Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Scotty123

Location England, Gender Male, Age 28

  • Scotty123
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Keystone House Kings Cross, London, England
6.9
15th Jun 2016

Location was good but the 4 bed standard dorm was poor. Two sets of bunk beds that practically fill the entire room. No where near enough room for two people to easily move around, let alone four. Also the four bed dorm has limited plug sockets so three of us found it difficult to charge our phones. There are sockets by one bed but the only others are by the door, making it unsecure to charge valuable items over night. This should be reviewed by the hostel. Road traffic very load at night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Paraiso Travellers Hostel, Barcelona, Spain
9.7
5th Jul 2015

Very nice hostel in the centre of the city. Staff were helpful and the room and shared bathroom was very clean. No AC though and only has a fan. Got very hot during the night. Apart from that a great place and would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Jeju Hiking Inn, Jeju Island, South Korea
7.7
1st May 2015

Staff were great. Kind and helpful. The hostel itself is dated but has character and the rooms over looking the harbor are small but comfortable. It does need some serious renovation as many parts of the building are a little run down but overall it's a pleasant place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Chilli Bangkok, Bangkok, Thailand
7.7
17th Feb 2015

Not the great location down a hard to find dark alley but I must say the room was very clean and comfortable. Like the other reviews before the rooms are VERY VERY small and the bed pretty much fills the room, which is difficult with two people sharing. There is also pretty much nothing to do in the local area and we walked and walked before we found anywhere to eat, so it's a little out of the way from the more busier parts of town. The staff were great and very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Samui Beach Resort, Koh Samui, Thailand
7.7
7th Feb 2015

This hotel is located on Lamai beach, which is nice, however there are better. Cha Weng and Lamai are more lively so expect more people. Nice resort with pool and decent food...it won't blow you away like Thai food should but it fills a hole. The basic room as NO AC so beware as this was not clear to us before we booked, but wasn't a major issue. However the maids seem to have a phobia of returning things to the bar and by the end of the week we had bowls and glasses piling up...laziness!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Shenzhen Md Quality Hotel, Shenzhen, China
7.4
30th Sep 2014

Very honest name for a hotel... "Md Quality Hotel." It was exactly that. OK. Staff were pleasant enough on reception but their English wasn't great. The building looks average from the outside but the rooms are pretty good. Its very close to the airport if arriving late like we did. We stayed one night then took the long metro ride to the Hong Kong border. Convenient place to stay if you want to be near the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Yangshuo Showbiz Hostel, Yangshuo, China
9.1
8th Aug 2014

My second stay here. Great roof top bar and location. Close to the main street but far enough away to be quiet. Free laundry also and rooms are very clean. Only negative is the staff tend to hang out in the DVD corner making it difficult and awkward for paying guests to use. Overal a great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
10.0
4th Aug 2014

Fantastic stay. Immaculate double rooms and one of the best hostels I have stayed in during my time in China .

View Property Reply

It was so great to know you enjoyed your staying at our hostel.Hope to see you again.Have a nice trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.1
1st Aug 2014

Dorm room fine and reasonably price. A very very good hostel with a large bar area! Food average.

View Property Reply

Thank you very much! See you next time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Leo Hostel, Beijing, China
7.1
1st Aug 2014

Not very cheap but a great location to stay in Beijing right by forbidden city. Food was ok however it was a little frustrating when numerous things on menu weren't available. Rooms need some upkeep as the double room wasnt very clean. Also I recommend training the staff to talk in lower voices as they were extremely loud right outside my room at 6am every morning.

View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for your comments. We are very sorry, we apologize on behalf of our restaurant staff - they should tell you if something is not available (which is not often). We will remind our cleaning staff to keep quiet at all times of the day. See you next time! Regards, LH.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Lotus Lodge, Siem Reap, Cambodia
7.7
20th Jul 2014

One major negative: they ignored 6 emails about airport pickup and we were left at airport at 2am with no "free pickup." Not acceptable. They have also removed the free tuktuk rides to town which were a great idea due to the location being out of the town. Apart from this and overall pleasant stay. Staff were friendly and rooms/pool clean. Upkeep and service around pool could be improved but we enjoyed our 7 nights. I'd recommend if they can be bothered to honour their free airport pickups.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Touran Backpacker Hostel, Hangzhou, China
8.3
30th Mar 2014

Difficult to find once we arrived in Hangzhou but a staff member came to find us. A clean hostel with decent priced rooms and friendly staff. Very close to West Lake if that's what your looking for but a bus ride from downtown. Not many foreign guests during our stay and had a Chinese vibe which wasn't a problem. Only negative was the bikes at the hostel where in poor condition and 60RMB each per day is too expensive. No pool table despite website stating there was!

