Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: trips-for-pips

Location Ireland, Gender Female, Age 29

  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Cozy Nook Hostel, Da Lat, Vietnam
9.4
8th Sep 2017

The staff are really friendly and helpful, and went out of their way to help us when an activity we booked ourselves online got messed up. We stayed in a private room in the basement which had an amazing shower. The bed was really comfy too. I would've liked a fan to cool down as it got a bit warm sometimes. Breakfast was great. Thanks for everything!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.4
1st Aug 2017

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, especially Mariana and the other very nice young woman we spoke to several times (so sorry we forgot your name!). Decent breakfast. Comfy bed and spacious room with a hammock for relaxing. The shower was the only let down - warm but not hot and didn't spray properly. Also there was reasonably loud music playing until 11pm in the reception even though no-one was there but the staff. This could be heard in the bedroom. Some great songs but strange nonetheless!

View Property Reply

Hi Pips! Thank you so much for your review! It means the world to us. We're very happy to hear you had a nice stay with us, enjoying our breakfast, rooms and all the help from the front desk! We've already fixed the shower, so now it sprays properly and checked about the music so this not happen again to our future guests. Hope you and Ross have a wonderful trip and hope to see you very soon! Cheers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Discovery Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
8.9
29th Jul 2017

If you want to stay in a dorm then this hostel would be a great choice. Unfortunately the two private rooms are the only rooms that come straight off the patio (where the noise is made). In theory the patio closes at midnight but normally a bit after. Then people start talking loudly again before 7am so there is no way to get a good sleep even with earplugs. Decent kitchen, decent breakfast. Really helpful staff who will talk you through a map. Decent showers. Friendly and social atmosphere :-)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
La Tosca Hostel, Puerto Madryn, Argentina
8.9
2nd Jul 2017

Extremely welcoming and friendly staff who gave information and were happy to make phone calls and help us make plans to see the whales around the changing weather. Decent room. We lucked out and had the dorm to ourselves as it was v.quiet during our stay. The kitchen in reception is good, we used this one as the other one was cold and seemed a bit dirtier. Something savoury would be great for breakfast as well as the cake (maybe bread or fruit). Thanks - we had a great stay and would come back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hospedaje Penthouse 1004, Bariloche, Argentina
9.4
28th Jun 2017

A special thank you to Annie and any other staff who helped get my 'lost in the hostel' engagement ring back to me in Buenos Aires. Thanks for going the extra mile. Great view from the hostel and excellent kitchen - 3 cooking spaces so very spacious. Nice homemade bread and jam for breakie. To improve: mattresses a bit too old and needed replacing. Thanks again :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Margouya Patagonia, Puerto Varas, Chile
9.7
25th Jun 2017

A really warm and cosy hostel - a real treat during Patagonian winter. We had a clean and comfy private room. Decent kitchen and a nice sofa and TV with recent films and shows on (Finally got to see Planet Earth 2!) Staff were friendly and helpful (particularly the guy who worked in the mornings and helped us plan our days). Close to supermarkets and the bus stop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
La Joya Hostel, Valparaiso, Chile
9.4
18th Jun 2017

A really modern, clean and well designed hostel. The dorm is split into two levels so me and my boyfriend, who were on the upper level, felt like we had a private room. Total bonus! The hostel may seem not so central but the public transport is great - metro and trolley bus are right outside and very cheap and simple to use. Kitchen is cold but decent. Supermarket next door. Breakfast is delicious. Only minus was we had to ask for our toilet bin to be emptied and to be given more toilet paper.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
La Casa De Matilde, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
8.9
14th Jun 2017

Nice, quiet, clean 4 bed dorms with single beds not bunks. Good spacious kitchen. Showers hot most of the time - sometimes it goes cold but if you turn it off then on again it got hot again. Breakfast was delicious on pancake day, not as good on bread day. Located a short walk from the centre of town. Two very friendly ladies running the hostel, thanks! An expensive price for a dorm bed but seemingly a normal price for San Pedro.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
6.3
16th May 2017

Mostly friendly & helpful staff. Good location, short walk to the main square. Bedding in the private double needs replacing. sheets are old & worn & each morning you would wake up to find feathers from the ancient duvet everywhere. Bed also had a hideously uncomfortable plastic cover which stopped us from sleeping the first night. Sorry for removing it but it's the only way we slept on the second night. I wouldn't stay in a private here again. Need to check toilets have paper more often.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wild Olive Guesthouse, Huacachina, Peru
7.7
14th May 2017

Good location and a comfortable communal area with sofa and chairs. Decent breakfast. There were issues with water during our stay and periods of time with no water available. It seemed individual to the hostel rather than the whole town though, so not a desert issue! It would be great to have a big water cooler available so people don't have to buy plastic bottles every time. Ladies toilets were often out of toilet paper so need to be checked more often.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Akilpo, Huaraz, Peru
10.0
9th May 2017

