Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Canada, Gender: Female, Age: 25
80%

Staff was very helpful. If you want to stay in the city centre, I'd recommend this hostel. It's on a main street so it can be very noise due to traffic. Bring earplugs for sleeping.

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (48 reviews)


Kokopelli Hostel Paracas

Paracas, Peru
91%

Awesome hostel right on the beach. Pool was great, bar was fun at night and dorms feel private due to the pods. Breakfast includes eggs. Would have liked to stay longer! Definitely stay here.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (48 reviews)


60%

Kind of a dirty place. Not much for security: all we had was a small safe to share between two people. Could only fit our passports and wallets, so no security for anything else. Fine for a short stay but we left as soon as possible.

  • 23rd Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (48 reviews)


Gringo's Rincon Hostel

Sucre, Bolivia
97%

Mike, the owner, really is the best host you could ask for. The facilities are clean and comfortable and this was one of our favourite hostels in all of South America. Highly recommend!!

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (48 reviews)


Aymarak Hostel

Puno, Peru
69%

Only 5 mins to Plaza de Armas, but a good 15 minutes to get back, since it's up a steep hill. Not a walk we looked forward to, especially when you have to do it about 2-3 times a day since everything is downhill from the hostel. Luce was very hospitable. Beds were comfortable, although the ceiling height is very low so you can't even sit up on the top bunk. Bathrooms were clean but there weren't enough for the number of guests, meaning long waits in the morning. I would stay somewhere else..

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (48 reviews)


Hostal Chaska Wasi

Ollantaytambo, Peru
83%

We really enjoyed our stay at Chaska Wasi. Private room was clean and staff was helpful (if you could find them).

  • 5th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (48 reviews)


Supertramp Hostel

Machu Picchu, Peru
86%

Stayed for one night. Nice small/quiet place. Breakfast in the morning included eggs. I would stay again.

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (48 reviews)


89%

Great hostel in Miraflores. Great social atmosphere. Dorms were crowded and hot, not pleasant, but the rest of the hostel made up for it. There are cheaper places to stay in Lima but I would probably come back.

  • 26th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (48 reviews)


Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Oxford, England
86%

Good hostel, would stay here again. Dorms were really tiny but we only had 3-4 people in the 14 bed dorm so it wasn't so bad. Beds were hard and uncomfortable. Washroom facilities were good. Free wifi and baggage hold for guests.

  • 20th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


74%

Basic place though right on the beach. You are on a tropical island so expect lizards, spiders, bugs, etc. in your room. Although we also had a mouse and some cockroaches... Service at the restaurant was extremely slow, so expect to wait over an hour to eat. Dive shop was excellent and Fiji has some amazing diving. Overall had an awesome experience here but if you want something more than basic look elsewhere.

  • 22nd Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Bluewater Lodge

Nadi, Fiji
77%

Great little hostel that was converted from a big house. The wifi wasn't working when we stayed and there wasn't a lock on the dorm room door but other than that it was a pleasant stay. The food offered by the kitchen is excellent and good value for money. Recommend staying here!

  • 20th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Base Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
91%

Centrally located in downtown Auckland. Good value for money and you need key card access to get to your floor and into your room so it's very safe. Definitely recommend.

  • 19th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Base Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
89%

Great location, big clean beds and Globe Bar just 2 doors down is perfect for partying late into the night. Definitely recommend.

  • 17th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Blarneys Rock Backpackers

Rotorua, New Zealand
94%

Feels more like a home than a hostel. Best stocked kitchen I have seen in all of Australia and New Zealand! Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • 14th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Taupo Urban Retreat

Taupo, New Zealand
83%

Staff was really friendly and hostel. Good location. They had a bar but it closed at 10pm, and you weren't allowed to BYO even after that. Beds were comfortable but security wasn't the greatest (had our cooler stolen out of the kitchen area)

  • 12th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Habitat HQ

Melbourne, Australia
94%

Excellent hostel in St.Kilda. Staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms are apartment style and the lounge area is very inviting. Hostel had a big party one night with free beer and champagne and prizes. Definitely recommend.

  • 28th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Backpackers HQ

Sydney, Australia
80%

We had a pleasant stay at Backpackers HQ. The courtyard is a great place to hang out. Free wifi is nice. Kitchen was quite small which made it difficult to cook during peak hours but I would recommend this hostel to my friends.

  • 24th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Cool Bananas

Agnes Water - Town of 1770, Australia
86%

Great place to stay in Agnes Water. Staff will help you with all sorts of tours/bookings, although good luck finding someone at reception. Good atmosphere and lounge area. Kitchen was clean and big. Recommended.

  • 14th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

Airlie Beach, Australia
89%

Good location. Loft dorm room was nice as there were no bunk beds, and even though there were a lot of people in the room you had your own space. Good kitchen and facilities. Recommended.

