balconies and courtyards to hang out in. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. A tasty and filling breakfast is included. There is a bar and restaurant. 5 seconds down the road is a park with stunning views over the Med, and Sabah is otherwise very close to most of the rest of the stuff you would want to see and do in Antalya.

  • 7th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


53%

I booked a single room to be sure of having a cheap room during Primavera Sound. At 30 euros a night, it is more expensive than a pension, but the room was a broom cupboard open to the courtyard, therefore very noisy, and very hot - impossible to sleep day or night. The location is of the hostel is miserable - far from anywhere. The self-righteous cleaner would have you wait 20 minutes to get to reception / computers at peak hour while his floor dries! There is NO reason to stay at this place.

  • 25th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Home Youth Hostel

Valencia, Spain
60%

This hostel needs to decide whether it is indeed a hostel for "real travellers", as it bills itself, or a repository for school groups. The place was overrun by German teenagers on a school trip who completely took over the small common area. The building is convieniently built around a small central courtyard which seems to have been specially designed to carry noise. There are no bunks here, but still no room to swing a cat, and if you want to get in the bathroom anywhere near 8am, forget it!

  • 9th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Bilbao Akelarre Hostel

Bilbao, Spain
77%

Funky and friendly with good kitchen / communal area and reasonable bathrooms, this place is let down by being a bit far away - over the river on the opposite side of the city from the old town - and by it's flimsy budget bunks, which mean you will be shaken awake every time the person above or below you turns over. The only reason to stay here would be to meet others, or as a first night to crash if arriving late, as there are pensions in the centre offering private rooms for the same price.

  • 7th Mar 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


70%

This place could be awesome - gorgeous building, large attractive common area, curtains across bunks for privacy, clean and pretty secure with all of the swipe card access doors, but is COMPLETELY RUINED and rendered UNBEARABLE by the hordes of European teenagers that come and stay here by the busloads on school trips. It was impossible to be anywhere in the place without being subjected to large insufferable noisy groups milling about, shouting and making animal noises at each other.

  • 6th Mar 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Ashton House Hostel

Manchester, England
77%

This place opened earlier this year, and the staff seem keen for it to be a sucess, but you get the feeling that they have no background in hotels / hostels and may take some time to get things right - like the showers, which are supposed to be their selling point. NOTE: YOU CANNOT ENJOY AN AWESOMELY PRESSURED HOT SHOWER THAT HAS A GLASS DOOR SO EVERYONE ELSE IN THE BATHROOM CAN SEE YOU NAKED AND WASHING YOUR NETHER REGIONS! Unfathomably stupid! Get shower curtains outside the glass doors, guys!

  • 4th Mar 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Astor Victoria

London, England
77%

Typical London hostel with not enough room to swing a cat, but they make a big effort to keep the place clean. An adequate place to sleep, with fantastic proximity to Victoria.

  • 7th Feb 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


Jambo Inn

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
80%

This hotel is a totally fine place to stay when you are coming to or going from Dar. It's not flash, but it is clean, it has a good restaurant attached, and it is extremely convenient to Kisutu bus stand, from which Kilimanjaro and Dar Express buses come and go from and to Moshi and Arusha. I stayed here based on Hostel World reviews saying that it is an acceptable and convenient place to sleep, and I think it is.

  • 13th Dec 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (34 reviews)


90%

Overcrowded. First time in more than 40 countries over 12 years of travelling I have ever had to sleep with backpack on bed due to not an inch of floor space. Very small communal area which gets very crowded too. Otherwise great hostel in great hostel chain in Japan.