Reviews: danielgalvalizi5983

83%

The hostel looks amazing but when i visited it was quite empty. but its 30 meters from the beach and the atmosphere looks great. They offer overpriced food that should be cheaper. Staff was nice and helpful. The area of location is very relax and far away from the noise, so if you look for nightlife, dont stay in Otres beach.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us. It's a real shame that you feel our home is overpriced as we try to keep everything as cheap as possible, covering operating costs, rent, etc. whilst still helping the local people as much as possible. I hope the rest of your travels were safe and happy.

LPQ Backpackers Hostel

Luang Prabang, Laos
86%

Very well located and easy to meet people. The breakfast is really good and the staff is helpfull, although they should speak better english. They have air con at night, wich is really necessary, and wi fi worked great. I didnt like that after 2am you cant get in because they close the gate.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (46 reviews)


Frendz Resort Boracay

Boracay Island, Philippines
63%

Very good located and it is easy to meet people. They set up live bands once in a while so that is nice. But the staff was boring and we got the feeling that always trying to make a dollar out of us. Overpriced drinks and food inside. and it is impossible to have a good sleep with no air con during hot weather nights. They should have better facilities for the amount they charge. I cutt my tou and they didnt even had cotton for me.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (46 reviews)


Our Melting Pot

Manila, Philippines
97%

Amazing atmosphere and superb location. No doubt it, is the place to go in Manila. The owner took us for a great free tour and the whole staff is just one of the best i ever met. Its close to great bars and restaurants and at the same time easy to get cheap bites. I wish I can go back soon, made great friends there.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (46 reviews)


66%

Too boring and not backpacer at all, full of entire families and older people or children. Good facilities, but for Japan they are just good. Except the italian guy and this other japanese dude, at reception they were not very helpfull and they should improve their english. The location is too far away from the nightlife (and tokyo doesnt have night public transport).

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (46 reviews)


80%

Amazing facilites and excellent location. BUT, if you are looking for a more amused backpackery places, it is not this one. Boring and extremely calm, full of old people and families with little kids. Not the kind of backpacker place i look for. And they do nothing to gather people together, no pubcrawls, no walking tours, nothing. But if you just care for great facilities and security, this is your hostel. Staff should speak better english (except this guy Shin, he was great)

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (46 reviews)


94%

Amazing atmosphere and location, really fun and easy to meet people. Ron (the manager) and Natalie were great and helpfull. We even had a live music show. My only "but" would be: please better breakfast and please you have to add one more bathroom, or at least toilette. I hope to go back to Tel Aviv and for sure i will go back to Florentine Backpcks

  • 26th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Jerusalem, Israel
83%

Great location and superb facilities. The thing is that is a huge hostel,it makes you feel like you are staying at a corporation, and im no corporate man, just a backpacker. I prefer more fun party atmosphere, with less families and elderly people and young children. Staff: half of them really great, like Noam or Yaron, other half not very pleasent. They offer some really good tours and some others not as good but its nice that they really care for your opinion. I can recommend it.

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Bahaus Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
94%

Excelent hostel! Amazing terrace, good breakfast, best location ever. The staff is great, specially Alex, the night shift reception guy. Although, the tour-guide they have is lame and it is not worth it. Easy to meet people for lonely travelers! If i ever come back, i will stay there for sure. The only thing that i can complain about is that the air con didnt work for 3 nights, but then it got fixed. they sworn it wasnt their fault but the technitian.

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


NapPark Hostel at Khao San

Bangkok, Thailand
69%

It should be called only "Nap", because is such a boring hostel. If we havent taken over the front yard to hang out and drink beer (from the 7Eleven, not the overpriced they sell), it would have been so boring. Even when they "celebrated" the 3rd anniversary it was boring, with elevator music in the back. Staff should improve their english. It's super expensive and they dont serve even a breakfast nor give towells. You better find another one cheaper and happier

  • 10th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


77%

Good location and facilities, fun environment but only till 11pm. The western staff is good, the vietnamise should learn english. The problem is the Castaway island tour they sell to Halong Bay. It is not worth the money, it is made for you to spend in overpriced booze, and it is good to have fun of course but they dont aknowledge that we arent all gringos, we can have other type of fun. Besides, i was robbed U$S300 in that tour, i found out the day after, the staff isnt trustworthy.

  • 7th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Sunflower Hotel Hoi An

Hoi An, Vietnam
97%

Great value for money, and really backpacker atmosphere, specially for lonely travelers. Great facilities and the swimming pool is totally worth it. They dont have party or much fun at night but you can get to it 15 min walking from there. The staff is a bit freaky and their english is poor, but somehow they are so fun and in stead of hating them, you just laugh with them.

