Reviews: elaine_mcgarvey

Location: Ireland, Gender: Female, Age: 30

Grannys Hostel

Kuta, Indonesia
80%

Amazing hostel especially for a lone traveller it's probably the most social hostel I've ever stayed in and I've stayed in many! Basic facilities but everything else is great especially staff all so friendly and they get to know all guests names. Love the random jamming sessions in the evening and the trip to Lovina is fantastic, a must do when staying here a very cool experience. Prepare to stay here longer than expected!!!

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (28 reviews)


The Ferry House

New Ross, Ireland
100%

Fantastic house that is perfect for self catering groups, really good value for money and lovely owners would definitely stay again.

  • 28th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (28 reviews)


94%

Perfect hostel if you are travelling in a car with friends, don't think it would suit a single traveller as much as it is a quiet hostel on the outskirts of things. Friendly and knowledgeable staff who had good information on the surrounding area. Good self catering facilities also.

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (28 reviews)


Rowan Tree Hostel

Ennis, Ireland
100%

Lovely staff one let us hire the towels for free and also another was really friendly and helpful about the area and where we were going to next. Great restaurant downstairs, pricey but worth it if you fancy a really good meal!! Really clean hostel, feels very new, also large car park across the bridge that is free outside business hours!

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (28 reviews)


Londonears Hostel

London, England
57%

No kitchen to cook only some microwaves, very slow and unorganized staff, also LOTS of stairs and no lift so be prepared!!

  • 18th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (28 reviews)


Backpack Oz

Adelaide, Australia
89%

Good hostel with lovely staff, big common area to hang out in and meet people and free breakfast is always a bonus and oh very handy when getting the airport shuttle bus as it is directly across the road from the hostel!

  • 30th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (28 reviews)


20%

Party central the only place to stay in Cairns, good price to considering the dinner is included!!


Base Magnetic Island

Magnetic Island, Australia
20%

Great hostel, good for meeting people, loved boozy bingo nite!! Just a pity the bar closed at midnight!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Elaine, It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Base Magnetic island, we all agree it is a shame the bar closes so early but it is part of our liquor licensing conditions. Could i please get some feedback from you, you have rated us 1 for all areas, this is the lowest rating you can get on hostelworld. Could you explain how we can improve our service, ideally we are looking for ratings that are higher and would love to get your feedback as to how we can acheive this. I look foward to your response. Kind Regards Aimee Jones General Manager Base Magnetic Island

Backpackers House

Nha Trang, Vietnam
100%

Brilliant hostel, staff are lovely, free breakfast is fantastic, really easy to meet people here, great location right beside beach and in the middle of the night life, although wifi isn't great and only three compters which are usually pretty busy but overall a really great hostel!


97%

Great hostel really clean especially the bathrooms, movie room is really cool to hang out in, great food and they offer lots of trips/bus/train tickets etc which is really helpful.


90%

Excellent stop over hostel for getting your visa for vietnam staff very helpful, wi-fi connection is excellent which is a nice change from many hostels, bathrooms are amazing with fab showers, only problem I would have is that there is no lockers to store your stuff.


97%

Beautiful hostel, really nice courtyard area, very friendly staff, the beds are amazing so big and soft and lots of extras like towels, shampoo, body wash in the rooms even in the dorms, unfortunately it was a little quiet as it was off season but I'd say this place is amazing in the peak season. Also great food at good prices!


100%

Great hostel, helpful staff, good common areas for meeting people although it was a bit cold. Sichuan opera tour with them great value and def worth going!


Han Tang Inn Hostel

Xi'an, China
100%

Great hostel, staff are so helpful with everything and it's really good for meeting other travellers. I also loved the private bathrooms in the dorm rooms!


100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed in, esp in Asia, it had loads of character, staff were really friendly and helpful, location is perfect near to subway and there are lots of retaurants and shops nearby, great place for hanging out and easy to meet people, the food is also really good esp the beef burger!!Only one complaint LOUD snorers in my mixed dorm and a very smelly person but guess that's just the joys of backpacking and dorm rooms!! Oh and internet can be dodgy sometimes.

