Reviews: olso40889153

New York Budget Inn

New York, USA

Very very slow check in and check out. It took about 20 to 30 minutes for each. They also charge $5 per bag to store it for a couple of hours. Staff quite rude. Hostel is cheap compared to other places in nyc. Use it only as a place to shower and sleep. Not a good place to meet others. Very safe, clean and secure though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! Please note the there are a min of 2-3 people at the front desk. As we're use to being 100% occupied, we value all of our guests time. You were 1 of 10 people in your group and you all had your own reservation. It did take time Luggage storage is an option for our guests and a convenient option and choise for guests looking to maximize on their stay. We have daily activity in our hostel and outside to meet other guests.


Very friendly staff. However the hostel was gross and dingy and did not have AC.

Sleeping Giant Guesthouse

Thunder Bay, Canada

Amazing hostel. Great owner who has passion for work. Gail volunteered to take us out see some black bears in the evening and we were lucky enough to see two massive bears feasting. Don't pass this hostel up.

Breakers Hotel & Hostel

New Plymouth, New Zealand

Bathroom light didn't work. Above a noisy bar. Refrigerator in room was moldy and didn't work either. Run down. Look elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I thank you for your comments, without feedback from our customers we wouldnt know how to improve our facilities. Management at Breakers agree, that some work is required and a plan has been put in place to have this hostel improved. However, The State Hotel Complex is one of the oldest buildings in New Plymouth, so is rich and full of character and couldnt be any closer to the town. I hope that shoud you visit again you will notice a vast improvement to the venue. Thank you for staying with us, I am sorry that your visit was not up to your expectation. Regards Management

Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Wellington, New Zealand

Great hostel, very secure, nice and cozy.

Matai Lodges

Ohakune, New Zealand

Worst lodging I have stayed in to date. Very expensive, plus the cashier miscalculated so I paid twenty dollars extra. Plus the heaters work periodically. Which is fine in the summer, but not IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WINTER. Also you have to walk outside everytime you want to go to the bathroom so you will freeze to death. Not very good. Spend the extra money and stay in a motel when in Ohakune.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We currently own two lodges, and in Summer only the YHA lodge gets used which does not involve a walk outside to the bathroom and has central heating. In the Winter the backlodge gets used due to high demand, which is the one you would have stayed in, and involves the short walk to the bathroom. The reason the heaters are on a timer is due to people going off for the day and leaving them on full all day long and hence costly for us and uncomfortably hot for other people staying in that room. We apolergise for the extra cost you may have incurred, although had you come to reception and explained it to us or asked to see the manager i am sure we would have been able to refund that.