  • 5th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Saigon Youth Hostel

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
86%

The staff should improve their English, except the night shift guy. Great location and the lounge area in the 6th floor is unexploited, really cool. great facilities and decent breakfast.

  • 2nd Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Velkommen Backpackers

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
80%

Very good location, it is true what they say, you save tuk tuk money being hosted there, its walking distance of almost all main atracctions. the staff wasnt that good. my dorms's air condic worked really bad and i felt too hot both nights. but it totaly lacked of party or fun atmosphere

  • 28th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


HI Siem Reap

Siem Reap, Cambodia
100%

Great hostel! Very good facilities and location. elizabeth is the best hostel manager ever! they arranged everything, even bus tickets, they save you a lot of time. spend at least 4 nights because Siem Reap and this hostel is totally worth it

  • 25th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Lazy House

Koh Phangan, Thailand
89%

Good facilities and great location, 7 minute walk from the beach. the showers were really good. but it lacked of fun and party, i would have enjoyed more if they organized something, beyond the full mooon party night. it is a problem that part of the staff doesnt speak english. the owner Jon is friendly and helpfull, but he shouldnt criticize or reprimand his employees in front of the guests, it wanst confy.

  • 20th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review, we do try to get everyone together for fre body painting and for the free meal on full moon night ,thats about 200 people together in the outback bar . In the day time we have the pool in the garden with the sound system on and playing tunes all day . we had that running all day every day for this fullmoon ,next month we start to do BBQ,s in the garden from 6,30 pm with a dj . All the staff involved with customer services speak English, did you try to hold a coversation with the cleaner ? Yes sometimes i bark at the staff ,normally after i have spoken quietly with them and it has gone in one ear and out the other . I do get frustrated and let it out at the person that has caused me the stress. They tend to remember better after a barage . Sorry jon

Bodega Phuket

Phuket, Thailand
100%

Amazing hostel! the manager, Amann, is the best reception guy ever! I had a problem with my flight and he let me checked in before so i could relax and feel better, that attitude is very important for backpackers. great location, great facilities. the only thing i'd change is the party factor. i'd like them to organize some party or a way to gather at night and go out. just a tip.

  • 15th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


MOx Hostel Arraial d'Ajuda

Arraial da Ajuda, Brazil
97%

The Mox is superb, excellent and cheap. Best facilites among all the hostels i´ve been in Brazil. Great location and close to the hip bars and discos. The only thing is that it was too quite for lonely backpackers, but it was winter, maybe that´s why.

  • 30th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Pousada Pura Vida

Morro de Sao Paulo, Brazil
57%

Above all, the best located hostel in Morro, by far. But...poor facilities, poor wi fi, and the worst was the cleanliness. In 2 days i found 3 cockroach in my room, and during breakfast the mosquitos were regular. Good breakfast though, they serve it to you. Anyone comes in and out of that hostel, it´s ok by me but some day that could turn out in a bad situation. If you like a hippie careless hostel, this is your place. The location was amazing but i wouldnt come back

  • 23rd Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola, bueno evidentemente algo extra entonces tuuviste porque estendiste tu reserva sin ningun tipo de comentario como este, sin decir que nunca nos hiciste menciones de ningun tipo de problema. Muchas gracias de todos modos, por los de "Hippie" es un privilegio..

HI Hostel Chapada - Lencois

Chapada Diamantina, Brazil
97%

One of the best hostels i´ve stayed in Brazil. the argentine owner, Juan, and his assistants claudia and filipe were really helpful and were always eager to try to make my staying great. Good breakfast, great location and great tours offered. Totally worth it. and 1 block away to the only bar in town that stays open after midnight during week days!

  • 19th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias , it was our pleasure hosting you. We know you are an experienced traveller, thus your rating sounds even more special coming from someone with such high mileage. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here in Lençóis and hope to see you back here in the future.

Che Lagarto Hostel Salvador

Salvador, Brazil
94%

Amazing location, amazing facilities. the terrace looking to the ocean is to die for. the could improve the breakfast and the fun party area, though.

  • 15th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


The New York Loft Hostel

New York, USA
74%

Facilities were good but i suffered the coldest shower in my life. They dont let you check in until 3pm, which is too late and with the high price they charge you, they could hire more maids and clean sooner. They lack of party and dont have a bar. Nice common aresa though. And they dont have a map of Brooklyn, wich is a huge problem if you want to hang out in the area.

