Reviews: Anonymous

Location: England, Gender: Female, Age: 25

Minoo House

Budapest, Hungary
89%

If you like your hostels characterless and samey then this place isn't for you, but if you like bags of charm, friendly staff and some quirky, interesting furnishing, then stay here! Great location a few mins from the metro, trams, buses with loads of restaurants, bars and coffee shops nearby. Rooms are spacious, airy and clean, with plenty of bathrooms. Great, well stocked kitchen and a great communal atmosphere. Would stay here again if I was in the city again!

  • 8th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Homy Inn

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
91%

Tiny rooms, but this is Hong Kong so that's the norm! Rooms were spotless, nice sheets and towels and staff were very helpful. Can be a little noisy if the other guests are, as rooms are close together, but nothing the hostel can do about that! Would stay again if I needed private rooms in HK!

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Hop Inn on Carnarvon

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
80%

This is Hong Kong, so expect tiny rooms, though the single I stayed in was plenty big enough for a night or two. Found the hostel to be a little noisy, the rooms are close together so the noise travels, but this is more down to the other people not the hostel necessarily. Nicely designed rooms and good staff, good location and good wifi, though despite all this I think the hostel is still slightly overpriced for what you get!

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Homey Hostel Downtown

Taipei, Taiwan
91%

Good location with excellent transport links, though a little tricky to find the first time. Rooms and bathrooms are spotless, plenty of showers, beds are comfy and the AC works well. Would stay again.

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
80%

Stay here regularly. Good location, clean, comfy beds and lots of people around so its an easy place to meet people.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan)

Guangzhou, China
86%

Stay here often. Clean rooms, with everything that you need and generally efficient staff. Location is OK, not the best, and atmosphere is lacking, but good for a short stopover or a few days in the city.

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


94%

Stay in Guangzhou alot, so keen to try this newly opened place! Really nicely designed hostel with spotless dorms and bathrooms (plenty of them to go around) and comfy beds. Only a few people staying as with no reviews on here yet I guess people are reluctant to make a booking, but great common area and roof terrace that I think will be amazing when filled with travellers! Staff had excellent English and were very friendly. Will become the must-stay place in Guangzhou I'm sure!

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


71%

Location was good and easy to find. Didn't have much of a hostel-atmosphere. No decent common area or information about things to do in the area. Staff were fine, but wouldn't have called them friendly. Beds were standard chinese- ie very hard, but rooms were clean enough. Shower and bathroom situation wasn't great, but they were usually clean. Would look elsewhere first, but fine if everywhere else is booked up!

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan)

Guangzhou, China
83%

Often in the city, and usually chose this place to stay over the other (thought somewhat measly selection) hostels in Guangzhou. Staff are efficient and generally helpful, but wouldn't call them friendly. Stayed in a single private room that was very clean, with a good ensuite bathroom, though a little pricey! Atmosphere here varies- sometimes its great, sometimes there isn't any. Location is OK, not the most central, but easy enough to get to. Good solid choice, but nothing amazing!

  • 9th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


80%

Good location, only a few minutes walk from major metro interchange. Rooms are clean, and well organised with large lockers for your stuff. Staff are fine- efficient check in process, but weren't particularly chatty. Lacks character and doesn't have much of an atmosphere, didn't really meet anyone while I was there (only one night though) Would recommend for a quick stopover or brief visit to the city, but if you want to meet people then maybe look at the other options in the city!

  • 2nd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Footprints Hostel

Singapore, Singapore
74%

About 10 minutes walk from a metro station, surrounded by cheap restaurants, a couple of bars and a few small supermarkets. Beds are comfy enough (though you have to make up the beds yourself when you arrive) and the rooms are clean with large lockers. Shower facilities were good, never had to wait, though got a bit grubby by the end of the day, and free breakfast was fine. Main downside was common area- small and not really enough seating- improve this and the hostel would be close to perfect.

  • 1st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
91%

Often in Hong Kong and always choose to stay here. Clean and comfy-enough beds. Great, central location and good value-for-money (for Hong Kong anyway!)

  • 21st Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


83%

Small rooms, but excellent location 2mins walk from metro station with good links to both airports. Probably more suitable for short stopovers than long stays. Generally clean rooms and bathrooms though slightly lacking in atmosphere!

  • 5th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


97%

Excellent hostel. Really great location, with good sized dorms and good, very clean bathroom facilities. Staff are helpful and friendly. Would recommend!

  • 2nd Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks a lot for your great rating, welcome back.

