Reviews: gopenshaw358

Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago

Santiago, Chile

Stayed in a double room, which felt more like a hotel suite. Wonderfully clean and comfortable, with a great buffet breakfast in the morning. Location is good, wifi works great, and the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Definitely would stay here again and highly recommend.

Mamatierra Hostel

San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

This is an excellent hostel: the rooms are pretty and spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds. The wifi works and the staff is wonderfully helpful. The breakfast in the morning is a great touch, and if you leave for the airport before breakfast opens (as we did), they'll prepare you a breakfast-to-go pack, which is fabulous service. Only downside is that it's a good 10 minute walk to downtown, but still well worth it for a great stay.

Hostal Laskar

San Pedro de Atacama, Chile

Good hostel with convenient location just a couple blocks from the main part of town. Wifi was reliable and the common area quite nice, with helpful staff. The rooms were basic but good (I was in a double room so can't speak for the dorms).

Patagonia House

Punta Arenas, Chile

The beds are comfortable, the location is good, the wifi works and the staff is helpful. On the flip side, the place does look worn (the kind of dirty and frayed furniture college kids leave on the sidewalk after four years of partying) and the in-room lockers are too small for the full bags (but enough for essentials or daypacks), and the common areas are limited to seating around the reception and the kitchen.

The Singing Lamb Backpackers

Puerto Natales, Chile

Overall a great hostel, with spacious and beautiful common areas, a cooked breakfast (eggs!), reliable wifi and a great staff. It's a 5-minute walk to downtown, so not the most centrally located but certainly not an impediment either. The strangest thing is that the big lockers in the rooms have no latches for locks, and there are only a limited number of lockable lockers in the main area (lucky if you get one), which for a hostel of this quality is an odd shortcoming. Otherwise excellent.

Antarctica Hostel

Ushuaia, Argentina

This is definitely one of the better hostels in Ushuaia, with a great location and an amazingly friendly and helpful staff. The included breakfast and free laundry is a major plus, as are the large lockers in the rooms. Wifi was occasionally spotty but mostly good and rooms/beds were decent on comfort, and likely the one area they could most improve. Big, clean common bathrooms and a large and welcoming common area were much appreciated.

Mango Rooms

Rhodes, Greece

Lovely place inside the old city with a nice attached restaurant. The location is wonderful: quiet and peaceful while centrally located within the city walls and walking distance from everything. Wi-fi worked great throughout. The owners were exceptionally friendly and welcoming and I'd stay again in a heartbeat.

Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Queenstown, New Zealand

Just about the perfect hostel. Great friendly staff, central location, comfortable facilities, free wifi, free lockers (with power outlets inside the lockers), reading lights (and outlets) for each bed, spacious communal areas, ensuite bathrooms, free towels--the list just goes on. Without question this is the best hostel I've stayed in New Zealand.

Haka Lodge Queenstown

Queenstown, New Zealand

Great hostel with super friendly staff and free wifi. Only 2 blocks from the central part of downtown on a quiet street. Comfortable beds with privacy curtains and reading lights / outlets for each bed. Lockable large lockers for each person. Would definitely stay again.

Franz Josef Montrose

Franz Josef, New Zealand

Great little hostel with super friendly staff. No lockers in rooms, but nice place and free wifi.

The Old Countryhouse

Christchurch, New Zealand

Great hostel with friendly staff and free wifi. No lockers in rooms, but very nice, comfortable place.

YHA Wellington City

Wellington, New Zealand

Good, very large hostel with friendly staff in convenient location. Wifi is extra and no lockers in rooms (as is typical for YHA), but overall would recommend.

YHA Taupo

Taupo, New Zealand

Overall nice hostel. It's a 10-minute walk from downtown, so location is not perfect, but on the other hand the neighborhood is quiet. Wifi comes at extra cost and no lockers in room (like other YHAs), but the staff is very friendly and the accommodations are comfortable.

YHA Rotorua

Rotorua, New Zealand

Great hostel. A little out of the way, but quiet. No lockers in the rooms and wifi has an extra charge, like all YHAs in NZ, but nice place and very friendly and helpful staff.