  • 13th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Apple Hostels of Philadelphia

Philadelphia, USA
83%

Nice hostel, great located but they dont give free breakfast, just a few days a week free cereal. They are over priced and could give at least a bagel. The pub crawl they set up it was real fun, they guy leading it was great. It´s really annoying that the check out is 10.30, way too early.

  • 12th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daniel, Our check out time is 11:00 am and has never been any earlier then that. There is a breakfast 7 days a week at the local diner where our guests have a discount. Instead of having free breakfast every morning in the hostel, we have free things in the evenings instead, such as the free mixed drinks you enjoyed before our free pub crawl. We also have a free pasta dinner on Wednesday nights, a free wine and cheese night on Tuesdays and free beer every other night. I'm not sure why you were expecting a free breakfast when we don't advertise that anywhere. We believe that hostels are for meeting other travelers, so we do things in the evenings to encourage that.

USA Hostels San Francisco

San Francisco, USA
94%

The best hostel i know in USA. It´s huge and confy, great breakfast, helpful staff, well located (although far away from the train that get you from the airport) and very clean. the atmosphere is great in the underground common area they have. very good shuttle to the airport! and wi fi works everywhere and good! If i go back to SF, there is no way im hosting in other place

  • 7th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


HI Rio Rockers

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
89%

Except for the guy at desk in the afternoon that never had a clue, the staff of this hostel is excelent! Saudade for Enrique and Rodrigo! It is not a party hostel but if you get to know the right people, it can get fun. The patio at the front is great to chill and have beers and good talks. The rooms are good and with air con, but the baths are downstares. Great location! When i get back to Rio, i may be hosted there again.

  • 17th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Roatan Backpackers' Hostel

Roatan, Honduras
40%

If you are looking for some cheap place to stay a few hours, it is ok, but otherwise you should think a resort or rent a flat. This hostel had a nice owner/manager, but she was never around. there was a literal invasion of ants and i had to sleep in her childen's bedroom. Bugs and spideres were the rule, and the shower was cold and weak. There is no place around to buy a coffe in the morning, and it´s far away from the best beach of the island.

  • 21st Nov 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


The Terrace Hostel

Antigua, Guatemala
87%

As soon as i got there, they told me they charge more than the amount that appears in hostelworld.com, what is not very welcomy and loyal. Apart that and some problems due to impro (they opend very recently), it´s a great located hostel, the owners are very nice and helpful and the terrace upstairs is great. i´d go back

  • 14th Nov 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Living Cat's Hostel

Madrid, Spain
63%

Bathroom was horrible, too dirty, facilities are not good. Poor breakfast and it could be more fun (they make you shut up at midnight even when they have a great bar downstares). Great staff and location though

  • 6th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


City Backpackers Hostel

Stockholm, Sweden
47%

Anti fun and anti social hostel. At first glance, it was a military camp. I arrived and the reception unfriendly guy told me all these codes and rules, and they even ask you to take off your shoes as soon as you get in. Super expensive, they force you to buy a 5 euro bed linen! The make you shush at midnight in the kitchen, they even kicked as out. It is hard to meet people if you are alone because they dont set up fun plans. Try to not go if you have a better option.

  • 3rd May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for telling us so honestly how you felt about your stay at City Backpackers. It seems you were expecting something that we sadly couldn't provide. You see, our kitchen is surrounded by dorms, which really makes it impossible for the guests to sleep there, if their fellow travellers get too loud. That is why you were asked to leave. My definition of fun doesn't necessarily include alcohol - even if I totally enjoy getting drunk at times! I take guests out for picnics and adventures several times a week, so I have to disagree about us not setting up fun plans. During your three day stay you had the option to join our Guided Bike Picnic, and our Walking Tour Slash Beer Excursion. No other hostel in Sweden work as hard as we do to show our guests a good time. Of course we can always improve, but how can we show you a good time if you don't choose to join us? We don't force anyone to buy linen - on the contrary we don't include them in the price, so that people who want to cut costs by bringing their own can do that. But maybe that is something we should think about changing, so thank you for expressing your opinion about that. I will also e-mail you, since I am curious about other hostels which you liked more - I always enjoy visiting great hostels and finding out their secrets! Kind regards, Lena, Chief of the City Backpacker Fun Squad

Carpe Noctem

Budapest, Hungary
73%

Although i liked the hippie-style, arriving and not having my bed ready until 4pm wasnt nice. No checking out time it also means no checking in time. And i coulndt have much fun because they organized all the activities at 8pm, in a city that its sunset is at 9pm in summertime. so ether you join the activities or you miss tourism time. Climbing the 5th floors by stares cant be exhausting. Good location though.

