Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Age: 27
51%

A terrible hostel in a good location. There are lots of hidden fees at this hostel and there is no atmosphere whatsoever. In over 200 hostels I've seen, this is one of the worst. How this place gets a rating above 60% is beyond me. Stay elsewhere.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. I can assure you that we do not have hidden fees. We are a membership organization and it states on the website when you book the following: Hostelling International Non-Members Please note that if you are a non-member that a small additional fee (surcharge) must be paid on arrival at the property

The Cranky Croc Hostel

Bogota, Colombia
71%

Average hostel with squeaky floors and doors but nice showers. There is a decent cafe in the hostel where you can buy breakfast and dinner.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)


Hostel Revolution

Quito, Ecuador
63%

Very average hostel. Recommend staying elsewhere. I don't have anything positive to say about the place.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry we could not live up to your expectations. Having plenty of hot water, clean facilities, a comfortable bed, high speed internet, well equipped clean kitchen, helpful staff and opportunity to meet other backpackers might not be anything positive to you. I hope it helps others when deciding where to stay.

Galapagos Best Home Stay

Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
80%

Nice place but a 15-20min walk from town (or a $1 taxi ride if you can get one). Kevin, the owner, is very nice and helpful. Rooms are big and clean with aircon and cooking facilities if you are on a tight budget.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)


Manso Boutique Guesthouse

Guayaquil, Ecuador
83%

Good hostel in an average city. If you must stay in guayaquil - this is a nice place. Clean, safe, good location and staff... The facilities and atmosphere let it down.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)


Milhouse Hipo

Buenos Aires, Argentina
77%

Decent hostel... if you want to party with gringos! There was no kitchen and a frustrating system of one key per room, which means handing the key into reception before you go out and checking at reception before you go to your room. This is made difficult by a busy reception (too bad if you are in a rush) and by idiots who tell you the key is upstairs when it actually is with reception.

  • 4th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)


Terrazas Estoril

Buenos Aires, Argentina
71%

Alright hostel. Staff here have no idea what they are doing or where things are- it really lets the place down.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)


Mango Chill

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
94%

Good hostel in a small town. The staff here are informative and helpful. Atmosphere depends on who is there at the time but the dinners are good... Even though the breakfast is a little weird!

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)


Discovery Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
100%

Amazing hostel. It's not a big hostel nor a party hostel but still very social. Great location, secure, incredible staff... It's an award winning hostel for a reason.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)


Mambembe Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
89%

Good hostel with great staff in a very good location (in terms of being close to Lapa). Not enough bathrooms for the number of people- there were always long waits to use the bathrooms.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review you are working on fixing this problem!

Hostal CasArte Takubamba

Sucre, Bolivia
83%

Good hostel but not a social atmosphere.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)


Arthy's Guesthouse

La Paz, Bolivia
74%

A guesthouse (as the name suggests) - not a hostel. No atmosphere, no activities etc... Recommend staying at adventure brew hostel 100m up the road.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)


Happy Buddha Boutique Hostal

Medellin, Colombia
100%

The best hostel I stayed at in Colombia and one of the best I have stayed at in the world. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy, good showers, good atmosphere, excellent location - good caf├ęs and bars around, close to a supermarket and great staff.

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (41 reviews)


Backpackers House

Nha Trang, Vietnam
93%

Great place to stay if you are looking for fun in Nha Trang... Aussies are everywhere!

  • 26th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


BackHome Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
93%

The only place to stay in KL... but avoid KL as a city if you can. It is a stopover city for many airlines - especially air asia

  • 23rd Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


Saigon Mini Hotel

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
93%

Great place to stay - big clean rooms, great free breakfast, very helpful with tours... very highly recommended.

  • 20th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You cannot imagine that how happy we are to learn your satisfaction with our service. It is really a big reward given. We knew that some percents belonging to the FUN factor which you did not rate so high. Please help us to learn how to improve it. Thank you very much in advance for the advise :) truly do hope you are always well over there, and hope to welcome you back soon in future. Yours sincerely.

Y-Loft

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
97%

Can't fault this place. Big clean rooms with tv, great shower, comfortable beds, wifi... can't go wrong! hong kong is an expensive city but this is definitely value for money.

  • 17th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


100%

Amazing hostel. our twin room was HUGE! best hostel we stayed at in China.

  • 16th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


73%

Good enough hostel. Our bathroom stank really badly and had heaps of flies. The hostel staff also mark up taxi rides 33% that they book to take commission which is very annoying. they take advantage of travelers who are in a rush to get to an airport early. disappointing.

  • 11th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


93%

Excellent. Cheap. Clean. Great service. more like a hotel than a hostel.

  • 9th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for choosing our hostel on the Hostelworld site, and for your wonderful compliments. All are greatly appreciated by the staff here, and mean a lot to us. We really hope that you had a great time here, and a great time in Shanghai ~ the pearl of the east! :) Really hope to see you again, with kind regards from all the staff here at City Central International Hostel :]

90%

great hostel. recommend it highly.

  • 6th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


The Island Hotel Bali

Kuta, Indonesia
100%

good hostel. clean, good character.

  • 5th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


Heaven Guest House

Jodhpur, India
100%

great place! highly recommend it!

  • 5th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


Travellers Inn

Singapore, Singapore
100%

good hostel. recommend it.

  • 4th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


BackHome Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
100%

GReat hostel if you must stay in KL... I advise you go somehwere else, but if you must spend a night in KL, this is the best place to be!

  • 3rd Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


BackHome Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
100%

Great hostel. I hate Kuala Lumpur, but this hostel is good if you must stop over in KL!

  • 16th Nov 2009
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


The Yellow

Rome, Italy
83%

Good location. Average hostel on the whole, but very good for Rome or Italy in general.

  • 23rd Oct 2008
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (41 reviews)


PLUS Florence

Florence, Italy
83%

best hostel in florence


Shelter Jordan

Amsterdam, Netherlands
63%

Got what i paid for!


Abigails Hostel

Dublin, Ireland
40%

THE WORST HOSTEL I'VE STAYED AT IN 5 MONTHS... filthy rooms, shower, kitchen etc... DO NOT STAY HERE.


St Christopher's Village

London, England
97%

Great hostel! stay here!


Balmers Herberge

Interlaken, Switzerland
97%

When you check out a wizard with a pet eagle takes you downstairs and makes you pay in 7cent pieces and drink a bucket of cream before you can leave... just kidding... this is actually occured upstairs.


80%

I probably had the best time here out of anyone


Hostel Majdas (former Majdas Rooms)

Mostar, Bosnia And Herzegovina
100%

STAY HERE!!! IN 3 MONTHS TRAVEL THIS HAS BEEN THE BEST HOSTEL IVE STAYED AT. IF YOU ARE COMING TO MOSTAR YOU MUST STAY HERE. I WOULD PERSONALLY COME TO MOSTAR JUST TO STAY AT THIS HOSTEL.


Far Out Camping

Ios, Greece
87%

Hi, i\'m Alan Webb and I\'m a model, you know what I mean? And I do my little turn on the catwalk. Yeah on the catwalk. And i\'m too sexy for this place, too sexy for this place. I just love my own face.


90%

staff could\'ve been a bit more friendly but apart from that it was a good hostel


Rising Cock Party Hostel

Lagos, Portugal
100%

easily one of the best places i\'ve stayed! i will be back for sure!


Rising Cock Party Hostel

Lagos, Portugal
100%

THIS PLACE WAS AMAZING!


93%

good for what you pay for