Kiwipaka Waitomo

Waitomo, New Zealand

Great hostel with a fun chalet feel. Beds were surprisingly comfortable, spacious common areas, friendly staff and a great little bar/restaurant right on the premises make it a very pleasant and convenient stay.

The Attic Backpackers

Auckland, New Zealand

Overall a good hostel in a relatively convenient location. On the plus side, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the facilities spacious, and staff very helpful. On the cons, no lockers in the rooms (there's a free locker room but it only fits day bags) and wi-fi must be paid for after the initial 3-hour comp (regardless of number of nights staying). Overall a good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your valued feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the comfort, cleanliness and facilities of our hostel. The reason that we do keep the dorms locker free is to keep them as spacious as possible. We do think that small lockers to fit valuable items is only necessary, our hostel is very safe with security cameras throughout. We provide the free wifi as an introduction to the hostel and a value added bonus ;-) most hostels do not offer free wifi. Thanks again, see you next time!

Golden Gobi

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Good hostel in convenient part of city. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with wifi working throughout the hostel. By far the biggest downside to the hostel is the total lack of hot water in the showers, as the cold water is beyond chilly and fully in glacial territory, even during the summer.

365 Inn

Beijing, China

Great hostel in perfect location next to Tiananman Square. Wi-fi works in the rooms, which is a big plus, and the food in the restaurant downstairs is quite tasty. Breakfast is not included but not expensive. Didn't have lockable storage lockers in the rooms I saw, which is the only downside. Very friendly staff.

Oporto Invictus Hostel

Porto, Portugal

Great hostel with a friendly staff. On the downside, wi-fi does not work in the rooms, some of the rooms face a bar (where the patrons stay out until 4am), no A/C or ceiling fans, and not that close to anything. On the upside, great value and service.

Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel

Barcelona, Spain

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The place is beautiful and looks like a boutique hotel more than a value hostel, the staff is incredibly helpful, the location is nice, the beds were comfortable and the wifi even worked in the rooms. I definitely would stay here again.

Granny's Inn Hostel

Sliema, Malta

This would be a great hostel, except that the staff is virtually never there. They show up for a few hours in the morning or at the time you've notified them in advance that you'll be checking in, but otherwise it was a staff ghost town. Bathrooms were not particularly clean and toilet paper ran out. The building itself is nice and rooms are good, with a cute common area upstairs. Wifi worked fine. Again, would be a lot better if the staff weren't absent 18 hours of the day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We spent 2 year being present at the hostel 24/7 but considering that all guests go out to enjoy their days visiting malta ( which is normal for tourists to do) , we realised that it is useless to be here to nobody! we are here every day from 8am - 2pm which is when guests are here before going out for the day so we are always here for any help needed.

Reymel Hotel Cyprus

Kyrenia, Cyprus

Wonderful hostel in a perfect location just off the harbor. The hostel is a bit understaffed, but the staff that is there is warm, friendly and very helpful with any needs. My only recommendation would be to extend wifi availability beyond just the common area. Overall a great hostel which I would be happy to return to.


Friendly hostel, although no breakfast and no full-size storage lockers in the dorms. The neighborhood is loud due to heavy construction. The hostel staff however were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the beds were comfortable and wi-fi worked throughout the hostel. Functioning A/C was a great plus.

Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Jerusalem, Israel

Great all-around hostel with super helpful staff and great common area. Definitely recommend.

Frontera Pucon B&B

Pucon, Chile

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in South America. The rooms are spacious and bright (some with a direct view of the volcano) with plush, comfortable beds and immaculate luxury bathrooms. Ours even had a jacuzzi. There's a nice quiet backyard garden, and the owners are very nice and helpful. Definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! We are really happy that you enjoy your stay here! Come back one day to the barbecue! ;)

Che Lagarto Hostel Calafate

El Calafate, Argentina

Excellent hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely recommend.


