Reviews: jquirke2892

Location: Ireland, Gender: Male, Age: 29

Rose Cottage

Kilkenny, Ireland
69%

It's not the Ritz but it does the job, reasonably good value and location. Kinda like staying in someone's house.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Generator Hostel Dublin

Dublin, Ireland
71%

Its a good standard of place in terms of being clean and modern but I really think the staff could be a lot more helpful and attentive to customers, maybe they just need more staff on reception as I spent far too long having to wait around to ask someone about what facilities they had all of which should really have been explained to me on check in. Finally despite offering food for a price it's not a very accessible or welcoming place to have your breakfast or lunch as a guest.

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


94%

Great affordable spot close to the Strip but also with Casino and Resturant in house.

  • 28th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Sin City Hostel

Las Vegas, USA
89%

Bit far from the actual strip but its clean and affordable.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Stay on Main

Los Angeles, USA
89%

It's a good choice if you wanna stay downtown, affordable and clean.

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


86%

Great standard hostel with excellent facilities and friendly staff but be weary of the additional $3 charge for non- members of Hosteling International plus other additional taxes on beds over $25 per night. All and all it's a solid be though for comfort and cleanliness.

  • 3rd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Hostel on 3rd

San Diego, USA
94%

Nice place, nice staff and lots of facilities with plenty of space in rooms, common area and kitchen. The only slight negative I could see we're that the common area needed more lighting and a bit more TLC in terms of clearing out clutter and organisation. Excellent value hostel however with almost hotel standards in some aspects of its services etc.

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


77%

It's a pretty cool hostel with a laid back kinda vibe, bit dated but that adds somewhat to the charm. Think the place need a bit of a clutter clear out and some sprucing up but it's good value being so close to the beach n all.

  • 26th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Stayokay Maastricht

Maastricht, Netherlands
100%

Excellent as close to hotel standard as you get in a hostel, only slight issue is you can't cook your own food but you can order food in the restaurant.

  • 6th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Liège Youth Hostel

Liege, Belgium
97%

The only thing missing was an area for guest to cook their own food otherwise this is an excellent very clean hostel offering great value and a good breakfast included.

  • 4th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Too bad you didn't ask : a fully equiped guest kitchen is available 24/24.

The Metropole

Kilkenny, Ireland
80%

Bathroom needs a bit of a revamp and some soap for hand washing would be welcome,otherwise it's grand for what it is. Great location in a city that is lively to go out in.

  • 15th Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Spire Hostel

Dublin, Ireland
97%

Right at the heart of the city, very clean. Will be a great spot once everything has been refurbished and finished.

  • 19th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy you enjoyed our great location! Since your visit we have opened up our barbecue area, finished alot of work & are planning to have a pool table in our recreation area very soon!! Thank you for your review! We appreciate very much all feedback from our guests!

Fortmount Apartment

Nairobi, Kenya
86%

A good option for anyone staying in the city for more than a few days,these shared apartments are located a few KM from the city but very near a to a good western style mall, security is good and staff are friendly. Facilities are good by Kenyan standards at least and the place is kept quite clean. Its easy enough to get into and out of town either by taxi or local mini-bus once you've found your way.

  • 14th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Mount Eccles Court

Dublin, Ireland
89%

Nothing fancy but it does the job, grand sized kitchen and plenty to entertain if your not going out

  • 27th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Abigails Hostel

Dublin, Ireland
100%

Great Spot, lots of character and very central.

  • 5th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


X Hostel Alicante

Alicante, Spain
57%

Sustained an accidental blow to the head which made me bleed quite a bit when stepping out of the shower, when I was eventually able to asked the owner about having a first aid kit, he gave out to me for disturbing his 'Siesta'. He was not in the least bit very concerned about me or the fact the accident had occurred on the premises. Half of the showers did not work, lights didn't either in places, dorms lack security and anyone could walk in or out.Staff were not available for parts of the day.

  • 12th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (36 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sir, I apologize that you felt mistreated. As a law we are not allowed to give any medications or administer first aid to guests. I happily gave you a band aid and was there to assist you. You declined to mention the fact you were rude to me and my wife because you were out of sorts due to your own simple error. If you were seriously injured we would have rushed you to the hospital immediately. We run a hostel not a day care. The truth is you nicked your head, Banged on the staff door like a maniac and then expected us to mother you. Believe me, we take the safety of our guests extremely seriously. I'm a trained lifeguard and medic. Your problem was solved with one band aid!!! This is no reason to berate the rest of the hostel. The hostel has very stable lockers a brand new front door and locks on all doors. Any more secure and we would be living in a prison. Better luck next time.

Ashfield House

Dublin, Ireland
71%

Grand spot, free breakfast adds good value to the stay.

  • 11th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Generator Hostel Copenhagen

Copenhagen, Denmark
91%

Great spot

  • 15th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


STF/IYHF Skeppsholmen

Stockholm, Sweden
77%

Nice, clean and friendly.

  • 9th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Sentrum Pensjonat

Oslo, Norway
70%

Central and the cheapest place you'll find in Oslo city, its not bad.

  • 6th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (36 reviews)


Shelter Jordan

Amsterdam, Netherlands
87%

Staff were really nice


80%

Very like a hotel so I was surprised the price was so reasonable,quite comfortable and very clean.


The Boathouse

Prague, Czech Republic
100%

The best place I´ve ever stayed! No joking laundry,dinner,great breakfast and cheap drinks.They even have a boat club next door to rent canoes or kyacks.Great Stuff!


Hobo Bear Hostel

Zagreb, Croatia
87%

Nice place,nice staff.


90%

One of the best places Ive stayed ever,highly recommended.


Hostel Baccarat

Nice, France
50%

needed cleaning and the kitchen was horrible,no breakfast


Ethic Etape-CIS-Narbonne

Narbonne, France
73%

Nothing fancy but its cheap and right in the heart of Narbonne plus breakfast is included.


53%

Highly over rated rooms were cramped and lacked air conditioning.Kitchen was terrible with old food left lying around for weeks it smelled awful.Not really as described on the site.


Albatross

Newcastle upon Tyne, England
67%

Its ok,good location in city centre and reasonable overall.No Breakfast though!


90%

Very nice place if you wanna get away from the city,by a really nice lake in the country.


A Casa di Amici

Palermo, Italy
67%

Ok overall,the host is really nice!


Hostel of the Sun

Naples, Italy
97%

Best place I've stayed on my travels so far,excellent entertainment options and helpful staff.


73%

Staff are relly helpful,reasonable price and standards but no breakfast,near metro and theres a supermarket right round the corner


Ciarus

Strasbourg, France
73%

Hotel Standards at Hostel Rates,very good! Recommended Strongly


60%

may have been a little harsh with other reviews but this was an ok place from what I remember


50%

Not bad for what it is,but they stop serving breakfast a bit early and the kitchen needs to be sorted out.