Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Gender: Female, Age: 27

Panizo Hostel

Madrid, Spain
80%

Clean and in a good area if you just need a place to sleep. But no other facilities could make it hard for real backpackers if staying longer.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Ostello Tramonti

Cinque Terre, Italy
60%

Good: free shuttle if you stay 3 nights or more. Clean sheets, a fridge and microwave, some very helpful staff. Bad: Beds feel like they are going to fall over, they are also very squeaky, we had a small child staying in the room next to us - which woke me up at 2am!!! The kid continued to scream the entire stay. Then on our last night there was a screaming baby! Food you can buy there is overpriced for the size of the portions. Bathrooms need new locks. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are sorry if you have been disturbed by the child but it's not our fault.. A pizza margherita costs 3.50 euro and pasta 5 euro so not overpriced at all(compared with italian prices). All the bathrooms are lockable..

89%

Staff we're awesome and very helpful and friendly. The location was good the kitchen was awesome. The only thing that we were slightly uncomfortable with (and some other girls in our room said the same thing) that every night the hostel is opened up to the neighborhood. You don't know who is from the hostel and who isn't. Because of this, you couldn't just walk up to any group and sit down and introduce yourself as some of then are locals and it was a bit weird.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Archi Rossi Hostel

Florence, Italy
91%

Great hostel. Rooms were always clean. Breakfast was big and varied. Although they can be a bit slow to fill things up. Dinner was good and cheap. There is a lovely garden. They also had hot water and cold water and a microwave for use. No full kitchen but you can get by. Also very close to the train station.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Hostel Tivoli

Ljubljana, Slovenia
97%

The hostel is new and amazingly clean. The kitchen is great to cook in. It's nice as we'll cause it's a smaller hostel. The staff are so helpful and friendly. Jan and Spila helped us save some €€€ by telling us the way around Bled Castle for great views. And the honey schnapps was awesome! It is a walk to te old town but just he's through the park for some sights. Def stay here again!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Palmers Lodge Zagreb

Zagreb, Croatia
89%

Short walk to the train and bus station. Only about a 10 min walk to the old town. Reception staff were amazing and went above and beyond to help us with a question we had. Would definitely stay here again. Oh and it is on the tram line as many others have also reported so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper (duh) but I had them which made the stay very good. Thanks for everything!!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Guest House Olbina

Plitvice Lakes, Croatia
89%

This is a room I the downstairs of a house. You have a bathroom and kitchen to share with the other room. The owners are lovely and leave you to your own devices. A kitchen helps to cook food and there is a supermarket down the road. A good stay if you need a night before or after the national park.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Hostel Villa Garden

Dubrovnik, Croatia
89%

The guest house is just a short walk out of the old town walls - not up any number of steps which was a plus. The room we stayed in had a fridge and cooktop and was good for making your own food. They did free washing which was amazing - you just had to hang it out and take it in. Its not really a hostel, so for those looking for a better atmosphere look somewhere else. We would stay here again though.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Old Town Hostel East Wing

Kotor, Montenegro
97%

Old Town Hostel is amazing - Nicola and the others are fantastic. They make everyone welcome and are so friendly. There is a pub crawl every night so you can go out and make friends or stay in with no noise or carry on happening downstairs. There were two bathrooms in our 7 bed dorm which was great and there is also a kitchen where you can cook. Lots of activities. Best stay at hostel ever!

  • 24th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Trip'n'Hostel

Tirana, Albania
86%

The hostel is really good, great common areas to meet people. They also have a pub crawl you can go on. The beds have curtains and individual lights and power sockets (which is something I think every hostel needs to invest in) and they are comfy too. The staff are really friendly and will help with anything. There is a kitchen downstairs that you can use for cooking as well.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


SR Backpackers

Saranda, Albania
100%

Tomi is a fantastic person - he runs his hostel like it is his life - well it is I guess... Make sure you check the directions on how to get here. We couldn't because we didn't have wifi and was following google maps (not good enough) Tomi found us walking around, no idea where we were. The beds are comfy, the bathroom is nice and big and clean, you can cook in the kitchen, the balconies are lovely, lockers in the rooms that are big, breakfast was great! Tomi has a great atmosphere at his place.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Hotel Sopoti

Gjirokaster, Albania
74%

The owner of the hotel is lovely. The hotel itself is very basic. No wifi. The bathrooms have the general shower that goes all over the bathroom but the water is hot and pressure strong. It can be loud at night due to people and dogs on the street and the fact the windows aren't great. At night there were also sounds like nice in the walls. The weirdest thing was that he didn't have my hostelworld booking. Had neve heard of hostelworld so we ended paying the full amount. Not sure how...

