Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: funkychilli

Location Australia, Gender Female, Age 31

  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
MB Backpackers, Arequipa, Peru
10.0
23rd Jun 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Mb, it was right in the centre, staff were helpful and the huge upstairs deck is awesome. And breakfast! Made to order pancakes or eggs, what more could you want? :) would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Intro Hostels Cusco, Cusco, Peru
9.1
8th Jun 2017

The open fire pit is a real plus, where backpackers can meet and hangout with each other. The admin is very poorly organised, the staff never knew what room we were meant to be in, and twice we were told we needed to check out when we didn't. The 12 bed dorm is huge and really nice for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Viva Hostel Design, Sao Paulo, Brazil
9.4
20th Mar 2017

Amazing kitchen with everything you needed, and extra special touches like vegan food served and organised hostel nights out. The staff are super helpful especially when we had difficulties with tickets for the Lollapalooza festival. They also gave us numerous ideas for São Paolo touring! Special mention for the concrete bunker beds; we loved them because it gave us the feeling of privacy even in an 8 bed dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Adios Amigos Hostel, Arraial D'Ajuda, Brazil
9.4
3rd Mar 2017

There's a lovely vibe here! The four friends who run the place really go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. There's a Netflix room, a very cute dog, and the extra things you need in the kitchen. Hammocks outside each room and a nice communal area are a bonus. Fits well with the chilled vibe of Arraial d'Aruda!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Po, Valparaiso, Chile
8.9
1st Feb 2017

Po has a great vibe, especially the giant upstairs deck. We also appreciated that they were continually trying to improve the hostel as they were installing new, better beds in the rooms whilst we were there. Great location, next to a wine shop and across from the best empanadas in town. Eggs and bananas for breakfast as well as the usual! The only downside was that we had a new staff member check us in and she gave us all the wrong information about our payment and room which was annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Forestal, Santiago, Chile
9.4
29th Jan 2017

We really enjoyed our stay; location is superb. The most variety in a breakfast we've had so far in our South American travels. We didn't find as much of a social atmosphere as we had hoped, there are quite a few separate areas and it seemed rather chilled in each. Everything else made up for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Inn Bariloche, Bariloche, Argentina
8.3
10th Jan 2017

The facilities vary in this hostel, we experienced a dungeon room as well as an expensive private room (which turned out to have two bunks) but we were happy with another dorm room. The view is fantastic, however the wifi is just not equipped for the amount of people staying especially in the high season. Staff members are great, and are always happy to help.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Nakel Yenu, El Calafate, Argentina
6.3
5th Jan 2017

This has the ability to be an amazing hostel but the breakfast is terrible (only crackers) and the female staff member who does the nights is so rude - she refused to let us print and seemed to think that assisting guests with activities in the town was not part of the job. We felt very unwelcome. The man who does the day shift is fantastic however. Beds in the private room were average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Art Factory San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
9.4
29th Dec 2016

We stayed over New year's eve and were really pleased with the security and the planned activities that the hostel had for this time when BA is completely empty. The staff were really helpful. Our private room was pretty stuff with only a weak fan is the only complaint; you'd be better off in a dorm room without aircon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina
8.3
27th Dec 2016

A nice vibe in the communal area, staff could have been more helpful but otherwise good. Downstairs Netflix room is an added bonus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.4
2nd Sep 2013

The hostel is central, clean and homely but it is the staff that go above and beyond - before I'd even arrived, Ahmed had organised my green tour and balloon ride and answered any questions I had. The staff were so considerate of my breakfast requests and changes and I highly recommend this place so you can experience this excellent hospitality too :) A I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Grand hostel LerO, Split, Croatia
8.9
31st Aug 2013

Grga and Tony made my stay very enjoyable what with the all night drinking and fun times! The atmosphere was top notch with a communal kitchen/living area and good tunes. Definitely a party hostel. Thanks guys - I'll be back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Frat House, Split, Croatia
6.9
30th Aug 2013

A fine place to stay if you overlook the terrible mattresses and bugs running around... Also the hostel door is unlocked all night so keep your belongings locked up... New lockers in the room are very helpful though for keeping small valuables. Nice guys running the place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.9
22nd Aug 2013

Superb, room felt like a hotel with the amenities and super clean bathroom... No real social atmosphere though, a lot of families with kids staying there - this was fine with me because I was only staying for one night but might be a sticking point for others