  • 30th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Hostel Possonium

Bratislava, Slovakia
77%

When i arrived, the amateur male receptionist told me i couldnt even let my huge lugagge there and i asked him to figure out some solution and he said "i dont know man, go with it". He was rude and anti professional, i had to beg and then he found a solution, after making calls. unprecedent lack of hospitality in a hostel. and breakfast was very poor. after that, good location and the rest of the staff were cool

  • 29th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Im so sorry, because of cleanliness we are doing mounthly desinfection with special liquid spray in whole building. Thats the reason why the luggage must be taken out. The receptionst was informed, there wasnt any reason to behave impolite and unhelpful. Im very sorry for bad experience, I have solved this problem already, thank you for your feedback.

Mosquito Hostel

Krakow, Poland
90%

Their staff is really cool. it was hard to find the hostel though. Everything was amazing and they were really kind and helpfull. Kind of dislike that you had to be quite after midnight, it's not a party hostel but they anyway try to make you plans for the night, so you can have some fun. I recommend it!

  • 25th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Wombats City Hostel Munich

Munich, Germany
83%

For what they charge, they could at least have a better wi fi conection, it was really bad and they even charge for computers that dont work. Also they charge an overprized not very varied breakfast. Staff wasnt really cheerfull, too serious and the check out is awfully early. But if you travel alone it´s a good place to meet people and the location is great.

  • 22nd Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Hostel of the Sun

Naples, Italy
80%

The best of this hostel is the staff! Luca and the rest of the guys there are really great!! Good location, close to ferry station and train station and airport bus. But it is not a party hostel and kind of dislike that you had to shush after 1am.

  • 19th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Kabul Backpackers Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
87%

For what they charge, they could give your more than just 20 mins free of internet, and have better facilites (showers are poor), and the rooms could be bigger and more comfy, you dont even have one chair or small bedlights. But, the problem with Kabul is that is SO MUCH FUN, great for lonely travelers who want to meat people! And every night there is party! If you wanna have fun, just go

  • 15th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


77%

It was hard to find, the indications are not very clear. It wasnt much fun, but is big and they set up good tapas tours. They should invest in air conditioner or something.

  • 13th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


87%

Good hostel, the little swimming pool is a good plus, specially in summer. But plz, invest in some air-conditioner because the room was damn hot. And the breakfast was poor, by few pennies could get better. Also, i booked private bathroom but the bath was outside the room and anyone could end up using it. Great free walking tour by Allyson!

  • 10th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Yes! Lisbon Hostel

Lisbon, Portugal
100%

I had my share of doing hostels, and i can asure you, THIS WAS THE BEST HOSTEL EVER!!! the staff is amazing (saudade Franco and lisbons guys!) and they have their own free walking tour, and serve great loaded cheap dinners if you want. Simply, i had the time of my life. Visit Lisbon that is amazing and go to Yes!

  • 7th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Columbus Circle Hostel

New York, USA
57%

not much fun, the people at the reception lack of attitude, and it´s not very esthetic, but is amazingly located. location, location, location!

  • 13th Nov 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • Armenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Daniel, We are sorry CCH didn't live up to the expectations and we hope to show you the more welcoming side of CCH the next time you are in the city. Thank-you once again for choosing CCH and safe travels wherever you may roam =)

47%

The staff is terribly bad! and the hostel is really boring. well located, but the breakfast is miserable and they just let you use 30 min of internet free. that´s cheap!


Prague Square Hostel

Prague, Czech Republic
63%

not very good facilities, the room was too small and beds not confy, but good breakfast and good internet free. Franky and the black guy, great staff!


Castle Rock Hostel

Edinburgh, Scotland
77%

Great location and facilites. But they delayed my check in for one hour and gave no good reason, wich was troubling for me, given that i needed the room. The staff is nice but they could do more to cheer the guests and create more fun


Kabul Backpackers Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
83%

it was great for a lonely traveler like me; i met lots of people, but the internet access is difficult and they charge you for everything


Kaixo Backpackers Hostel

San Sebastian, Spain
47%

Very disappointing. Good facilities and location but the owner and the manager welcolmed me horrible, they were rude and not hosty at all. They forbit fun and it´s like a Gestapo after 10pm. The manager got up every time she heard a little noise. Dont go if you look for fun or to stay many days


Living Cat's Hostel

Madrid, Spain
73%

they should have a kitchen and have more hostest at the entrance. but it´s great located and beatiful in the inside


Maria Sabina Hotel & Backpackers Hostel

Playa del Carmen, Mexico
70%

The place was great located and the facilites were very good and clean. But the staff was not good at all, almost as poor in attitude as the breakfast.