Hostelworld.com

Reviews: barbaramartin745080



  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Lisboa Central Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
8.6
27th Aug 2015

We were very satisfied with our 2-nights stay at the hostel. It is easily accessible by metro, although not located too close to the central part of the city. The staff is extremely helpful and nice, the breakfast is great, with home-made pancakes on demand, everything is clean thanks to the zeal of the staff. In our twin room, the towels were changed every day, like in a hotel. Very nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Poets Inn, Porto, Portugal
9.7
26th Aug 2015

We loved the Poets' Inn in Porto, we had a very beautiful, large room called after Anais Nin, and the whole house was simply enchanting, with very good facilities, in a vintage renovated old house in a very central but also quiet location. We stayed just one night but would love to come back. The breakfast was also delicious, with home-made cakes, delicious jams, etc. Nice lounge and small terrace, books to borrow, very cool writer-themed decoration... Loved it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
7.1
11th Aug 2014

The hostel is very conveniently located near the train station (convenient for Transsiberian travellers, for instance). The hostel is made up of 2 nicely-furbished apartments and, as is often the case for Russian hostels, for the same reason it has only one bathroom and one toilet in each apartment. The hostel boss, Ilya, is a nice fellow, the kind who parties with his guests but not necessarily the most reliable. Still, for one night it's cheap and fine enough if you're not too demanding.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Youthhostel Leissigen, Leissigen, Switzerland
9.4
7th Jun 2014

This hostel is one of the best I've been to, the location and character of the house and garden alone are worth the trip! It it absolutely lovely around Spring-Summer with the lake nearby, beautiful sunsets on the hostel's cute beach and delicious breakfast on the terrace or the lawn! The hostel also offers quite cheap and tasty suppers for guests. The Interlaken and Oberland region is full of amazing hiking opportunities and gorgeous sights (all accessible by public transportation).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Annex Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
9.7
18th Jan 2014

Excellent hostel (mor elike a hotel, actually), we loved everything about it: the convenient location near the station, the comfortable room, the nice and helpful staff, and the wonderful buffet breakfast!! Admittedly, the walls were quite thin, but as the hostel was not busy, we weren't bothered by the noise. And the showers are not exactly ideal, but still, it's excellent value for the price we paid (and for Denmark especially)! We'll definitely visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Iris Lyon, Lyon, France
10.0
12th Oct 2013

Excellent hotel, very good price and value for the money. It is very well-located in the heart of the city, near cafés and bars, close to the opera, and yet it wasn't too noisy at night. The room was large and comfortable. Teh breakfast (not included int he price) was also good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Greenpoint YMCA, New York, USA
9.4
2nd Aug 2013

This is probably the best deal for a hostel in NYC, especially for a young couple not willing to pay too much but looking for a little bit of privacy, as you can get a double room for a ridiculously low price. And the facilities are great, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the location also very good, just one block from the subway, and you can been in Manhattan in 20 minutes. I will definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI Truro, Truro, USA
8.6
31st Jul 2013

I stayed there for the second time and, as the first time, I just loved it!! The location is absolutely fabulous, right by the sea in a lovely place! And the atmosphere in the hostel is wonderful, extremely friendly and nice. The co-ed dormitory, where we stayed, was not the best place to get good sleep, as it sleeps 14 and, as such dormitories are, tends to be a bit noisy, although everything is done to keep the noise at a minimum level. But overall, it is a unique place to stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe, South Lake Tahoe, USA
6.0
20th Jul 2013

This motel is part of the network "motel 6", it is average in its prices and comfort. The location is not great, but if you have a car, you can drive to the lake in a few minutes, and there is a small pool in the motel. The cleanliness was not perfect.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Encore Express Hotel/Hostel, San Francisco, USA
6.9
12th Jul 2013

The hostel is nice overall, but there is a serious lack of bathrooms, which implies queuing to take showers and go to the restrooms... For a big city, it is quite a good hostel, though, and the location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hatters on Newton Street, Manchester, England
9.1
14th Jun 2013

Excellent hostel! The location is perfect, close to the center and the train station, the breakfast is excellent and the staff very nice. The bed wasn't very comfortable and there were no curtains on the windows, which made it hard to sleep in the morning, but the hostel was very quiet at night, which is rare. The showers are good, and although the toilets are antique, the overall level of cleanliness was quite good. And there's free wifi in the lobby!