I've enjoyed other El Viajero locations, but this one was a disappointment. The room was small and stuffy, and the hostel played loud music well past midnight in the common area (fine for those awake, but not if you have an early flight or are a light sleeper). The hostel emailed several times threatening to cancel the reservation if I didn't give them an *exact* arrival time (stating late afternoon was not good enough). Wtf? I've traveled to 84 countries and have never had this annoyance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gabriel, we are sorry that your experience with us has not been able to satisfy your expectations. We find it difficult to turn the music down before 1am as most people ask for music at the bar, that's why we shut the bar at 1am and so try to meet all expectations. I regret not having been able to do it with you. The request arrival time of the hostel is a policy to avoid errors in the cancellation of reservations. Your arrival time was at 2pm, but in reality you came at 7.30pm. If we had not written to ask you the estimated time of arrival, we may have cancel your reservation believing that decided not to come. I find it odd two things about your comment: you say that the rooms are stuffy, but have a 2x1.80m window facing the outside as well as fan and exhaust fan in the bathroom. On the other hand scored "2" fun, but at the same time say that your intentions were sleeping when the other were having fun. I want to thank you for your comment, because even though we try to meet the expectations of all guests, we always have more to improve and your feedback helps us. Thanks. The staff

Chill House

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Very nice hostel, with the most helpful owners who truly go out of their way to make everyone feel comfortable. Some of the far rooms don't get wi-fi connection and sound carries in the halls, but probably the only big downside was the allowing of guests to smoke on the premises. Overall, though, a good hostel with great service.

Timbo Posada

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina

Great hostel in a perfect location. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful, and one of the best hostel breakfasts ever!

Black Cat Hostel

Asuncion, Paraguay

On the plus side, this hostel is well located, good value, and the staff are exceptionally sweet and friendly. Downsides: walls are paper thin (it's loud), wi-fi does not work in many rooms, and smoking is common on the premises.

Hotel LP Santa Cruz

Santa Cruz, Bolivia

Great hostel, super clean modern rooms with working wi-fi. Staff was friendly and helpfully arranged airport transfers for a 1am arrival. Definitely recommend

Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street

Singapore, Singapore

Great hostel in a great location with a very helpful staff. Only downsides are a) a 28-bed dorm, which is a LOT of people in one room and b) small lockers which can't fit regular sized backpacks.

Wo Jia Lodge

Kuching, Malaysia

Excellent hostel right by the river in the perfect location. Definitely recommend.

BackHome Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Great hostel with friendly and helpful staff within walking distance to all the main areas of interest. Definitely recommend.

Hostel Quetzal

Cancun, Mexico

Great hostel with a wonderful home-like feel to it. The included dinners are great and the staff truly go out of their way to ensure a great stay. Highly recommended.

Hostel Rio Playa

Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Nice hostel with friendly staff in a great location just one block away from the beach. The downsides are the loud music from the bar next door until 3:30am every night and unreliable wi-fi.


Merida, Mexico

Great hostel with particularly friendly and helpful staff.

Managua Backpackers Inn

Managua, Nicaragua

Wonderful hostel in a great location in Managua. The staff was friendly and helpful, beds were comfortable and the pool was a great addition! Only thing missing are individual lockers (instead of a locked left luggage room), but the owner says he's having those built soon. Definitely recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Thanks for providing us your comments. Since you stayed with us, we now have a set of 20 new lockers available to guests.

Hostel Casa del Parque

San Jose, Costa Rica

This is one of the coolest hostels. It's basically a mansion repurposed as a hostel and you still get that luxury home type feel. Great location, very good security and wonderfully friendly and helpful staff made it a great place to stay.

Hostel Mamallena

Boquete, Panama

Loved this hostel! It's got character, it's perfectly located, fun and friendly staff, great common areas and kitchen, and comfortable beds. Definitely one of my favorites of this trip!

Panama by Luis

Panama City, Panama

Nice hostel with friendly staff. Due to the insane traffic of the city, it can take over an hour to get anywhere of interest (Casca Viejo, canal, bus terminal, etc.), even by taxi. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable. One major downside is only 8 tiny lockers for the entire hostel--get there when they're already being used and you're out of luck.

El Viajero Cartagena Hostel

Cartagena, Colombia

Great hostel, amazingly clean rooms and restrooms, and friendly staff and feel. Highly recommended.