91%

Great hostel in a fantastic building! Bar is nice and had a good atmosphere even in the winter when many people weren't about. Public shower facilities are all grouped together on the bottom floor which is a bit of a trek from some rooms, but they're well designed cubicles with hot water and good pressure, so isn't too much of an issue. Generally clean, though bathrooms a little grubby at times.

  • 30th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


43%

Very dissappointed with this hostel. Booked an "Double Private Double Ensuite" to discover, on arrival, that this was not in the nice old synagagoue building, as we'd hoped, but in a horrid hotel-style block in the car park (of which there was no mention in their description). Room was dirty, hot water was sporadic and had no pressure when it did work. Wasn't terrible, but no where near worth the money we paid for it (yes we travelled during peak-ice festival time, but still!). Would avoid.

  • 9th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Lucky Family Hostel

Beijing, China
97%

Great hostel- only a few mins walk from a metro station which is very handy in the Beijing Winters. Good heating, good sheets and comfy enough beds, with friendly and very helpful staff who went out of their way to help me when I needed it! Common rooms are a little small, but nicely kitted out. Would stay here again!

  • 7th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HOPE UR COMING AGAIN.THANK YOU FOR YOUR ARRIVING!

Guangzhou DIY Tour Hostel

Guangzhou, China
77%

Odd set up- an apartment in a residential building made into a small guest-house. Difficult to find, so make sure you have the Chinese address and people can point you in the right direction when you get out of the metro station. Generally very clean with everything that you need, though personally the home-stay vibe doesn't really chime with me. Would recommend for a place to crash for one night, but if you're looking to meet other travellers or to party this really isn't the place for you!

  • 6th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
94%

Stayed here a couple of times now- always choose it when coming to Hong Kong. Excellent location, very well designed rooms with everything that you need! Great!

  • 2nd Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Trippers Carpe Diem

Yangshuo, China
71%

A little disappointed with this place- had heard great things, but didn't really materialise, maybe we were just unlucky. Travelled there in the winter, which is the off season, and the place was pretty empty. Really cold, with poor heating and no electric blankets - which are pretty common in hostels in China at this time of year. Woke up to no electricity, which although not their fault, they didn't really do much to help! Staff great though!

  • 23rd Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Wada Hostel in Guilin

Guilin, China
97%

Electric blankets are a great touch for the chilly winter nights! Great hostel, great, helpful knowledgable staff. Would stay there again!

  • 20th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
83%

Most spacious dorm room I've seen in Hong Kong. Comfy enough beds, in-room lockers and in-room wifi. Location is very close to an MTR station and lots of shops and restaurants. Excellent, would stay again!

  • 25th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


83%

Very clean hostel in a really pretty, cool location, though a bit out of the centre. Dorms are small, but the beds are comfy and the sheets are nice, so all that you need for a few nights in the city!

  • 23rd Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


RiverSide YHA (Jiangpan)

Guangzhou, China
83%

No customer comment

  • 9th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Comfort Hostel HK

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
80%

No customer comment

  • 21st Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


97%

Im often in Chengdu and keep coming back to Lazybones. Great rooms, great location, great staff! Excellent!

  • 30th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your "loyalty" :P It's always great to have you here with all of us to enjoy hostel life:) Sincerely regards,

Jalan-Jalan Emas

Melaka, Malaysia
91%

Lovely, cosy little guesthouse with great, friendly staff! Excellent location in the old town area. Our double room (fan, shared bathroom) was very nice and airy with big windows, though the mossie net was a bit patchy in places, so got rather bitten, though the staff did their best to help avoid this, providing us with mossie coils etc!

  • 28th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


Eclipse Guesthouse

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
80%

Only there for one night, and very much served the purpose as somewhere to crash while transitting! Booked a double and ended up with bunks, but the room was clean and the beds comfy enough. Bathroom situation is not great- though I understand they are re-doing the downstairs ones, so should be less of a problem in the future!

  • 27th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for review and advice. as you know we were in renovation and it wasn't your problem . really sorry for that hope to have you here surprised for to many changes and of course spatial price as apologies

Red Inn Heritage

Penang, Malaysia
60%

Pretty disappointed with this place, given the price we payed. Our room (booked well in advance) was fine- clean, comfy enough bed, though very sparsely furnished! However we seemed to get pretty unlucky and got lumbered with the room right next to the lobby which, due to the paper thin walls was really loud all the time, and didn't feel at all private, may have well have just slept on the sofas! Frosty staff, and in my opinion, very poor value for money!

  • 21st Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)


97%

Stayed here a few times now- excellent location and easily accessible by the subway. Staff are brilliant, very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! Electric blankets in the room are AMAZING and a great touch!

  • 23rd Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you^^

87%

No customer comment

  • 28th Oct 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (31 reviews)