  • 9th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Grannys Hostel

Kuta, Indonesia
51%

Hostel is really out of the way and my taxi driver had a REALLY hard time finding it. It may be cheap but you end up paying more for transportation into Kuta than you would on a centrally located place. Save yourself the hassle and stay in Kuta. Breakfast was standard but good. Showers weren't working when I was there, no water coming out. Only redeeming point was that one of the staff was super friendly and helpful in planning to leave this place!


A Beary Good Hostel

Singapore, Singapore
83%

Great hostel in Chinatown. Really easy to find and right next to the public transportation network so easy to get around. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

  • 10th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


66%

Small family run hostel. I was the only one in my dorm when I was there so it was quiet and private but I was hoping to meet some other travelers. Really basic accommodation but the family who run the place are very nice.

  • 6th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
91%

Really clean, new hostel. You get a private "cubicle" instead of a regular bunk bed so you get a little bit more privacy than a standard dorm room. Staff was super friendly and helpful with planning the rest of my trip around Malaysia. Rooftop bar is a great way to meet fellow travelers and have a fun night. Highly recommended.

  • 3rd Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Red Inn Court

Penang, Malaysia
80%

I stayed at 3 different Red Court hostels while in Penang (they are all run by the same company). This one was one of the better ones but because their wifi wasn't working I switched to another one. Nice place to stay though, recommended.

  • 30th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Lanta House

Koh Lanta, Thailand
80%

Clean hostel, good value for the money. Staff was quite rude at times and not very helpful. Location is great for the town of Saladan but nowhere near the beach so depends what you are looking for. Free tea/coffee/water was a nice touch.

  • 27th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I just read your comment and I would like to say Thank You so much . My name is O, the owner and manager of Lanta House. I just want to explain about your comment saying that "We are quite rude at times and not very helpful "You asked me to book a transportation ticket from Lanta going to Kuala Lumpur but I answered you that we cannot reserve any transportation ticket and I advised you to go to travel agencies in our neighborhood, more than 30 travel agencies around our guesthouse and here they know much better about the transportation and accommodation compared to us, but then you don't like to go and don't know the reason why. Is it very difficult to understand? You also keep on asking me to do many things that I didn't know aside from this transportation you want me to call your hotel in your next destination, so I used my private mobile phone to call for you and didn't charge you anything for it. I told you many times to go and talk to the travel agency for all your questions to be answered. And if you remember you keep on asking me the last departure of the minibus to Trang and I told you the times that it's 15:30 then I left the guesthouse for some important matter and I received a call from my wife saying that you want to book the transportation to Trang but since it's 14:30 already I tried to call them but they said It's fully booked already and then the next thing that you did is to BLAME us and you said that it's my fault. The first time you asked me if there's available seat on the minibus to Trang, I called them to inquire and said they still have but then you did not reserved, so the minibus company keep on accepting customers until full. The next thing is my place is full and you said I should be responsible for your place to stay, keep on asking me where will you stay, I told you MANY TIMES again that my guesthouse is fully booked so I suggested you again to go and look around our area because there are a lot of guesthouses everywhere or go and inquire at the travel agencies but still you keep on bothering us, you don't like to go. The last thing happened was the time you leave my guesthouse going to Krabi Town with your friend. You and your friend left my place and yelled "POOR SERVICE'' because I can't serve you the way you want to be served. if you really think back to that situation you will realize that i am helping you by asking you to go tour agency who really knows about your case and will give you the best answers that you're looking for not a guest house who is just trying to help you. If you travel more you will learn more try to adopt to your environment because if you don't no stranger will help you and you will be in a situation that you will regret. Best Regards, O

Pak-Up Hostel

Krabi, Thailand
100%

Hands down the best hostel experience I've had in all of SEA. Big, comfy beds, private lockers, plugs and lights, amazing showers and everything is very clean. The Playground bar behind the hostel is a great place to meet people with live music, pool and beer pong every night. Loved this place so much I came back to Krabi for a couple extra nights just to stay at this hostel again! 100% recommended.

  • 21st Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Jaya Hostel & Guesthouse

Koh Phangan, Thailand
51%

Dorm room was dirty and we even had cockroaches in the bathroom. It was supposedly ensuite but the bathroom and shower were down a flight of stairs. Great location for Full Moon Party though and since we were only there to party it made it a fine place to crash. Food in the restaurant was really good too. Wouldn't stay here again though, the only reason we ended up here was due to a last minute cancellation of our beachside bungalow.

  • 7th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


97%

One of the best hostel in South East Asia. Highly Recommend!

  • 1st Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Hue Backpackers Hostel

Hue, Vietnam
89%

Great hostel. Each bed gets a plug, a shelf and a locker. Free breakfast is nice and the pizza happy hour is awesome!

  • 27th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Dai Long Hotel

Hoi An, Vietnam
86%

We stayed in a 3 bed private. Big room with ensuite bathroom. Very comfortable beds and friendly staff. Recommended.