View Property Reply

Hello there and thank you for leaving a review for us. We don't put curtains on the window on purpose so that all our guest can wake up early in the morning, go out and enjoy all that Manchester has to offer and also to make the most out of all our facilities and activities :)) We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you soon again at Hatters. Thank you!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Westgate Hotel, Oxford, England
8.3
6th Apr 2013

The B&B was great, we were alone in a separate house, the staff was very friendly and the breakfast delicious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Abercorn House Hostel, London, England
9.4
4th Apr 2013

Very good hostel if you are staying in a private room and are looking for something like a hotel - in our case we felt like we almost had the value of a hotel with hostel prices! But not exactly the place to meet people... The showers are the only downside: there is no place to hang clothes or a towel and the water temperature cannot be regulated. Otherwise, this was an excellent stay! The small shop at the reception is great, I could even buy a plug adaptor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Big Fish Budapest Hostel, Budapest, Hungary
10.0
10th Feb 2013

I had an excellent at this hostel, it is small and cozy, but the dormitory for 8 was very big, with indivual beds (each with a side table, lamp and small shelf) and a mezzanine. Only the street was abit loud at night, but this is what you get from being very centrall-located! The free wifi and free tea was also great, the common room was a very friendly and lively space, but where you can also do some quiet activites like reading. The staff was very friendly. I definitely will visit again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Villaruben, Kamyanets Podilski, Ukraine
9.7
9th Jun 2012

Wonderful hostel with the most charming staff in the whole of Ukraine! We arrived late from a long day of driving, and not only were we greeted with a charming smile and kind words despite our late arrival, but we found a very comfortable room where we rested admirably!! The breakfast was absolutely delicious et we clearly regretted not being able to spend more than one night, we could have easily stayed there for a whole week! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Doors Hostel, Bucharest, Romania
10.0
19th May 2012

This hostel deserves only praises, it's undoubtedly among the top 5 I've been to. The staff is nice and helpful, the location is great (very close to the lively Piata Unirii but in a very quiet neighborhood full of trees and old houses) and the decoration and style of the hostel is very cool!! The hostel also has a great garden where to chill out. And the prices are very moderate!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Yalta Summer Hostel, Yalta, Ukraine
7.0
5th Sep 2011

This is a small, very well-located hostel that is in fact constituted of a small regular flat. The staff (one lady) is nice, but don't expect any tourist information from her (there are guidebooks at disposal, though). The bathroom is rather Soviet-style...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Koleso, Bakhchisaray, Ukraine
9.3
2nd Sep 2011

I recommend this wonderful hostel to everyone. If you enjoy being in the middle of a beautiful nature, welcomed by a very friendly, family-like staff, if you like tasty home-cooked meals and sharing with fellow travellers around a table, you'll definitely enjoy your stay at Koleso! Stay at least two nights, that's my advice, that's what I did, and I wish I'd had yet another night!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • Switzerland,
  • Globetrotter
HI San Francisco - City Center, San Francisco, USA
9.0
20th Aug 2010

Excellent hostel, from all points of view, I totally recommend it.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • France,
  • Globetrotter
Ostello Venezia, Venice, Italy
4.3
20th Jul 2009

It's far too expensive, especially if you take into account that the hostel's location (on an island) almost obliges you to buy a boat pass (18 euros for 24 hours). The breakfast is really the only nice thing. Moreover, the hostel is very big (16 people in a room) and it feels like it's pure tourist industry, no one gives you advice as to what to visit...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • France,
  • Globetrotter
Zeppelin Hostel, Ljubljana, Slovenia
10.0
19th Jul 2009

The hostel is just great, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the location is good, close to the station and old town, there is free internet and a nice breakfast, the furniture is new ... I definitely advise you to choose this hostel! :-)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • France,
  • Globetrotter
Silver Central Hostel, Split, Croatia
9.0
18th Jul 2009

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • France,
  • Globetrotter
Begovic Boarding House, Dubrovnik, Croatia
8.7
16th Jul 2009

the hostel is far from the old town but the location is very pleasant, with a beach not far and almost view on the sea... the rooms are really nice, with an access to a terrace where it is lovely to sit at all times of the day...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • France,
  • Globetrotter
Montenegro Hostel, Kotor, Montenegro
8.3
14th Jul 2009

The location is great, right in the middle of the old town and the rooms are nice. But if you sleep in the main part of the hostel (the hostel is actually constituted of different flats spread in the old town), you'd better not try to sleep too early, because there's a very loud bar on the first floor... but overall, the hostel is really good value.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • France,
  • Globetrotter
Westend Backpackers, Glasgow, Scotland
5.0
9th Sep 2008

The kitchen is dirty, incredibly small and the cooking ware almost non-existent (there are four forks for I don't know how many people, including two plastic ones!). The location isn't good either and the overall atmosphere quite gloomy. Fortunately, the staff is really nice and the beds are clean. Plus there's free internet and breakfast included!

View Property Reply

The kitchen was dirty because the people using it do not clean up after themselves. The cleaning staff clean it everyday. The shortage of utensils is because the people staying in the hostel think its okay to help themselves to it. We have to purchase new utensils every week.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • barbaramartin745080
  • France,
  • Globetrotter
Willy Wallace Hostel, Stirling, Scotland
9.7
7th Sep 2008

the greatest hostel I've been in in Scotland so far! I recommend it to everyone!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.