Little Town

Prague, Czech Republic

Pros: nice location, huge rooms with real beds (no bunks), friendly staff, good value. Cons: no common room (i.e. no social interaction), constant disconnects on wi-fi, no lockers.

JUFA Salzburg City

Salzburg, Austria

This is what your junior high school would look like if it had dorm beds. It's huge (400+ beds) and caters to all the school tour groups (lots of young teens running around). Even a canteen with cafeteria food and your typical scowling staff. Clean, comfortable and convenient, though, although the wifi was broken and the staff showed little to no interest in seriously trying to fix it.

Fluxus Hostel

Ljubljana, Slovenia

Wonderful hostel with large rooms in a great location downtown. The staff was super friendly and welcoming.

Silver Gate Hostel

Split, Croatia

Pretty much the perfect hostel, in the most ideal location. Thanks!

Haris Youth Hostel

Sarajevo, Bosnia And Herzegovina

Note that the directions to the hostel bring you to their sales office, not the hostel itself. The hostel is about 800 meters straight up a very steep hill. Otherwise, the place was nice and the owners friendly.

Berat Backpackers Hostel

Berat, Albania

Excellent, very comfortable hostel right in the old town. Perfect.


Corfu, Greece

Fabulous location right on the beach with friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast and excellent dinners! Strangely, this is the only hostel I've been to in Europe that charges extra for internet access (even wifi), but all things considered a truly wonderful place to stay.

Guesthouse Velania

Pristina, Kosovo

The new house is definitely better than the original building. Only one computer with internet--no wifi.

Manga hostel

Belgrade, Serbia

Nice, clean hostel with very friendly staff. Location is about 10 minutes out from the main square

Hostel Sova

Novi Sad, Serbia

Great hostel in a perfect location in Novi Sad, just around the corner from the main square. Nice comfortable beds with lockable storage lockers, great wifi and a good common room.

Chisinau Hostel

Chisinau, Moldova

Excellent new hostel with very helpful staff.

Hostel Mostel

Sofia, Bulgaria

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in the past 10 months of travel. Nice, clean, friendly, great common area, free internet, good breakfast, and even a map with a recommended walking tour. Great place to relax and meet other travelers and easy to get to from the bus/train station.

TIU Yalta Backpackers

Yalta, Ukraine

Awesome hostel in a great location, just a few minutes from the beach. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Mosquito Hostel

Krakow, Poland

What a wonderful hostel! Great staff, sparkling clean restrooms, functioning wi-fi, free breakfast, big storage lockers in the room, and unusually comfortable beds. One of my best hostel experiences in eastern Europe.

The Kosmonaut Hostel

Lviv, Ukraine

Great hostel in a perfect location with wonderfully helpful staff. Only thing missing are storage lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gabriel, We are in the process of purchasing lockers, but for the moment our customers can store their belongings in one of two secure luggage rooms or our safe. Thank you for your comments! Best Regards, The Kosmonauts

Flamingo Hostel

Krakow, Poland

The hostel was nice and the staff were friendly, but two things to know. First, there is a very loud nightclub directly across the street, so depending on which room you have, it can be noisy. Second, their wi-fi service is terrible, cutting out every few minutes and forcing a reconnect. On the plus side, great storage lockers in the rooms and helpful service for all activities around town and beyond.

Tallinn Backpackers

Tallinn, Estonia

Great location, very friendly staff, great common room and heated floor in a spotlessly clean bathroom. On the downside, there's only one bathroom/shower and the location is directly across from the popular and loud late night (6am) bar in Tallinn, so not for light sleepers.

Avalon House

Dublin, Ireland

Great service, wonderful staff. The showers don't have adjustable temperature and are scaldingly hot, but if you think of them as a sauna it all works.

Hostel Pink Floyd

Rome, Italy

We booked Pink Floyd, but it's one of many little hotels and pensiones run by the same group, with varying degrees of quality and comfort. When we arrived they sent us to a different place, which was horrible, so the following night they switched us to yet another one of their locations which was better.