  • 2nd Feb 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (28 reviews)


90%

This is my third time to stay in this hostel, it's perfect has all you need in terms of services and is in a great location, it's also good for meeting people. Sometimes however staff are a little unorganised but on a whole are generally very helpful. Free wi-fi in Lobby is VERY VERY slow but they have computers you pay for that are usually quite fast makes me think that this is possibly done on purpise....??


Tianjin City Youth Hostel

Tianjin, China
60%

This hostel was adequate, however it was very very cold and it's only the start of November so def wouldn't want to stay here in the middle of winter. Other than that it was an average hostel with no other major complaints. But it is very hard to find, thankfully the people in KFC close by were very helpful and showed us where it was. Watch out for the big E Mart with KFC beside it if you are on the bus/in taxi, and you're almost there then I'd suggest asking the KFC staff!!


93%

Great hostel, have stayed here twice on my visits to Beijing, perfect location close to subway and some nice places to eat and drink nearby, staff are lovely and very helpful, food is also good but buy beers in the shop as they are overpriced in the hostel. Good place for chatting to people and making friends!! On my second visit the toilets could have been cleaner and the beds are hard but it is china so the latter is to be expected!!


NapPark Hostel at Khao San

Bangkok, Thailand
100%

Love this place, only issue id have is that staff dont give you much info about what to do etc but apart from that they are lovely, also there is great tourist info around the area. One of the cleanest hostels I've stayed in, great common area to watch dvds and meet new people, will def be back!!


Birmingham Central Backpackers

Birmingham, England
77%

Cool hostel, well priced, however the staff are terrible, you are a complete inconvenience to them and you never want to ask them anything as you feel as if you are always being an annoyance, perfect hostel but greatly let down by the staff!


Atlantis Hotel Thessaloniki

Thessaloniki, Greece
77%

Cool place where everyone all goes out together after the bar closes. However doesnt quite live up to all the reviews and what it is described as on their website but perfect all the same!!


Seven Hostel

Sorrento, Italy
93%

Fabulous place to stay feels like you are in a hotel, have nothing bad to say about this place!!!


PLUS Camping Roma

Rome, Italy
43%

You are a complete inconvenience to all the staff, restaurant has awful service waited over 30mins to order and we even had to get our own menus... Not really catered for travelers more for Italian family's on holidays. Because the place is so massive really hard to meet people as a lone traveler. Didn't enjoy my stay here at all

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Elaine, we apologise if you had to wait so long at the restaurant, normally it's not like that. In the same day you were here we had 1200 people(mostly italian families) coming from all over the world that were here for a meeting at the olimpic stadium which hosted 70.000 people. If you ever have the chance to come back we will be happy to have you as guest at our restaurant , and you will see the difference. Thank you for leaving your comment and enjoy the rest of your travel. The Management of Camping Village Roma

PLUS Florence

Florence, Italy
100%

Best hostel ever, everyone must stay here, a pool, a sauna, roof top terrace, late bar downstairs with dj need I say more!! Found it great as a lone traveller to meet others! Also fab €5 all you can eat breakfast!


A Venice Fish

Venice, Italy
93%

Loved this place, everyone goes out 2gether after the free dinner, fab hostel, every lone traveller must stay here in Venice!!


70%

Really annoying that the reception closes between 10am and 3pm and also closes at at 10pm. Not the most helpful staff in terms of what to do in the city


70%

Internet is free but only 20min slots is really annoying with only 2 computers it is not enough time to look up trains and book hostels etc.


Amstel House Hostel

Berlin, Germany
47%

Internet is really bad, not allowing you to get onto certain pages

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well, WiFi costs you nothing, Hi-Speed Internet 2.00 Euro/ h and what are "certain pages"? I don´t think that is "really bad". We wish you a great summer. Alex