Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Australia, Gender Male, Age 29

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
6.0
11th Dec 2014

Staff are rarely there. There's meant to be someone there 1100-1400 but I found no one will be there until past 1200. The hostel expects you to let then know your arrival time (eg 9pm) but if your flight is delayed and you arrive at 11pm... You will need to find somewhere else to sleep! This is a problem for travelers who do not have access to wifi / a phone to contact the hostel. People who give this place over 70% must have stayed in really terrible hostels. It's expensive for what you get.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel
10.0
6th Dec 2014

Excellent. Extremely well organised hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Florentine Backpackers Hostel, Tel Aviv, Israel
10.0
4th Dec 2014

Fantastic! Best hostel in Tel Aviv. I stayed at this hostel (Florentine) and the Chef Hostel while I was in Tel Aviv and this hostel was much better. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Saba'a Hotel, Petra, Jordan
7.4
2nd Dec 2014

Good hostel in terms of location and staff but the dorm room was freezing when I was there in early December.

View Property Reply

Hi, glad you were mostly happy. Sorry you found it a bit cold. In early December the temps were still between 19-23C in the day and the lowest at night was 10C which is usually fine. Electric heaters are really expensive to run and so I tend to only put them on once the temps go below 15C or if someone asks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sydney Hostel, Amman, Jordan
7.7
1st Dec 2014

Good location. Cheap.

View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback. Glad you like the place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica, Los Angeles, USA
5.1
20th May 2014

A terrible hostel in a good location. There are lots of hidden fees at this hostel and there is no atmosphere whatsoever. In over 200 hostels I've seen, this is one of the worst. How this place gets a rating above 60% is beyond me. Stay elsewhere.

View Property Reply

I'm sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. I can assure you that we do not have hidden fees. We are a membership organization and it states on the website when you book the following: Hostelling International Non-Members Please note that if you are a non-member that a small additional fee (surcharge) must be paid on arrival at the property

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Cranky Croc Hostel, Bogota, Colombia
7.1
19th May 2014

Average hostel with squeaky floors and doors but nice showers. There is a decent cafe in the hostel where you can buy breakfast and dinner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Revolution, Quito, Ecuador
6.3
18th May 2014

Very average hostel. Recommend staying elsewhere. I don't have anything positive to say about the place.

View Property Reply

I am sorry we could not live up to your expectations. Having plenty of hot water, clean facilities, a comfortable bed, high speed internet, well equipped clean kitchen, helpful staff and opportunity to meet other backpackers might not be anything positive to you. I hope it helps others when deciding where to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Galapagos Best Home Stay, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
8.0
9th May 2014

Nice place but a 15-20min walk from town (or a $1 taxi ride if you can get one). Kevin, the owner, is very nice and helpful. Rooms are big and clean with aircon and cooking facilities if you are on a tight budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Manso Boutique Guesthouse, Guayaquil, Ecuador
8.3
8th May 2014

Good hostel in an average city. If you must stay in guayaquil - this is a nice place. Clean, safe, good location and staff... The facilities and atmosphere let it down.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Milhouse Hostel Hipo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
7.7
4th May 2014

Decent hostel... if you want to party with gringos! There was no kitchen and a frustrating system of one key per room, which means handing the key into reception before you go out and checking at reception before you go to your room. This is made difficult by a busy reception (too bad if you are in a rush) and by idiots who tell you the key is upstairs when it actually is with reception.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Terrazas Estoril, Buenos Aires, Argentina
7.1
29th Apr 2014

Alright hostel. Staff here have no idea what they are doing or where things are- it really lets the place down.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mango Chill, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
9.4
27th Apr 2014

Good hostel in a small town. The staff here are informative and helpful. Atmosphere depends on who is there at the time but the dinners are good... Even though the breakfast is a little weird!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Discovery Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
10.0
20th Apr 2014

Amazing hostel. It's not a big hostel nor a party hostel but still very social. Great location, secure, incredible staff... It's an award winning hostel for a reason.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mambembe Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
8.9
19th Apr 2014

Good hostel with great staff in a very good location (in terms of being close to Lapa). Not enough bathrooms for the number of people- there were always long waits to use the bathrooms.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your review you are working on fixing this problem!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal CasArte Takubamba, Sucre, Bolivia
8.3
8th Apr 2014

Good hostel but not a social atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Arthy's Guesthouse, La Paz, Bolivia
7.4
3rd Apr 2014

A guesthouse (as the name suggests) - not a hostel. No atmosphere, no activities etc... Recommend staying at adventure brew hostel 100m up the road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
VIP House, Cusco, Peru
6.9
25th Mar 2014

The private room we stayed in was very dusty and the hot water was only ever luke-warm at best! Apart from that, it was a nice hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel, Medellin, Colombia
10.0
20th Mar 2014

The best hostel I stayed at in Colombia and one of the best I have stayed at in the world. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy, good showers, good atmosphere, excellent location - good cafés and bars around, close to a supermarket and great staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Media Luna Hostel, Cartagena, Colombia
10.0
19th Mar 2014

Great place - heaps of fun!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, Cartagena, Colombia
10.0
16th Mar 2014

Cool hostel - I really enjoyed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers House, Nha Trang, Vietnam
9.3
26th Nov 2010

Great place to stay if you are looking for fun in Nha Trang... Aussies are everywhere!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
BackHome Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
9.3
23rd Nov 2010

The only place to stay in KL... but avoid KL as a city if you can. It is a stopover city for many airlines - especially air asia

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Saigon Mini Hotel, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.3
20th Nov 2010

Great place to stay - big clean rooms, great free breakfast, very helpful with tours... very highly recommended.