This is one of the best hostels I've stayed at in ages. The private room was spacious, comfy and clean. The communal areas were good for relaxing. Well located for shops, restaurants and transport. Most importantly was the staff. Big thank you to Benjamin, Steven and the other staff who were all so friendly and helpful. They gave great info about activities and hikes. Their paramount hike was a super day out. A small suggestion: a microwave and toaster would really improve the kitchen! :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Revolution, Quito, Ecuador
8.9
31st Mar 2017

To agree with previous reviews - an excellent kitchen and a very clean hostel. The best shower I've had in 8 months in Latin America. The beds were very comfortable too. The volunteers were helpful but given all the rave reviews about Sandra it was a pity not to meet her. The hostel wasn't in the best location. The area was a bit dodgy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Caracol, Popayan, Colombia
7.7
27th Mar 2017

The hostel is well located, nice staff but I just can't recommend it because the beds are uncomfortable. The pillows are the worst pillows we've had in 8 months in Latin America and we slept in two different rooms with 8 pillows experienced - all terrible. If they can update the beds then I would recommend the hostel for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
El Viajero Hostel Salento, Salento, Colombia
9.1
24th Mar 2017

Cool chilled out hostel. Good value private room with a nice hot water shower (unless someone else is showering next door and then the presssure disappears -just wait a minute and it'll be good again). Helpful stuff who answered any questions. Breakfast coffee was nice but the rest of breakfast wasn't great. To improve - Our bed had a sheet and two blankets but I was cold every night - a duvet would have been very welcome. I would defo stay again, a good chocolate.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Cranky Croc Hostel, Bogota, Colombia
9.4
19th Mar 2017

A really nice hostel. Always clean with amazing hot showers. The breakfast isn't free but it's delicious (omelette & pancake are highly recommended). It is well located, heaps of bars and restaurants nearby. Staff were very kind and helpful, helped me by printing off a bus ticket. Private room was cosy and pleasant. Free walking tour is worth doing. My only problem was the cat which kept yowling in the middle of the night, spoiling my sleep on nights 3 & 4 (I'm a cat lover but this wasn't good)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bacaregua Hostel, San Gil, Colombia
9.4
16th Mar 2017

We stayed in a private room and it was great value for money. The staff were helpful and friendly and helped organise an activity and taxi for us. The communal areas were spacious, light and airy. Some fun board games for playing! Good warm and powerful gas showers. The only negative was the mattress in our room - one side was really lumpy and gave my boyfriend a sore back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Tiki Hut Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia
9.4
11th Mar 2017

Stayed here twice and would return again. The 4 bed dorm is one of the nicest dorms we've stayed at in 7 months in Latin America - so spacious, modern and clean. The private room was amazing with a ginormous bed! Kitchen is well stocked and the free breakfast is fine. Staff were helpful and knowledgable. We were able to leave our big backpacks here for a week which was really useful. Only thing to improve for me would be to have some filtered water available. Thanks.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
All In Hostel Guatape, Guatape, Colombia
9.7
21st Feb 2017

This is a good hostel located right by the rock. The owner Willy is a very friendly and hard working. He is very helpful and goes out of his way to help you enjoy your stay - like making us popcorn whilst enjoying some beers on the sofas. There is poker and rummikub for playing (lots of fun)! The mattresses were new and very comfy. Thanks Willy, we had a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
La Bicicleta Hostal, Managua, Nicaragua
9.1
22nd Dec 2016

A lovely hostel. Very clean and modern with a great kitchen, sofa area and garden. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. It is nearby to a supermarket and lots of restaurants (quite expensive ones). Amazing hot and powerful showers. The only negative is the price - the dorm room is very small (comfy beds) so it's just a bit too expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Managua Backpackers Inn, Managua, Nicaragua
7.4
12th Dec 2016

Noisiest hostel I've stayed at in ages. The quiet hours were not enforced at all. People talked later in the outside areas than 11pm and some people were awake talking loudly from about 5am. Not the hostels fault but if you advertise quiet hours they should be enforced. Breakfast pancakes were very nice. Aircon didn't come on like advertised (9pm-morning) and the fan didn't work so was very hot. Overall a bad nights sleep but the hostel seemed alright apart from that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Palmira Hostel Tegucigalpa, Tegucigalpa, Honduras
9.4
27th Nov 2016

The highlights of this hostel were the roof terrace and the good kitchen. It's a modern and spacious hostel in all the communal areas. The dorm was a bit cramped with 8 sets of bunk beds in but no problem. Lockers for valuables and free drinking water. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Casa Verde Santa Ana, Santa Ana, El Salvador
10.0
13th Nov 2016

One of the best hostels! The whole place has been very well thought out with little details that make everything simple! The kitchens were a real highlight with good pans and utensils and a blender for making smoothies! Heaps of herbs and spices provided too. The dorm rooms were spacious and comfortable. No bunk beds just single beds. Our dorm had 2 bathrooms and each person had their own small locker which had charging points in too! Loved the DVD room and the pool. Thanks Carlos.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Chaltunha Hostel, San Ignacio, Belize
7.7
25th Sep 2016

The hostel was clean, close to the centre of town, had a kitchen and a little area with sofas and a TV, also a couple of hammocks out on the decking. Windy was very kind and helpful. She was able to arrange a tour for the ATM caves for us at a good rate for a group of 4+. It was low season so I'm sure it can get busier but it was very quiet when we were there. We pretty much had the hostel to ourselves, which could be good or bad depending on what you want. Bit pricey for the basic dorm.

