Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous

Location New Zealand, Gender Female, Age 32

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
La Covacha Hostel, Salta, Argentina
7.1
26th Nov 2013

Pros: friendly staff who speak English, reliable wifi, good location not far from the main square. Cons: noisy room facing the street, lack of indoor common areas, not a good breakfast. Overall worth it to save a bit of money though as this seems one of the cheaper hostels in Salta.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Oasis Granada, Granada, Nicaragua
7.1
11th Jul 2013

Big, busy hostel, people of all ages staying there, yet the common areas arent really conducive to meeting people. The free water is great, but the kitchen is very difficult to cook in (poor lighting, queues for the stove). Curtains in private rooms are almost see through which bothered us. Queues for the bathrooms and showers in the morning. Location is handy for the supermarket and bus to Rivas. Pool is great on a hot day. I would stay somewhere different next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Casa Verde Santa Ana, Santa Ana, El Salvador
10.0
7th Jun 2013

The best hostel I've stayed in so far in Central America. Brilliant facilities - a great pool, spacious relaxing areas, 2 fully equipped kitchens (with juicers, coffee makers), plus free coffee. Close to supermarkets and the street markets. Big rooms and comfortable beds. Spotlessly clean. Carlos is a great host, he provides plenty of travel information and is very hospitable. We extended our stay by 2 nights because we liked the hostel so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Miguel Chiller's Lodge, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
7.1
26th May 2013

Great location, lovely hosts and delicious breakfasts! Bathrooms could be a little cleaner and were hard to see in. We wouldn't have considered cooking in the kitchen area as there were too many flies. We did see other locations offering breakfast for around the same price, so the value for money is on par with other hostels and hotels in San Pedro. Overall a pleasant stay.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your opinion.It will be necessary to know that the bathroom you were referring to was shut down temporal for renovation but you guys ignored the sign and kept using it.When you guys were here,it was about to start the heavy rainy season and there are always flies in the lake trying to migrate out of the region but now there are no more flies and we do not have control over mother nature's activities.Good news! we have just painted and renovated the whole building and bathrooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
O.X. Base Camp, Antigua, Guatemala
7.4
10th May 2013

Would recommend OX as a good place to stay if you are doing a tour with OX that starts early in the morning; good security with big lockers to use. Nice big kitchen and communal areas, and it is small which is good if you're not looking for a party hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
La Coperacha, Guatemala City, Guatemala
9.1
5th May 2013

Felt like a safe part of Guatemala City. Close to a good area with restaurants and shops, banks. Lucien was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about where to go, and how to get around. Breakfasts were delicious and the bathrooms were spotless; and the bed was comfortable. Would stay here again if we come back the Guatemala City.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Han Tang Inn Hostel, Xi'an, China
10.0
21st Jun 2012

Our favourite hostel in China, and one of the best I've ever stayed in anywhere. Staff were very helpful and friendly; the food excellent, the rooftop bar is great for relaxing and meeting people, pool table is a great addition. Location couldn't be better. Apparently the sister hostel, Han Tang House which is on the same street, is just as good or better according to others staying there. Great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Yangshuo Culture House, Yangshuo, China
9.4
13th Jun 2012

We loved staying here. Mr Wei made us instantly feel at home and he and his whole family were very good hosts. He helpled me practice my basic Chinese too. I recommend staying here, in a real Chinese suburban area as opposed to the noisy West Street. Still, it's only 10-15 mins walk away from the bars. Mr Wei also rented us some bikes and the hostel is a great place to bike to Dragon Bridge from. We were sad to leave the Yangshuo culture house and Yangshuo!

View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks a lot of your stay with us and we are very happy that you have had the great time with us,with all the best wishes and kind regards from the Yangshuo culture house! Wei

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel 104, New York, USA
4.7
15th May 2010

Wouldn't recommend this to single female travellers. Area is not safe to walk around at night by yourself. There is no access card/key of any sort, and anybody can access rooms which open straight from the elevator-anyone from outside or fellow guests. The roof of the shower caved in the first morning we were there from water leaking! One combined shower/toilet for 8+ females is not practical, neither is Breakfast from 9 - 10am only. Spend a bit more and stay somewhere else in New York!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand,
  • Avid Traveller
Flying Pig Uptown, Amsterdam, Netherlands
9.3
2nd May 2010

great fun hostel, staff were friendly and helpful, bathrooms clean and great showers. comfy beds. no complaints and would stay again

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Meyerbeer Beach, Nice, France
9.3
24th Jun 2009

Great staff, perfect location to trains/buses/the beach, and comfy beds. Would stay there again!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Antique Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
9.7
23rd Apr 2009

if breakfast was served a bit earlier than 8am it would have been great as i had an early start in the morning! otherwise i have no complaints and would stay again

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England,
  • Avid Traveller
Hotell Norrtull, Stockholm, Sweden
6.0
30th May 2008

very hot and stuffy, and dark. some air con would be good!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.