Reviews: Scotty123

Location: England, Gender: Male, Age: 26

Showbiz Inn at West Street

Yangshuo, China
91%

My second stay here. Great roof top bar and location. Close to the main street but far enough away to be quiet. Free laundry also and rooms are very clean. Only negative is the staff tend to hang out in the DVD corner making it difficult and awkward for paying guests to use. Overal a great place.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


100%

Fantastic stay. Immaculate double rooms and one of the best hostels I have stayed in during my time in China .

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was so great to know you enjoyed your staying at our hostel.Hope to see you again.Have a nice trip!

Leo Hostel

Beijing, China
71%

Not very cheap but a great location to stay in Beijing right by forbidden city. Food was ok however it was a little frustrating when numerous things on menu weren't available. Rooms need some upkeep as the double room wasnt very clean. Also I recommend training the staff to talk in lower voices as they were extremely loud right outside my room at 6am every morning.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your comments. We are very sorry, we apologize on behalf of our restaurant staff - they should tell you if something is not available (which is not often). We will remind our cleaning staff to keep quiet at all times of the day. See you next time! Regards, LH.

91%

Dorm room fine and reasonably price. A very very good hostel with a large bar area! Food average.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much! See you next time!

Lotus Lodge

Siem Reap, Cambodia
77%

One major negative: they ignored 6 emails about airport pickup and we were left at airport at 2am with no "free pickup." Not acceptable. They have also removed the free tuktuk rides to town which were a great idea due to the location being out of the town. Apart from this and overall pleasant stay. Staff were friendly and rooms/pool clean. Upkeep and service around pool could be improved but we enjoyed our 7 nights. I'd recommend if they can be bothered to honour their free airport pickups.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Touran Backpacker Hostel

Hangzhou, China
83%

Difficult to find once we arrived in Hangzhou but a staff member came to find us. A clean hostel with decent priced rooms and friendly staff. Very close to West Lake if that's what your looking for but a bus ride from downtown. Not many foreign guests during our stay and had a Chinese vibe which wasn't a problem. Only negative was the bikes at the hostel where in poor condition and 60RMB each per day is too expensive. No pool table despite website stating there was!

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your comment, we will fix our bike as soon as posible, we are very sorry for your inconvienentin fact we don't have pool table, we have already correct it on websites.

Wheat Hostel

Qingdao, China
34%

Very poorly run hostel. We stayed during the summer and they didn't have the correct room available despite us booking one and was downgraded to a poorer room. They refused to allow us use of the common room claiming the TV was broken to then say it wasn't and tried to charge us more to use it!! The staff were aggressive and rude when we asked to leave. We booked three nights and stayed none, demanded a refund and left. Do not stay here.

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Bohol Guesthouse

Loboc, Philippines
83%

Very clean traditional huts and had a great stay. Staff are also very good and you can rent their motorbikes. Very remote so excellent for a quite relaxing time away from the busier parts. Not to far from Chocolate Hills and the Tasiers so a good stop off. No wifi though but there is a very cheap internet cafe down the street.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Alexis Cliff Dive Resort Bohol

Panglao Island, Philippines
80%

Staff were great at this hotel and as it was far away from the main sights we were able to use their motorbike for free. The traditional huts were nice but this place is very remote so you might only stay here in a group. We were the only guests during our stay which was cool and you can jump off the cliff into the sea! Only drawback is there is little to do here and as its far out it needs more activities. No TV/DVD or Wii despite this sight saying there is one :(. But overall a great stay!

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Pink Manila Hostel

Manila, Philippines
100%

Very good.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Green Mango Inn

Manila, Philippines
54%

Staff were very friendly but the room was poor. Damn, very small and unclean. We only stayed for one night due to a late night flight but I would recommend staying somewhere else. We had little sleep from inconsiderate European visitors singing in the next room until 6am. This hostel is in serious need of renovation.