  • 25th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • All Female Group
  • (48 reviews)


83%

Small hostel with no lounge area so it can be hard to meet people. Very clean though and great location a few minutes walk from the beach. Good value for money.

  • 21st Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


71%

Hostel was very clean and beds were comfortable. Showers were excellent and lounge area had a TV and a pool table available. Cambodian staff were friendly but the Australian owner was rude towards guests as well as other staff. Location is not ideal but good value for money.


Garden Village Guest House

Siem Reap, Cambodia
69%

Dorm beds are just a mattress outside under a roof with a mosquito net, so don't expect an actual dorm "room". Rooftop bar was great and everything was within walking distance. For the price you can't go wrong but if you want more than basic accommodation look elsewhere.

  • 12th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group
  • (48 reviews)


Velkommen Backpackers

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
97%

Great hostel, clean, comfortable and good value. Staff was very friendly and bar/lounge area was a great place to hang out. Definitely recommend.

  • 9th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Easy Go Hostel

Vang Vieng, Laos
51%

After checking out the hostel we opted to stay elsewhere. The hostel was not completed yet and the rooms were very basic, with just a mattress on the floor as a bed. For the same price we were able to find a really nice private room with ensuite, AC, TV, etc. Not recommended.

  • 30th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Xayana Guesthouse

Luang Prabang, Laos
77%

Great big, comfortable beds. Good location. Although staff was difficult to deal with and the hostelworld deposit doesn't get used towards the booking, so expect to pay the full amount upon arrival (and basically lose your deposit). But since it's so cheap it doesn't make that big a deal. I would stay here again.

  • 28th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


77%

Great hostel up the hill from town. Room was very basic with just mattresses on the floor but it was just what we needed. Campfire at night is a really great way to meet people and to stay warm! They took us tubing one day and had a BBQ for dinner another night. Staff was amazing!

  • 19th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


Gongkaew Chiangmai Home

Chiang Mai, Thailand
86%

Great place to stay in Chiang Mai. Perfect base for doing trips/excursions around the area. Not walking distance to the bar area in Chiang Mai though, so you have to take a tuk tuk. Great atmosphere and lounge area, made you feel as though you were outside the city. Free coffee/tea/toast was a plus. Staff was wonderful, picked us up at the airport late at night even though our email telling them that we were arriving never went through.

  • 16th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


NapPark Hostel at Khao San

Bangkok, Thailand
97%

Great hostel just off Khao San Road. Lounge area is a great place to meet people with free internet, movies and a tour desk. A bit more expensive than other places but worth the money. When I returned to Bangkok for a day, they let me store my bags and hang out for the day, no charge. Highly recommend!

  • 12th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (48 reviews)


The 4You Hostel Munich

Munich, Germany
90%

Close to train station, walking distance to everything. Big personal lockers with key for each guest, dorms a little crowded but still decent. Breakfast buffet was really good, lots of selection and available until 10am, which was nice. Free New Europe walking picks you up directly from the hostel, definitely worth it. Would definitely recommend this hostel.


BackStage Hotel

Amsterdam, Netherlands
90%

Really cool "rockstar" rooms. Clean place, a little far but still walking distance to everything. Free internet is a plus.


HI Vianden

Vianden, Luxembourg
83%

Went in the off season so it was only the two of us and a big tour group. Quite literally at the base of the castle, so quite a hike up from the bus stop with our packs on. Big, clean dorm rooms were almost empty so it was like having a 16 bed dorm to yourself. Staff was friendly but no one was there the morning we left so the breakfast was very disorganized and we couldn't really check out. (someone forgot to come to work) Overall nice place


Hotel Andre Gill

Paris, France
60%

Located near the Moulin Rouge and le Sacre Coeur. Everything else is easily accessible by metro. Kind of a skethy area, staff was somewhat rude. Rooms were FILTHY! smelled of mold and mildew, beds were not comfortable. Breakfast was served and excellent but would not stay here again.


Funny-Farm

Interlaken, Switzerland
90%

Didn't actually stay in the hostel part, they generously upgraded us to the hotel, AMAZING view from our room. Staff was very helpful with everything and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Ai Due Leoncini

Venice, Italy
83%

Stayed in the hostel part, but still feels more like a hotel. Small rooms, clean bathrooms. Close to train station and you can take the water bus to San Marco, takes about 35 mins. We walked it as well, took about an hour but was a nice walk.


Emerald Palace

Florence, Italy
87%

Lockout kinda sucks, only hostel we stayed in that had one. You gotta pay to keep your bags there for the day, which is 2 euros a bag, but the guy let us keep them there for free. Free internet is nice, rooms are good. Would probably find somewhere else to stay if I went back, but for the price it was worth it. Good location


Ciak Hostel

Rome, Italy
73%

Nice place. Kitchen has everything you need to make a meal. Breakfast was decent. Very close to metro stop which takes you anywhere in Rome in 15 mins or less. Would stay again.