Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: HVC

Location England, Gender Female, Age 28

  • HVC
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Equity Point Madrid, Madrid, Spain
8.0
6th Sep 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Clink78, London, England
5.7
19th Aug 2013

Not very impressed with this well-known establishment. Rooms were tiny and dingy, with awkward ladders to reach the top bunks, and a single bare lightbulb hanging overhead. Corridors and common rooms were boiling hot all the time, and there were far fewer toilet and shower facilities than there should have been, given the size of the hostel. Showers floors were constantly wet and dirty. Located close to Kings Cross and a short walk from the centre, though the immediate area is nothing special.

View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks a lot for your feedback. We are going through a very hot summer at the moment, so London is hotter than usual. Nevertheless, there are fans available at reception upon request to make things better :) About the cleanliness, we have a 24h- hardworking Housekeeping team that is taking care of the building. Next, time just please come to reception if you think that showers are not clean enough, we are happy to clean them again! :) See you next time! Clink Team

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hatters Hostel- Liverpool, Liverpool, England
8.0
9th Aug 2011

A very large hostel conveniently located in the city centre in an old YMCA. Rooms were clean and neat with good ensuite facilities, although the lock on our bathroom door didn't work. Breakfast was free and on certain nights there was free pizza and pancakes. Unfortunately the lift was very tiny and could barely fit anything in it, so often you had to climb several flights of stairs with luggage. Wi-fi was quite expensive, but the hostel was reasonably priced overall; I would stay again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Townside Hostel Bremen, Bremen, Germany
8.3
7th Aug 2011

A reasonably priced hostel located in a very cool and lively part of the city. Too many stairs to climb with heavy bags, as unfortunately there was no lift, but rooms were very clean and tidy with large locker facilities. There was free internet, but it was on one communal laptop with no legitimate queueing system...basically if no one else was using the laptop, you could use it, but otherwise you had to wait for someone else to finish their 'turn', however long they might deem that to be.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
MEININGER Hamburg City Center, Hamburg, Germany
8.0
6th Aug 2011

Located in the cool Altona district, a very large hostel with an almost corporate feel, part of the massive Meininger chain. Rooms were clean with good en-suite facilities, however the arrangement of beds seemed odd...we were assigned the last two beds in the room, which effectively made up a double bed...it would have been very awkward and uncomfortable if we hadn't come as a couple; we could have easily been strangers basically forced to share a bed. Breakfast VERY expensive, don't bother.

View Property Reply

Thank you for the really nice comment, see you soon again. :)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Townside Hostel Bremen, Bremen, Germany
8.3
5th Aug 2011

A reasonably priced hostel located in a very cool and lively part of the city. Too many stairs to climb with heavy bags, as unfortunately there was no lift, but rooms were very clean and tidy with large locker facilities. There was free internet, but it was on one communal laptop with no legitimate queueing system...basically if no one else was using the laptop, you could use it, but otherwise you had to wait for someone else to finish their 'turn', however long they might deem that to be.

View Property Reply

Hello Hope, thank you for your rating. Yes, we have a lot of stairs in our hostel and no elevator. That's the tribute to this charming old house :). I'm sorry to read you couldn't use the laptop. That is not how it works. if someone ask for the computer and it is in use, we inform the other person and ask how long it might take. I apologize if we didn't do this in your case. Always safe travelling Lucia Hoyman

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Liverpool International Inn, Liverpool, England
7.3
1st Aug 2011

A large hostel conveniently located in the city centre. Clean and spacious, and not too many stairs to climb with luggage. En-suite facilities were good, with additional bathrooms in the corridors available. Security was fairly good, with lockers available in the rooms for a fee. The only major drawback of the hostel is that all of the beds are incredibly noisy, every time someone turned over or moved in bed it made the springs squeak very loudly, enough to wake the rest of the room.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hatters Hostel- Liverpool, Liverpool, England
8.0
28th Jul 2011

A very large hostel conveniently located in the city centre in an old YMCA. Rooms were clean and neat with good ensuite facilities, although the lock on our bathroom door didn't work. Breakfast was free and on certain nights there was free pizza and pancakes. Unfortunately the lift was very tiny and could barely fit anything in it, so often you had to climb several flights of stairs with luggage. Wi-fi was quite expensive, but the hostel was reasonably priced overall; I would stay again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Ashfield Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
7.3
5th Feb 2011

Rowdy, lively hostel smack bang in the middle of Dublin; couldn't ask for a more central location. Room was clean and tidy and the ensuite was adequate, although the window didn't close properly and the street outside was busy and noisy at all hours. A generous complementary breakfast was available every morning, and TV and internet were available at all hours in the spacious foyer. Lockers were located in the foyer and staff were relatively helpful. Would stay again: very good value for money.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7.7
30th Dec 2010

A welcoming hostel in an ideal location in Montmartre, just around the corner from Amelie's Cafe des 2 Moulins and close to Blanche, Pigalle and Abbesses metro stations. The room was very clean and tidy, even if the ensuite facilities were very cramped. The kitchen downstairs seemed very small to accommodate so many guests, and be prepared for many flights of steep, winding stairs. Security was relatively lax as no lockers were provided. However, good value for money and would stay again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Astor Victoria, London, England
7.0
11th Dec 2010