  • 29th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Showbiz Inn at West Street

Yangshuo, China
97%

Excellent hostel with helpful staff and great location right in the heart of the town. It is located right by the river and all the restaurants, bars , shops etc. One problem however is it is also very close to the clubs and can be noisy late at night. The view from out room wasn't great but the rooftop bar make up for this with stunning views of the mountains and river. Would stay here again when we are in Yangshou.

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Green Forest Hostel

Guilin, China
94%

Very well located near to the bus station and a good stop off before heading to Yangshuo. The staff are very helpful and speak good English. The double room we booked was good value for money. Very big and clean. We stayed here one night before heading off to Yangshuo. Drinks and food money all good prices and tasty!

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the positive feedback we're here at Guilin Greenforest hostel are very proud of our location l which is in the middle part of the one only main street of Guilin and only 10 minutes walk from the train station 2 minutes walk from the bus station. Whenever possible the staff is more then happy to show our guests the local area. Hope to see you again .

Han Tang Inn Hostel

Xi'an, China
100%

Staff were very helpful and the hostel was immaculately clean. By far the cleanest I've stayed in. We had a 6 bed private dorm and slept like a baby! Would recommend this hostel to everybody. Great vibe in the bar downstairs, reasonable priced drinks and a great rooftop terrace with games and activities. First Class.

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


60%

The staff were friendly at this hostel although our room was on the small side for the price. Once we found the hostel, which wasnt easy, we changed from a dorm to a twin room. The bathroom was very small and didnt have a seperate area for the shower. Making taking a shower difficult. There wasnt much atmosphere here as we saw little other guests there and it seemed to be mainly Chinese tourists there. We also recieved unpleasant bites from something in the bed :(.

  • 17th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


94%

My second stay here and its very good value for money, I've stayed in both the twin room and four bed dorm. The twin room was on the small side but perfectly ok for a couple of nights stay with a friend. The bar upstairs is good and sells cheap beer, although I would recommend eating elsewhere as the food is not great. The bar over the street (98 bar) is a great spot for cheap drinks close by. Location right by Tiananmen Sq is also excellent. Recommended!

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


AAE Krakow Hostel

Krakow, Poland
94%

Very good place to stay, five of us had our own private room and bathroom for good price! Very good location however isnt part of the party hostel and we were a little isolated from other travellers. Only negative point that the shower didnt not stay hot long enough. Overal very good and coming back in March!

  • 11th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (26 reviews)


The 4You Hostel Munich

Munich, Germany
100%

Fantastic hostel, one of the best iv stayed in. Bar was brilliant, staff and facilities very good. Stayed an extra night and would stay there every time im in Munich in future. Why stay anywhere else? Perfect location!

  • 17th Nov 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (26 reviews)


Barbara Apartments

Pula, Croatia
73%

Very big rooms and good value for money. However no staff around our whole stay and had to leave rent in cash in letterbox! reception rarley open. Not good enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You.

Hostel Lika

Zagreb, Croatia
100%

TrenItalia messed up our train so we arrived in Zagreb a day late and missed our booking. However Hostel Lika very helpful and even though they were full helped us find other accom and if we couldnt even offered us sofa if we were stuck! Great place and nice staff


Vesta Residence

Rome, Italy
60%

Broken, dangerous plug sockets hanging off wall. Very cold or VERY hot shower, staff hard to find and not all speak English, Location right by motorway...Very noisey all day. However good rates and very good size rooms. Easy to get to and find from city centre.


Hotel Il Papavero

Rome, Italy
70%

bad area esp at night. good staff and we had a huge room for 5 people just for us :)


Hotel Altaïr

Nice, France
70%

No cold water in tap in bathroom, broken shower. Good size bedrooms but no sheets or towels... extra cost. Overall plesant stay


Hotel Casa Mia

Milan, Italy
100%

very good clean rooms. helpful polite staff. would stay again.


Hostel Baccarat

Nice, France
90%

Very nice, rooms a bit small for cost but very pleasant hotel with excellent facilities. Kitchen, internet etc. Very nice staff, location ideal for train station. would recommend to others.