  • 20th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Marisa Rooms

Paros, Greece
97%

We really liked Marisa's place. The only problem was there were lots of mosquitoes in the room and we had the doors shut so we had no idea where they were coming from. We think Marisa had been trying to handle the problem but it did result in a major lack of sleep as we kept waking up every few hours and having to kill them.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Youth Hostel Anna

Santorini, Greece
89%

We stayed in a private room. The private rooms are in a different building down the road. They are lovely - each has a fridge and a balcony as well as the usual amenities. The private building also has a gorgeous pool. Even though we only used it on our last day as the beach is only a 4 min walk away. In Perissa there are lots of restaurants and good supermarkets and bakeries if your on a budget. We hired a quad bike for 24 hours only 18 euro! We loved our stay here.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


77%

Good: the staff are awesome, breakfast was really good and cheap, their are lockers in the room but bring your own padlock. There is a lift. Our walking tour guide called the area the Albanian ghetto but it was absolutely fine - he's obviously never been to south east London before. Bad: kitchen was gross. The floors seemed like they hadn't been mopped in ages. The hostel itself was a bit run down but they were doing renovations. And had new mattresses being delivered. The mattresses were awfu

  • 11th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Burg Hostel

Sighisoara, Romania
94%

It was very quiet but that would have been the time of the year. The room was lovely and clean. It could have been slightly small if there were 4 people in there but there was only 2 of us. The toilet smelled slightly and we had to make sure the door was open getting air to the bathroom the whole time.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Kismet Dao Hostel

Brasov, Romania
97%

The hostel is easy to get to from the train station with a 10 min bus ride. We were greeted by friendly happy reception staff who showed us around and then have us free drink vouchers. The rooms are nice and big with lockers. The kitchen is clean with everything to cook a meal in. The hostel also has a dog who you can take for a walk for a beer (or so I heard). Staff told us about the public bus you can get to Bran Castle and Rasnov Castle for cheaper than a tour. Also good free walking your.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Green Frog Hostel

Bucharest, Romania
91%

Family is really friendly who own it and showed us on a map where to go in the city. It's in between the main train station Gara Du Nord and Piata Romani so two options to get there by bus from the airport. The kitchen was basic and had everything to use to cook our own dinner. The shower was great. The only thing is there are no locks on the door and I wasn't sure there was anywhere to leav valuables. We enjoyed and would stay again.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you ! Every private room has keys and we didn't place a locker in the private rooms. Indeed, the front door is always open 24 h. The valuable things can be kept at the front desk. Have a nice trip in Europe !

Istanbul Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
91%

Clean bathrooms, hot showers, friendly reception staff, rooftop bar, close to all the sights in sultanahmet. Unfortunately the security in the big dorms could be better. The hostel is open for anyone to walk into for the restaurant/bar which means on the walk up the stairs they can go into any room and most ppl in the dorms don't lock the doors and there's no lockers. If you have valuables you can lock them in the safe downstairs though.

  • 6th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Sydney Hostel

Amman, Jordan
74%

It was very loud at night (11pm-2am). If you need or just want a decent night sleep it can be challenging. Also only having one shower and toilet can be difficult if the dorm is full. The night light was a great idea in the room. It meant people could move around without having the main light on.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tegan, Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for any disturbance you faced while staying with us. We have a set rule now of making sure no one is noisy after 12 AM. No music or chatting out loud.

Sultan Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
89%

I was on the ground floor on my first night and didn't get any sleep. There was a room in our window that opened straight onto the main corridor and people were talking and yelling all night and all morning. The music from the bar was also loud. I wasn't very impressed by the showers on the first floor either - there were no hooks to hang clothes etc. So you had to hang them outside the shower door. Then moved upstairs and everything changed, it was fantastic - loved the rooms and the bathroom.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Djanovic Apartment

Split, Croatia
94%

Baldo was amazing. We were greeted by a very happy face and couldn't be more helpful when checking us in - which included shots. The apartment we stayed in was a 2 bedroom, with a kitchen, perfect for two couples. It was right in the old town. It was a little hard to find but we just asked a travel shop and they pointed us in the right direction. Baldo then gave us information and his recommendations on where to go. Thanks for everything Baldo!

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


High Street Hostel

Edinburgh, Scotland
91%

The hostel was great. Staff are fantastic, breakfast is cheap, and on the top floor it is quiet if you wa t a decent nights sleep. There are also plenty of showers and toilets. The only complaint is that there is no locker room. We were able to leave our bags, we got a ticket and they were all left in reception space for anyone to pick up. when we went back to collect our bags no one check the ticket numbers matched up. We could have taken any bag with us.

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Hostel Skippy

Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
94%

Skippys is awesome if you want a chilled out relaxed stay with locals. Bakery, grocery store, pub all down the end of the street. Right on the river, you can watch the rafters come down the rapids over breakfast. Such a friendly hostel. If you want the best view get the double room which overlooks the river.

  • 1st Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)


Ciak Hostel

Rome, Italy
86%

The hostel staff were very friendly and happy to answer any questions. We stayed in the Secret Garden part of the hostel but we were still welcome to use the hostel for breakfast and the free pasta nights. We stayed in a twin room on our first night cause the double was booked out. We then moved to a double room upstairs. Just gorgeous! flat screen tv, small fridge, safe, huge bathroom with a shower and spa bath! Make sure you close the windows at night though cause the mozzies will get you!

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (25 reviews)