Reviews: JulzF

Location: USA, Gender: Female, Age: 29
94%

Had a lovely stay at your hostel. Great location and friendly staff!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your kind words! I'm so glad to hear that you had a great stay. Please come back and see us again soon. Kind Regards, Lydia, HI-Seattle AGM

Hospedaje Casco Viejo

Panama City, Panama
66%

A bare bones backpackers hostel. The price was right at $11 a pop for the 12-bed dorm and basic breakfast. Loved the location in the historic Casco Viejo. Rom was comfortable and clean. A few of the bathrooms were oddly locked and inaccessible a times, and the bathrooms that were open often lacked toilet paper and soap. A club on the next block plays very loud electronic dance music until all hours of the night, so if falling asleep to Avicii isn't your thing, bring earplugs.


Athens Backpackers

Athens, Greece
80%

Can't rave enough about the convenient location. It was easy to find the hostel after stepping off the metro from the airport at the Akropolis stop at night. Just a few minutes to walk to the Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, and beautiful Plaka neighborhood. The hostel was quiet since I visited in November during the low tourist season. But a nice bonus: I was upgraded to a smaller dorm room at no extra charge due to painting in other parts of the building.


X Hostel Bucharest

Bucharest, Romania
94%

No customer comment


USA Hostels Hollywood

Los Angeles, USA
83%

A friend and I had a fun stay over Memorial Day weekend in one of the six-bed mixed dorms. We booked at the last minute and were pleased by how convenient the location was to many of the major sites and train stations in Hollywood. Staff were welcome upon arrival and helpful when planning activities around the city. I would recommend this hostel to others looking for budget-friendly accommodations!


89%

Very clean and convenient accommodations at a reasonable price. But the hostel chain lacks the character and ambiance of a locally run, independent Japanese-style hostel.


100%

Among the loveliest and friendliest hostels I've ever experienced in my travels. Akari is a Japanese-style hostel with tatami flooring and only a 20-minute walk or short ride on the tram from the main train station. Kazushi and Tomo were such gracious hosts and provided excellent restaurant recommendations, including the best tonkatsu (breaded pork cultet) near the arcade shopping area.


Green Guest House

Kagoshima, Japan
63%

Quite disappointed by this hostel. The staff wasn't very welcoming upon arrival, and the common area wasn't nearly as tidy as it looks in the photos. Above all else, the most unpleasant part is that the whole hostel building and its beds shake when semi-trucks drive by along the busy road at night. The couple of redeeming features: clean rooms and bathrooms, convenient location to the waterfront, and a homemade udon restaurant down the block. (Seriously, go try the made-to-order noodles.)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying GREEN GUEST HOUSE. We are so sorry to be offended by our staff. It was not enough to supervise our staff. We will pay attention to wait on our guests with the hospitality. And sometimes our guesthouse building is shaked by traffic. But the stracture of our guesthouse building has no problem. We are sorry you were worried with it. Hope to see you again.

83%

Decently priced hostel in Tokyo at $25 per night for the 12-bed mixed dorm. Nice common area with communal tables and simple breakfast offerings of toast, eggs, coffee, and tea. A short walk from the JR station and yellow line, it was easy to reach many of the city's main sites in Ueno Park, Akhihabara, Asakusa, Ginza, Tsukiji, and Ryogoku.


Hotel Dorothy

La Fortuna, Costa Rica
83%

Hotel Dorothy is a simple, charming hostel with a beautiful view of Volcan Arenal. The hostel is conveniently located just a few blocks from the main bus terminal. Private room was small, plain, and very inexpensive at about $9 pp. Only complaint is the bugs in our bathroom -- but hey, it's the rain forest. Hard to avoid the insects. Ronaldo and the rest of the staff were very friendly! They helped direct us to the beautiful Rio Fortuna waterfall, a great hike several miles up the road.


Hostel 1110

San Jose, Costa Rica
70%

Clean, spacious rooms with plenty of indoor and outdoor common areas for mingling. Hostel is located on a busy street but is a short walk to the major sites downtown. The free breakfast is nothing special: toast, butter, jam, coffee. Our first two nights were pleasant and quiet, but then a group of Panamanian football players checked in and proceeded to party for two nights straight. Unfortunately, the staff did nothing to address the noise complaints from many of the guests.