Large hostel, conveniently located close to Pimlico and Victoria. Friendly atmosphere though staff were not very attentive and security was relatively lax (no lockers, just an all-in storage cupboard). Room was small and poky, it had a wash basin and mirror but little cupboard space. Bathrooms/shower rooms were very small and corridors and stairwells were awkward to navigate. Cleanliness was average but you wouldn't expect better for the cheap price. A nice cheap dive but nothing special.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Max Hostel, Bonn, Germany
6.7
24th Aug 2010

Very difficult to find - be prepared to ask around for the part of the Maxstrasse with odd numbers. Area feels quite remote though not far from the town centre. Kitchen was spacious and the rooms and bathrooms were very clean. There were no internet terminals, only Wi-Fi, and the staff were often not around, making the hostel feel a little impersonal. Security, however, was excellent - better than at any hostel I've ever been to, with keycodes for doors and big lockers in the room.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
Station Hostel for Backpackers, Cologne, Germany
7.0
23rd Aug 2010

Large hostel in the city centre near to the train station and the Dom. Room was small with no lockers, but clean enough. Bathrooms were compact and clean. There was a fairly large lounge and kitchen area and a bar, as well as internet terminals (almost constantly occupied). The general decor could do with being updated but overall the hostel was cheap and convenient, despite lacking a bit of character. Staff were okay. Little bit tricky to find as both sides of the street have the same numbers.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Liverpool International Inn, Liverpool, England
7.3
25th Jul 2010

A large hostel conveniently located at the edge of the city centre. The room was spacious and clean, with a clean and tidy en-suite bathroom. However, there weren't enough plug sockets in the room, and the corridor luggage storage did not seem particularly secure. The beds were also very very squeaky, and it was almost impossible to get mobile phone reception anywhere in the building. Worst of all, the showers were always cold, and the water came out too quickly, frequently flooding the floor.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.0
15th Jul 2010

A multi-floored hotel-like hostel. Conveniently located for access to the U-Bahn, but quite far to go on foot to the city centre, and the surrounding area is nothing special. At night there was a sociable atmosphere, with an on-site bar and roof terrace. However, it seemed that not enough lockers were available for all of the guests, and staff often seemed snowed-under with work at the front desk. This place is clearly very popular. The room was relatively spacious with a sparkling clean en-suite.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Southend Hostel Bremen, Bremen, Germany
8.0
13th Jul 2010

Great location, short walk from train station and market square. Dorm was spacious with clean en-suite bathroom. There was free internet access and we were given a large locker in our room without having to ask. However, we had to pay extra for bed linen (very cheeky) and the hostel was incredibly quiet for the middle of July - we only saw two other guests the whole time, and barely any staff for that matter. Not a place to meet people and party, but certainly convenient, clean and good value.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Camden, London, England
8.0
6th Jan 2010

This large, friendly hostel has a great location in the heart of Camden, on the high street. The room was clean enough (the beds had proper duvet covers aswell) although its description as \'ensuite\' was not entirely accurate - it only contained a shower cubicle and some sinks, i.e. no toilet. The room key cards were sometimes difficult to use and needed re-charging, as seems to be the case at all St. Christopher\'s hostels. Good value for money though and we would probably stay again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Abigails Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
8.0
4th Dec 2009

Large hostel, great location in the city centre (short walk from Temple Bar, O\'Connell St., Grafton St.). Dorm was v. clean and spacious. However, the luggage rooms did not seem very secure (staff did not ticket the bags or anything) and instead of having an electronic room key we were given a piece of paper (easy to lose when screwed up in your pocket) which we had to show at the desk in order to access our room - could do better. However, good value for money and I would stay again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Youth Hostel Meetingpoint, Amsterdam, Netherlands
7.3
7th Sep 2009

Location fantastic - our room looked over the canal, and the street was really lively. However, the room was furnished with only the beds, and no chairs or tables, no bin, no mirror, and no plug sockets, which would be really inconvenient if you needed to charge a phone/camera. The bathroom floor was always wet and the showers were cold. The bar area downstairs was quite dim and uninviting; there wasn\'t much atmosphere. I wouldn\'t stay again - I would find a different hostel on the same street.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Abigails Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
8.0
27th Jul 2009

Large hostel, great location in the city centre (short walk from Temple Bar, O\'Connell St., Grafton St.). Dorm was v. clean and spacious. However, the luggage rooms did not seem very secure (staff did not ticket the bags or anything) and instead of having an electronic room key we were given a piece of paper (easy to lose when screwed up in your pocket) which we had to show at the desk in order to access our room - could do better. However, good value for money and I would stay again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • HVC
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
8.7
22nd Jul 2009

Fantastic location right next to the pier and the coach station. The hostel incorporates a bar and night club so there was a great atmosphere and lots going on. The room was pretty basic and could have been a bit cleaner but fair value for the amount paid (you could do a lot worse!). The electronic room key system was great except for having to sometimes recharge our cards. But staff were constantly on hand to help. A very sociable atmosphere and unbeatable location. Would definitely stay again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.