View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your review. Seems that you stayed with us a day with lot of families. But we also have backpackers in other days. Perhaps we see you again? Your M-Team

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Come to Vilnius Hostel, Vilnius, Lithuania
9.4
8th Aug 2013

Aleksandra really is the hostel sweetheart, she was very lovely in accommodating my friend and I when we arrived at 7am, we were able to check in early and get some much needed sleep! Really good atmosphere at the hostel, we were a bit out of the action in terms of location but we felt so comfortable being there it didn't matter. There are communal toiletries in the bathroom, girls - we loved the cleanser, moisturizer and hairspray! Would definitely come back and highly recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Metropolis Hostel, Istanbul, Turkey
7.4
10th Jul 2013

Door lock was broken so door would open at inopportune times. The main receptionist/boss was pretty rude, unhelpful and didn't even give us a map...

View Property Reply

Dear Guest,The door no was broken you just never shut the door, our staff are not rude but maybe rude for you becoause they made you pay a cancellation fee for your booking as you had some cancellations,but this does not make them rude , they just do their work,its not true that we did not give you map, we give maps to all of our guest and also give 10 minutes info upon check in , marking places on the map even,also maps available on desk all the times. Happy Travels

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sunshine Bedz KL, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
10.0
9th Jan 2012

Wonderful staff that really took the time to give advice in what to do and see, where to eat and where to go at night. I felt totally taken care of! The facilities were excellent - computer was new with fast internet, flatscreen TV even had headphones so you could listen at the volume you wanted. Excellent location right off the mainstreet, near the huge Mcdonalds sign, what more could you want? I will recommend this place to everyone!! A+++

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Dioskouros, Athens, Greece
7.3
7th Sep 2010

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Brussels Hello Hostel, Brussels, Belgium
9.0
21st Jul 2010

Brilliant hotel, although it is a little way out of the city, the metro is right there and you can be in the centre in 10-15 mins. The place is clean, the computers and new and high-speed (and free) and my room was clean! Really impressed!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Brussels Hello Hostel, Brussels, Belgium
9.0
19th Jul 2010

What an amazing hostel! Don't let the fact that it is slightly out of town stop you. The metro so you are in the city centre in 10 mins. The computers were new and amazing, and there were 4 so we had a chance to use them. Downstairs area was very clean and the hostel staff were very friendly and helpful! I didn't think much of Brussels as a city but I loved this hostel and would urge anyone to stay. :)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Equity Point Metropol, Madrid, Spain
6.7
18th May 2010

The one key thing is really silly!!! Many times our door was left open and then when everyone got back from going out we all had to wake up to let them in. Not very good for security...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Dolce Vita, Granada, Spain
7.0
15th May 2010

Was slightly complicated to get to, but the directions from the hostel were very good.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Rising Cock Party Hostel, Lagos, Portugal
8.0
7th May 2010

What can you say about the Rising Cock? It is the best for partying, meeting people and generally having a good time. I have no regrets about staying although my Ipod was stolen from my hostel room so just be careful. I guess that's what happens when everyone is drunk all the time!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Italy,
  • Globetrotter
Westend City Hostel, Vienna, Austria
6.0
3rd Oct 2009

There was food that had been in our room for a week... other then that, everything was pretty standard.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Italy,
  • Globetrotter
Old Prague Hostel, Prague, Czech Republic
7.3
30th Sep 2009

It was a pretty standard hostel but the location was great... the breakfast is merely bowls of cornflakes placed around the kitchen and some juice to make it look better than it is...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Italy,
  • Globetrotter
Let's Rock Hostel, Krakow, Poland
9.7
28th Sep 2009

We loved it! After coming from a very cramped Berlin hostel, the rooms were big, location central, staff were awesome and the showers were hot Stay here!!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Italy,
  • Globetrotter
7.0
24th Sep 2009

No idea how they managed to squish 6 beds into our 'room' it was like a slightly bigger then normal closet!! But still it was fun and we liked the location, it was only difficult for the fact that there were huge construction works on the S-Bahn line.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • funkychilli
  • Italy,
  • Globetrotter
Ostello Venezia, Venice, Italy
7.3
17th Jul 2009

Seemed a good hostel though the bed sank completely in the middle, it was a pretty bad night's sleep. I got a bed near the window though so didn't have any problems with the heat, though other girls in the room said their area was like a sauna...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.