View Property Reply

You cannot imagine that how happy we are to learn your satisfaction with our service. It is really a big reward given. We knew that some percents belonging to the FUN factor which you did not rate so high. Please help us to learn how to improve it. Thank you very much in advance for the advise :) truly do hope you are always well over there, and hope to welcome you back soon in future. Yours sincerely.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Y Loft, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
9.7
17th Nov 2010

Can't fault this place. Big clean rooms with tv, great shower, comfortable beds, wifi... can't go wrong! hong kong is an expensive city but this is definitely value for money.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
10.0
16th Nov 2010

Amazing hostel. our twin room was HUGE! best hostel we stayed at in China.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7.3
11th Nov 2010

Good enough hostel. Our bathroom stank really badly and had heaps of flies. The hostel staff also mark up taxi rides 33% that they book to take commission which is very annoying. they take advantage of travelers who are in a rush to get to an airport early. disappointing.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.3
9th Nov 2010

Excellent. Cheap. Clean. Great service. more like a hotel than a hostel.

View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you so much for choosing our hostel on the Hostelworld site, and for your wonderful compliments. All are greatly appreciated by the staff here, and mean a lot to us. We really hope that you had a great time here, and a great time in Shanghai ~ the pearl of the east! :) Really hope to see you again, with kind regards from all the staff here at City Central International Hostel :]

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.0
6th Nov 2010

great hostel. recommend it highly.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Heaven Guest House, Jodhpur, India
10.0
5th Nov 2010

great place! highly recommend it!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Island Hotel Bali, Kuta, Indonesia
10.0
5th Nov 2010

good hostel. clean, good character.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Travellers Inn, Singapore, Singapore
10.0
4th Nov 2010

good hostel. recommend it.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
BackHome Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
10.0
3rd Nov 2010

GReat hostel if you must stay in KL... I advise you go somehwere else, but if you must spend a night in KL, this is the best place to be!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
BackHome Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
10.0
16th Nov 2009

Great hostel. I hate Kuala Lumpur, but this hostel is good if you must stop over in KL!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Yellow, Rome, Italy
8.3
23rd Oct 2008

Good location. Average hostel on the whole, but very good for Rome or Italy in general.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
PLUS Florence, Florence, Italy
8.3
21st Oct 2008

best hostel in florence

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Shelter Jordan, Amsterdam, Netherlands
6.3
15th Oct 2008

Got what i paid for!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Abigails Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
4.0
11th Oct 2008

THE WORST HOSTEL I'VE STAYED AT IN 5 MONTHS... filthy rooms, shower, kitchen etc... DO NOT STAY HERE.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Village, London, England
9.7
25th Sep 2008

Great hostel! stay here!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Balmers Hostel, Interlaken, Switzerland
9.7
20th Sep 2008

When you check out a wizard with a pet eagle takes you downstairs and makes you pay in 7cent pieces and drink a bucket of cream before you can leave... just kidding... this is actually occured upstairs.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
8.0
14th Sep 2008

I probably had the best time here out of anyone

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Majdas (former Majdas Rooms), Mostar, Bosnia And Herzegovina
10.0
24th Aug 2008

STAY HERE!!! IN 3 MONTHS TRAVEL THIS HAS BEEN THE BEST HOSTEL IVE STAYED AT. IF YOU ARE COMING TO MOSTAR YOU MUST STAY HERE. I WOULD PERSONALLY COME TO MOSTAR JUST TO STAY AT THIS HOSTEL.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Far Out Camping, Ios, Greece
8.7
12th Jul 2008

Hi, i\'m Alan Webb and I\'m a model, you know what I mean? And I do my little turn on the catwalk. Yeah on the catwalk. And i\'m too sexy for this place, too sexy for this place. I just love my own face.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
9.0
28th Jun 2008

staff could\'ve been a bit more friendly but apart from that it was a good hostel

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria,
  • Globetrotter
Rising Cock Party Hostel, Lagos, Portugal
10.0
26th Jun 2008

easily one of the best places i\'ve stayed! i will be back for sure!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Rising Cock Party Hostel, Lagos, Portugal
10.0
25th Jun 2008

THIS PLACE WAS AMAZING!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
9.3
28th May 2008

good for what you pay for

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.