View Property Reply

thank you for your comment, we will fix our bike as soon as posible, we are very sorry for your inconvienentin fact we don't have pool table, we have already correct it on websites.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wheat Hostel, Qingdao, China
3.4
31st Jan 2014

Very poorly run hostel. We stayed during the summer and they didn't have the correct room available despite us booking one and was downgraded to a poorer room. They refused to allow us use of the common room claiming the TV was broken to then say it wasn't and tried to charge us more to use it!! The staff were aggressive and rude when we asked to leave. We booked three nights and stayed none, demanded a refund and left. Do not stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bohol Guesthouse, Loboc, Philippines
8.3
4th Oct 2013

Very clean traditional huts and had a great stay. Staff are also very good and you can rent their motorbikes. Very remote so excellent for a quite relaxing time away from the busier parts. Not to far from Chocolate Hills and the Tasiers so a good stop off. No wifi though but there is a very cheap internet cafe down the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Alexis Cliff Dive Resort Bohol, Panglao Island, Philippines
8.0
1st Oct 2013

Staff were great at this hotel and as it was far away from the main sights we were able to use their motorbike for free. The traditional huts were nice but this place is very remote so you might only stay here in a group. We were the only guests during our stay which was cool and you can jump off the cliff into the sea! Only drawback is there is little to do here and as its far out it needs more activities. No TV/DVD or Wii despite this sight saying there is one :(. But overall a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pink Manila Hostel, Manila, Philippines
10.0
30th Sep 2013

Very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Green Mango Inn, Manila, Philippines
5.4
29th Sep 2013

Staff were very friendly but the room was poor. Damn, very small and unclean. We only stayed for one night due to a late night flight but I would recommend staying somewhere else. We had little sleep from inconsiderate European visitors singing in the next room until 6am. This hostel is in serious need of renovation.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Yangshuo Showbiz Hostel, Yangshuo, China
9.7
17th Sep 2013

Excellent hostel with helpful staff and great location right in the heart of the town. It is located right by the river and all the restaurants, bars , shops etc. One problem however is it is also very close to the clubs and can be noisy late at night. The view from out room wasn't great but the rooftop bar make up for this with stunning views of the mountains and river. Would stay here again when we are in Yangshou.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.4
16th Sep 2013

Very well located near to the bus station and a good stop off before heading to Yangshuo. The staff are very helpful and speak good English. The double room we booked was good value for money. Very big and clean. We stayed here one night before heading off to Yangshuo. Drinks and food money all good prices and tasty!

View Property Reply

thanks for the positive feedback we're here at Guilin Greenforest hostel are very proud of our location l which is in the middle part of the one only main street of Guilin and only 10 minutes walk from the train station 2 minutes walk from the bus station. Whenever possible the staff is more then happy to show our guests the local area. Hope to see you again .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Han Tang Inn Hostel, Xi'an, China
10.0
12th Aug 2013

Staff were very helpful and the hostel was immaculately clean. By far the cleanest I've stayed in. We had a 6 bed private dorm and slept like a baby! Would recommend this hostel to everybody. Great vibe in the bar downstairs, reasonable priced drinks and a great rooftop terrace with games and activities. First Class.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
6.0
17th Jun 2013

The staff were friendly at this hostel although our room was on the small side for the price. Once we found the hostel, which wasnt easy, we changed from a dorm to a twin room. The bathroom was very small and didnt have a seperate area for the shower. Making taking a shower difficult. There wasnt much atmosphere here as we saw little other guests there and it seemed to be mainly Chinese tourists there. We also recieved unpleasant bites from something in the bed :(.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.4
10th Jun 2013

My second stay here and its very good value for money, I've stayed in both the twin room and four bed dorm. The twin room was on the small side but perfectly ok for a couple of nights stay with a friend. The bar upstairs is good and sells cheap beer, although I would recommend eating elsewhere as the food is not great. The bar over the street (98 bar) is a great spot for cheap drinks close by. Location right by Tiananmen Sq is also excellent. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
AAE Krakow Hostel, Krakow, Poland
9.4
11th Jan 2012

Very good place to stay, five of us had our own private room and bathroom for good price! Very good location however isnt part of the party hostel and we were a little isolated from other travellers. Only negative point that the shower didnt not stay hot long enough. Overal very good and coming back in March!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The 4You Hostel Munich, Munich, Germany
10.0
17th Nov 2011

Fantastic hostel, one of the best iv stayed in. Bar was brilliant, staff and facilities very good. Stayed an extra night and would stay there every time im in Munich in future. Why stay anywhere else? Perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Barbara Apartments, Pula, Croatia
7.3
12th Jul 2008

Very big rooms and good value for money. However no staff around our whole stay and had to leave rent in cash in letterbox! reception rarley open. Not good enough.

View Property Reply

Thank You.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Lika, Zagreb, Croatia
10.0
9th Jul 2008

TrenItalia messed up our train so we arrived in Zagreb a day late and missed our booking. However Hostel Lika very helpful and even though they were full helped us find other accom and if we couldnt even offered us sofa if we were stuck! Great place and nice staff

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Vesta Residence, Rome, Italy
6.0
6th Jul 2008

Broken, dangerous plug sockets hanging off wall. Very cold or VERY hot shower, staff hard to find and not all speak English, Location right by motorway...Very noisey all day. However good rates and very good size rooms. Easy to get to and find from city centre.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Il Papavero, Rome, Italy
7.0
5th Jul 2008

bad area esp at night. good staff and we had a huge room for 5 people just for us :)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Altaïr, Nice, France
7.0
4th Jul 2008

No cold water in tap in bathroom, broken shower. Good size bedrooms but no sheets or towels... extra cost. Overall plesant stay

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Casa Mia, Milan, Italy
10.0
4th Jul 2008

very good clean rooms. helpful polite staff. would stay again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotty123
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Baccarat, Nice, France
9.0
30th Jun 2008

Very nice, rooms a bit small for cost but very pleasant hotel with excellent facilities. Kitchen, internet etc. Very nice staff, location ideal for train station. would recommend to others.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.