View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing Chaltunha Hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.6
19th Sep 2016

Good dorm rooms - well laid out and the individual curtains and walls help to give a lot of privacy. The AC and fan combo keep the room very cool. Slept really well. The cleaning staff work really hard to keep the place clean and dealt with problems quickly. It'd be really helpful and friendly if when checking in the FOH staff gave a map or recommendations for activities, restaurants and bars. Or perhaps they just want you to eat/drink only at their bar (breakfast next door at Melt is fab).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Nomadas, Merida, Mexico
5.4
31st Aug 2016

Very disappointed with this hostel that seems to actively discourage fun. Endless lists of rules (no music, no spirits etc). Checking in took forever and was very uptight compared to the relaxed vibe we've had from all other hostels in Mexico. The pool is by far the best feature. The private rooms we stayed in were dark and dingy and had huge cockroaches in when it rained.

View Property Reply

Dear Guest: The alcohol business in the world is profitable. We don’t do it because we prefer lodgment. That’s why beer and wine is allowed and you can get it at any convenient store around the hostel for reasonable prices, for sure with Margaritas,Tequila and Vodka we would have filled pockets, but it would be difficult to control the night and people would complain for noise the next day. Music? to have 20 ipad playing music do not allowed others to rest comfortably, that’s why headphones are made of. Finally I mention the appearance of cockroaches when it rained. We have 2500metersof gardens and when it rains in the tropic area, mosquitoes/cockroaches and termites normally appears. I hope you have a better luck next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Puerta Vieja Hostel, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
9.4
25th Aug 2016

This hostel is well run with great owners and staff. A special shout out to Fernando (we love you!) and Dani. The hostel is centrally located and puts on lots of events on different nights including free cocktail nights. It has great communal areas including a lovely garden with hammocks and avocado chairs, a bar and a big hall area with a ping pong table. The kitchen could do with a couple of new saucepans and utensils. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Casa Losodeli, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
9.1
19th Aug 2016

Casa Losodeli is a lovely place with a great pool. The private rooms are amazing - you get two double beds for the price of one and they are very cool which is important in the heat of Puerto Escondido. The staff are kind and helpful and did lots of phoning around for us when there were bus issues due to roadblocks. It's not the most social hostel but if you're with a friend I would recommend it. It is also a short walk to the best food in the area, El Sultan. Thanks for the help :-)

View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice review! It’s been a pleasure to meet you. This is your home and we hope to see you soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Casa Angel Youth Hostel, Oaxaca, Mexico
9.1
15th Aug 2016

Good hostel with a lovely roof terrace. Also has a nice TV area to chill and watch Netflix if you feel lazy. It is near several restaurants and only a short walk to the very centre of town. Bathrooms were cleaned regularly. Quite a few of us got sick in Oaxaca at this hostel - I don't know if the water filter on the tap is amazing. Could have been something else though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town, Dubrovnik, Croatia
7.1
5th Aug 2015

The location is the main appeal of this hostel. 2 minutes from the old town and right by a little bay for swimming. The hostel is separated into seperate buildings so lacks atmosphere and didn't really have much chance to get to know the staff as you might in another hostel. My friend and I stayed in a twin private which was good for us and we had each other but wouldn't recommend it for solo travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Split Guesthouse & Hostel, Split, Croatia
9.4
28th Jul 2015

A great hostel which I would definitely recommend. Amazing, friendly staff and a good common area for meeting people. Grandma's breakfast really is excellent. Shower could do with slight improvements (doesn't drain fast enough) but minor details. Overall a great choice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pars Tailor's Hostel, Barcelona, Spain
10.0
2nd Apr 2015

What a hostel. The toilets and showers are the cleanest hostel bathrooms I've ever seen.The rooms are cosy but comfy, enough room for all you need and decent sized lockers. The communal area is cool - a sofa area, table and chairs for eating and a pool table. Drank lots of Don Simon Sangria, met cool people, danced around a lot and generally had an amazing time. Outside terrace is lovely, also right by a metro station. Thanks to the awesome staff and Don Simon. Love Pips and Emily x

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • trips-for-pips
  • England,
  • Globetrotter
Buenos Aires Hostel Clan YMCA, Buenos Aires, Argentina
7.0
22nd Aug 2009

Party hostel! If you want to sleep...don't stay here on a weekend. But all the other guests seemed to love Hostel Clan.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×